Diana 20mm Fisheye Lens Review

One thing that makes the Diana F+ stands out from the other lomography cameras is the option to change its lens. With an array of lens to choose from, the options are endless. However, if I have to choose only one lens for the Diana F+, the fisheye lens would be the one that comes to mind.

The standard lens that comes with the Diana F+ has a focal length of 75mm. This is good if you are taking portrait shots. For a more versatile lens, I strongly recommend the fisheye lens. Once you get hold of this lens, your whole perspective will change. The fisheye lens package comes with its own viewfinder to be attached to the top of the camera. With the round viewfinder in place, you get a preview of what’s to come.

With a 20mm focal length, the fisheye lens is really super ultra wide. Imagine a 180 degree field of view, you can capture everything within your sight. To get the full circular fisheye effect, you have to shoot using 120mm film. On 35mm film, the top and bottom will be cropped.

For me, I always use the fisheye lens with the 35mm back combine with the panoramic with sprocket holes frame. With this combination, the results are almost “sprocket rocket” look alike.

In addition, the fisheye lens is also great for close up shot. Go right up to your subject and shoot, the results will be sharp and beautiful.

written by lomopop on 2011-05-10 in #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • Diana F+: A Dozen of Possibilities – Part 4: The 20mm Fisheye

    written by dopa on 2014-07-26 in #reviews
    Diana F+: A Dozen of Possibilities – Part 4: The 20mm Fisheye

    Tuning in to my tribute articles for the Diana F+? Here's another one, Part 4: The 20mm Fisheye.

  • Diana F+ Part 1 The Camera: A Dozen of Possibilities

    written by dopa on 2014-06-27 in #reviews
    Diana F+  Part 1 The Camera: A Dozen of Possibilities

    The original Diana F is a plastic beauty from 1960s Hong Kong. The Diana F+ is a reinterpretation, which is in no way inferior to the old Diana. It´s so versatile with all the optional accessories and lenses like no other lomography camera. And because of this, I will show you what makes this camera so special.

    3
  • My First Lomo Affair: Simonesavo and the Diana F+

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-01-22 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Simonesavo and the Diana F+

    One of the most creative minds in the community, Simone Savo never ceases to amaze everyone with his extraordinary film soups. This knack for endless experimentation all started with the Diana F+.

  • Shop News

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    written by dopa on 2014-09-02 in #reviews
    Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    Lomography has announced that shipping of the Lomo’Instant will begin in December, but if you want to use a lomographic instant camera with an interchangeable lens system, among other possibilities immediately, you should try the Diana F+ Instant Camera!

  • Petzval Alert! Gizmag Reviews the Lomography X Zenit Petzval Art Lens

    written by cheeo on 2014-03-24 in #news
    Petzval Alert! Gizmag Reviews the Lomography X Zenit Petzval Art Lens

    While we try our best to show you just how the Petzval Art Lens handles, we surely do appreciate feedback from other people who got to try it themselves. Gizmag gives us a piece of their mind about the swirls and quality of the Petzval lens.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras.

  • Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    written by dermanu on 2014-03-19 in #lifestyle
    Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    Just recently I asked myself why I would want to write about a film like the Fuji Instax Mini, because usually this film is the only one available for Fuji Instax cameras. But then it hit me! It can be an alternative to many other instant films, since I can load almost any film into my Diana F+, other medium and 135 format cameras, and of course the Fuji Instax Mini.

  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • In Focus: Diana F+

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-13 in #lifestyle
    In Focus: Diana F+

    If there’s just one word to describe the experience when shooting with the Diana F+ camera, our best bet would be “dreamy.” Meet the analogue rock star of a queen, Lomography’s very own Diana F+.

    6
  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • People and Places As Seen Through the New Russar+ Lens

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-04-11 in #lifestyle
    People and Places As Seen Through the New Russar+ Lens

    The people we meet and the places we go to are essential ingredients to making our most treasured memories. To preserve those memories, however, we need a little help from our trusty cameras, and if you want sharper, more vibrant memories with a blanket of vignette and oozing with unique character, hook up your camera with Lomography’s latest innovation, the New Russar+ Lens.

    1
  • Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-11-20 in #reviews
    Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    In April of this year I had the chance to test the Petzval Lens and to write a review on it for the German photography forum Kwerfeldein. The lens excited me from the very beginning, at the time it was introduced on Kickstarter. I was afraid that once I had tested the lens, I would want to have one of my own! Well, that’s what happened; a year later, I finally bought my very own Petzval lens.

    1
  • David Uzochukwu Tests the New Lomography Petzval Art Lens

    written by zonderbar on 2014-09-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    David Uzochukwu Tests the New Lomography Petzval Art Lens

    Only 15 and already so talented. David Uzochukwu is a student and photographer from Brussels, Belgium whose speciality is to capture breathtaking portraits. For a photography meet in Bavaria, Germany he asked us if we could lend him the New Petzval Lens, and of course we said yes! Check out the beautiful photos he and other photographers took during this special event.

    3