Fuji Press (35mm, 800 iso) user-review

3

A day with Fuji Press 800: All began with the Krab.... As I wanted to shoot underwater with my LCA+, I bought a Krab and needed a high speed film for the shots and as the LCA+ can't have a flash with the Krab housing, I was searching for an 800 ASA film. I saw on the Lomo shop this 800 Fuji Press but didn't ever heard of this film before, so I bought a pack of 5.

A day with Fuji Press 800: All began with the Krab…. As I wanted to shoot underwater with my LCA+, I bought a Krab and needed a high speed film for the shots and as the LCA+ can’t have a flash with the Krab housing, I was searching for an 800 ASA film. I saw on the Lomo shop this 800 Fuji Press but didn’t ever heard of this film before, so I bought a pack of 5.

Now, the day arrived to test the Krab with this Fuji Press 800. I was a bit worried because the weather was really beautiful with a strong light and I thought "ok, for the underwater shots this film would be okay, but if I want to take some shots out of the water (even if the LCA+ is able to adapt to every situation) they’ll be pehaps a little bit burned out, i guess….

What a surprise when I saw the negative developped: not only the underwater shots were exposed really good (that was expected with on this film of its kind) but the shots in the bright sunlight and out of the water were all very good too! This film has a very fine grain, a good contrast and beautiful blue and white tones of cool color. Perfect for the seaside even in bright sunlight and also perfect for underwater shots, whatever the condition!
But I am not done yet, as I only had this roll for the whole day, I also took some shots at night and when the roll was finished, as I still wanted to take some shots, I rewind it back again for a little bit to make some hazardous doubles. Well, the result was astonishing: cool night shots, and even when the shots were doubled with the daytime ones, they still were perfectly balanced!

Wow! this is a film everyone should have on their pockets: an 800 film that matches whatever lighting conditions you’re in. Be it underwater, sunny seaside, night and double shots without losing anything of its qualities….that’s a great film for sure!
And if you’re not convinced, have a look at the gallery where you can see all what you can shoot in a day with this FUJI Press 800! :)

written by vicuna on 2008-12-22 in #reviews #press #35mm #underwater #colour-negative #fuji

3 Comments

  1. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    the 15th shoot is so amazing!

  2. scottmitchell
    scottmitchell ·

    hey this really helps! i have a krab housing too but my pictures all come out dark , definately going to try this film

  3. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    i love the underwater shots :-)

More Interesting Articles

  • Top Tips For Krab Underwater Case and Fisheye Submarine Users

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle

    If it's your first time to use the Fisheye Submarine Case (with your Fisheye One/Fisheye No.2 cameras) or the Krab Underwater Housing (with your LC-A+ or LC-Wide cameras), you might still feel a liiiiittle bit anxious about taking your favorite cameras underwater. To help ease your worries I gathered some of the most helpful tips, straight from summer-lovin' Lomographers who braved the waves with their cameras!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • 10 Coolest Places To Visit ... Underwater!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle
    10 Coolest Places To Visit ... Underwater!

    Where are you headed to this summer? Where I'm from summer has ended too soon, so I'm still daydreaming of sand and seafoam. I decided to check out the archives for some cool beach-y snapshots and came across a lot of interesting underwater photos! Check out my finds after the jump; hopefully this list will inspire you to grab a Fisheye Sub or a Krab, along with your Fisheye cameras and LC-A+, for some underwater adventure.

    1
  • Shop News

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Get both appealing LomoDices for your home! These cardboard cubes can be used for different things – they make great, stylish seats but you can also stash small items inside and fold them for storing!

  • Lomo LC-A Krab: The Black Underwater Cyclops

    written by dopa on 2014-05-20 in #reviews
    Lomo LC-A Krab: The Black Underwater Cyclops

    We move with big steps towards the summer and more frequently, we encounter articles about the red LC-A Krab+ underwater housing here in the community. But do you already know the black original? Read on and I'll show you!

    2
  • Lomopedia: Fuji Klasse S and Fuji Klasse W

    written by cheeo on 2014-09-03 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Fuji Klasse S and Fuji Klasse W

    As far as high end point-and-shoot cameras go, the Fuji Klasse S and W take a coveted spot in many film photographers’ wish lists. Know why in this installment of Lomopedia.

    1
  • Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part One)

    written by dermanu on 2014-08-31 in #world #locations
    Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part One)

    When I was a child, I regularly went to Blaavand located at the Danish west coast with my brothers and my parents. However, I didn't anymore when I grew up. But in 2012, we hit the road again. It was my first visit there in about 20 years. I took the chance and packed as many cameras as possible into my luggage. In this article, I'm going to present to you the photos I took with my Nikon F-501 SLR.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Classic × Classic : Using a Leica M3 camera to shoot with the New Petzval Art lens

    written by shawnlin on 2014-05-07 in #gear #tipster
    Classic × Classic : Using a Leica M3 camera to shoot with the New Petzval Art lens

    I participated in the Kickstarter campaign and purchased my very own new Petzval lens. I can't wait to use with with my digital camera to experience its wonderful bokeh effect. I also wanted to try its effects when using a film camera but the lens has an EF mount. I didn't have a Canon camera. See what I did with it after the jump.

    8
  • A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-11 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    This is a tribute to a great Austrian sports photographer, Lothar Rübelt. In an era with no high speed films available, he was able to immortalize wonderful moments in sports - from diving to gymnastics and football. In creating this tribute, I took a series of photos of an amateur football match using expired black and white film developed using an uncommon chemical. Take a look after the jump!

  • Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    written by dopa on 2014-05-25 in #gear #tipster
    Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    Probably each one of you has been annoyed with failed film. This is particularly annoying when you get the developed film back from the lab, but you get blanks because the film was not exposed. It's either the film transport didn't work, or you have not taken the lens cap off, etc. Read on and I'll show you an alternative to just throwing away the film: Simply use it as a color filter for your camera, with the La Sardina for example.

    3
  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • December 7th Advent Offer: Pick up a premium treat for less today! (Online Code: PREMIUMTREAT20)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-07 in #news
    December 7th Advent Offer: Pick up a premium treat for less today!  (Online Code: PREMIUMTREAT20)

    Searching for a great deal on an amazing camera for this holiday season? You've come to the right place! Today's Advent deal bestows an incredible 20% off our Horizon and Belair cameras as well as any of our Premium Cameras. You'll be sure to create special memories with gorgeous photographs from any one of these cameras!

  • The World, According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World, According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    6