Holga Wide Pinhole Camera (WPC): User Review, Exposure Table, and More

24

This camera eats film like the leviathan swallows ships. Find here a few tips about this pinhole monster.

Searching for ‘WPC’ in the search bar of lomography.com, I found 3 camera reviews (one by mephisto19, one by kylewis and one by juznobsrvr), 3 film reviews (one by eggzakly, one by mephisto19 and one by rater), 3 locations by eggzakly (here, here and here), and, one tripod review by eggzakly.

Despite the very significant amount of awesomeness represented by all these articles, I could not find a clear answer to the question: ‘For how long shall I expose?’

As a remedy and also to satisfy my thirst of shooting, I shot a lot. I tested different films, different processes and measured different exposure durations in different ambient lights. And then I made a table. Note that I do not guarantee absolute satisfaction if you ever try using it. Results vary a lot according to the emulsion and also to how each one of us senses light. I never used an exposure meter, just counted in my mind (except for the very long exposures).

Using these duration, I obtained the following results.

With normal E6 or XPro processes:

With Hybrid processes:

With Rodinal:

That was satisfying, but not enough. Given that you can use 35mm film in the WPC, you can also get some 70mm action. First, I had to re-use my idea of frame counter for Holga, and apply it to the WPC. I did, and here’s the counter.

These arrows indicate the fraction of turn you have to do between shots, after you have already made two turns. As you can see, 1 and 2 are on the same spot which means you need to do 3 (2+1) turns from shot 1 to shot 2. Then, you do 2 turns, and you add the fraction of turn that separates 2 and 3. And so on…

After you processed your films, a good thing to do is to roll all of your films around a toilet paper roll and tighten them with elastics. Films must be parallel to the paper roll, with the emulsion side towards the outside.

This will curve the films away from the glass of your scanner and avoid the creation of those bloody ‘Newton rings’.

Now. When you make 70mm you have to scan the entire area of the film. Despite all the satisfaction that my digitaliza gives me, it is not suitable for this exercise. A cheap way to get a full scan of your 35mm is to tape them on the 120 scanning mask that came with your scanner.

And if it’s true that the digitaliza does not scan the entire film area, it is still useful when you make 70mm shots with a square Holga. Put the two halves of the frame together at 90° in the digitaliza 120. It’s easy and allows you to scan the two halves together (and therefore avoid scanning variations that occur between the two halves if you scan them separately).

Here are some results with a cross-processed combination of Kodak E100GX and Velvia 100F.

And some ATP 1.1 32 iso processed in ATP DC Developer.

Are you still reading this review?
Probably not.
Because you’re ordering a WPC.
I understand.

written by stouf on 2011-07-05 in #reviews #chemistry #atp #cross-process #exposure #bulb #xpro #rodinal #wpc #cross #x-pro #homemade #hpro #e6 #c41 #70mm #hybrid-process #pinhole #time #diy #processing #70 #digitaliza #user-review #counter #chemical #chemistries #handmade #long-exposure #process #sprockets #table #lomography #holga

24 Comments

  1. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Excellent review! Thanks @stouf for sharing all this lomographic knowledge! :)

  2. ahleng90
    ahleng90 ·

    wow!great review sir!

  3. sushi_9009
    sushi_9009 ·

    Great as always :))

  4. fash_on
    fash_on ·

    woo hoo!!!!! now I feel I can take that beast out for shoots at last :))))

  5. fendyfazeli
    fendyfazeli ·

    nice article. thanks!

  6. trw
    trw ·

    Great article and very helpful information for those of us who are new to pinhole cameras!

  7. wuxiong
    wuxiong ·

    Very detailed review and very hard work and very time consuming. To tell the truth, i can't finish the whole writing, but I believe this article deserves more than our usual piggies....

  8. superlighter
    superlighter ·

    all you ever whant to know about wpc and never..! thank you @stouf

  9. elvismartinezsmith
    elvismartinezsmith ·

    superrrrrrr!

