Lomo LC-A review

4

I think all of us here know the famous Lomo LC-A? Am I right? Well you sure should! Its pretty much one of the cameras that started all of Lomography! That old Russian beauty!

So whats really that amazing about that small black plastic camera?
Well, point for point :

  • Its small, not extremely, but small enough that you can take it pretty much anywhere you want to! Even just to squish it in your coat pocket!
  • Its an every occasion camera! No matter where you are going, you can always take with your lc-a!
  • It guarantees that every shot you take will turn out! I remember when i first started lomography i read somewhere that you should only expect two or three photos on your roll to be good! That really worried me! So when i got back my first developed pictures i was super nervous to see what they turned out like! And turns out i was surprised in a most positive way! I don’t think i remember having more than one bad picture on the whole film!
  • The lc-a has an auto setting (automatic), so if your a starter or just don’t know about all the settings yet, then voila! It does it all by itself! Apart from the distance setting of course! Never forget the distance! (Which I most frequently do!)
  • Its unique! Of course thats not true exactly! I mean there are lots of lc-´s out there, but you have to remember each is a little different and has its own charm! I like to think that my lc-a gives a special light leak effect that isn’t as common with the lc-a as with say a Holga or Diana! I think that might be beacuse its a little older and the back door doesn’t close completely! So you just need to spend enough time and effort with your lc-a, to find out that magical twist it has!
  • It produces those wonderful saturated and vibrant colors that marks Lomography!
  • Its capable of taking multiple exposures! But if you are a multiple exposure fan, do make sure you get the lc-a+ and not the original lc-a because the newer one has a multiple exposure button, which the russian one doesn’t and is therefore just the slightest bit harder to use!
  • Accessories! Yes, the lc-a has many accessories you can attach and use! From different lenses to color gels, flash attachment, tripods anything you want!
  • Its THE LC-A for Gods sake! There are barely words to describe it! The only way you can is by photos! So if you don’t have it yet, it might be pricey, but trust me, its worth it! Go to the lomography shop or anywhere where you might be able to find it, and please: BUY IT!
    The lc-a is just about the most handy and lovely camera i have ever had, i can always take it with me wherever i go! Don’t forget to experiment with it, it might seem plain at first but there is so much behind it that you still have to discover! Use every type of film, use every ISO, use a spiltzer, use anything and everything. No matter what, it will most always give you back something you like!

written by nadinadu on 2011-04-15 in #reviews #lc-a #lomo #user-review

4 Comments

  1. disasterarea
    disasterarea ·

    The Automatic setting lever on the LC-A (removed on the LC-A+) is only used to determine how much light to let in when using the flash in low light conditions.

    When set to anything but A, it sets the shutter speed to 1/60 sec then you choose an aperture value depending on how far whatever you're shooting is infront of you.

    Unless you really know what you're doing just leave it to "A"

    If you want to know more about how to use the "Mysterious A switch", read this on Flickr.
    www.flickr.com/groups/lomo/discuss/72157623131963885/

    Glad you're enjoying your original LC-A

  2. nadinadu
    nadinadu ·

    hahaa :) thank you! I didn't know about that!
    but it sounds pretty tricky to do it by yourself...:S
    oh well, time will teach me :)

  3. richidearthworm
    richidearthworm ·

    and cats can use it with the new cat adapters ...... fact ?? grate review :)

  4. miniatuurmensje
    miniatuurmensje ·

    I'm about to buy a Lomo LC-A and I'm super excited!!

More Interesting Articles

  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!

  • The LC-A Celebrates its 30th Anniversary

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2014-06-03 in #people #news
    The LC-A Celebrates its 30th Anniversary

    Believe it or not, the Lomo LC-A is turning 30 years old this June. That’s right, fellow Lomographers, it’s been three decades since the camera that started it all came into existence, and we think such a momentous occasion deserves a month-long celebration.

    1
  • Join the LC-A Owner’s Club Rumble

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-04 in #competitions
    Join the LC-A Owner’s Club Rumble

    Are you a proud owner of the camera that started it all, the LOMO LC-A, or the now well-loved LC-A+? Then join the LOMO LC-A Owners Club for the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to win the last piece of Lomo LC-A+ White Japan Edition!

    15
  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • A Salute to the Masters: The Democratic Eye (A Tribute to William Eggleston)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-04-19 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: The Democratic Eye (A Tribute to William Eggleston)

    William Eggleston is one of the most important contemporary master and pioneer of color photography. In this article I write a tribute to his particular democratic way of looking around. For him "Nothing was more important or less important", and everything is worthy of being photographed. Again, he is fond of the dear old film; he said that "I don't think much about the digital world, because I am in the analog world!". Read more after the jump!

  • What Photography and Tech Websites are Saying About the New LC-A 120

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-25 in #news
    What Photography and Tech Websites are Saying About the New LC-A 120

    It's only been a few weeks since we launched the newest member of the LC-A family, yet the Internet has already been abuzz with much talk about it. We're thrilled to see all the coverage that photography and tech websites and blogs have given the LC-A 120, so we've rounded up some of them to share with you right here!

  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply without hurting your budget. At 30% off you can now experiment with 8 sequential shots in one 35mm print! Tell stories in 2.5 seconds with 8 scenes in one shot!

  • From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    written by zonderbar on 2014-08-04 in #people #lomoamigos
    From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    I don't know many bands from Russia but one that I've been admiring for years is Motorama from Rostov-on-Don. With catchy tunes and adorable videos, they took my heart by storm and that of fans from all over the world. Because of their Russian origin, Motorama is of course familiar with Lomo products. Reason enough to let them become our latest LomoAmigos! Enjoy the interview with singer Vlad and check out their B&W photos, taken with a La Sardina Splendour.

  • December 16th Advent Offer: Save 20% on Accessories Today! (Online Code: ADVENTACCESSORIES)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-16 in #news
    December 16th Advent Offer: Save 20% on Accessories Today! (Online Code: ADVENTACCESSORIES)

    Today is the day to make sure your Lomo LC-A & LC-Wide are happy snappers! With our Advent deal of the day, you can save a smashing 20% on accessories for the camera that started the Lomography movement, in addition to our vast selection of other accessories. Move into a new realm of analogue photography with a flashy lens or a colorful flash!

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

    1
  • Shop News

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-14 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

  • My Day in Analogue: Weekends in Bandung

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-03 in #lifestyle
    My Day in Analogue: Weekends in Bandung

    Hello, fellow lomographers! To be honest, ever since I started working last year, I haven't been able to write a single analogue lifestyle piece. But today I decided to write something about my days, especially about my weekend in Bandung. It's not much but I take it as the start of a new beginning in writing all over again here. So, here's my weekend in Bandung!

    2
  • November Workshops & Events at the Lomography Gallery Store Soho

    written by dribri on 2014-10-22 in #events

    November is almost here and so is winter -- we might as well embrace both. This coming month we have the Lomo'Instant Launch Party (that everyone should attend because it's going to be FUN!) with a follow up workshop, a La Sardina light painting session, and a planned trip to the Winter Wonderland with the LC-A+ to get us in the mood for the holiday season!