Fuji Sensia 200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

3

Another side of the rainbow: As a fan of Fuji Provia when it comes to cross-processing, I decided I wanted to try another variety of Fuji film and see just how similar or different my xpro results could be. Upon finding a roll of 200 speed Sensia that was a year expired, I decided that this discounted slide film would be a good one to try out. Although I was testing two variables at once here (a different kind of film as well as being expired) and therefore cannot say which results came from which factor, I can at least say that whatever the influence, the results were drastically different than what I’m used to!

Another side of the rainbow: As a fan of Fuji Provia when it comes to cross-processing, I decided I wanted to try another variety of Fuji film and see just how similar or different my xpro results could be. Upon finding a roll of 200 speed Sensia that was a year expired, I decided that this discounted slide film would be a good one to try out.

Although I was testing two variables at once here (a different kind of film as well as being expired) and therefore cannot say which results came from which factor, I can at least say that whatever the influence, the results were drastically different than what I’m used to!

Compared with the normal rainbow shades of blue and green that I see dominating my cross processed photos, this film gave my yellows and oranges a chance to shine. I even noticed purple and some strange metal/silver shades standing out more than normal. The crazy thing about this film is that I don’t know whether to classify it as having a warm or a cool effect. If it’s possible to have warm colors expressed in a cold, distant kind of manner, then here it is!

I’m used to the 400 speed Provia turning out beautifully in conditions where clouds are prevalent and lighting is low, and this 200 speed Sensia definitely doesn’t handle those same conditions very well. I recommend making sure it’s a sunny day when using this film.

Everyone’s tastes differ, and the results of this film probably aren’t my favorite, but they are strong and beautiful in their own right and probably could become a favorite for a lot of people preferring these types of colors.

written by strangelilgirl on 2008-11-30 in #reviews #snsia #fuji #sensia #slide #fisheye #x-pro #35mm

3 Comments

  1. dirklancer
    dirklancer ·

    I've been using a batch of sensia 100, but it shifts to very red tones. This 200 looks delicious!

  2. day3hugger
    day3hugger ·

    so this is no good at night? did u try it?

  3. strangelilgirl
    strangelilgirl ·

    i'd probably recommend provia if you're wanting night shots. but also, i tend to not use flash, so i can't say too much about flash effecting this film. provia has handled really dark, overcast, rainy days in my experience.

More Interesting Articles

  • Spontaneous Doubles with the XR Redscale Film

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-12-13 in #world #tipster
    Spontaneous Doubles with the XR Redscale Film

    I recently found a roll of XR Redscale 50-200 film lying around in my drawer and decided to reignite my passion for embracing the weird and unexpected results that film can bring. I shot random doubles around the streets of Soho and was rather delighted with the results.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • My First Film Swap with Fellow Lomographer Mrtall

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-05-12 in #gear #lifestyle
    My First Film Swap with Fellow Lomographer Mrtall

    Sometime ago, I was invited to do a film swap. This means a roll of film is exposed two times by different people. As I had never done this before, I was enthusiastic to explore this new field of Lomography.

  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    What exactly do I feel while waiting for my Lomo'Instant photos to be developed? I have to say I get a mix of "Surprise me, dear Lomo!" but also some "Did I capture it as I wanted?" kind of thought. No matter the school of thought, with the Splitzer you can add so many cool effects to your photos you'll definitely embrace it!

  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.

  • The World According to Herr Willie: Ilha de Marajó

    written by wil6ka on 2015-11-08 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: Ilha de Marajó

    Brazil is an awesome country for traveling. There's so much to explore, each place very different from one another. It will definitely take a stretch of trips just to get to know this this South American pearl. I finished my copa tour last year in Marajó, the island of bulls—it just might be an eternal highlight for me.

    9
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • Winter in Vienna: First Impressions of the Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by azinteimoori on 2016-01-25 in #world #reviews
    Winter in Vienna: First Impressions of the Lomo'Instant Wide

    I’ve been shooting analogue as long as I can remember but it wasn’t until a few months ago that I was introduced to instant photography. So, you can imagine when I was given the chance to try out the recently introduced Lomo’Instant Wide, I “instantly” said yes and hit the streets of Vienna!

    2
  • Bite-Size Fiction: The Memory Pill

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-15 in #world #lifestyle
    Bite-Size Fiction: The Memory Pill

    Someday, getting rid of unwanted memories will be as easy as popping a pill and waiting a few hours for the desired effect to kick in. Literally a bitter pill to swallow (you'd think that with all the advancements in science then, they would've already made, say, fruit-flavored ones like the vitamins you loved as a kid), sure, but effective nonetheless.

    4
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • LOMOLONDON Photo Exhibition

    written by gise11e on 2015-05-15 in #world #events
    LOMOLONDON Photo Exhibition

    In celebration of Film Photography Day Lomography Soho gave our top community members the chance to shoot a camera they hadn't tried before. The results are currently being exhibited in the Soho store until May 28. Read on for full exhibition details and interviews with the contributors.

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • Total Eclipse of the Sun Competition

    written by jacobs on 2015-03-20 in #gear #news #competitions
    Total Eclipse of the Sun Competition

    Did you catch the solar eclipse that happened recently? Word on the street is that it even resulted in a total eclipse in some areas of Europe, making it a pretty rare occasion for the folks that got to see it! We're guessing that some of you even had your cameras to catch the whole shebang on film — which is why we're throwing a competition for the best eclipse and sun inspired shots out there. Come on in and check out the details!