Fuji Press (35mm, 800 iso) user-review

3

A day with Fuji Press 800: All began with the Krab.... As I wanted to shoot underwater with my LCA+, I bought a Krab and needed a high speed film for the shots and as the LCA+ can't have a flash with the Krab housing, I was searching for an 800 ASA film. I saw on the Lomo shop this 800 Fuji Press but didn't ever heard of this film before, so I bought a pack of 5.

A day with Fuji Press 800: All began with the Krab…. As I wanted to shoot underwater with my LCA+, I bought a Krab and needed a high speed film for the shots and as the LCA+ can’t have a flash with the Krab housing, I was searching for an 800 ASA film. I saw on the Lomo shop this 800 Fuji Press but didn’t ever heard of this film before, so I bought a pack of 5.

Now, the day arrived to test the Krab with this Fuji Press 800. I was a bit worried because the weather was really beautiful with a strong light and I thought "ok, for the underwater shots this film would be okay, but if I want to take some shots out of the water (even if the LCA+ is able to adapt to every situation) they’ll be pehaps a little bit burned out, i guess….

What a surprise when I saw the negative developped: not only the underwater shots were exposed really good (that was expected with on this film of its kind) but the shots in the bright sunlight and out of the water were all very good too! This film has a very fine grain, a good contrast and beautiful blue and white tones of cool color. Perfect for the seaside even in bright sunlight and also perfect for underwater shots, whatever the condition!
But I am not done yet, as I only had this roll for the whole day, I also took some shots at night and when the roll was finished, as I still wanted to take some shots, I rewind it back again for a little bit to make some hazardous doubles. Well, the result was astonishing: cool night shots, and even when the shots were doubled with the daytime ones, they still were perfectly balanced!

Wow! this is a film everyone should have on their pockets: an 800 film that matches whatever lighting conditions you’re in. Be it underwater, sunny seaside, night and double shots without losing anything of its qualities….that’s a great film for sure!
And if you’re not convinced, have a look at the gallery where you can see all what you can shoot in a day with this FUJI Press 800! :)

written by vicuna on 2008-12-22 in #reviews #underwater #press #35mm #fuji #colour-negative

3 Comments

  1. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    the 15th shoot is so amazing!

  2. scottmitchell
    scottmitchell ·

    hey this really helps! i have a krab housing too but my pictures all come out dark , definately going to try this film

  3. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    i love the underwater shots :-)

More Interesting Articles

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Testing a Roll of Found Film

    written by billseye on 2015-07-20 in #gear #lifestyle
    Testing a Roll of Found Film

    In one of my vintage hunts, I bought a camera for $2. It came with an unexposed roll of film. After using up the last frames, I discovered that this old camera has Lomographic qualities.

    2
  • LomoAmigo: Russell Darling

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-03-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo: Russell Darling

    Russell Darling is one of our Lomography UK regulars. He is a big part of our community of film fanatics and regularly joins our workshops and events. In this interview, we asked him about his experience shooting with the Lomo LC-A 120, as well as his work as visual effects practitioner for films such as "Star Wars," "Twilight," and "Godzilla."

  • Shop News

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    A true Lomographic gem, the Lomo LC-A+ RL is blessed with good looks and bursting with experimental potential. Get ready to shoot amazing Lomographic photos by experimenting with MX shots, long exposures and a whole range of accessories!

  • A True Blue Lomographer: Community LomoAmigo johnny-weimar

    written by morlice on 2016-01-07 in #people #lomoamigos
    A True Blue Lomographer: Community LomoAmigo johnny-weimar

    Jonathan Weimar, better known as johnny-weimar in the community, professes his passion for photography with the help of quite a few analog cameras. He has made quite a reputation and is best remembered by the Lomography Turkey crew as the guy who gave 50-something films to develop and scan. Get to know the high school teacher-cum-lomographer in this candid yet inspiring interview.

    1
  • Get Free Lomography Film When You Buy an LC-A+, LC-A 120 or LC-Wide Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2015-02-10 in #gear
    Get Free Lomography Film When You Buy an LC-A+, LC-A 120 or LC-Wide Camera

    Thinking of getting a Lomo LC-A+, LC-A 120 or LC-Wide? Well, you're in for a treat! This week's the best time to buy, because we'll toss in free Lomography film with your purchase!

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-06 in #gear #reviews
    Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    In this article, I'll show you how the Lomo LC-A loaded with the versatile Ilford HP5+ can make the most out of a hazy morning. To capture the whirlwind of a bicycle race, I pushed the film to ISO 800. The legendary Minitar 1 lens and this classic Ilford film are a perfect combination if you love black and white photos.

    1
  • A Sunday on Pfaueninsel ("Peacock Island")

    written by petit_loir on 2015-08-15 in #world
    A Sunday on Pfaueninsel ("Peacock Island")

    The Pfaueninsel ("Peacock Island"), also known as "Pearl in the Havel sea," is a world cultural heritage and popular destination for Berliners. Loose peacocks, water buffalos and the magical character of the island were also a reason for me to go and spend one Sunday afternoon there, with my LC-A+ and the LomoChrome Purple film.

  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2
  • Shop News

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Prepare your overwhelming panoramic views and capture them with this ultra-wide panoramic 35mm gear. Start sharing your great memories with family and friends the analog way!

  • Markus Andersen Talks 'At the Edge of the Earth'

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-08 in #people #lifestyle #videos
    Markus Andersen Talks 'At the Edge of the Earth'

    "At the edge of the Earth" is an ongoing yearlong project by documentary photographer Markus Andersen in which he captures the coastline of Sydney, Australia on black and white film with the Diana and Lomo LC-A cameras. In this interview, the Sydney-based photographer opens up to Lomography about his latest endeavor as well as on shooting on the streets of his city and the importance of photographing in analog.

    4
  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    Dale McCready is a cinematographer working in the film/ TV industry and has worked on programmes such as Doctor Who and Merlin. He was one of our supporters for the Petzval Kickstarter campaign and recently used the lens to film for a new BBC drama, which is due out in March. Dale kindly shared some of his Petzval photographs with us and talked about his love for this lens. Read on for the full interview.

  • First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-22 in #people #lomoamigos
    First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    Maxime Fardeau, or Max as he is fondly called, loves film. He has been shooting analogue for about four years and owns a number of 35mm film and instant cameras, such as the Leica M6 and SLR-670 Polaroid. He has taken photos using the Lomo'Instant and the Minitar-1 Art Lens and this time around, he provides a glimpse of the images she produced with the Jupiter 3+ Art Lens.

    2