Fuji Velvia (120, 50 iso) user-review

8

This is my favourite film of all time! Probably one of the punchiest films ever created and will pick up every inch of colour in your shots.

This is my favourite film of all time! Probably one of the punchiest films ever created and will pick up every inch of colour in your shots.

This is the lowest rated ISO Fujifilm did for Velvia which is designed specifically for daylight use. This is the main reason I feed my Holga with it whenever it is a bright sunny day! However, I have used it with a flash and the results still blow my mind everytime!

As I am quite fond of the odd landscape shots with my Holga, this is the perfect choice of film. It has what I think is the best colour reproduction available when processed as E6.

When you cross process this beast, those true to life colours are boosted to a higher contrast lovely-ness! My shots have tended to come back with a slight green and blue tint but I think this just kicks ass! So if you’re going to shoot under a bright sun, go slow and give it a go!

written by lazyrabbit on 2008-12-26 in #reviews #x-pro #film #120 #slide #velvia

8 Comments

  1. larslau
    larslau ·

    Nice review. Some great shots in there!

  2. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    some great shots indeed ;)

  3. stiff
    stiff ·

    #10 is lovely!

  4. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    i just got 10 rolls of this for christmas!

  5. thaiseb
    thaiseb ·

    Nice pictures. But for me the best film is Ektachrome. But I started lomography with Velvia...

  6. bello_luce
    bello_luce ·

    Thanks for the confidence booster. I just bought some Velvia 50 as well. excited to see how it turns out. Think I'll x-process though.

  7. devrimarie
    devrimarie ·

    Thanks for a great review-beautiful shots!

  8. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    Velvia 50 is pretty much my favorite slide film of all time, so stunning when x-processed.

More Interesting Articles

  • October Walks and Workshops

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-22 in #events
    October Walks and Workshops

    Lomography Gallery Store Soho has all the workshops you could ever want this October. Learn the basics of the Diana F+, shoot autumn colours with the Lubitel 166+, make your own redscale film, shoot creepy portraits with the Petzval lens and visit our One Must Dash Pop up store. Read on for a full line- up of events and details.

  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-09 in #news
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    We've got another great opportunity for you to load up on all your favorite films! Today's Advent deal is 10% off of all our films! Keep your holidays classy with one of our awesome black and white films or get creative with one of our Redscale films. Whatever you choose will be a great way to document all the upcoming fesitivities!

  • Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-20 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    Recently, I used my trusty Fuji Silvi. It may not be my all-time favorite camera, but I just wanted to use it because I kind of missed shooting with it. So I decided to look through my film stash to see what I could use with the Fuji Silvi. After much consideration, I ended up picking the old Agfa CT Precisa ISO 100 to get that classic blue tone. Silvia Precisa!

    2
  • Lomography & The Red Bulletin: Your Moment. Beyond the Ordinary

    written by analogeanstalten on 2014-08-20 in #competitions
    Lomography & The Red Bulletin: Your Moment. Beyond the Ordinary

    Have you ever experienced feeling goosebumps all over your body, that your heart seems to jump out of your ribcage, your common sense is set on pause and you just breathe and enjoy the moment? Together with The Red Bulletin, we want to see YOUR moment beyond everyday life. Are you ready for the photographic #yourmoment #beyondtheordinary challenge? Take part in our photo competition! The two best shots will be awarded with a camera, and the first 500 to register will get a one-year free subscription of The Red Bulletin!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Awesome Albums: Fun! Fun! Lomo'Instant Splitzer by gocchin

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-26 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Fun! Fun! Lomo'Instant Splitzer by gocchin

    The Splitzer is indeed a handy tool for creating superbly surreal and playful images, as perfectly demonstrated by one creative community member!

    1
  • Newcomer of the Week: keis

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-26 in #people #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: keis

    Most, if not all, of the photographs in Keis Iguchi's LomoHome were printed using traditional darkroom processes. He likens film photography to using cassette tape and relies on his favorite combination of LC-A and Ferrania Solaris 800 in creating evocative images. In this interview, our Newcomer of the Week from Tokyo Japan shares more about his affinity for analog photography.

  • Faces and Places Through the Fisheye Cameras

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-26 in #gear #news
    Faces and Places Through the Fisheye Cameras

    Say "hello!" to these wonderful lomographs scoured from the community's most popular bunch and find out how you can earn piggies and have your very own Fisheye snaps be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Camera Collections: b2377's Priceless Analog Possessions

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-25 in #gear #lifestyle
    Camera Collections: b2377's Priceless Analog Possessions

    From the simple Vivitar 110 camera he received from his grandmother, Brett Wolff already accumulated close to almost a hundred cameras and accessories in his analog arsenal. Some of the cameras he treasured were even handed down by relatives and friends, making these more precious to him. Let's take a closer look at his camera collection.

    7
  • Devildi is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-25 in #world #news
    Devildi is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to devildi for winning Home of the Day!

    3
  • The Making of Ondu Pinhole Cameras

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-25 in #gear #lifestyle
    The Making of Ondu Pinhole Cameras

    Elvis Halilović turns chestnut wood into heirloom-worthy cameras known as Ondu. As a countdown to Pinhole Photography Day happening tomorrow, we show you how these pieces are shaped, sanded and assembled. All this effort for the love of a good picture!

    1