Holga Wide Pinhole Camera (WPC): User Review, Exposure Table, and More

24

This camera eats film like the leviathan swallows ships. Find here a few tips about this pinhole monster.

Searching for ‘WPC’ in the search bar of lomography.com, I found 3 camera reviews (one by mephisto19, one by kylewis and one by juznobsrvr), 3 film reviews (one by eggzakly, one by mephisto19 and one by rater), 3 locations by eggzakly (here, here and here), and, one tripod review by eggzakly.

Despite the very significant amount of awesomeness represented by all these articles, I could not find a clear answer to the question: ‘For how long shall I expose?’

As a remedy and also to satisfy my thirst of shooting, I shot a lot. I tested different films, different processes and measured different exposure durations in different ambient lights. And then I made a table. Note that I do not guarantee absolute satisfaction if you ever try using it. Results vary a lot according to the emulsion and also to how each one of us senses light. I never used an exposure meter, just counted in my mind (except for the very long exposures).

Using these duration, I obtained the following results.

With normal E6 or XPro processes:

With Hybrid processes:

With Rodinal:

That was satisfying, but not enough. Given that you can use 35mm film in the WPC, you can also get some 70mm action. First, I had to re-use my idea of frame counter for Holga, and apply it to the WPC. I did, and here’s the counter.

These arrows indicate the fraction of turn you have to do between shots, after you have already made two turns. As you can see, 1 and 2 are on the same spot which means you need to do 3 (2+1) turns from shot 1 to shot 2. Then, you do 2 turns, and you add the fraction of turn that separates 2 and 3. And so on…

After you processed your films, a good thing to do is to roll all of your films around a toilet paper roll and tighten them with elastics. Films must be parallel to the paper roll, with the emulsion side towards the outside.

This will curve the films away from the glass of your scanner and avoid the creation of those bloody ‘Newton rings’.

Now. When you make 70mm you have to scan the entire area of the film. Despite all the satisfaction that my digitaliza gives me, it is not suitable for this exercise. A cheap way to get a full scan of your 35mm is to tape them on the 120 scanning mask that came with your scanner.

And if it’s true that the digitaliza does not scan the entire film area, it is still useful when you make 70mm shots with a square Holga. Put the two halves of the frame together at 90° in the digitaliza 120. It’s easy and allows you to scan the two halves together (and therefore avoid scanning variations that occur between the two halves if you scan them separately).

Here are some results with a cross-processed combination of Kodak E100GX and Velvia 100F.

And some ATP 1.1 32 iso processed in ATP DC Developer.

Are you still reading this review?
Probably not.
Because you’re ordering a WPC.
I understand.

written by stouf on 2011-07-05 in #reviews #atp #70mm #pinhole #cross-process #hybrid-process #exposure #bulb #wpc #sprockets #long-exposure #xpro #process #chemistry #handmade #homemade #chemical #user-review #diy #holga #cross #counter #lomography #e6 #chemistries #rodinal #c41 #digitaliza #time #processing #70 #x-pro #table #hpro

24 Comments

  1. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Excellent review! Thanks @stouf for sharing all this lomographic knowledge! :)

  2. ahleng90
    ahleng90 ·

    wow!great review sir!

  3. sushi_9009
    sushi_9009 ·

    Great as always :))

  4. fash_on
    fash_on ·

    woo hoo!!!!! now I feel I can take that beast out for shoots at last :))))

  5. fendyfazeli
    fendyfazeli ·

    nice article. thanks!

  6. trw
    trw ·

    Great article and very helpful information for those of us who are new to pinhole cameras!

  7. wuxiong
    wuxiong ·

    Very detailed review and very hard work and very time consuming. To tell the truth, i can't finish the whole writing, but I believe this article deserves more than our usual piggies....<:)

  8. superlighter
    superlighter ·

    all you ever whant to know about wpc and never..! thank you @stouf

  9. elvismartinezsmith
    elvismartinezsmith ·

    superrrrrrr!

