Lomography Color Negative (400asa,120/35mm): Versatile Color Negative Film!

If you want a versatile film that can be used in a wide range of film cameras and different lighting conditions, look no further. Lomography Color Negative ASA 400 is what you need.

I own quite a few film cameras such as Sprocket Rocket, LC-A, LC-A+, Split Cam, Fisheye 2, Spinner 360, FM2n, and a few other sunny day cams. One issue I often face is that I need to bring a few different types of films whenever I go shooting. This is because some cameras need higher speed film or the photos will turn out severely underexposed, as I had learned the hard way with Sprocket Rocket and Lomo Redscale XR.

My problem is somewhat resolved after I started using Lomography Color Negative 400. It is suitable for most of my film cams (I have yet try it on Spinner 360), having used it on my el cheapo free waterproof cam, Sprocket Rocket, Split Cam, LC-A/LC-A+, Nikon FM2n DSLR.

Lomography CN400 used in different cameras:

Waterproof cam:

LC-A:

Nikon FM2n SLR:

Sprocket Rocket:

LC-A+:

Split Cam:

Fisheye 2:

What I like about this film is its vibrant colors, great dynamic range (no worries about over or under exposure), and affordability. It is a great value for money negative film, and if you want to minimize your film inventory, using Lomography CN 400 will great reduce the variety of films you need to buy. But of course, most Lomographers would want to try as many different types of films as possible so the above is a moot point.

If I have one gripe about this film, it will be the grains. The grains are quite coarse and somewhat obvious, even in properly exposed photos. However, there are some Lomographers who love grains in their photos so this is just my personal opinion and this in no way reduces my liking for this film.

Go grab one pack and try out today if you haven’t done so!

written by coolsigg on 2011-06-01 in #reviews #400-asa #35mm #color-negative #sprocket-rocket #grain #sunny-day #user-review #lc-a #lomography #film-camera #requested

More Interesting Articles

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Handmade Cameras by Cedric Chatterley

    written by cheeo on 2014-12-05 in #lifestyle
    Handmade Cameras by Cedric Chatterley

    Shooting with film can be considered a labor of love. From carefully loading the film and adjusting for lighting conditions to the darkroom process, it’s a laborious process but certainly a fulfilling experience. What more if you created your own cameras?

    1
  • Introducing the New Lomography Cine400 Tungsten 35mm Film - Only 4000 Rolls Available!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-10-13 in #news
    Introducing the New Lomography Cine400 Tungsten 35mm Film - Only 4000 Rolls Available!

    Turn ordinary scenes into cinematic moments with the new Lomography Cine400 Tungsten Film. Made from authentic cine material that we specially treated for use with 35mm cameras, this Color Negative film will produce photos that look like stills from a movie.

    1
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    written by alienmeatsack on 2014-08-13 in #gear #tipster
    Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    Do you love Lomography's Lomochrome Purple XR 100-400 film? Me too! So let's see what it does when we shoot it through an assortment of color filters. I tried to document everything well enough that others could replicate and experiment on their own. I hope you find it useful.

    10
  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • Photo Stories: Old School... No School Anymore by srcardoso

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-05 in #world #locations
    Photo Stories: Old School... No School Anymore by srcardoso

    Soon, a school more than a century old in Switzerland will be closing its doors and transformed to house offices. Taking on the important task of documenting its hallowed halls is srcardoso, who made use of film as a way of honoring it.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Newcomer of the Week: nickt

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-07-05 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: nickt

    Niccolò Turetta started taking photographs on film at a young age. Looking for tips on making better images, he stumbled upon the website and eventually joined the community as a motivation to further improve his craft. Let's all welcome our newcomer of the week from Torreglia, Italy, nickt!

  • Jason D. Page and the Magic of Light Painting

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-05 in #people #lifestyle
    Jason D. Page and the Magic of Light Painting

    Having first discovered light painting by chance, Jason D. Page is now recognized as a leader in the field. He has pioneered multiple light paintings techniques and his work has been featured in many exhibitions and galleries worldwide. He's a passionate, creative artist and the founder of both Light Painting Brushes and LightPaintingPhotography.com — a website dedicated to everything surrounding light painting!

  • Follow Me Through the Electric Forest

    written by mindofmyra on 2015-07-04 in #world #news #events
    Follow Me Through the Electric Forest

    Electric Forest is a one of a kind music festival booming with great vibrations and beautiful people. It is a rare type of music festival found in the corners of Michigan that cultivates a holistic environment for all kinds of people to come share in a spiritual journey.

    1