Lomography Color Negative (400asa,120/35mm): Versatile Color Negative Film!

If you want a versatile film that can be used in a wide range of film cameras and different lighting conditions, look no further. Lomography Color Negative ASA 400 is what you need.

I own quite a few film cameras such as Sprocket Rocket, LC-A, LC-A+, Split Cam, Fisheye 2, Spinner 360, FM2n, and a few other sunny day cams. One issue I often face is that I need to bring a few different types of films whenever I go shooting. This is because some cameras need higher speed film or the photos will turn out severely underexposed, as I had learned the hard way with Sprocket Rocket and Lomo Redscale XR.

My problem is somewhat resolved after I started using Lomography Color Negative 400. It is suitable for most of my film cams (I have yet try it on Spinner 360), having used it on my el cheapo free waterproof cam, Sprocket Rocket, Split Cam, LC-A/LC-A+, Nikon FM2n DSLR.

Lomography CN400 used in different cameras:

Waterproof cam:

LC-A:

Nikon FM2n SLR:

Sprocket Rocket:

LC-A+:

Split Cam:

Fisheye 2:

What I like about this film is its vibrant colors, great dynamic range (no worries about over or under exposure), and affordability. It is a great value for money negative film, and if you want to minimize your film inventory, using Lomography CN 400 will great reduce the variety of films you need to buy. But of course, most Lomographers would want to try as many different types of films as possible so the above is a moot point.

If I have one gripe about this film, it will be the grains. The grains are quite coarse and somewhat obvious, even in properly exposed photos. However, there are some Lomographers who love grains in their photos so this is just my personal opinion and this in no way reduces my liking for this film.

Go grab one pack and try out today if you haven’t done so!

written by coolsigg on 2011-06-01 in #reviews #lc-a #35mm #sunny-day #400-asa #requested #sprocket-rocket #film-camera #user-review #color-negative #lomography #grain

More Interesting Articles

  • Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120) Rumble Winners

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-08-10 in #people
    Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120) Rumble Winners

    Looking for a versatile film that's suitable for all lighting condition? A roll of Lomography CN 400 (120) is all you need!

    6
  • Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-02 in #gear #news
    Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    Have a look at these bright and beautiful medium format photographs from the community shot with the Lomography Color Negative 400 for 120 cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own CN 400 (120) snaps be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Shop News

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Want to push your limits in the field of photography? Go large format! This camera uses a 4x5” film and can capture all the subjects you want with this pinhole camera in large format!

  • Brilliant Shots Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 800 (35mm) Winners

    written by lomography on 2015-10-19 in #world #news #competitions
    Brilliant Shots Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 800 (35mm) Winners

    Looking for a reliable high-speed film? Load a roll of Lomography Color Negative 800 on your trusty camera and achieve fantastic results in all lighting conditions!

    1
  • Brilliant Low Light and Nighttime Shots Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 800 (35mm)

    written by lomography on 2015-10-11 in #gear #news
    Brilliant Low Light and Nighttime Shots Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 800 (35mm)

    Have a look at our handpicked selection of lovely photographs shot in low light and at night with the Lomography Color Negative 800 ISO for 35mm cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!

  • A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by shhquiet on 2015-11-16 in #gear #news #videos
    A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    New York City - the ideal place to go to if you're looking for unstoppable energy. There's plenty of exciting things going on, but you need to be lightning-fast if you want to seize the moment. This is what makes the Lomo'Instant Wide the perfect camera to use - it captures all the details in one wide instant snapshot! See it in action with our special video after the jump.

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 in #gear #tipster
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    10
  • A Secret of the Cosmos: Launching the Newest Lomography Product

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-19 in #gear #news
    A Secret of the Cosmos: Launching the Newest Lomography Product

    Shh! We've got a secret matter at hand, and it's coming at you at the speed of light! We're being as mysterious as the Cosmos about our new out-of-this world product, constantly orbiting around our big reveal. But the eclipse will pass and soon the stars will align. Until then, there must be some questions floating around in the universe, right? Well, there's no need to look to the stars to find your answer! Stay on Lomography's wavelength as we kick into hyperdrive. Let your imagination skyrocket and see if you can decipher our otherworldly clues!

    19
  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    written by zonderbar on 2015-12-18 in #world #competitions
    Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    North or South, East or West - in every corner of Germany you can find analog photography lovers. Lomography brings them together and shows their pictures to a worldwide community. With this rumble we want to get to know you a little better. Show Lomography and fotoforum where you come from, capture your hometown on film and win a one-year subscription of fotoforum magazine as well as a Lomo LC-A 120 camera. Please note: This competition is only for users from Germany, Austria or Switzerland.

  • Newcomer of the Week: gazeofslate

    written by lomography on 2016-02-07 in #world
    Newcomer of the Week: gazeofslate

    Aside from photography, newcomer Dmitri Berenger enjoys a multitude of hobbies including gardening, watching movies, and discovering music. In this interview, he talks about his photographic style, his inspirations, choosing film cameras over digital gear, and many more.

    2
  • Photo of the Day by _baunovart_

    written by lomography on 2016-02-06 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by _baunovart_

    It took nearly 20 years for this work of art to be completed.

    1