Efke ir820 (120, 25 iso) user-review

8

The Real Infrared! If you want to see what shines in the colours you can't see, this is it.

The Real Infrared! If you want to see what shines in the colours you can’t see, this is it.

This is as close as you can come to Kodak High Speed Infrared, that’s fresh and new. All you need is a suitable camera (120 is easier to load), something to steady the camera on, because the exposures are long, and the right filter. This film doesn’t cut off until 820nm, so you can get wonderful infrared effects. Foliage will be light and shiny, the sky dark, and people will be luminous and translucent. Make sure your clothes are thick and wooley, if you are in the picture. Otherwise, your naughty bits might shine through.

The photos in this review were shot with a Rollei 3.5f and a Fuji GW690III.

If the film is 35mm, you must load your camera in a changing bag. There is no antihalation layer on the film, and the leader on 35mm will pipe light and fog half the roll. 120 film allows loading in very dim light. It has a paper backing, and the film is not exposed on loading. Keep the film cool until you’re ready to use it.

Anyway, put your loaded camera on the tripod, and put on the cable release. Focus on your subject, then back of the focus point to the infrared mark (longer wavelength, different focus point) or first depth of field mark. Put on the filter (Hoya R72 or Kodak Wratten #88A or #87) and make the exposure. The exposure will be about a half a second at f/16 in bright sunlight. Calculate from there.

Here’s the exposure data for your light meter:

  • Unfiltered = ISO 100
  • Yellow filter = ISO 50
  • Orange filter = ISO 25
  • Red filter = ISO 12
  • Dark red filter = ISO 6
  • Opaque red filter (that Hoya R72) = ISO 3

The fiercer the filter, the greater the infrared effect. Don’t use a RG830 or a Wratten #87C; these are too dense, even for this film, and only work on real Kodak High Speed Infrared (cut off 950nm).

Efke ir820 can be developed in normal black and white chemistry, like stock Kodak D-76 for about 7 minutes at 20C (so says the darkroom tech at the photo shop). Just make sure of total darkness, and watch out for infrared frame counters on automated developing machines.

For Holga users, put this film in the camera, seal the leaks really well,including the red window, use the red filter, put it on a tripod, guess the advance turns, and use 4 1/100 second exposures in bright sunlight (more or less) at the f/11 stop.
If you want infrared effects, I highly recommend Efke ir820 and don’t be afraid to experiment!

written by herbert-4 on 2008-12-18 in #reviews #35mm #rollei-35f #efke-ir820 #infrared #b-w #fuji-gw690iii #efke

8 Comments

  1. larslau
    larslau ·

    Great revuew! I love the gallery!

    I hope you get Film Review of the Week (:

  2. larslau
    larslau ·

    btw. "Make sure your clothes are thick and wooley, if you are in the picture. Otherwise, your naughty bits might shine through."

    I think you should wear some very very very thin underwear -- and nothing more, for this to be true (:

  3. xpunklovex
    xpunklovex ·

    Great review ! I have to try it.

  4. bravopires
    bravopires ·

    new dimension

  5. herbert-4
    herbert-4 ·

    Further explanation on the "naughty bits... shine through" situation:
    There was a photo of a very fair, redheaded girl in a green and black nylon one piece, one colour photo and the matching Kodak Highspeed Infrared photo, posted at the Navy photo shop at Pt. Mugu very long ago. The nylon was VERY transparent. The issue was synthetic materials, mostly.
    Wool is pretty opaque, and cotton a bit translucent, if it's thin. They didn't mention linen or hemp.
    Herb

  6. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    great shots
    i really love the last one

  7. rickyredracer
    rickyredracer ·

    Thanks for the review. I just got a Holga for Christmas, and now I am going backwards from digital to film. Your pictures on that film is EXACTLY what I have been trying to go for all along and have not been able to acomplish. I'm picking up a supply of film now and maybe I will be able to get that shot not!

  8. nural
    nural ·

    I'm just about to order this!

  9. hervinsyah
    hervinsyah ·

    AWESOME. I HOPE I COULD USE THIS FILM WITH 135MM FORMAT SOMEDAY :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Most Popular User Blogs of October 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-11-08 in #news
    Most Popular User Blogs of October 2014

    Want to know what your fellow lomographers have been up to last month? The answer is in this selection of amazing blogs!

    6
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Why Paris is One of the Best Places on Earth, by a Parisian

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2014-10-20 in #world #locations
    Why Paris is One of the Best Places on Earth, by a Parisian

    Paris - the real Paris. You have to live it. But most of all, you have to shoot it. This is a day in Paris, by a Parisian.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Lomo'Instant Boston Competition

    written by jacobs on 2015-03-03 in #gear #news #competitions
    Lomo'Instant Boston Competition

    What comes to mind when you think of Boston? Maybe it's the Red Sox, or maybe it's Baked Beans? With our newest competition to celebrate the release of the Lomo'Instant Boston Edition, we want to know what Boston means to you. Even if you've never been to Boston — no problem! We want to see your best shots that represent Boston to you!

    1
  • So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    written by recurving on 2015-02-03 in #world #news
    So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    For the last year we've been working on the next version of Lomography. We based our work on the feedback you’ve given us over the years and we wanted to share it as early as possible with you and can’t wait to hear what you think. Just one warning first: it is still in development and things can break. All the photos, comments, likes, homes and everything else were transferred as of October 16th, 2014. So anything you do on next.lomography.com won't be reflected on www.lomography.com and vice versa. Once we are done with testing, everything you did here will be deleted again. So this is a big playground for you to explore.

    217
  • 36 Reasons to be a Wide-Eyed Horizon User

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-14 in #gear #lifestyle
    36 Reasons to be a Wide-Eyed Horizon User

    To see more is to know more. The big picture brims with details, all lined up in spectacular columns and panoramas. Horizon Kompakt and Perfekt help us not to miss out on this full-length imagery.

    10
  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Shooting with the LC-A 120 in the UK

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Shooting with the LC-A 120 in the UK

    Lomography UK was lucky enough to test an LC-A 120 prototype in store and it was glorious! We used colour and black and white film to capture the camera at its finest. It was everything you would expect from the LC-A but in full frame 38mm f/4.5 120 film. It's LOVE.

    1
  • Word On The Street: A New Mystery Product Will Be Unveiled Soon!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-27 in #gear #news
    Word On The Street: A New Mystery Product Will Be Unveiled Soon!

    Pssst, have you heard the latest? We're unveiling a brand new product very soon, and while we can't give you any strong clues right now, we hope that you can still try to guess what it is. In honor of this mystery product, we'd like to reiterate why Lomography's 10 Golden Rules is perfectly applicable to street photography.

    18
  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!