Paradies DIA 100 (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

1

A jewel in the drugstore: Nice slides and cool for x-processing, available in some drugstores and it's cheap. What else do you need?

A jewel in the drugstore: Nice slides and cool for x-processing, available in some drugstores and it’s cheap. What else do you need?

I have to admit that my favorite film for cross processing is the Agfa CT Precisa. Since supply for this kind of film is getting scarce each day that passes, it is quite difficult to find it in regular stores. So in my first trip to Berlin in the summer of 2007, I found a drugstore called DM where I saw a store-brand film and bought 10 rolls and I also found a slide film called Paradies DIA 100 ISO also from their brand.

I checked the Paradies slide and developed the roll i used with my Fisheye2 with Colorsplash on E6. The results were pretty good. As it is only 100 ASA, it needs a lot of light but the good point is that in low light conditions with the help of the flash only the foreground is well lit while the background is very dim. That somehow it gives a new dimension to the Fisheye portraits that I took.

Cross processed the other roll I used with my Horizon Kompakt and the results were quite contrasty and has the tendency to give off blue and sometimes magenta hues. And I must say the grains on my photos are quite acceptable.

The good point is that this is quite cheap, and is available in DM drugstores in Germany and Austria, and probably in other countries were DM sells (Croatia, Hungary, Slovakia, Chez Republic), and who knows, maybe someday available at Lomography!

written by minicooper on 2008-12-01 in #reviews #x-pro #slide #paradies #dia

One Comment

  1. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    great review, great shots!

    post more pictures when this film gets xprocessed.

More Interesting Articles

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 in #gear #tipster
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    10
  • 18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear #news
    18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    Having a Belair X 6-12 feels like owning more than just one camera. It's a medium-format camera, but paired with its special accessories you can shoot 35mm or instant photos with it, too! The versatility of its 3 photo formats also offers more options to suit your shooting needs. Here, we present to you some of the most gorgeous Belair X 6-12 photos in classic 6x6 format. Enjoy!

    11
  • Creative Ways: LomoChrome Turquoise Exposed!

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-04-09 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways: LomoChrome Turquoise Exposed!

    What happens when you take one crazy film guy, some new and interesting Lomography film, and see what it can do? Magic is what happens, and that is why you need to try some of these techniques when shooting the LomoChrome Turquoise yourself!

    6
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Wanted: Copywriting and Online Marketing Interns For Lomography HQ!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-07-14 in #world #news
    Wanted: Copywriting and Online Marketing Interns For Lomography HQ!

    Are you passionate about creative and experimental photography? Do you want to know what it's like working at the Lomography Headquarters? Experience it first-hand by applying for internship! Currently we have two opportunities available, if you're interested in Copywriting or Online Marketing. Read more details after the jump!

  • Something New: Use 35mm Film in Your LC-A 120

    written by efrost on 2015-02-25 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Something New: Use 35mm Film in Your LC-A 120

    What’s something you have to try right away with a new medium format camera? Exactly - put 35mm film in it and take some awesome shots with sprockets on them!

    9
  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • Treasures Worth Saving: An Interview with Christopher Payne

    written by Lomography on 2016-02-09 in #people #locations
    Treasures Worth Saving: An Interview with Christopher Payne

    Architectural photographer Christopher Payne documents America’s industrial heritage with his large format images. For his project "Asylum," he visited 70 abandoned psychiatric hospitals across to country between 2002 and 2008.

    1
  • Romain_cav is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by lomography on 2016-02-09 in #world #news
    Romain_cav is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to romain_cav for winning Home of the Day!

  • Shop News

    Pixelstick

    Pixelstick

    The most incredible lightpainting tool is here! Consists of 200 full color RGB LEDs in a lightweight aluminium housing will color your analogue world in different way! Create and animate different shades and shapes with the Pixelstick!

  • A Color Remix

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-09 in #gear #lifestyle
    A Color Remix

    It's human nature to be restless and imaginative. The real may be interpreted as what one sees or how one sees something. For the daydreamer, a scene from nature transforms into a canvas. Suddenly a field makes room for chemical coloring, all those anachronistic streaks that somehow look right. Or else, those beautiful colors amplified or subdued to their most pictorial shades. All in the world of trial-and-process film photography.

  • Photo of the Day by gregoire1969

    written by lomography on 2016-02-09 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by gregoire1969

    Let today's featured photo be a lesson on the usefulness of filters in long exposure photography.

  • Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-02-08 in #gear #tipster
    Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. I'll start with Rapid film.

    3