Fuji Press (35mm, 800 iso) user-review

4

I bought this film from Lomography as part of a Snatch! offer. It was cheap, expired and I was looking for a good color negative. How could I go wrong? That's everything a good Lomographer could want in a film. I recieved the film and eagerly tossed it into my Canon AE-1 and shot the town. When it was developed, I was pleasantly surprised by the results.

I bought this film from Lomography as part of a Snatch! offer. It was cheap, expired and I was looking for a good color negative. How could I go wrong? That’s everything a good Lomographer could want in a film. I recieved the film and eagerly tossed it into my Canon AE-1 and shot the town. When it was developed, I was pleasantly surprised by the results.

The Fuji Press 800 film lent all my shots this toned-down portrait look to them. Now, I’m not sure if this was due to it being expired or if that’s how the film normally works, but I liked it. The film showed a decent grain, but the shots weren’t overly grainy like a 1600 film. The Press 800 is a great all around film. Outdoors, night shots, indoors where you don’t want to use a flash. I had never shot an 800 ISO film before and did some night shots handheld and they came out great. I even used it outside in bright sunlight to shoot at higher shutter speeds.

All in all I would recommend this film to anyone that wants to shoot handheld at night or to use really high shutter speeds in the day. Plus its odd coloring lends a nice vintage feel to the shots.

written by fuzztone04 on 2008-11-13 in #reviews #press #35mm #colour-negative #fuji

4 Comments

  1. strangelilgirl
    strangelilgirl ·

    woah, deja vu...I, too, bought this film off of snatch and I, too, just got done shooting a roll through my newly acquired Canon AE-1! I think you have inspired me by your review and your photos to maybe write my own...great job! Also, I have yet to try those night-time shots...hand-held and all, how exciting! Obviously you used flash, right?...And indoors with flash, how nice...ugh, I think I'm gonna go shooting tomorrow! =)

  2. lazyrabbit
    lazyrabbit ·

    i have loads of this film and never use it! why why why! you have inspired me!

  3. fuzztone04
    fuzztone04 ·

    thanks a bunch guys! @strangelilgirl...nope, no indoors flash, all those shots were strictly from shutter speeds and apertures...no flash.

  4. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    wow, i just ordered some of this film with my holga pinhole 35
    i cant believe thise were without a flash,
    great stuff!
    really inspirational!
    this is clearly an underrated edition of SNATCH!

    T

More Interesting Articles

  • Ilford Black and White Film Development Experiment

    written by jaymeephotography on 2014-07-04 in #gear #tipster
    Ilford Black and White Film Development Experiment

    Here are some self portraits that I took using my Lubitel 2 and a roll of expired film. I used old chemicals, an incorrect ratio, and I under fixed the film during development and washed it in boiling hot water. See how it all turned out.

  • A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-11 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    This is a tribute to a great Austrian sports photographer, Lothar Rübelt. In an era with no high speed films available, he was able to immortalize wonderful moments in sports - from diving to gymnastics and football. In creating this tribute, I took a series of photos of an amateur football match using expired black and white film developed using an uncommon chemical. Take a look after the jump!

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. March was for caffenol. You have probably heard of the amazing fact that you can develop black and white photos with coffee, sodium, and vitamin C. I had tried this before but with less than stellar results. Somehow, there's always something going wrong. Time to devote a few rolls to caffenol to finally get the hang of it.

    1
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Film Battle: Kodak EIR vs. LomoChrome Purple - A Short Comparison

    written by patx_ on 2014-06-20 in #reviews
    Film Battle: Kodak EIR vs. LomoChrome Purple - A Short Comparison

    I made a short comparison between the "legendary" Kodak EIR Infrared film and the new LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400. Both pictures were made with the same camera-objective-combi: A Canon AE-1 Program with a 24mm wide-angle lens.

    3
  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • Shooting with the LC-A 120 in the UK

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Shooting with the LC-A 120 in the UK

    Lomography UK was lucky enough to test an LC-A 120 prototype in store and it was glorious! We used colour and black and white film to capture the camera at its finest. It was everything you would expect from the LC-A but in full frame 38mm f/4.5 120 film. It's LOVE.

    1
  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Chasing Summer Smiles with the Horizon Perfekt

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-20 in #reviews
    Chasing Summer Smiles with the Horizon Perfekt

    Chronicling my summer’s last hurrah with the Horizon Perfekt was more than what I could have imagined. Not only did I get cool remarks about its look and sweeping lens mechanism, I also took home panoramic shots that just swept my summer escapades with analogue goodness.

  • Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-11-20 in #reviews
    Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    In April of this year I had the chance to test the Petzval Lens and to write a review on it for the German photography forum Kwerfeldein. The lens excited me from the very beginning, at the time it was introduced on Kickstarter. I was afraid that once I had tested the lens, I would want to have one of my own! Well, that’s what happened; a year later, I finally bought my very own Petzval lens.

    1
  • Fresh from My Darkroom: Yoga for Africa!

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-16 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from My Darkroom: Yoga for Africa!

    Last Sunday, a great yoga event was held in Cernobbio, a small tourist town near the city of Como. Local association Breathe Como made a performance of power yoga exercises to raise funds for Africa. I developed the film a few days ago, and today I'll show the photos to you! I call this "Fresh From My Darkroom" because I developed the black and white films by myself! Take a look!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-09 in #reviews
    Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    The story between the Spinner 360 and I goes way back to the year 2010, when Lomography decided to send me a beta model of the Spinner 360 to test. It was a complete surprise! I thought, "What the hell is that?" as I first took this camera out of the package. Then, when my little brother grabbed it from me and pulled the cord, it buzzed and turned 360°! We all had the same expression: "Whoa..."

    4
  • Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    written by ichdaschaos on 2014-11-03 in #reviews
    Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    I've always wanted to have an instant camera, but what put me off were the expensive price of the film and the transience of the photos. But then I wasn't able to fight it any longer and bought myself an Instax Wide 210 set. Now, here is a review of the Fuji Instax Wide film.

    1