  10. tveden
    tveden ·

    Great review, the film combo shots are so cool.

  11. kdstevens
    kdstevens ·

    Great job, amigo!

  12. stouf
    stouf ·

    Thank you friends !!! @wuxiong : Ahaha thaaaaaaanks ! 8D

  13. nation_of_pomation
    nation_of_pomation ·

    This very well written! I want a Holga 120WPC so badly, you have no idea.

  14. mcrstar
    mcrstar ·

    Very intresting story, WPC is a great camera

  15. dearjme
    dearjme ·

    I agree with @wuxiong! Let's give @stouf more piggies for this amazing textbook worthy article!

  16. pangmark
    pangmark ·

    Ah, the legend returns!

  17. itsdebraanne
    itsdebraanne ·

    how do you do the double film technique? it;s insanely awesome (:

  18. jeabzz
    jeabzz ·

    merci stouf, super article :D

  19. stouf
  20. itsdebraanne
    itsdebraanne ·

    oh thanks!! (:

  21. ihave2pillows
    ihave2pillows ·

    Oh my god. Thanks heaven for the review and the frame counter!!!

  22. renrep
    renrep ·

    Inspiring pictures.

  23. djramsay
    djramsay ·

    Thank you, I'm trying mine out for the first time today, this has been really helpful

  24. lighthouseblues
    lighthouseblues ·

    Excellent review, thanks a lot for sharing!

More Interesting Articles

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Make the Most of Your LC-Wide!

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-18 in #world #tipster
    Make the Most of Your LC-Wide!

    The LC-Wide: it's compact, but wide. It’s an amazing little beast that will adapt itself to all weathers, all kinds of film rolls. How to find more (crazy) ways to shoot with it? Here are a few ways!

    1
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Dopa and his Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-10-23 in #lifestyle
    Dopa and his Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    Dominik regards the Diana F+ as a system camera because of its versatility and wide range of accessories. Find out what else he likes about this dreamy medium format snapper in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    2
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • How to Break the Ice with the Lomo'Instant

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-11-20 in #lifestyle
    How to Break the Ice with the Lomo'Instant

    New York is full of interesting people. Everywhere you look you, will find good-looking, smart, and powerful characters; models, actresses, entrepreneurs, managers, artists. Because of this sometimes it can be a little intimidating for a regular guy in the Big Apple to step up, talk to the girl you like, or make new friends. So here are a few tips, courtesy of the Lomo'Instant, that will help you to break the ice.

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • My Week In Film: December 15th-21st, 2014

    written by alienmeatsack on 2015-01-06 in #lifestyle
    My Week In Film: December 15th-21st, 2014

    Another week in film done. This week, I have more Instax, some Konstruktor, a failed triple exposure of myself and shooting film for international film swaps. And this is just the stuff I’m telling you about.

    4
  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    written by raypg on 2014-09-05 in #lifestyle
    My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    I love the different styles of cameras that Lomography has, but I also like to create my own cardboard cameras that use pinholes to be able to take pictures using traditional film. This time I created the Pinhole F, a camera inspired by the Diana F+ and shoots 12 pinhole photos using 120 film.

    3
  • Cynthiaj and her Weapon of Choice: Holga 120 CFN

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-18 in #lifestyle
    Cynthiaj and her Weapon of Choice: Holga 120 CFN

    Cynthia prefers shooting multiple exposure photographs when using the Holga 120 CFN. In this installment of Weapon of Choice, she shares some of her beautiful monochromatic snapshots and a couple of tips when using this plastic shooter.

    4
  • Petzval Amigos: Mark Scadding and William Paltridge of Double Exposure

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-27 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval Amigos: Mark Scadding and William Paltridge of Double Exposure

    Mark Scadding and William Paltridge form Double Exposure Photographic and are based in the South of England. They have used the Petzval lens extensively for portraiture and a few food photography shots. We were intrigued to know more about this creative duo and asked them about shooting with this exciting lens.