Film & Camera Reviews

18

Change is constant in the world today and at Lomography as well. The latest change concerns the film and camera sections of the magazine.

Change is constant in the world today and at Lomography as well. The latest change concerns the film and camera sections of the magazine.

This week we will start with a new award which will be given out each week in the future, worth 20 piggies and a badge to your home. The award will be given to the most read camera or film review on Lomography during a two week span. The award will vary bi-weekly, starting this week with a film review and then next week a camera review (and so on.)

Another thing that is changing is the piggy scheme. Since we already got an amazing list of camera and film reviews, we are changing the piggy strategy for these two rubrics:

Critiques for cameras or films that have already been reviewed on the website will receive 5 piggies from now on. New reviews for either a camera or a film will receive 10 piggies.

Keep writing those reviews, as you might just earn more piggies than in the past, along with some Lomo pride.

Much Love

written by lucasjakobsson on 2008-11-05 in #news

18 Comments

  1. lomodirk
    lomodirk ·

    Ok, but where should I send reviews of cameras/films which are not listed by now?

  2. lomodirk
    lomodirk ·

    Ok, but where should I send reviews of cameras/films which are not listed by now?

  3. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    @ lomodirk: click on "cameras", then click on "If you want to submit a camera review just click here". and then it says: "If something goes wrong or if you think there is a camera missing from the list: just drop us a line at beta@lomography.com". so tell them what camera should be included on the list! :)

  4. lomodirk
    lomodirk ·

    Oh, already did that, but nothing happened by now...

  5. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    then i guess they thought that camera wasn't good enough to be included on the list, i don't know... :/

  6. lucasjakobsson
    lucasjakobsson ·

    @ lomodirk

    you can drop me a line at lucas.jakobsson@lomography.com

  7. lazyrabbit
    lazyrabbit ·

    if my review was put on today do i get piggies?

  8. lomodirk
    lomodirk ·

    @ paper_doll:

    I don`t think so because now there is the review of ouroborosx ;)

    @lucasjakobsson:

    you got mail :)

  9. louvetau
    louvetau ·

    oh no! it's unfair. 5 instead of 20. i have some reviews but i didn't submit them till now. WHY??? what i was waiting for? perhaps i was waiting for this change

  10. saviorjosh
    saviorjosh ·

    the most read? why not the most outstanding? sometimes something is read a lot not because it's good but the opposite. the criteria for the new award just does not seem reasonable to me.

  11. dirklancer
    dirklancer ·

    I think my review from Monday: (beta.lomography.com/magazine/cameras/2008/11/03/is-that-a-l…) should get the first prize, because it was SO awesome!
    ;)

  12. lucasjakobsson
    lucasjakobsson ·

    @ saviorjosh

    we intended the most read criteria as a chance for the community to have some input into this award. We will of course also check that the review that gets the prize has quality (we also only publish the reviews we think are good)

  13. fuzztone04
    fuzztone04 ·

    i submitted a review a couple weeks ago of the Canon AE-1 and it still has been posted. No one else has done it, yet there are still tons of reviews of all the same cameras.

  14. day3hugger
    day3hugger ·

    but the changes with piggies start today, don't they? what about those of us who submitted reviews before today, do we still get the usual piggies?

  15. zulupt
    zulupt ·

    I´ve already submitted a film and camera review about one month ago, I hope they get published.

  16. halfawakehaiku
    halfawakehaiku ·

    I agree. submissions turned in before the announcement should merit the old reward of 20 piggies.Also how do we know if a review was rejected or not. There should be constructive criticism instead of silence. I turned in a film review months ago and was told it is in line for publication already. What happened? and a camera review was sent in last week? Was that rejected?

    and how come reviews and locations that do not meet the minimum words and number of pictures are being accepted and published?

  17. louvetau
    louvetau ·

    frankly all these things are really confusing

  18. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    @ louvetau: it's not exactly 5 instead of 20, it's 10 instead of 20.
    5 is for cameras or films that have already been reviewed on the website. which are a lot... :/

More Interesting Articles

  • December 4th Advent Offer: Looking for a terrific camera for the holidays? (Online Code: BRIGHTDELIGHT15)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-04 in #news
    December 4th Advent Offer: Looking for a terrific camera for the holidays?  (Online Code: BRIGHTDELIGHT15)

    It's that time again — the Lomography Advent deal of the day! If you're in search of a beautiful gift for creative folks or looking to get into the game yourself, we've got your back. Today's super deal is on our Diana F+ and Diana Mini, as well as a continued discount on our plastic bodied cameras.

  • Welcome to 365 Days of Lomography!

    written by Derek Woods on 2015-02-05 in #people #lifestyle
    Welcome to 365 Days of Lomography!

