REO Menis old box camera review!

3

I got to borrow this neat old box camera from my mom's guy, since he knows I like cameras and photography! I stuck a roll of film in there, and it worked! I will now talk about the overall experience.

(Picture taken from http://www.thecamerasite.net)

I searched the net for more information and history on this little box but I have found nothing yet.
There is no specific brand to it (i.e. Kodak, Afga), or any date as to when it was made.
The box simply says: REO Menis, REO BOX, Made in Germany. But having searched the internet for these kinds of cameras, I am guessing it’s about +50 years old.

I opened it up and realized it operates with 120-film, which I thought was cool! Both that I would now be able to use it and that 120-film is still around. 120-film is hard to come by in Sweden, but I finally found a Swedish website and got myself some Kodak TriX 400iso B/W film.

Since it was my first time ever using 120-film I had no idea how I was supposed to load it, so once again I searched at YouTube because there are a lot of good tutorials there for basically everything.
I found a video and loaded it in the best I could.

Here are the results!

Credits: lighttomysoul

The roll was supposed to take 8 frames, but I missed the first one and I believe the rest just got over-exposed because the shutterbutton is manual, and I think I should’ve used a lower iso film, because it was quite sunny outside.

But all in all it was a lot of fun, very much like a toy.

And if you ever see one of these old things in a flea-market, antique-shop, your grandparents house, and can pick it up for a cheap price, then I suggest do it, but don’t expect too much!

Have fun with it and be happy in the fact that our analogue cameras today are much more reliable and easy than these boxes, but it’s cool to have an idea of what they used way back then!

:)

written by lighttomysoul on 2011-04-30 in #reviews #box-camera #old #120film #user-review

3 Comments

  1. nicx
    nicx ·

    Great Shots

  2. lighttomysoul
    lighttomysoul ·

    @nicx thanks a lot :)

    *NOTE: the camera in the photo is not the actual camera, but the closest looking one. The camera has two viewfinders and just a tiny little metal bit sticking out as a shutterbutton (as seen in the lower right corner of the far side)

  3. itsdebraanne
    itsdebraanne ·

    i love the last photo! great shadows!

More Interesting Articles

  • Caleb Savage: Into the Darkroom, Out in the Open

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-10-08 in #people #lifestyle
    Caleb Savage: Into the Darkroom, Out in the Open

    When asked to recall the moment they first became truly interested in photography, most photographers would remember the magical feeling of picking up a hand-me-down or secondhand camera, the thrill of shooting an entire roll through, and the elation upon seeing and holding their first ever set of photographs. Caleb Savage, however, had quite a unique experience. At 10 years old, he had his first taste of working in the darkroom making prints at Boy Scout camp, thereby beginning a more than a decade-long affinity with photography.

  • Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-10-05 in #people #lomoamigos
    Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    Robin Rimbaud is a UK based artist, record producer, and composer who works under the name "Scanner" in reference to his use of mobile phone signals and police scanners in his early performances. He has worked on soundtracks for films, sound installations, radio, dance and theater. Robin also has a passion for medium format photography, owns a Holga camera and has a unique photographic style. Get to know him in this interview, where he talks about his personal work as well as his experience with the Lomo LC-A 120.

  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.

  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    The latest addition to the Lomo’Instant family! Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, Get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • Treasures Worth Saving: An Interview with Christopher Payne

    written by Lomography on 2016-02-09 in #people #locations
    Treasures Worth Saving: An Interview with Christopher Payne

    Architectural photographer Christopher Payne documents America’s industrial heritage with his large format images. For his project "Asylum," he visited 70 abandoned psychiatric hospitals across to country between 2002 and 2008.

    1
  • Romain_cav is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by lomography on 2016-02-09 in #world #news
    Romain_cav is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to romain_cav for winning Home of the Day!

    2
  • A Color Remix

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-09 in #gear #lifestyle
    A Color Remix

    It's human nature to be restless and imaginative. The real may be interpreted as what one sees or how one sees something. For the daydreamer, a scene from nature transforms into a canvas. Suddenly a field makes room for chemical coloring, all those anachronistic streaks that somehow look right. Or else, those beautiful colors amplified or subdued to their most pictorial shades. All in the world of trial-and-process film photography.

  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Photo of the Day by gregoire1969

    written by lomography on 2016-02-09 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by gregoire1969

    Let today's featured photo be a lesson on the usefulness of filters in long exposure photography.

  • Lomo'Instant Wide for Full-Length Wonders Rumble Winners

    written by lomography on 2016-02-09 in #people
    Lomo'Instant Wide for Full-Length Wonders Rumble Winners

    Here's why the Lomo'Instant Wide should be your new photography buddy.

  • Nordic Pop: Highasakite

    written by Lomography NYC on 2016-02-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    Nordic Pop: Highasakite

    Straight from Norway comes this pop band with a full hand of Fisheye and Sardina photos. Highasakite released its debut album in 2012 and have been hitting the album charts and playing all over the world since then.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-02-08 in #gear #tipster
    Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. I'll start with Rapid film.

    3
  • Chloé Vollmer-Lo: First Impressions of the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    written by mpflawer on 2016-02-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    Chloé Vollmer-Lo: First Impressions of the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    After a fully booked 2015, photographer Chloé Vollmer-Lo found time to test the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens. She brought it to the Natural History Museum and the Paris business district, an endeavor that resulted in quite a few stunning, bokeh-rich images.

    3
  • Photo of the Day by coloryan

    written by lomography on 2016-02-08 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by coloryan

    An observant lomographer can find beauty even in the tiniest and simplest subject.

    4