Watch your (instant) back! - The LC-A Instant Back Review

2

A big LC-A lover but waiting for your film to develop sometimes gets the best of you? Well you're in luck. You can not get that LC-A feel on instant film, the size of your credit card. Sounds hard? That is what I thought, but believe me, if a clutz like me can do it, so can you!

Installation
The instant back is surprisingly easy to install. I mean if I can do it, so can you! Screwing things of your camera is scary stuff, but it’s only takes three shrews, some tweezers and a bit of superglue to get it done. After that you can simply click the instant back into place. The hardest part for me was actually finding the right batteries to power up the back ;)

Snap away
Instant back in place? Woohoo, time to start shooting. Loading is also very easy. They even have a yellow stripe to mark where the film should go. Switch your instant back on after loading and press the button on your instant back so that it throws out the film protective cover. Now 10 instant photo’s await you! Now the standard ISO Lomography recommends to put your LC-A on is 200. Since I shot in pretty bright conditions I had mine on 400. Even with a little sunlight I found that it made my pictures much clearer. The distance setting is a little different from usual, however loom thought about that as well and has the new distance settings marked on the instant back.

Experiment!
The absolute best thing about the instant back is that it allows you to use all your LC-A tricks on your instant photo’s. You can do multiple exposures or use LC-A accessories like the splitter or wide angle lens. The sky is the limit! You end up with instant images on credit card format with that characteristic LC-A feel we all love so much.

Conclusion
To close of with; I would definitely recommend the instant back. I had a lot of fun with it and my friends loved it. I feel the instant back actually has an advantage over the other smaller instax camera’s because it allows you to use all the LC-A features including the vinaigrette borders.

written by achocolatemoose on 2011-05-20 in #reviews

2 Comments

  1. velocity89
    velocity89 ·

    halo there. I recently got my new LC-wide and the LC-A instant back. After i install them and had some shots. But it turn out to be very dark. I had try all of the ISO settings but still. I did install the lc-wide correction lens too. Wonder maybe u could help? thanks!

  2. pheebs
    pheebs ·

    @velocity89 : would you please shoot an email to customerservice@lomogrpahy.com so we can help you solve this issue?

More Interesting Articles

  • Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    written by dopa on 2014-05-25 in #gear #tipster
    Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    Probably each one of you has been annoyed with failed film. This is particularly annoying when you get the developed film back from the lab, but you get blanks because the film was not exposed. It's either the film transport didn't work, or you have not taken the lens cap off, etc. Read on and I'll show you an alternative to just throwing away the film: Simply use it as a color filter for your camera, with the La Sardina for example.

    3
  • How to Load Film Into the Diana Baby 110

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-14 in #lifestyle
    How to Load Film Into the Diana Baby 110

    It may be tiny, but the Diana Baby is just as capable as its bigger sisters Diana F+ and Mini. Take time to watch this short clip to find out how you can load a 110 cartridge into your pocket-sized shooter!

  • The LC-A 30th Anniversary Rumble: Traveling with the LC-A

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-25 in #competitions
    The LC-A 30th Anniversary Rumble: Traveling with the LC-A

    Are you heading somewhere nice anytime soon? Aside from your pocket money and other travel essentials, bring along a couple of films and the pocket-size powerhouse camera that is the Lomo LC-A!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-05 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    Lubitel for lovers+. You're probably wondering, "Why is there a '+'?" It's to describe and expand a whole new definition of the Lubitel - in this case, this camera is not only for lovers literally, but also for anyone who loves to shoot portraits, street scenes, objects, and the skies. Do you love to take photos of your lover, your dear friend, your lovely family, your pet, or at the streets? This camera can be used in ALL situations. You can shoot everything that you love with it!

  • Back from the dead: Hack your Polaroid 80-series camera to take Fuji FP film

    written by stratski on 2014-06-24 in #gear #tipster
    Back from the dead: Hack your Polaroid 80-series camera to take Fuji FP film

    It's a great feeling when you get a camera back to work even though you thought it was already unusable because its particular type of film is no longer in production. Here's how you can do it with a Polaroid camera from the 80-series.

  • 5 of the Best Ways to Share Your Lomo'Instant Pics

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-25 in #news
    5 of the Best Ways to Share Your Lomo'Instant Pics

    We love sharing photos! So, with the recent release of the beloved Lomo'Instant camera, we thought it would be a great idea to look at some of the best ways to share your instants with the world. Rather than letting them collect dust on a shelf or stay hidden away in a drawer somewhere, why not let everyone else in on your superb instant creations? Check out these 5 awesome ways you can do just that!

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • Introducing The New LC-A+ Instant Camera!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-08-01 in #news
    Introducing The New LC-A+ Instant Camera!

    The Lomo LC-A+ is famous for a good reason: it delivers an amazing, distinct effect that makes every photo a unique masterpiece. Now you can enjoy this in an instant with the new LC-A+ Instant Camera!

  • Down By The Water With The Krab - 10 Quick Tips To Try

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle
    Down By The Water With The Krab - 10 Quick Tips To Try

    There's a lot that you can do with a Lomo LC-A+/Lomo LC-Wide and a Krab, besides the obvious (which is take it in the water with you). Get creative by trying various angles and perspectives; you'll be surprised how a slight tilt can make a dramatic difference to your photos. Take a look at the gallery below for some inspiration!

  • Shop News

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras.

  • Getting the Frame right every time

    written by grinningphd on 2014-03-26 in #gear #tipster
    Getting the Frame right every time

    I love my Diana, but framing can be trying at times, especially with the Instant Back which takes you 5cm away from the viewfinder peep hole. I found a way to make framing with the Diana more pleasant.

    2
  • The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-10-20 in #news
    The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    Did you ever think about the myth that we actually dream in Black & White? No colors, maybe no truth behind it anyways. But we know for a fact that you can create the most dreamy photographs with an analogue camera. And for that you need the right film. Scroll down and find out which B&W film is the film of your dreams!

    4
  • Superb Double and Multiple Exposure Shots Taken with the LC-A Instant Camera

    written by chooolss on 2014-08-01 in #lifestyle
    Superb Double and Multiple Exposure Shots Taken with the LC-A Instant Camera

    Shoot all the doubles and MXs you want in a jiffy courtesy of the LC-A+ and the Instant Back! Have a look at sample shots taken by your fellow community members after the cut!