Kodak EIR Infrared (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

16

It's out of this world! Do you like colours? Do you like infrared? Well, get ready for Velvia on LSD: Kodak EIR will capture the infrared and give you the craziest of colours.

It’s out of this world! Do you like colours? Do you like infrared? Well, get ready for Velvia on LSD: Kodak EIR will capture the infrared and give you the craziest of colours.

Kodak EIR is a (false-) colour infrared transparency film. But what does false-colour infrared mean? Well, since the human eye cannot see infrared light, infrared must be represented by a colour visible to the human eye – on EIR infrared is reproduced as red, red light is reproduced as green, and green is represented as blue. But what about blue light? All three layers are sensitive to blue light so you’ll need to use a yellow filter to cancel the blue (mostly, a lot prefer an orange filter when shooting people.)

To get the best results you have to shoot EIR outside in bright daylight with the ISO set to 200 (if you are going to develop it in E-6 or C-41.) But since your basic light meter won’t measure infrared light you need to bracket to be sure to get decent exposures.

Kodak EIR is supposed to be developed in AR-5 chemicals for most accurate results (if you plan to do this you need to set your camera to an ISO of 100 for bright daylight photography), but since the AR-5 process isn’t standard, you can also use E-6 chemicals for stronger contrast and more saturated colours. You can even cross process it in C-41 to get weird low-saturated results (see a cross-processed EIR picture by Ursula Pfitzer here.)

No matter how you process your film the results will be psychedelic. Plants and foliage which reflects a lot of infrared light, will be red or magenta, while skies will be bright blue and occasionally something bright yellow pops out of the picture. The results are out of this world!

Since this film is no longer in production it is quite hard to get a hold of. Try Ebay or ask your local photo studio if they have some EIR lying around. Alternatively you can buy 70mm Aerographic film (almost identical to the film made by Kodak as an aerial film. This film is rated at ISO 400) trimmed down to 120 format here:http://www.tarquinius.de/.

written by larslau on 2008-11-21 in #reviews #eir #filters #aerographic-film #infrared #kodak #35mm

16 Comments

  1. fookshit
    fookshit ·

    i am liking this film already... fantastic gallery!

  2. lomodirk
    lomodirk ·

    Hey Lars, cool review and cool results, never thought of trying the EIR but now...damn!

  3. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    where to get this film?

  4. fookshit
    fookshit ·

    @mephisto:
    you can buy here www.tarquinius.de/

    it is quite pricey though.

  5. toastiesarnies
    toastiesarnies ·

    Wooooohoooooo!
    These are great! :)
    Were they shot with the yellow filter on?

  6. larslau
    larslau ·

    @FOOKSHIT:

    It's actually quite cheap. Way cheaper than what EIR 35mm goes for on eBay.

  7. larslau
    larslau ·

    @toastiesamies:

    Yep. Yellow filter on all these pics.

    I've just gotten some rolls of the 400 ISO 120-film. I'll try to shoot it with an orange and/or a red filter. I've seen some great effects with those filters.

  8. makeyuu
    makeyuu ·

    eeh..cool!!

  9. hanspan
    hanspan ·

    looks great!!!

  10. trash-gordon-from-outer-space
    trash-gordon-from-outer-space ·

    can anyone explain to me, why plants reflect so much infrared light?

    very interesting review and nice pics!

  11. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    whoaaa..

  12. larslau
    larslau ·

    @trash-gordon-from-outer-space:

    Well... I don't think there is a very good explanation. Plants are just reflecting a lot of near-IR. Like snow reflects a lot of visible light.

    There is probably some explanation based on evolution. Maybe something like that the chloroplasts in green plants do photosynthesis, and since the chloroplasts can't do any photosynthesis with infrared light (like green and yellow light) it is an advantage to reflect it so the plant does not overheat. So plants evolved to do just that... Just a guess (:

    Have a look at an absorbtion spectrum of a green plant here www.life.uiuc.edu/govindjee/paper/fig5.gif

    And remember that infrared light starts at 750 nm -- you'll se that nothing is absorbed.

  13. trash-gordon-from-outer-space
    trash-gordon-from-outer-space ·

    Thank you very much for your efforts. That's very kind.

    Your "guess" sounds very reasonable to me.
    And since nobody really understands what light is anyway I think that we can stick to this theory :-)

  14. bennici
    bennici ·

    hi Lars,
    Thanks for the cool page! Look forward to seeing more results from the 120 IR.
    Anyone interested in browsing my gallery at flickr to see more 120 format Color Infrared Film, can follow this link. Have a photographic day!!
    dean

    www.flickr.com/photos/25707900@N05/sets/72157605542484742/

  15. wonderdude
    wonderdude ·

    Color infrared is THE most exciting film for me. I bought several rolls of Dean's Aerochrome last month, and I'm waiting for a great opportunity to shoot it.

