Diana 20mm Fisheye Lens Review

One thing that makes the Diana F+ stands out from the other lomography cameras is the option to change its lens. With an array of lens to choose from, the options are endless. However, if I have to choose only one lens for the Diana F+, the fisheye lens would be the one that comes to mind.

The standard lens that comes with the Diana F+ has a focal length of 75mm. This is good if you are taking portrait shots. For a more versatile lens, I strongly recommend the fisheye lens. Once you get hold of this lens, your whole perspective will change. The fisheye lens package comes with its own viewfinder to be attached to the top of the camera. With the round viewfinder in place, you get a preview of what’s to come.

With a 20mm focal length, the fisheye lens is really super ultra wide. Imagine a 180 degree field of view, you can capture everything within your sight. To get the full circular fisheye effect, you have to shoot using 120mm film. On 35mm film, the top and bottom will be cropped.

For me, I always use the fisheye lens with the 35mm back combine with the panoramic with sprocket holes frame. With this combination, the results are almost “sprocket rocket” look alike.

In addition, the fisheye lens is also great for close up shot. Go right up to your subject and shoot, the results will be sharp and beautiful.

written by lomopop on 2011-05-10 in #reviews #diana-camera-fisheye-lens-20mm-focal-length-circular-shot-panoramic-sprocket-wide #user-review

More Interesting Articles

  • Diana F+: A Dozen of Possibilities – Part 4: The 20mm Fisheye

    written by dopa on 2014-07-26 in #reviews
    Diana F+: A Dozen of Possibilities – Part 4: The 20mm Fisheye

    Tuning in to my tribute articles for the Diana F+? Here's another one, Part 4: The 20mm Fisheye.

  • Diana F+ Part 1 The Camera: A Dozen of Possibilities

    written by dopa on 2014-06-27 in #reviews
    Diana F+  Part 1 The Camera: A Dozen of Possibilities

    The original Diana F is a plastic beauty from 1960s Hong Kong. The Diana F+ is a reinterpretation, which is in no way inferior to the old Diana. It´s so versatile with all the optional accessories and lenses like no other lomography camera. And because of this, I will show you what makes this camera so special.

    3
  • My First Lomo Affair: Simonesavo and the Diana F+

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-01-22 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Simonesavo and the Diana F+

    One of the most creative minds in the community, Simone Savo never ceases to amaze everyone with his extraordinary film soups. This knack for endless experimentation all started with the Diana F+.

  • Shop News

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Fly over to our 30% Discount Section to discover previously unavailable Editions & Clones! Be quick and make one yours before they are all gone again!

  • Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    written by dopa on 2014-09-02 in #reviews
    Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    Lomography has announced that shipping of the Lomo’Instant will begin in December, but if you want to use a lomographic instant camera with an interchangeable lens system, among other possibilities immediately, you should try the Diana F+ Instant Camera!

  • What to Shoot with the New Russar+ Lens

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-04-12 in #lifestyle
    What to Shoot with the New Russar+ Lens

    As the mother of all modern wide-angle lenses, the New Russar+ Lens shoots sharp wide-angle photos bursting with character. The solid yet compact ultra-wide 20mm lens can be used to photograph practically anything, and is compatible with a variety of film and digital cameras. Certainly this is a lens that delivers, but like anything, you can reap its full potential by choosing ideal subjects and shooting from a creative perspective.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Color Your World with Colorsplash Camera

    Color Your World with Colorsplash Camera

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • In Focus: Diana F+

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-13 in #lifestyle
    In Focus: Diana F+

    If there’s just one word to describe the experience when shooting with the Diana F+ camera, our best bet would be “dreamy.” Meet the analogue rock star of a queen, Lomography’s very own Diana F+.

    6
  • Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-11-20 in #reviews
    Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    In April of this year I had the chance to test the Petzval Lens and to write a review on it for the German photography forum Kwerfeldein. The lens excited me from the very beginning, at the time it was introduced on Kickstarter. I was afraid that once I had tested the lens, I would want to have one of my own! Well, that’s what happened; a year later, I finally bought my very own Petzval lens.

    1
  • Shop News

    LC-A Instant Back+ at Lesser Price!

    LC-A Instant Back+ at Lesser Price!

    Grab this lovely accessory at discounted price! LC-A instant Back is iideal for your summer getaways to capture memories instantly with your LC-A cameras in hand!

  • David Uzochukwu Tests the New Lomography Petzval Art Lens

    written by zonderbar on 2014-09-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    David Uzochukwu Tests the New Lomography Petzval Art Lens

    Only 15 and already so talented. David Uzochukwu is a student and photographer from Brussels, Belgium whose speciality is to capture breathtaking portraits. For a photography meet in Bavaria, Germany he asked us if we could lend him the New Petzval Lens, and of course we said yes! Check out the beautiful photos he and other photographers took during this special event.

    3
  • Art Hunter Sardinas x Simone Legno from tokidoki

    written by mindofmyra on 2014-10-02 in #people #lomoamigos
    Art Hunter Sardinas x Simone Legno from tokidoki

    We asked some of New York’s hottest designers to lend their talent in designing some of our La Sardina DIY cameras, and we are very excited to share with you the masterpiece of Simone Legno from tokidoki! Simone Legno is the creative director and co-founder of tokidoki, which stands for "sometimes" in Japanese. He chose this word because he feels “everyone waits for moments that change one’s destiny, by chance or by meeting a new person.”

  • Eleanor Macnair's 'Photographs Rendered in Play-Doh'

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-19 in #lifestyle
    Eleanor Macnair's 'Photographs Rendered in Play-Doh'

    Give anyone a blob of Play-Doh and you can be sure that he or she, whether a kid or an adult, would be able to transform it into something else - say, an animal figure or a type of food. In Eleanor Macnair's case, however, she makes one of the most excellent renderings of Play-Doh we've seen so far by using them to remake photographs!

    1