Fuji Sensia 200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

3

Another side of the rainbow: As a fan of Fuji Provia when it comes to cross-processing, I decided I wanted to try another variety of Fuji film and see just how similar or different my xpro results could be. Upon finding a roll of 200 speed Sensia that was a year expired, I decided that this discounted slide film would be a good one to try out. Although I was testing two variables at once here (a different kind of film as well as being expired) and therefore cannot say which results came from which factor, I can at least say that whatever the influence, the results were drastically different than what I’m used to!

Another side of the rainbow: As a fan of Fuji Provia when it comes to cross-processing, I decided I wanted to try another variety of Fuji film and see just how similar or different my xpro results could be. Upon finding a roll of 200 speed Sensia that was a year expired, I decided that this discounted slide film would be a good one to try out.

Although I was testing two variables at once here (a different kind of film as well as being expired) and therefore cannot say which results came from which factor, I can at least say that whatever the influence, the results were drastically different than what I’m used to!

Compared with the normal rainbow shades of blue and green that I see dominating my cross processed photos, this film gave my yellows and oranges a chance to shine. I even noticed purple and some strange metal/silver shades standing out more than normal. The crazy thing about this film is that I don’t know whether to classify it as having a warm or a cool effect. If it’s possible to have warm colors expressed in a cold, distant kind of manner, then here it is!

I’m used to the 400 speed Provia turning out beautifully in conditions where clouds are prevalent and lighting is low, and this 200 speed Sensia definitely doesn’t handle those same conditions very well. I recommend making sure it’s a sunny day when using this film.

Everyone’s tastes differ, and the results of this film probably aren’t my favorite, but they are strong and beautiful in their own right and probably could become a favorite for a lot of people preferring these types of colors.

written by strangelilgirl on 2008-11-30 in #reviews #slide #sensia #snsia #fuji #35mm #fisheye #x-pro

3 Comments

  1. dirklancer
    dirklancer ·

    I've been using a batch of sensia 100, but it shifts to very red tones. This 200 looks delicious!

  2. day3hugger
    day3hugger ·

    so this is no good at night? did u try it?

  3. strangelilgirl
    strangelilgirl ·

    i'd probably recommend provia if you're wanting night shots. but also, i tend to not use flash, so i can't say too much about flash effecting this film. provia has handled really dark, overcast, rainy days in my experience.

More Interesting Articles

  • Clickiemcpete and his Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-11 in #lifestyle
    Clickiemcpete and his Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    Calling the Sprocket Rocket as Peter Atwood's go-to camera would be an understatement. He owns half a dozen of it that he simultaneously shoots with different films. He even considers the Sprocket Rocket as his dream machine. Let's hear what clickiemcpete has to say about this camera in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    10
  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-09 in #news
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    We've got another great opportunity for you to load up on all your favorite films! Today's Advent deal is 10% off of all our films! Keep your holidays classy with one of our awesome black and white films or get creative with one of our Redscale films. Whatever you choose will be a great way to document all the upcoming fesitivities!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    written by raypg on 2014-09-05 in #lifestyle
    My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    I love the different styles of cameras that Lomography has, but I also like to create my own cardboard cameras that use pinholes to be able to take pictures using traditional film. This time I created the Pinhole F, a camera inspired by the Diana F+ and shoots 12 pinhole photos using 120 film.

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • My First Film Swap with Fellow Lomographer Mrtall

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-05-12 in #gear #lifestyle
    My First Film Swap with Fellow Lomographer Mrtall

    Sometime ago, I was invited to do a film swap. This means a roll of film is exposed two times by different people. As I had never done this before, I was enthusiastic to explore this new field of Lomography.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Happenings on Film: The Festival of the Hands in Como

    written by sirio174 on 2014-09-22 in #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: The Festival of the Hands in Como

    Last Saturday my city, Como, hosted a festival dedicated to the hands called the Mani-Fest. With my lovely Minox GT-S camera and an expired 3200 ISO film roll, I documented this event which took place just below the windows of my room. Take a look after the jump!

  • The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    What exactly do I feel while waiting for my Lomo'Instant photos to be developed? I have to say I get a mix of "Surprise me, dear Lomo!" but also some "Did I capture it as I wanted?" kind of thought. No matter the school of thought, with the Splitzer you can add so many cool effects to your photos you'll definitely embrace it!

  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-09 in #news
    Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    Did you enjoy shooting with Cine200 Tungsten Film when it launched? Or were you one of the unlucky many who missed out on this ultra-limited edition emulsion? Well, we’re thrilled to say we have an exciting follow-up to Cine200 which will launch in just a few days! And as the other film sold out so fast, we wanted to give you the opportunity to sign-up to our list to get the news as soon as it happens.

    1
  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • Bite-Size Fiction: The Memory Pill

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-15 in #world #lifestyle
    Bite-Size Fiction: The Memory Pill

    Someday, getting rid of unwanted memories will be as easy as popping a pill and waiting a few hours for the desired effect to kick in. Literally a bitter pill to swallow (you'd think that with all the advancements in science then, they would've already made, say, fruit-flavored ones like the vitamins you loved as a kid), sure, but effective nonetheless.

    4