Fuji Velvia (120, 50 iso) user-review

8

This is my favourite film of all time! Probably one of the punchiest films ever created and will pick up every inch of colour in your shots.

This is my favourite film of all time! Probably one of the punchiest films ever created and will pick up every inch of colour in your shots.

This is the lowest rated ISO Fujifilm did for Velvia which is designed specifically for daylight use. This is the main reason I feed my Holga with it whenever it is a bright sunny day! However, I have used it with a flash and the results still blow my mind everytime!

As I am quite fond of the odd landscape shots with my Holga, this is the perfect choice of film. It has what I think is the best colour reproduction available when processed as E6.

When you cross process this beast, those true to life colours are boosted to a higher contrast lovely-ness! My shots have tended to come back with a slight green and blue tint but I think this just kicks ass! So if you’re going to shoot under a bright sun, go slow and give it a go!

written by lazyrabbit on 2008-12-26 in #reviews #120 #velvia #slide #x-pro #film

8 Comments

  1. larslau
    larslau ·

    Nice review. Some great shots in there!

  2. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    some great shots indeed ;)

  3. stiff
    stiff ·

    #10 is lovely!

  4. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    i just got 10 rolls of this for christmas!

  5. thaiseb
    thaiseb ·

    Nice pictures. But for me the best film is Ektachrome. But I started lomography with Velvia...

  6. bello_luce
    bello_luce ·

    Thanks for the confidence booster. I just bought some Velvia 50 as well. excited to see how it turns out. Think I'll x-process though.

  7. devrimarie
    devrimarie ·

    Thanks for a great review-beautiful shots!

  8. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    Velvia 50 is pretty much my favorite slide film of all time, so stunning when x-processed.

More Interesting Articles

  • October Walks and Workshops

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-22 in #events
    October Walks and Workshops

    Lomography Gallery Store Soho has all the workshops you could ever want this October. Learn the basics of the Diana F+, shoot autumn colours with the Lubitel 166+, make your own redscale film, shoot creepy portraits with the Petzval lens and visit our One Must Dash Pop up store. Read on for a full line- up of events and details.

  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-09 in #news
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    We've got another great opportunity for you to load up on all your favorite films! Today's Advent deal is 10% off of all our films! Keep your holidays classy with one of our awesome black and white films or get creative with one of our Redscale films. Whatever you choose will be a great way to document all the upcoming fesitivities!

  • Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-20 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    Recently, I used my trusty Fuji Silvi. It may not be my all-time favorite camera, but I just wanted to use it because I kind of missed shooting with it. So I decided to look through my film stash to see what I could use with the Fuji Silvi. After much consideration, I ended up picking the old Agfa CT Precisa ISO 100 to get that classic blue tone. Silvia Precisa!

    2
  • Lomography & The Red Bulletin: Your Moment. Beyond the Ordinary

    written by analogeanstalten on 2014-08-20 in #competitions
    Lomography & The Red Bulletin: Your Moment. Beyond the Ordinary

    Have you ever experienced feeling goosebumps all over your body, that your heart seems to jump out of your ribcage, your common sense is set on pause and you just breathe and enjoy the moment? Together with The Red Bulletin, we want to see YOUR moment beyond everyday life. Are you ready for the photographic #yourmoment #beyondtheordinary challenge? Take part in our photo competition! The two best shots will be awarded with a camera, and the first 500 to register will get a one-year free subscription of The Red Bulletin!

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Follow Me Through the Electric Forest

    written by mindofmyra on 2015-07-04 in #world #news #events
    Follow Me Through the Electric Forest

    Electric Forest is a one of a kind music festival booming with great vibrations and beautiful people. It is a rare type of music festival found in the corners of Michigan that cultivates a holistic environment for all kinds of people to come share in a spiritual journey.

    1
  • Photography During White House Tours Now Allowed

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-07-04 in #world #news
    Photography During White House Tours Now Allowed

    Visitors may now take snapshots of the White House and upload them online, announced Michelle Obama.

  • My First Lomo Affair: Pierrickmorin and his Konstruktor

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-07-04 in #people
    My First Lomo Affair: Pierrickmorin and his Konstruktor

    As a scientist, Pierrick is often curious about the mechanism behind how things work. His first brush with analog photography is no exception. Eager to know more about the inner workings of a film camera, he started from scratch and tested his DIY skill with the Konstuktor camera.

    3
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Awesome Albums: MARRAKECH by valeryhache

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-04 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: MARRAKECH by valeryhache

    Vibrant photographs of exotic Marrakech fill today's featured album. Take a peek!

  • Petzval Lomographer of the Week: tienaustin

    written by anamartaml on 2015-07-04 in #world #lifestyle
    Petzval Lomographer of the Week: tienaustin

    Ethereal and graceful are some of the words that may come to mind when scrutinizing the work of Tien Austin, a young photographer based in Honolulu, Hawaii.

  • Fourth of July Celebrations Throughout the Years

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-07-04 in #world #lifestyle
    Fourth of July Celebrations Throughout the Years

    On July 4, 1776, the redrafted version of Thomas Jefferson’s Declaration of Independence made it to Congress. Some 90 years later it was made into an official holiday. Since then, Americans have celebrated Fourth of July in full regalia. Some parade in flag-themed costumes or party in their best dresses, while others bond with friends over beer in the park.

    2