Fuji Sensia 200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

3

Another side of the rainbow: As a fan of Fuji Provia when it comes to cross-processing, I decided I wanted to try another variety of Fuji film and see just how similar or different my xpro results could be. Upon finding a roll of 200 speed Sensia that was a year expired, I decided that this discounted slide film would be a good one to try out. Although I was testing two variables at once here (a different kind of film as well as being expired) and therefore cannot say which results came from which factor, I can at least say that whatever the influence, the results were drastically different than what I’m used to!

Another side of the rainbow: As a fan of Fuji Provia when it comes to cross-processing, I decided I wanted to try another variety of Fuji film and see just how similar or different my xpro results could be. Upon finding a roll of 200 speed Sensia that was a year expired, I decided that this discounted slide film would be a good one to try out.

Although I was testing two variables at once here (a different kind of film as well as being expired) and therefore cannot say which results came from which factor, I can at least say that whatever the influence, the results were drastically different than what I’m used to!

Compared with the normal rainbow shades of blue and green that I see dominating my cross processed photos, this film gave my yellows and oranges a chance to shine. I even noticed purple and some strange metal/silver shades standing out more than normal. The crazy thing about this film is that I don’t know whether to classify it as having a warm or a cool effect. If it’s possible to have warm colors expressed in a cold, distant kind of manner, then here it is!

I’m used to the 400 speed Provia turning out beautifully in conditions where clouds are prevalent and lighting is low, and this 200 speed Sensia definitely doesn’t handle those same conditions very well. I recommend making sure it’s a sunny day when using this film.

Everyone’s tastes differ, and the results of this film probably aren’t my favorite, but they are strong and beautiful in their own right and probably could become a favorite for a lot of people preferring these types of colors.

written by strangelilgirl on 2008-11-30 in #reviews #snsia #slide #fisheye #x-pro #sensia #35mm #fuji

3 Comments

  1. dirklancer
    dirklancer ·

    I've been using a batch of sensia 100, but it shifts to very red tones. This 200 looks delicious!

  2. day3hugger
    day3hugger ·

    so this is no good at night? did u try it?

  3. strangelilgirl
    strangelilgirl ·

    i'd probably recommend provia if you're wanting night shots. but also, i tend to not use flash, so i can't say too much about flash effecting this film. provia has handled really dark, overcast, rainy days in my experience.

More Interesting Articles

  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Clickiemcpete and his Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-11 in #lifestyle
    Clickiemcpete and his Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    Calling the Sprocket Rocket as Peter Atwood's go-to camera would be an understatement. He owns half a dozen of it that he simultaneously shoots with different films. He even considers the Sprocket Rocket as his dream machine. Let's hear what clickiemcpete has to say about this camera in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    10
  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-09 in #news
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    We've got another great opportunity for you to load up on all your favorite films! Today's Advent deal is 10% off of all our films! Keep your holidays classy with one of our awesome black and white films or get creative with one of our Redscale films. Whatever you choose will be a great way to document all the upcoming fesitivities!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Petzval Artist: Portraits from Adam Bronkhorst

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-05-05 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval Artist: Portraits from Adam Bronkhorst

    Adam Bronkhorst is a Brighton-based photographer who focuses on people and portraiture. He teaches all kinds of photography through different means – using a DSLR, studio lighting and even film cameras. His portfolio of work is so stunning, we decided to crown him as one of our Petzval Artists. We let him test the new Petzval lens to its full potential and the results are just beautiful.

  • My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    written by raypg on 2014-09-05 in #lifestyle
    My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    I love the different styles of cameras that Lomography has, but I also like to create my own cardboard cameras that use pinholes to be able to take pictures using traditional film. This time I created the Pinhole F, a camera inspired by the Diana F+ and shoots 12 pinhole photos using 120 film.

    2
  • Shop News

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes in a Bundle with 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-12 in #reviews
    Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    I don't care if this film has been reviewed a zillion times, that it has already been discontinued, or that there might be a Japanese version of it. The Agfa CT Precisa that I know gives me the blues. Oh, yes - not a Chelsea FC fan, but this film is all about the color blue. Say hello to the blues!

    7
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Postcards from Rzhavchino

    written by alexander_krolikowski on 2014-05-23 in #lifestyle
    Postcards from Rzhavchino

    I would like to tell you about the Zhuzhalka. Zhuzhalka is the slag waste that remains after coal mining. But in this story, in our case, we have another meaning for this word. Here, the Zhuzhalka is a Ukrainian group of young photographers. These photos are by artists from Donetsk city in eastern Ukraine. The name of the project was influenced by the geographic specialization of Donetsk.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Down By The Water With The Krab - 10 Quick Tips To Try

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle
    Down By The Water With The Krab - 10 Quick Tips To Try

    There's a lot that you can do with a Lomo LC-A+/Lomo LC-Wide and a Krab, besides the obvious (which is take it in the water with you). Get creative by trying various angles and perspectives; you'll be surprised how a slight tilt can make a dramatic difference to your photos. Take a look at the gallery below for some inspiration!

  • Monday Moodboard: 1990s Summertime

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-19 in #news
    Monday Moodboard: 1990s Summertime

    It's been a boiling, scorching, baking hot summer here in the Philippines since March, and believe it or not, I haven't been to the beach yet. I'm going to do something about that, but not without making another playlist for the trip! This time, I decided to make a mix inspired by the summer vacations of my younger days.

  • Solo Biking Routes: Ubud in Bali, Indonesia

    written by adi_totp on 2014-07-30 in #world #locations
    Solo Biking Routes: Ubud in Bali, Indonesia

    Have you all watched "Eat, Pray, Love"? I was inspired by Julia Roberts, who rode a bicycle in that movie, so I decided to rent one and try it myself! This happened two years ago but I still remember my biking route. To all of you who haven't been to Ubud, I think you should visit the place and try to go around in a bicycle!

    7