    Throughout this project I will be shooting with a variety of Lomography cameras to explore how they render the world in their own unique ways, as well as some tips and tricks I learn along the way.

    2
  • Diana F+ Forever!

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Diana F+ Forever!

    We have been digging in our archives here at Lomography UK and have noticed how often the Diana F+ is featured on the front pages of magazines. It appears to be the most photographed of all our cameras. Here are a few wonderful fashion shots that show off the Diana F+ to the world!

    9
  • Shop News

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras.

  • March Workshops and Events at Lomography Gallery Store NYC!

    written by lomographynyc on 2014-03-03 in #events
    March Workshops and Events at Lomography Gallery Store NYC!

    They say March is in like a lion and out like a lamb. Well here at Lomography Gallery Store NYC we think the entire month is pretty fierce. See what awesome events we have planned for you as the weather begins to change from polar vortex to spring breezes.

  • Exploring drifting cities and landscapes and skipping time with Jacob Felländer

    written by cheeo on 2014-04-24 in #lifestyle
    Exploring drifting cities and landscapes and skipping time with Jacob Felländer

    Things constantly change as time goes by. Swedish photographer Jacob Felländer delicately captures the beauty of change as space drifts over time with his overlapping images of different cities and landscapes.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    A quick guide to Inkodye

    A quick guide to Inkodye

    Shake well and apply to fabric. Blot out excess using a paper towel. Create your design using Inkofilm or anything that casts a shadow. Expose to sunlight or bright UV light for 10-20 minutes or until color reaches full saturation. Machine wash using Inkowash to remove unexposed dye. Double your exposure time in overcast weather. Enjoy the "wow" result!

  • Inspiring Pinhole Photography Reads for World Pinhole Photography Day!

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-27 in #lifestyle
    Inspiring Pinhole Photography Reads for World Pinhole Photography Day!

    In celebration of World Pinhole Photography Day today, we've decided to make a compilation of all the amazing pinhole-related stuff we've seen, written, and read here in the Lomography website through the years. We're sure many of you will be out to take pinhole snaps throughout the day in celebration of the occasion, but in case you're itching for some more inspiring reads on pinhole photography, you might as well read on and check out our compilation!

  • Easter Bunny Treats - Save Up To 25% Until 20th April

    written by shhquiet on 2014-04-15 in #news
    Easter Bunny Treats - Save Up To 25% Until 20th April

    Look at what the Easter bunny has in store for you! A variety of egg-citing offers on your favorite Superpop and Monochrome Edition cameras in the Sales Section, available for a week only. Don’t make the bunny wait; hop, hop, hop to the Shop and snatch up the treats as fast as you can; this deal runs for 1 week only!

  • Exhibition: Florian Reischauers - Grüß Gott, A Fairy Tale

    written by efrost on 2015-01-09 in #news
    Exhibition: Florian Reischauers - Grüß Gott, A Fairy Tale

    Florian Reischauer’s LomoHome isn’t the only thing he’s known for in the Lomography community. The photographer is also regarded for his series “Pieces of Berlin,” which started as a popular blog and formed the pages of his own book. His latest series “Grüß Gott- A Fairy Tale” takes its turn center stage and is slated to appear in a solo exhibition at the Deutsches Haus at the University of New York.

  • Shop News

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Fly over to our 30% Discount Section to discover previously unavailable Editions & Clones! Be quick and make one yours before they are all gone again!

  • Tales from the Trip: Mom and Dad by the Beach

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-03-02 in #world #locations
    Tales from the Trip: Mom and Dad by the Beach

    As intrepid travelers, we don't only search for an adventure or a change of scenery -- we also seek to capture fascinating moments in photographs and tell the compelling stories behind them. In this new series for the Locations section, we showcase some of the most fascinating travel photos by our fellow lomographers, along with their tales from the trip.

  • Tales from the Trip: Gone Fishing

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-23 in #world #locations
    Tales from the Trip: Gone Fishing

    As intrepid travelers, we don't only search for an adventure or a change of scenery -- we also seek to capture fascinating moments in photographs and tell the compelling stories behind them. In this wanderlust-driven series for the Locations section, we showcase some of the most fascinating travel photos by our fellow lomographers, along with their tales from the trip.

  • Tales from the Trip: Lights and Lines

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-03-23 in #world #locations
    Tales from the Trip: Lights and Lines

    As intrepid travelers, we don't only search for an adventure or a change of scenery -- we also seek to capture fascinating moments in photographs and tell the compelling stories behind them. In this new series for the Locations section, we showcase some of the most fascinating travel photos by our fellow lomographers, along with their tales from the trip.

    3