Watch your (instant) back! - The LC-A Instant Back Review

2

A big LC-A lover but waiting for your film to develop sometimes gets the best of you? Well you're in luck. You can not get that LC-A feel on instant film, the size of your credit card. Sounds hard? That is what I thought, but believe me, if a clutz like me can do it, so can you!

Installation
The instant back is surprisingly easy to install. I mean if I can do it, so can you! Screwing things of your camera is scary stuff, but it’s only takes three shrews, some tweezers and a bit of superglue to get it done. After that you can simply click the instant back into place. The hardest part for me was actually finding the right batteries to power up the back ;)

Snap away
Instant back in place? Woohoo, time to start shooting. Loading is also very easy. They even have a yellow stripe to mark where the film should go. Switch your instant back on after loading and press the button on your instant back so that it throws out the film protective cover. Now 10 instant photo’s await you! Now the standard ISO Lomography recommends to put your LC-A on is 200. Since I shot in pretty bright conditions I had mine on 400. Even with a little sunlight I found that it made my pictures much clearer. The distance setting is a little different from usual, however loom thought about that as well and has the new distance settings marked on the instant back.

Experiment!
The absolute best thing about the instant back is that it allows you to use all your LC-A tricks on your instant photo’s. You can do multiple exposures or use LC-A accessories like the splitter or wide angle lens. The sky is the limit! You end up with instant images on credit card format with that characteristic LC-A feel we all love so much.

Conclusion
To close of with; I would definitely recommend the instant back. I had a lot of fun with it and my friends loved it. I feel the instant back actually has an advantage over the other smaller instax camera’s because it allows you to use all the LC-A features including the vinaigrette borders.

written by achocolatemoose on 2011-05-20 in #reviews #instantback #lc-a #review #experiment #user-review #shoot

2 Comments

  1. velocity89
    velocity89 ·

    halo there. I recently got my new LC-wide and the LC-A instant back. After i install them and had some shots. But it turn out to be very dark. I had try all of the ISO settings but still. I did install the lc-wide correction lens too. Wonder maybe u could help? thanks!

  2. pheebs
    pheebs ·

    @velocity89 : would you please shoot an email to customerservice@lomogrpahy.com so we can help you solve this issue?

More Interesting Articles

  • The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    What exactly do I feel while waiting for my Lomo'Instant photos to be developed? I have to say I get a mix of "Surprise me, dear Lomo!" but also some "Did I capture it as I wanted?" kind of thought. No matter the school of thought, with the Splitzer you can add so many cool effects to your photos you'll definitely embrace it!

  • Creating Instant Environments With The Lomo'Instant

    written by shhquiet on 2015-07-10 in #gear #news #lifestyle #locations
    Creating Instant Environments With The Lomo'Instant

    The next time you find yourself wandering around town with your Lomo'Instant camera, here's a neat trick that you can do: choose a specific area and quickly snap an instant photo. Once it develops, hold it in the exact position or angle where you took the instant photo, and take a standard photo using your favorite camera. Does it sound confusing? Ah, well ... let's just show you how it's done! Check out the photos after the jump.

    1
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • How to Load Film Into the Diana Baby 110

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-14 in #lifestyle
    How to Load Film Into the Diana Baby 110

    It may be tiny, but the Diana Baby is just as capable as its bigger sisters Diana F+ and Mini. Take time to watch this short clip to find out how you can load a 110 cartridge into your pocket-sized shooter!

  • Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-05 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    Lubitel for lovers+. You're probably wondering, "Why is there a '+'?" It's to describe and expand a whole new definition of the Lubitel - in this case, this camera is not only for lovers literally, but also for anyone who loves to shoot portraits, street scenes, objects, and the skies. Do you love to take photos of your lover, your dear friend, your lovely family, your pet, or at the streets? This camera can be used in ALL situations. You can shoot everything that you love with it!

  • Photo Stories: Police on My Back by bloomchen

    written by bloomchen on 2015-02-26 in #world #lifestyle
    Photo Stories: Police on My Back by bloomchen

    Sometimes when taking pictures I get addressed by strangers either because of my cameras or because they don't want me to shoot something they claim they have responsibility for. But having the police on my back was a new experience.

    4
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • The Gevabox of Wonders

    written by stratski on 2014-11-18 in #reviews
    The Gevabox of Wonders

    Sometimes you see a camera and you just have to have it. I felt that way about this lovely little box camera. Looks don't mean a thing, I know, but in this case, the looks didn't deceive me.

    1
  • The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-10-20 in #news
    The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    Did you ever think about the myth that we actually dream in Black & White? No colors, maybe no truth behind it anyways. But we know for a fact that you can create the most dreamy photographs with an analogue camera. And for that you need the right film. Scroll down and find out which B&W film is the film of your dreams!

    5
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. March was for caffenol. You have probably heard of the amazing fact that you can develop black and white photos with coffee, sodium, and vitamin C. I had tried this before but with less than stellar results. Somehow, there's always something going wrong. Time to devote a few rolls to caffenol to finally get the hang of it.

    1
  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • London Fashion Weekend

    written by blondielocks on 2014-10-13 in #world #locations
    London Fashion Weekend

    Vodafone Fashion Weekend in London is the must-go-to event for all fashion lovers in September. There are fashion shows on the catwalk, talks with industry professionals, shopping (anything from bags to clothes to necklaces), and, if you so wish, you can even get your hair done at a very low price on the day. It's the complete TLC package in one event.