  10. tveden
    tveden ·

    Great review, the film combo shots are so cool.

  11. kdstevens
    kdstevens ·

    Great job, amigo!

  12. stouf
    stouf ·

    Thank you friends !!! @wuxiong : Ahaha thaaaaaaanks ! 8D

  13. nation_of_pomation
    nation_of_pomation ·

    This very well written! I want a Holga 120WPC so badly, you have no idea.

  14. mcrstar
    mcrstar ·

    Very intresting story, WPC is a great camera

  15. dearjme
    dearjme ·

    I agree with @wuxiong! Let's give @stouf more piggies for this amazing textbook worthy article!

  16. pangmark
    pangmark ·

    Ah, the legend returns!

  17. itsdebraanne
    itsdebraanne ·

    how do you do the double film technique? it;s insanely awesome (:

  18. jeabzz
    jeabzz ·

    merci stouf, super article :D

  19. stouf
  20. itsdebraanne
    itsdebraanne ·

    oh thanks!! (:

  21. ihave2pillows
    ihave2pillows ·

    Oh my god. Thanks heaven for the review and the frame counter!!!

  22. renrep
    renrep ·

    Inspiring pictures.

  23. djramsay
    djramsay ·

    Thank you, I'm trying mine out for the first time today, this has been really helpful

  24. lighthouseblues
    lighthouseblues ·

    Excellent review, thanks a lot for sharing!

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomopedia: Konica Wai Wai

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-13 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Konica Wai Wai

    Wide-angle shooters will surely like this one. Made to be a disposable camera, the modification-ready Konica Wai Wai has made many film photography enthusiasts swoon with its distinctive wide-angle shooting and remarkable effects. Read on to find out more about this peculiar-looking camera in this installment of Lomopedia.

    2
  • My Pinolga Camera: A Pinhole Camera Made of Cardboard and Looks Like the Holga

    written by raypg on 2014-07-25 in #lifestyle
    My Pinolga Camera: A Pinhole Camera Made of Cardboard and Looks Like the Holga

    The Pinolga is a pinhole camera made of cardboard and in the likeness of the legendary Holga camera. I hope you'll find this interesting.

    4
  • Lola 120 Pan: A partly-homemade 6x12 Folding Beauty

    written by stouf on 2014-05-12 in #gear #tipster
    Lola 120 Pan: A partly-homemade 6x12 Folding Beauty

    Here is a guide to building your own 6x12 camera by combining a Lola camera body and a Holga 120 WPC back. Find out how to make these two gorgeous ladies work together for a whole lot of analogue fun.

    11
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Dopa and his Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-10-23 in #lifestyle
    Dopa and his Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    Dominik regards the Diana F+ as a system camera because of its versatility and wide range of accessories. Find out what else he likes about this dreamy medium format snapper in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    2
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Top Tips For Krab Underwater Case and Fisheye Submarine Users

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle

    If it's your first time to use the Fisheye Submarine Case (with your Fisheye One/Fisheye No.2 cameras) or the Krab Underwater Housing (with your LC-A+ or LC-Wide cameras), you might still feel a liiiiittle bit anxious about taking your favorite cameras underwater. To help ease your worries I gathered some of the most helpful tips, straight from summer-lovin' Lomographers who braved the waves with their cameras!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • Shop News

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • How to Break the Ice with the Lomo'Instant

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-11-20 in #lifestyle
    How to Break the Ice with the Lomo'Instant

    New York is full of interesting people. Everywhere you look you, will find good-looking, smart, and powerful characters; models, actresses, entrepreneurs, managers, artists. Because of this sometimes it can be a little intimidating for a regular guy in the Big Apple to step up, talk to the girl you like, or make new friends. So here are a few tips, courtesy of the Lomo'Instant, that will help you to break the ice.

  • On A Roll With Aguillem

    written by hembot on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle
    On A Roll With Aguillem

    Alan, known in the Lomography community as aguillem, loves getting creative with film, kaleidoscopes and designing his own camera. Find out more about this master at work!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!