Lomography Color Negative (400asa,120/35mm): Versatile Color Negative Film!

If you want a versatile film that can be used in a wide range of film cameras and different lighting conditions, look no further. Lomography Color Negative ASA 400 is what you need.

I own quite a few film cameras such as Sprocket Rocket, LC-A, LC-A+, Split Cam, Fisheye 2, Spinner 360, FM2n, and a few other sunny day cams. One issue I often face is that I need to bring a few different types of films whenever I go shooting. This is because some cameras need higher speed film or the photos will turn out severely underexposed, as I had learned the hard way with Sprocket Rocket and Lomo Redscale XR.

My problem is somewhat resolved after I started using Lomography Color Negative 400. It is suitable for most of my film cams (I have yet try it on Spinner 360), having used it on my el cheapo free waterproof cam, Sprocket Rocket, Split Cam, LC-A/LC-A+, Nikon FM2n DSLR.

Lomography CN400 used in different cameras:

Waterproof cam:

LC-A:

Nikon FM2n SLR:

Sprocket Rocket:

LC-A+:

Split Cam:

Fisheye 2:

What I like about this film is its vibrant colors, great dynamic range (no worries about over or under exposure), and affordability. It is a great value for money negative film, and if you want to minimize your film inventory, using Lomography CN 400 will great reduce the variety of films you need to buy. But of course, most Lomographers would want to try as many different types of films as possible so the above is a moot point.

If I have one gripe about this film, it will be the grains. The grains are quite coarse and somewhat obvious, even in properly exposed photos. However, there are some Lomographers who love grains in their photos so this is just my personal opinion and this in no way reduces my liking for this film.

Go grab one pack and try out today if you haven’t done so!

written by coolsigg on 2011-06-01 in #reviews #400-asa #film-camera #lomography #grain #sunny-day #color-negative #lc-a #35mm #sprocket-rocket #user-review #requested

More Interesting Articles

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Shop News

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    The LC-Wide Elite Kit gathers all the accessories you would ever need for your Lomo LC-Wide.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Handmade Cameras by Cedric Chatterley

    written by cheeo on 2014-12-05 in #lifestyle
    Handmade Cameras by Cedric Chatterley

    Shooting with film can be considered a labor of love. From carefully loading the film and adjusting for lighting conditions to the darkroom process, it’s a laborious process but certainly a fulfilling experience. What more if you created your own cameras?

    1
  • Introducing the New Lomography Cine400 Tungsten 35mm Film - Only 4000 Rolls Available!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-10-13 in #news
    Introducing the New Lomography Cine400 Tungsten 35mm Film - Only 4000 Rolls Available!

    Turn ordinary scenes into cinematic moments with the new Lomography Cine400 Tungsten Film. Made from authentic cine material that we specially treated for use with 35mm cameras, this Color Negative film will produce photos that look like stills from a movie.

    1
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    written by alienmeatsack on 2014-08-13 in #gear #tipster
    Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    Do you love Lomography's Lomochrome Purple XR 100-400 film? Me too! So let's see what it does when we shoot it through an assortment of color filters. I tried to document everything well enough that others could replicate and experiment on their own. I hope you find it useful.

    10
  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-05 in #world #locations
    LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    As the iconic LC-A celebrates its 30th birthday this month, we think it's only timely that we look back to Lomography's roots and shine the spotlight on the camera's birthplace, Saint Petersburg. If you haven't been there yourself, or if you have and simply wanted to be reminded of the beauty of the place, we've compiled a few select lomographs taken using no less than the LC-A by our community members!

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Steidl to Release Companion Book to Frances Ha

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-28 in #world #lifestyle
    Steidl to Release Companion Book to Frances Ha

    A new book celebrates the black and white cinematography of Noah Baumbach's 2012 film Frances Ha.

    1
  • Brooklyn Bridge Park Invites Visitors to Touch and Photograph Outdoor Art

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-28 in #world #news
    Brooklyn Bridge Park Invites Visitors to Touch and Photograph Outdoor Art

    Museums and galleries often bear the sign "Please do not touch the art." Jeppe Hein's outdoor sculpture in Brooklyn Bridge Park does just the opposite.

  • The New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens - Available Now on Kickstarter!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-05-28 in #gear #news
    The New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens - Available Now on Kickstarter!

    We are extremely excited to announce our brand new Kickstarter project — the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens! Rejoicing in the 175 year anniversary of Joseph Petzval’s first lens, the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens is a continuation of the legacy that began in 1840.

    15