Fuji Velvia (120, 50 iso) user-review

8

This is my favourite film of all time! Probably one of the punchiest films ever created and will pick up every inch of colour in your shots.

This is my favourite film of all time! Probably one of the punchiest films ever created and will pick up every inch of colour in your shots.

This is the lowest rated ISO Fujifilm did for Velvia which is designed specifically for daylight use. This is the main reason I feed my Holga with it whenever it is a bright sunny day! However, I have used it with a flash and the results still blow my mind everytime!

As I am quite fond of the odd landscape shots with my Holga, this is the perfect choice of film. It has what I think is the best colour reproduction available when processed as E6.

When you cross process this beast, those true to life colours are boosted to a higher contrast lovely-ness! My shots have tended to come back with a slight green and blue tint but I think this just kicks ass! So if you’re going to shoot under a bright sun, go slow and give it a go!

written by lazyrabbit on 2008-12-26 in #reviews #120 #velvia #x-pro #slide #film

8 Comments

  1. larslau
    larslau ·

    Nice review. Some great shots in there!

  2. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    some great shots indeed ;)

  3. stiff
    stiff ·

    #10 is lovely!

  4. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    i just got 10 rolls of this for christmas!

  5. thaiseb
    thaiseb ·

    Nice pictures. But for me the best film is Ektachrome. But I started lomography with Velvia...

  6. bello_luce
    bello_luce ·

    Thanks for the confidence booster. I just bought some Velvia 50 as well. excited to see how it turns out. Think I'll x-process though.

  7. devrimarie
    devrimarie ·

    Thanks for a great review-beautiful shots!

  8. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    Velvia 50 is pretty much my favorite slide film of all time, so stunning when x-processed.

More Interesting Articles

  • October Walks and Workshops

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-22 in #events
    October Walks and Workshops

    Lomography Gallery Store Soho has all the workshops you could ever want this October. Learn the basics of the Diana F+, shoot autumn colours with the Lubitel 166+, make your own redscale film, shoot creepy portraits with the Petzval lens and visit our One Must Dash Pop up store. Read on for a full line- up of events and details.

  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35
  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-09 in #news
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    We've got another great opportunity for you to load up on all your favorite films! Today's Advent deal is 10% off of all our films! Keep your holidays classy with one of our awesome black and white films or get creative with one of our Redscale films. Whatever you choose will be a great way to document all the upcoming fesitivities!

  • Shop News

    LCA-120 Film Bundle

    LCA-120 Film Bundle

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes with a 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-20 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    Recently, I used my trusty Fuji Silvi. It may not be my all-time favorite camera, but I just wanted to use it because I kind of missed shooting with it. So I decided to look through my film stash to see what I could use with the Fuji Silvi. After much consideration, I ended up picking the old Agfa CT Precisa ISO 100 to get that classic blue tone. Silvia Precisa!

    2
  • Lomography & The Red Bulletin: Your Moment. Beyond the Ordinary

    written by analogeanstalten on 2014-08-20 in #competitions
    Lomography & The Red Bulletin: Your Moment. Beyond the Ordinary

    Have you ever experienced feeling goosebumps all over your body, that your heart seems to jump out of your ribcage, your common sense is set on pause and you just breathe and enjoy the moment? Together with The Red Bulletin, we want to see YOUR moment beyond everyday life. Are you ready for the photographic #yourmoment #beyondtheordinary challenge? Take part in our photo competition! The two best shots will be awarded with a camera, and the first 500 to register will get a one-year free subscription of The Red Bulletin!

  • What Art Can Learn from the Banal

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-03-30 in #world #lifestyle
    What Art Can Learn from the Banal

    Stephen Shore introduced to the 70s art world an unadorned image of American life. He captured littered restaurant tables as other photographers would immaculate vistas. For the opening of “American Surfaces”, he even taped unframed snapshots on gallery walls. In these videos, Shore talks about objects that have “no pretention to art” and the things he learned from Andy Warhol.

    2
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Perfect Panoramas Captured with the Sprocket Rocket Winners

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-30 in #world #news #competitions
    Perfect Panoramas Captured with the Sprocket Rocket Winners

    Marvel at these retro panoramas taken with the Sprocket Rocket!

  • The Geography of an Art Gallery

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-03-30 in #world #lifestyle
    The Geography of an Art Gallery

    What photo goes on which wall? What adjacent prints relay a theme? In this video, Alec Soth gives a lesson on how to arrange a large body of work on exhibit.

  • Photo of the Day by robertofiuza

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-30 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by robertofiuza

    Left your splitzer at home? Make use of your surroundings to create a perfect symmetrical image. Take a cue from our winning Photo of the Day!

    2
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    written by sirio174 on 2015-03-30 in #world #lifestyle
    Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    In my early adolescence, I liked to play table football. For my 12th birthday, my parents gifted me with a wonderful Subbuteo table soccer game set that I had wished for many months! This was my favorite toy until I discovered other interesting hobbies, like ham radio and electronics. So after some years, I gave away this game to other kids. I always remembered this game with pleasure and a hint of nostalgia.

  • Proofbook is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-30 in #world #news
    Proofbook is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to proofbook for winning Home of the Day!

    1
  • Wacky Panoramas Shot with the Spinner Motorizer

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-30 in #gear #lifestyle
    Wacky Panoramas Shot with the Spinner Motorizer

    Gather all your friends for a fun panoramic portrait with Spinner 360 and Motorizer!