    Aerochrome III was discontinued a few years ago too, though. Nobody makes color IR film any more. I wonder if Lomography could find a profitable way to manufacture it? (hint, hint)

    Wikipedia has good info on CIR, and it also mentions Dean's operation: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Infrared_photography

  16. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    :-((((((((((((

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-09 in #news
    Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    Did you enjoy shooting with Cine200 Tungsten Film when it launched? Or were you one of the unlucky many who missed out on this ultra-limited edition emulsion? Well, we’re thrilled to say we have an exciting follow-up to Cine200 which will launch in just a few days! And as the other film sold out so fast, we wanted to give you the opportunity to sign-up to our list to get the news as soon as it happens.

    1
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Shift School Paris Photo Competition: The Winners

    written by efrost on 2014-11-05 in #competitions
    Shift School Paris Photo Competition: The Winners

    It looks like it’s time to get out the cameras and pack your bags. Together with the Shift School Dresden, we offered amazing prizes, including an insider trip to Paris, where you can take part in photography courses and visit the world-famous Paris Photo Tradeshow. Of course, there’s also a ton of Lomography prizes at stake like cameras, accessories and film so that the winner can capture memories from the trip on film. And now to announce the winners!

  • Colorful Transformations: Part One

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-17 in #news
    Colorful Transformations: Part One

    Don’t you love it when the whole world shifts into new perspectives? Perhaps it’s the moment you realize the grass isn’t always greener on the other side, or that secondly when it’s like someone has flicked a switch and life suddenly appears completely fresh again. Well ladies and gentlemen, we are nearly ready to unveil a new Lomographic surprise which will have this magical impact on your photographic life!

    8
  • A Salute to the Masters: Judo (A Tribute to Sabine Weiss)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-04-18 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Judo (A Tribute to Sabine Weiss)

    This article is a tribute to the street and humanist photographer Sabine Weiss. Considered a living legend in street photography, she likes to photograph daily lives of people, trying to capture the emotions she recognizes around her. Weiss like to photograph people of all ages but she especially loves to take photos of children, masterfully immortalizing their spontaneous gestures and emotions. For this article, I was inspired by one of her rare sports photos of some children practicing judo. Do you want to know more about this great artist? Well, read on!

  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Lomography & The Red Bulletin: Your Moment. Beyond the Ordinary

    written by analogeanstalten on 2014-08-20 in #competitions
    Lomography & The Red Bulletin: Your Moment. Beyond the Ordinary

    Have you ever experienced feeling goosebumps all over your body, that your heart seems to jump out of your ribcage, your common sense is set on pause and you just breathe and enjoy the moment? Together with The Red Bulletin, we want to see YOUR moment beyond everyday life. Are you ready for the photographic #yourmoment #beyondtheordinary challenge? Take part in our photo competition! The two best shots will be awarded with a camera, and the first 500 to register will get a one-year free subscription of The Red Bulletin!

  • Cozy up to Black Friday with 30 Classy Black & White Pics from the LC-Wide

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-28 in #news
    Cozy up to Black Friday with 30 Classy Black & White Pics from the LC-Wide

    You probably don't feel like leaving your comfy sofa to go out and fight the cold and the crowds for a great deal, do you? We don't blame you! Instead, grab a plate of leftover turkey with all the fixin's and check out these gorgeous black and white photos from the classic LC-Wide camera. When you're done, scoot on over to the Online Shop to save a sweet 30% on it and other choice analogue deals!

    2
  • 5 of the Best Ways to Share Your Lomo'Instant Pics

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-25 in #people #news
    5 of the Best Ways to Share Your Lomo'Instant Pics

    We love sharing photos! So, with the recent release of the beloved Lomo'Instant camera, we thought it would be a great idea to look at some of the best ways to share your instants with the world. Rather than letting them collect dust on a shelf or stay hidden away in a drawer somewhere, why not let everyone else in on your superb instant creations? Check out these 5 awesome ways you can do just that!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Photo Stories: Iskra, Damaged Film, Surviving Photos by herbert-4

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-07-07 in #world #lifestyle
    Photo Stories: Iskra, Damaged Film, Surviving Photos by herbert-4

    Today’s featured member, Herbert, gives the impression that he is interested in people as much as he loves cameras—and he has many vintage treasures. Even a casual snapshot of his has a story that suggests curiosity about the people he photographs.

    2
  • Claude Nori's Adventures in Photographing Women

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-07-07 in #world #lifestyle
    Claude Nori's Adventures in Photographing Women

    Claude Nori used the camera to combat his shyness around women. His brief "photographic flirtations" are now on view at Polka Galerie in Paris.

  • Bringing Back Old Photographs to Life with Julie Cockburn

    written by anamartaml on 2015-07-07 in #people #lifestyle
    Bringing Back Old Photographs to Life with Julie Cockburn

    “No image is safe after it enters my studio,” says artist Julie Cockburn.

    4