Diana 20mm Fisheye Lens Review

One thing that makes the Diana F+ stands out from the other lomography cameras is the option to change its lens. With an array of lens to choose from, the options are endless. However, if I have to choose only one lens for the Diana F+, the fisheye lens would be the one that comes to mind.

The standard lens that comes with the Diana F+ has a focal length of 75mm. This is good if you are taking portrait shots. For a more versatile lens, I strongly recommend the fisheye lens. Once you get hold of this lens, your whole perspective will change. The fisheye lens package comes with its own viewfinder to be attached to the top of the camera. With the round viewfinder in place, you get a preview of what’s to come.

With a 20mm focal length, the fisheye lens is really super ultra wide. Imagine a 180 degree field of view, you can capture everything within your sight. To get the full circular fisheye effect, you have to shoot using 120mm film. On 35mm film, the top and bottom will be cropped.

For me, I always use the fisheye lens with the 35mm back combine with the panoramic with sprocket holes frame. With this combination, the results are almost “sprocket rocket” look alike.

In addition, the fisheye lens is also great for close up shot. Go right up to your subject and shoot, the results will be sharp and beautiful.

written by lomopop on 2011-05-10 in #reviews #diana-camera-fisheye-lens-20mm-focal-length-circular-shot-panoramic-sprocket-wide #user-review

More Interesting Articles

  • My First Lomo Affair: Simonesavo and the Diana F+

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-01-22 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Simonesavo and the Diana F+

    One of the most creative minds in the community, Simone Savo never ceases to amaze everyone with his extraordinary film soups. This knack for endless experimentation all started with the Diana F+.

  • Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    written by dopa on 2014-09-02 in #reviews
    Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    Lomography has announced that shipping of the Lomo’Instant will begin in December, but if you want to use a lomographic instant camera with an interchangeable lens system, among other possibilities immediately, you should try the Diana F+ Instant Camera!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Lorenzo Antico's 'Final Shot' Presents Last Shots From 33 Films

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-12 in #world #lifestyle
    Lorenzo Antico's 'Final Shot' Presents Last Shots From 33 Films

    A movie's parting shot is a crucial element in the sense that it could either make or break the lasting impression that it would have on its audience. It could either wrap things up quite nicely and leave viewers satisfied, or it could do otherwise. For many, it's often the first thing that comes to mind long after the final credits have rolled out.

  • Through the Dollhouse with Melanie Martinez

    written by mindofmyra on 2015-05-04 in #people #lomoamigos
    Through the Dollhouse with Melanie Martinez

    Melanie Martinez is a woman of many talents. Not only is she a unique singer and songwriter, but she is also an avid photographer who captures the tour life from a perspective like no other. It's time to share the special moments of her Dollhouse Tour and to figure out what makes her mind tick.

    4
  • Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-11-20 in #reviews
    Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    In April of this year I had the chance to test the Petzval Lens and to write a review on it for the German photography forum Kwerfeldein. The lens excited me from the very beginning, at the time it was introduced on Kickstarter. I was afraid that once I had tested the lens, I would want to have one of my own! Well, that’s what happened; a year later, I finally bought my very own Petzval lens.

    1
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • David Uzochukwu Tests the New Lomography Petzval Art Lens

    written by zonderbar on 2014-09-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    David Uzochukwu Tests the New Lomography Petzval Art Lens

    Only 15 and already so talented. David Uzochukwu is a student and photographer from Brussels, Belgium whose speciality is to capture breathtaking portraits. For a photography meet in Bavaria, Germany he asked us if we could lend him the New Petzval Lens, and of course we said yes! Check out the beautiful photos he and other photographers took during this special event.

    3
  • What Art Can Learn from the Banal

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-03-30 in #world #lifestyle
    What Art Can Learn from the Banal

    Stephen Shore introduced to the 70s art world an unadorned image of American life. He captured littered restaurant tables as other photographers would immaculate vistas. For the opening of “American Surfaces”, he even taped unframed snapshots on gallery walls. In these videos, Shore talks about objects that have “no pretention to art” and the things he learned from Andy Warhol.

    5
  • Art Hunter Sardinas x Simone Legno from tokidoki

    written by mindofmyra on 2014-10-02 in #people #lomoamigos
    Art Hunter Sardinas x Simone Legno from tokidoki

    We asked some of New York’s hottest designers to lend their talent in designing some of our La Sardina DIY cameras, and we are very excited to share with you the masterpiece of Simone Legno from tokidoki! Simone Legno is the creative director and co-founder of tokidoki, which stands for "sometimes" in Japanese. He chose this word because he feels “everyone waits for moments that change one’s destiny, by chance or by meeting a new person.”

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • LomoGuru of the Week: emperornorton

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-11-02 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: emperornorton

    From having a close encounter with a mountain lion to accidentally meeting Steve Jobs, Joel Sax had experienced a number of unimaginable things that have granted him a deeper sense of understanding. Any amateur or longtime film photographer can definitely learn a thing about making the most out of one's skills and loving the art of photography from the wise words of our LomoGuru, emperornorton!

    12
  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!