Film & Camera Reviews

18

Change is constant in the world today and at Lomography as well. The latest change concerns the film and camera sections of the magazine.

Change is constant in the world today and at Lomography as well. The latest change concerns the film and camera sections of the magazine.

This week we will start with a new award which will be given out each week in the future, worth 20 piggies and a badge to your home. The award will be given to the most read camera or film review on Lomography during a two week span. The award will vary bi-weekly, starting this week with a film review and then next week a camera review (and so on.)

Another thing that is changing is the piggy scheme. Since we already got an amazing list of camera and film reviews, we are changing the piggy strategy for these two rubrics:

Critiques for cameras or films that have already been reviewed on the website will receive 5 piggies from now on. New reviews for either a camera or a film will receive 10 piggies.

Keep writing those reviews, as you might just earn more piggies than in the past, along with some Lomo pride.

Much Love

written by lucasjakobsson on 2008-11-05 in #news #piggies #camera #film #review

18 Comments

  1. lomodirk
    lomodirk ·

    Ok, but where should I send reviews of cameras/films which are not listed by now?

  2. lomodirk
    lomodirk ·

    Ok, but where should I send reviews of cameras/films which are not listed by now?

  3. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    @ lomodirk: click on "cameras", then click on "If you want to submit a camera review just click here". and then it says: "If something goes wrong or if you think there is a camera missing from the list: just drop us a line at beta@lomography.com". so tell them what camera should be included on the list! :)

  4. lomodirk
    lomodirk ·

    Oh, already did that, but nothing happened by now...

  5. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    then i guess they thought that camera wasn't good enough to be included on the list, i don't know... :/

  6. lucasjakobsson
    lucasjakobsson ·

    @ lomodirk

    you can drop me a line at lucas.jakobsson@lomography.com

  7. lazyrabbit
    lazyrabbit ·

    if my review was put on today do i get piggies?

  8. lomodirk
    lomodirk ·

    @ paper_doll:

    I don`t think so because now there is the review of ouroborosx ;)

    @lucasjakobsson:

    you got mail :)

  9. louvetau
    louvetau ·

    oh no! it's unfair. 5 instead of 20. i have some reviews but i didn't submit them till now. WHY??? what i was waiting for? perhaps i was waiting for this change

  10. saviorjosh
    saviorjosh ·

    the most read? why not the most outstanding? sometimes something is read a lot not because it's good but the opposite. the criteria for the new award just does not seem reasonable to me.

  11. dirklancer
    dirklancer ·

    I think my review from Monday: (beta.lomography.com/magazine/cameras/2008/11/03/is-that-a-l…) should get the first prize, because it was SO awesome!
    ;)

  12. lucasjakobsson
    lucasjakobsson ·

    @ saviorjosh

    we intended the most read criteria as a chance for the community to have some input into this award. We will of course also check that the review that gets the prize has quality (we also only publish the reviews we think are good)

  13. fuzztone04
    fuzztone04 ·

    i submitted a review a couple weeks ago of the Canon AE-1 and it still has been posted. No one else has done it, yet there are still tons of reviews of all the same cameras.

  14. day3hugger
    day3hugger ·

    but the changes with piggies start today, don't they? what about those of us who submitted reviews before today, do we still get the usual piggies?

  15. zulupt
    zulupt ·

    I´ve already submitted a film and camera review about one month ago, I hope they get published.

  16. halfawakehaiku
    halfawakehaiku ·

    I agree. submissions turned in before the announcement should merit the old reward of 20 piggies.Also how do we know if a review was rejected or not. There should be constructive criticism instead of silence. I turned in a film review months ago and was told it is in line for publication already. What happened? and a camera review was sent in last week? Was that rejected?

    and how come reviews and locations that do not meet the minimum words and number of pictures are being accepted and published?

  17. louvetau
    louvetau ·

    frankly all these things are really confusing

  18. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    @ louvetau: it's not exactly 5 instead of 20, it's 10 instead of 20.
    5 is for cameras or films that have already been reviewed on the website. which are a lot... :/

More Interesting Articles

  • Markus Andersen Talks 'At the Edge of the Earth'

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-08 in #people #lifestyle
    Markus Andersen Talks 'At the Edge of the Earth'

    "At the edge of the Earth" is an ongoing yearlong project by documentary photographer Markus Andersen in which he captures the coastline of Sydney, Australia on black and white film with the Diana and Lomo LC-A cameras. In this interview, the Sydney-based photographer opens up to Lomography about his latest endeavor as well as on shooting on the streets of his city and the importance of photographing in analog.

    3
  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • December 4th Advent Offer: Looking for a terrific camera for the holidays? (Online Code: BRIGHTDELIGHT15)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-04 in #news
    December 4th Advent Offer: Looking for a terrific camera for the holidays?  (Online Code: BRIGHTDELIGHT15)

    It's that time again — the Lomography Advent deal of the day! If you're in search of a beautiful gift for creative folks or looking to get into the game yourself, we've got your back. Today's super deal is on our Diana F+ and Diana Mini, as well as a continued discount on our plastic bodied cameras.

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    With this bundle you are ready to shoot with the Fuji Instax Wide 300 and dig in to the instax world – on top you save 20% on Fuji Wide film!

  • Vintage Cameras and their Proud Owners

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-11 in #world #lifestyle
    Vintage Cameras and their Proud Owners

    Camera owners are rejoicing all around the world! As an ode to Lomography events happening today, here are 11 spectacular photos of vintage cameras and their excited owners.

    2
  • Deadlines for Signing Up for Free Photography Classes and Joining the Skillshare and Lomography Rumble Have Been Extended!

    written by givesmehell on 2015-05-02 in #world #competitions
    Deadlines for Signing Up for Free Photography Classes and Joining the Skillshare and Lomography Rumble Have Been Extended!

    This is your last chance to participate in the exciting series of free classes hosted by Skillshare and Lomography, as well as participate in our rumble! Discover the full potential of your Lomography cameras through these classes and stand a chance to win a Diana Deluxe Kit and a full year of premium membership at Skillshare!

  • Welcome to 365 Days of Lomography!

    written by Derek Woods on 2015-02-05 in #people #lifestyle
    Welcome to 365 Days of Lomography!

    Throughout this project I will be shooting with a variety of Lomography cameras to explore how they render the world in their own unique ways, as well as some tips and tricks I learn along the way.

    2
  • Shop News

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes in a Bundle with 120 format film at 15% off!

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Diana F+ Forever!

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Diana F+ Forever!

    We have been digging in our archives here at Lomography UK and have noticed how often the Diana F+ is featured on the front pages of magazines. It appears to be the most photographed of all our cameras. Here are a few wonderful fashion shots that show off the Diana F+ to the world!

    9
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • LomoAmigo: Russell Darling

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-03-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo: Russell Darling

    Russell Darling is one of our Lomography UK regulars. He is a big part of our community of film fanatics and regularly joins our workshops and events. In this interview, we asked him about his experience shooting with the Lomo LC-A 120, as well as his work as visual effects practitioner for films such as "Star Wars," "Twilight," and "Godzilla."

  • Exhibition: Florian Reischauers - Grüß Gott, A Fairy Tale

    written by efrost on 2015-01-09 in #news
    Exhibition: Florian Reischauers - Grüß Gott, A Fairy Tale

    Florian Reischauer’s LomoHome isn’t the only thing he’s known for in the Lomography community. The photographer is also regarded for his series “Pieces of Berlin,” which started as a popular blog and formed the pages of his own book. His latest series “Grüß Gott- A Fairy Tale” takes its turn center stage and is slated to appear in a solo exhibition at the Deutsches Haus at the University of New York.