Fuji Press (35mm, 800 iso) user-review

4

I bought this film from Lomography as part of a Snatch! offer. It was cheap, expired and I was looking for a good color negative. How could I go wrong? That's everything a good Lomographer could want in a film. I recieved the film and eagerly tossed it into my Canon AE-1 and shot the town. When it was developed, I was pleasantly surprised by the results.

I bought this film from Lomography as part of a Snatch! offer. It was cheap, expired and I was looking for a good color negative. How could I go wrong? That’s everything a good Lomographer could want in a film. I recieved the film and eagerly tossed it into my Canon AE-1 and shot the town. When it was developed, I was pleasantly surprised by the results.

The Fuji Press 800 film lent all my shots this toned-down portrait look to them. Now, I’m not sure if this was due to it being expired or if that’s how the film normally works, but I liked it. The film showed a decent grain, but the shots weren’t overly grainy like a 1600 film. The Press 800 is a great all around film. Outdoors, night shots, indoors where you don’t want to use a flash. I had never shot an 800 ISO film before and did some night shots handheld and they came out great. I even used it outside in bright sunlight to shoot at higher shutter speeds.

All in all I would recommend this film to anyone that wants to shoot handheld at night or to use really high shutter speeds in the day. Plus its odd coloring lends a nice vintage feel to the shots.

written by fuzztone04 on 2008-11-13 in #reviews #35mm #colour-negative #fuji #press

4 Comments

  1. strangelilgirl
    strangelilgirl ·

    woah, deja vu...I, too, bought this film off of snatch and I, too, just got done shooting a roll through my newly acquired Canon AE-1! I think you have inspired me by your review and your photos to maybe write my own...great job! Also, I have yet to try those night-time shots...hand-held and all, how exciting! Obviously you used flash, right?...And indoors with flash, how nice...ugh, I think I'm gonna go shooting tomorrow! =)

  2. lazyrabbit
    lazyrabbit ·

    i have loads of this film and never use it! why why why! you have inspired me!

  3. fuzztone04
    fuzztone04 ·

    thanks a bunch guys! @strangelilgirl...nope, no indoors flash, all those shots were strictly from shutter speeds and apertures...no flash.

  4. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    wow, i just ordered some of this film with my holga pinhole 35
    i cant believe thise were without a flash,
    great stuff!
    really inspirational!
    this is clearly an underrated edition of SNATCH!

    T

More Interesting Articles

  • A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-11 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    This is a tribute to a great Austrian sports photographer, Lothar Rübelt. In an era with no high speed films available, he was able to immortalize wonderful moments in sports - from diving to gymnastics and football. In creating this tribute, I took a series of photos of an amateur football match using expired black and white film developed using an uncommon chemical. Take a look after the jump!

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • Shooting with the LC-A 120 in the UK

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Shooting with the LC-A 120 in the UK

    Lomography UK was lucky enough to test an LC-A 120 prototype in store and it was glorious! We used colour and black and white film to capture the camera at its finest. It was everything you would expect from the LC-A but in full frame 38mm f/4.5 120 film. It's LOVE.

    1
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-11-20 in #reviews
    Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    In April of this year I had the chance to test the Petzval Lens and to write a review on it for the German photography forum Kwerfeldein. The lens excited me from the very beginning, at the time it was introduced on Kickstarter. I was afraid that once I had tested the lens, I would want to have one of my own! Well, that’s what happened; a year later, I finally bought my very own Petzval lens.

    1
  • 20% Off LomoChrome Purple and LomoChrome Turquoise Films (Plus Even More Special Film Savings!)

    written by shhquiet on 2015-08-10 in #gear #news
    20% Off LomoChrome Purple and LomoChrome Turquoise Films (Plus Even More Special Film Savings!)

    Summer is the best time to try some fun Lomography films! The sun heats up the colors, making everything super vibrant and colorful. How about transforming those sunny colors into crazy and amazing hues? It's as easy as loading up a roll of LomoChrome Purple or LomoChrome Turquoise into your favorite film camera! Good news - they're on sale!

    2
  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    written by ichdaschaos on 2014-11-03 in #reviews
    Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    I've always wanted to have an instant camera, but what put me off were the expensive price of the film and the transience of the photos. But then I wasn't able to fight it any longer and bought myself an Instax Wide 210 set. Now, here is a review of the Fuji Instax Wide film.

    1
  • Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-09 in #reviews
    Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    The story between the Spinner 360 and I goes way back to the year 2010, when Lomography decided to send me a beta model of the Spinner 360 to test. It was a complete surprise! I thought, "What the hell is that?" as I first took this camera out of the package. Then, when my little brother grabbed it from me and pulled the cord, it buzzed and turned 360°! We all had the same expression: "Whoa..."

    4
  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. March was for caffenol. You have probably heard of the amazing fact that you can develop black and white photos with coffee, sodium, and vitamin C. I had tried this before but with less than stellar results. Somehow, there's always something going wrong. Time to devote a few rolls to caffenol to finally get the hang of it.

    1
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Film Photography Day UK Party Recap!

    written by gise11e on 2015-04-17 in #world #events
    Film Photography Day UK Party Recap!

    It was great to see you all at the Film Photography Day party here at Lomography Soho! We had good fun and gave away some amazing prizes. Here is a recap of what went on.

    1
  • Kelly Angood and the Exciting World of Pinhole Photography

    written by jacobs on 2015-04-03 in #people #news #lifestyle
    Kelly Angood and the Exciting World of Pinhole Photography

    The founder of The Pop-Up Pinhole Co., Kelly Angood, has been handcrafting pinhole cameras from scratch since 2010. After developing a huge online following from one of her early pinhole designs, she embarked on a mission to design an affordable, functional pinhole camera that could be constructed all in the comfort of your own home — and it had to look great too! Following an incredibly successful Kickstarter campaign, her mission was realized. Read on to see how it happened and what's next for Kelly and The Pop-Up Pinhole Company!

    2
  • Happenings on Film: Yeti Scavenger Hunt in Zaporozhye

    written by mmxi on 2015-07-06 in #world #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: Yeti Scavenger Hunt in Zaporozhye

    My friends and I teamed up with Photo Art Pro to spread analog love to the Zaporozhye community. Last month, we hosted a Yeti Scavenger Hunt and had a LomoKino camera as prize. We challenged participants to shoot a roll of film based on a checklist. It was tremendous fun!