Fuji Press (35mm, 800 iso) user-review

3

A day with Fuji Press 800: All began with the Krab.... As I wanted to shoot underwater with my LCA+, I bought a Krab and needed a high speed film for the shots and as the LCA+ can't have a flash with the Krab housing, I was searching for an 800 ASA film. I saw on the Lomo shop this 800 Fuji Press but didn't ever heard of this film before, so I bought a pack of 5.

A day with Fuji Press 800: All began with the Krab…. As I wanted to shoot underwater with my LCA+, I bought a Krab and needed a high speed film for the shots and as the LCA+ can’t have a flash with the Krab housing, I was searching for an 800 ASA film. I saw on the Lomo shop this 800 Fuji Press but didn’t ever heard of this film before, so I bought a pack of 5.

Now, the day arrived to test the Krab with this Fuji Press 800. I was a bit worried because the weather was really beautiful with a strong light and I thought "ok, for the underwater shots this film would be okay, but if I want to take some shots out of the water (even if the LCA+ is able to adapt to every situation) they’ll be pehaps a little bit burned out, i guess….

What a surprise when I saw the negative developped: not only the underwater shots were exposed really good (that was expected with on this film of its kind) but the shots in the bright sunlight and out of the water were all very good too! This film has a very fine grain, a good contrast and beautiful blue and white tones of cool color. Perfect for the seaside even in bright sunlight and also perfect for underwater shots, whatever the condition!
But I am not done yet, as I only had this roll for the whole day, I also took some shots at night and when the roll was finished, as I still wanted to take some shots, I rewind it back again for a little bit to make some hazardous doubles. Well, the result was astonishing: cool night shots, and even when the shots were doubled with the daytime ones, they still were perfectly balanced!

Wow! this is a film everyone should have on their pockets: an 800 film that matches whatever lighting conditions you’re in. Be it underwater, sunny seaside, night and double shots without losing anything of its qualities….that’s a great film for sure!
And if you’re not convinced, have a look at the gallery where you can see all what you can shoot in a day with this FUJI Press 800! :)

written by vicuna on 2008-12-22 in #reviews #underwater #press #35mm #colour-negative #fuji

3 Comments

  1. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    the 15th shoot is so amazing!

  2. scottmitchell
    scottmitchell ·

    hey this really helps! i have a krab housing too but my pictures all come out dark , definately going to try this film

  3. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    i love the underwater shots :-)

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Lomopedia: Fuji Klasse S and Fuji Klasse W

    written by cheeo on 2014-09-03 in #people #reviews
    Lomopedia: Fuji Klasse S and Fuji Klasse W

    As far as high end point-and-shoot cameras go, the Fuji Klasse S and W take a coveted spot in many film photographers’ wish lists. Know why in this installment of Lomopedia.

    1
  • Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part One)

    written by dermanu on 2014-08-31 in #world #locations
    Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part One)

    When I was a child, I regularly went to Blaavand located at the Danish west coast with my brothers and my parents. However, I didn't anymore when I grew up. But in 2012, we hit the road again. It was my first visit there in about 20 years. I took the chance and packed as many cameras as possible into my luggage. In this article, I'm going to present to you the photos I took with my Nikon F-501 SLR.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-11 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    This is a tribute to a great Austrian sports photographer, Lothar Rübelt. In an era with no high speed films available, he was able to immortalize wonderful moments in sports - from diving to gymnastics and football. In creating this tribute, I took a series of photos of an amateur football match using expired black and white film developed using an uncommon chemical. Take a look after the jump!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Testing a Roll of Found Film

    written by billseye on 2015-07-20 in #gear #lifestyle
    Testing a Roll of Found Film

    In one of my vintage hunts, I bought a camera for $2. It came with an unexposed roll of film. After using up the last frames, I discovered that this old camera has Lomographic qualities.

    2
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • December 7th Advent Offer: Pick up a premium treat for less today! (Online Code: PREMIUMTREAT20)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-07 in #news
    December 7th Advent Offer: Pick up a premium treat for less today!  (Online Code: PREMIUMTREAT20)

    Searching for a great deal on an amazing camera for this holiday season? You've come to the right place! Today's Advent deal bestows an incredible 20% off our Horizon and Belair cameras as well as any of our Premium Cameras. You'll be sure to create special memories with gorgeous photographs from any one of these cameras!

  • LomoAmigo: Russell Darling

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-03-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo: Russell Darling

    Russell Darling is one of our Lomography UK regulars. He is a big part of our community of film fanatics and regularly joins our workshops and events. In this interview, we asked him about his experience shooting with the Lomo LC-A 120, as well as his work as visual effects practitioner for films such as "Star Wars," "Twilight," and "Godzilla."

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • New York - The Best City for Testing LomoChrome Turquoise

    written by zonderbar on 2014-11-11 in #reviews
    New York - The Best City for Testing LomoChrome Turquoise

    Two years ago I swore to myself, I'll be coming back soon!" This October my chance finally came and I flew for the second time to New York City to visit my dear colleagues in the Lomography Gallery Store New York. What I didn’t see coming, though, is the opportunity to test a new secret film during my trip.

  • Get Free Lomography Film When You Buy an LC-A+, LC-A 120 or LC-Wide Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2015-02-10 in #gear
    Get Free Lomography Film When You Buy an LC-A+, LC-A 120 or LC-Wide Camera

    Thinking of getting a Lomo LC-A+, LC-A 120 or LC-Wide? Well, you're in for a treat! This week's the best time to buy, because we'll toss in free Lomography film with your purchase!