Fuji Press (35mm, 800 iso) user-review

4

I bought this film from Lomography as part of a Snatch! offer. It was cheap, expired and I was looking for a good color negative. How could I go wrong? That's everything a good Lomographer could want in a film. I recieved the film and eagerly tossed it into my Canon AE-1 and shot the town. When it was developed, I was pleasantly surprised by the results.

I bought this film from Lomography as part of a Snatch! offer. It was cheap, expired and I was looking for a good color negative. How could I go wrong? That’s everything a good Lomographer could want in a film. I recieved the film and eagerly tossed it into my Canon AE-1 and shot the town. When it was developed, I was pleasantly surprised by the results.

The Fuji Press 800 film lent all my shots this toned-down portrait look to them. Now, I’m not sure if this was due to it being expired or if that’s how the film normally works, but I liked it. The film showed a decent grain, but the shots weren’t overly grainy like a 1600 film. The Press 800 is a great all around film. Outdoors, night shots, indoors where you don’t want to use a flash. I had never shot an 800 ISO film before and did some night shots handheld and they came out great. I even used it outside in bright sunlight to shoot at higher shutter speeds.

All in all I would recommend this film to anyone that wants to shoot handheld at night or to use really high shutter speeds in the day. Plus its odd coloring lends a nice vintage feel to the shots.

written by fuzztone04 on 2008-11-13 in #reviews #colour-negative #press #35mm #fuji

4 Comments

  1. strangelilgirl
    strangelilgirl ·

    woah, deja vu...I, too, bought this film off of snatch and I, too, just got done shooting a roll through my newly acquired Canon AE-1! I think you have inspired me by your review and your photos to maybe write my own...great job! Also, I have yet to try those night-time shots...hand-held and all, how exciting! Obviously you used flash, right?...And indoors with flash, how nice...ugh, I think I'm gonna go shooting tomorrow! =)

  2. lazyrabbit
    lazyrabbit ·

    i have loads of this film and never use it! why why why! you have inspired me!

  3. fuzztone04
    fuzztone04 ·

    thanks a bunch guys! @strangelilgirl...nope, no indoors flash, all those shots were strictly from shutter speeds and apertures...no flash.

  4. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    wow, i just ordered some of this film with my holga pinhole 35
    i cant believe thise were without a flash,
    great stuff!
    really inspirational!
    this is clearly an underrated edition of SNATCH!

    T

More Interesting Articles

  • Purple in the Philippines

    written by mike_mytnick on 2015-09-10 in #world #lifestyle #locations
    Purple in the Philippines

    Last year, I embarked on a journey across the world with an international beauty queen, Lomo Purple Film, and my Canon AE-1.

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • 20% Off LomoChrome Purple and LomoChrome Turquoise Films (Plus Even More Special Film Savings!)

    written by shhquiet on 2015-08-10 in #gear #news
    20% Off LomoChrome Purple and LomoChrome Turquoise Films (Plus Even More Special Film Savings!)

    Summer is the best time to try some fun Lomography films! The sun heats up the colors, making everything super vibrant and colorful. How about transforming those sunny colors into crazy and amazing hues? It's as easy as loading up a roll of LomoChrome Purple or LomoChrome Turquoise into your favorite film camera! Good news - they're on sale!

    2
  • Shop News

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Want to push your limits in the field of photography? Go large format! This camera uses a 4x5” film and can capture all the subjects you want with this pinhole camera in large format!

  • How (Not) to Make It in New York

    written by Carly Brunatti (@carlybrunatti) on 2015-09-05 in #world #lifestyle
    How (Not) to Make It in New York

    Everything I had fit into eight boxes and two suitcases. That’s all I had collected in my 22 years on earth, eight boxes and two suitcases. My friends and I moved to Brooklyn in the dead of winter, just after a huge snowstorm. I came from California and had no real experience living in snow. All of it was magical to me.

    1
  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 in #gear #tipster
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    10
  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. March was for caffenol. You have probably heard of the amazing fact that you can develop black and white photos with coffee, sodium, and vitamin C. I had tried this before but with less than stellar results. Somehow, there's always something going wrong. Time to devote a few rolls to caffenol to finally get the hang of it.

    1
  • Film Photography Day UK Party Recap!

    written by gise11e on 2015-04-17 in #world #events
    Film Photography Day UK Party Recap!

    It was great to see you all at the Film Photography Day party here at Lomography Soho! We had good fun and gave away some amazing prizes. Here is a recap of what went on.

    1
  • Kelly Angood and the Exciting World of Pinhole Photography

    written by jacobs on 2015-04-03 in #people #news #lifestyle
    Kelly Angood and the Exciting World of Pinhole Photography

    The founder of The Pop-Up Pinhole Co., Kelly Angood, has been handcrafting pinhole cameras from scratch since 2010. After developing a huge online following from one of her early pinhole designs, she embarked on a mission to design an affordable, functional pinhole camera that could be constructed all in the comfort of your own home — and it had to look great too! Following an incredibly successful Kickstarter campaign, her mission was realized. Read on to see how it happened and what's next for Kelly and The Pop-Up Pinhole Company!

    2
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Passionate About Film: Since Alive

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-26 in #people #lifestyle
    Passionate About Film: Since Alive

    Since Alive was founded in 2010 with one mission: to uphold film photography despite the steadily increasing popularity of digital imaging. It aims to provide guidance and information to analogue photography enthusiasts through its website, which has become a platform for showcasing the creativity and techniques of its followers. Since live has also ventured into developing products to bolster the practice of analogue photography and its Bento Film Case has proven to be very useful. Lomography talks to Since Alive’s Wind Hui and designer Stephanie Ho, co-collaborators for Since Alive’s Bento Film Case.

  • Happenings on Film: Yeti Scavenger Hunt in Zaporozhye

    written by mmxi on 2015-07-06 in #world #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: Yeti Scavenger Hunt in Zaporozhye

    My friends and I teamed up with Photo Art Pro to spread analog love to the Zaporozhye community. Last month, we hosted a Yeti Scavenger Hunt and had a LomoKino camera as prize. We challenged participants to shoot a roll of film based on a checklist. It was tremendous fun!

  • 'Aniki-Bòbò': A Tribute to Manoel De Oliveira

    written by sirio174 on 2015-04-08 in #world #lifestyle
    'Aniki-Bòbò': A Tribute to Manoel De Oliveira

    This article is a tribute to the great Portuguese film director Manoel de Oliveira, who died last April 2. With an old Praktica loaded with a roll of black and white film, I captured so enthusiastically his city Oporto (Porto) with its famous Ribeira district, the most characteristic of the Lusitanian town. It was here that more than 70 years ago, Manoel De Oliveira created a timeless masterpiece: "Aniki-Bòbò"!

    1