Kodak Elitechrome EB (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

3

Do you love blue skies and deep blue oceans or lakes? Do you love to use the colorsplash flash to give a bit more colour to your world but still want to get some mind-blowing colours instead of a monochromatic picture? Do you love fine grained pictures that look just sharp and with a subtle saturation? And do you want a film that can adapt to any stile or camera that you can think off? If you answered yes to any of these questions, Elitechrome EB 100 is just the film for you.

Do you love blue skies and deep blue oceans or lakes? Do you love to use the colorsplash flash to give a bit more colour to your world but still want to get some mind-blowing colours instead of a monochromatic picture? Do you love fine grained pictures that look just sharp and with a subtle saturation? And do you want a film that can adapt to any stile or camera that you can think off? If you answered yes to any of these questions, Elitechrome EB 100 is just the film for you.

I came across this film almost by accident! I was running low on cash and I went to my trusted photography store and I asked if they had some expired slide film. They handed me a pack with 3 Elitechrome EB100 saying that was all they had. I picked 2 packs at 50% discount and tried it out.

The results came out smooth, with a vibrant blue tone, soft saturation and an almost graineless image. I was very impressed with the result, mostly because I had never heard about this film (all I ever heard was about the CT Precisa, the Velvias or the Sensias). Since then I have been trying it on most of my 35mm cameras. I get lovely images on my LC-A+, great multi and long exposures on my Fisheye2 and major contrast and saturation on my Holga 135BC.

From my experience I found that this slide film is great to use with yellow colourflash and indoors, when you are planning to make long and multi-exposures, giving you a blue toned dreamy background and sharp subjects… just great for parties!

written by babo on 2008-12-15 in #reviews #slide #kodak #35mm #x-pro #kodak-elitechrome

3 Comments

  1. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    hey, great review and shots, i'm definitely going to try some.

  2. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    great review and amazing shots!! estão muito boas, parabéns! :)

  3. babo
    babo ·

    Thx for the comments guys. Funny thing is that I only noticed that the film review had been published `cause I noticed the extra piggies on my account :-)

More Interesting Articles

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • The Lomo LC-A-to-Z: I for ‘Immerse Yourself’

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-06-21 in #news
    The Lomo LC-A-to-Z: I for ‘Immerse Yourself’

    The Lomo LC-A is a great camera to bring during festivals, on vacation, or even when you’re just walking around looking for some street photography opportunities. But do you know that it can also do waters for underwater photography?

  • Spice Up Your Lomo'Instant Snaps with a Cool Collage

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-15 in #gear #tipster
    Spice Up Your Lomo'Instant Snaps with a Cool Collage

    As you may have noticed, we love finding awesome ways to show off our Lomo'Instant snaps. That's why any time we come across a new and cool method, we just have to share it. Scroll down to see how you can display your instants in a beautiful collage style!

    1
  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    With this bundle you are ready to shoot with the Fuji Instax Wide 300 and dig in to the instax world – on top you save 20% on Fuji Wide film!

  • 5 of the Best Ways to Share Your Lomo'Instant Pics

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-25 in #people #news
    5 of the Best Ways to Share Your Lomo'Instant Pics

    We love sharing photos! So, with the recent release of the beloved Lomo'Instant camera, we thought it would be a great idea to look at some of the best ways to share your instants with the world. Rather than letting them collect dust on a shelf or stay hidden away in a drawer somewhere, why not let everyone else in on your superb instant creations? Check out these 5 awesome ways you can do just that!

  • Snippets and Vignettes: Learn to Use Your Bicycle for Self-Defense with these Vintage Illustrations Turned GIFs

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-17 in #lifestyle
    Snippets and Vignettes: Learn to Use Your Bicycle for Self-Defense with these Vintage Illustrations Turned GIFs

    “I want to ride my bicycle” quipped the legendary band Queen. Learn how to do more than just riding your bike with these vintage illustrations turned GIFS that can teach you how to use it for self-defense.

    1
  • Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-05 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    Lubitel for lovers+. You're probably wondering, "Why is there a '+'?" It's to describe and expand a whole new definition of the Lubitel - in this case, this camera is not only for lovers literally, but also for anyone who loves to shoot portraits, street scenes, objects, and the skies. Do you love to take photos of your lover, your dear friend, your lovely family, your pet, or at the streets? This camera can be used in ALL situations. You can shoot everything that you love with it!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Larry Racioppo's Vintage Photographs of Kids in Halloween Costumes

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-21 in #lifestyle
    Larry Racioppo's Vintage Photographs of Kids in Halloween Costumes

    Halloween is just a little over week away, and if you're on the lookout for a kickin' old-school costume for that party you're throwing (or attending, or if you simply want to dress up to mark the occasion!), you might want to consider these worn by merry Halloween revelers from the '70s.

  • An Overview of Shooting with an 8x10 Camera in the Field

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-09 in #lifestyle
    An Overview of Shooting with an 8x10 Camera in the Field

    Whether you have an 8x10 camera lying around that you're raring to shoot with, or just want to know the process of taking photos with it, this 15-minute clip by photographer Tim Layton is a must watch.

  • Lomopedia: Minox 35 ML

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-16 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Minox 35 ML

    Hailing from a long line of small cameras that pack quite a punch, the Minox 35 ML can be a great addition to any film enthusiast’s collection. Don’t let its small package fool you. Read on to find out more about what the Minox 35 ML can do.

    1
  • Shop News

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    The LC-Wide Elite Kit gathers all the accessories you would ever need for your Lomo LC-Wide.

  • Roundup: Film Photography Day 2014

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-03 in #news
    Roundup: Film Photography Day 2014

    Did you miss this year's Film Photography Day celebration? Here's a recap of all the events that happened in April, in honor of our love for analogue photography. Of course, remember that you can always make any day a Film Photography Day if you wish; just gather your friends and organize a LomoMatrix in your area! For inspiration, check out what Lomography Gallery Stores and Lomography Embassy Stores from all over the world came up with.

    3
  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: January - Masks and Filters

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-02-16 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: January - Masks and Filters

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. In January, I tried some camera add-ons. If you want to add a bit of extra bling to your pictures, you can put something either in front of or behind your lens. In this case, I did both.

  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!