Paradies DIA 100 (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

1

A jewel in the drugstore: Nice slides and cool for x-processing, available in some drugstores and it's cheap. What else do you need?

A jewel in the drugstore: Nice slides and cool for x-processing, available in some drugstores and it’s cheap. What else do you need?

I have to admit that my favorite film for cross processing is the Agfa CT Precisa. Since supply for this kind of film is getting scarce each day that passes, it is quite difficult to find it in regular stores. So in my first trip to Berlin in the summer of 2007, I found a drugstore called DM where I saw a store-brand film and bought 10 rolls and I also found a slide film called Paradies DIA 100 ISO also from their brand.

I checked the Paradies slide and developed the roll i used with my Fisheye2 with Colorsplash on E6. The results were pretty good. As it is only 100 ASA, it needs a lot of light but the good point is that in low light conditions with the help of the flash only the foreground is well lit while the background is very dim. That somehow it gives a new dimension to the Fisheye portraits that I took.

Cross processed the other roll I used with my Horizon Kompakt and the results were quite contrasty and has the tendency to give off blue and sometimes magenta hues. And I must say the grains on my photos are quite acceptable.

The good point is that this is quite cheap, and is available in DM drugstores in Germany and Austria, and probably in other countries were DM sells (Croatia, Hungary, Slovakia, Chez Republic), and who knows, maybe someday available at Lomography!

written by minicooper on 2008-12-01 in #reviews #slide #dia #x-pro #paradies

One Comment

  1. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    great review, great shots!

    post more pictures when this film gets xprocessed.

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • 18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear #news
    18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    Having a Belair X 6-12 feels like owning more than just one camera. It's a medium-format camera, but paired with its special accessories you can shoot 35mm or instant photos with it, too! The versatility of its 3 photo formats also offers more options to suit your shooting needs. Here, we present to you some of the most gorgeous Belair X 6-12 photos in classic 6x6 format. Enjoy!

    11
  • Creative Ways: LomoChrome Turquoise Exposed!

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-04-09 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways: LomoChrome Turquoise Exposed!

    What happens when you take one crazy film guy, some new and interesting Lomography film, and see what it can do? Magic is what happens, and that is why you need to try some of these techniques when shooting the LomoChrome Turquoise yourself!

    6
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Something New: Use 35mm Film in Your LC-A 120

    written by efrost on 2015-02-25 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Something New: Use 35mm Film in Your LC-A 120

    What’s something you have to try right away with a new medium format camera? Exactly - put 35mm film in it and take some awesome shots with sprockets on them!

    7
  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    written by recurving on 2015-02-03 in #world #news
    So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    For the last year we've been working on the next version of Lomography. We based our work on the feedback you’ve given us over the years and we wanted to share it as early as possible with you and can’t wait to hear what you think. Just one warning first: it is still in development and things can break. All the photos, comments, likes, homes and everything else were transferred as of October 16th, 2014. So anything you do on next.lomography.com won't be reflected on www.lomography.com and vice versa. Once we are done with testing, everything you did here will be deleted again. So this is a big playground for you to explore.

    216
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Valeriie Liin and The Cameras She Brings

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-03 in #world #lifestyle
    Valeriie Liin and The Cameras She Brings

    There are things that artist Valeriie Liin can't leave the house without: her earphones, two notebooks, keys to her home in Taiwan, and a little color palette for painting. It's not always that she can paint, though, so for those times she turns to her cameras.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Street Typography on LomoChrome Purple

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-07-03 in #world
    Street Typography on LomoChrome Purple

    This film is made to shift colors and cast a layer of nostalgia to casual scenes. But as community albums reveal, LomoChrome Purple can also be a graphic match to worded signs and logos.

  • Lomography Goes to Rockaway Beach

    written by givesmehell on 2015-07-03 in #world #news #events
    Lomography Goes to Rockaway Beach

    Lomography warmly invites everyone to join us on a trip to Rockaway Beach on Saturday, July 25. We will be conducting a couple of workshops to make sure you're well equipped onyour summer beach escapades.

  • PYHOF: Karaoke Hits

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-03 in #world #lifestyle
    PYHOF: Karaoke Hits

    Turn the volume up and sing along to these tunes. You know you want to.