Lomo LC-A+ - Staff Review

Combining the best features of the original Russian Lomo LC-A and new features to accommodate accessories and multiple-exposure options, the LC-A+ offers unlimited creative possibilities.

To call the original LC-A an “excellent” camera is an understatement – hardcore fans would even run out of superlatives trying to describe it! It’s compact-sized – perfect to take anywhere you go. It’s easy to use, convenient, and produces mind-blowing images. Whether you use slides or negative, the images express deep, punchy colors and vignetting that is the trademark LC-A look.

It was tough when our friends from St. Petersburg decided to pull the plug on the LC-A, making it a sought-after Deadstock all over the world. The Lomography team in Vienna wasn’t about to give up on the LC-A madness, so they came up with a perfect reproduction of the LC-A, throwing in new features as suggested by the enthusiastic members of the Lomography community. From its’ slip-in-your-pocket size down to the Minitar lens (the LC-A’s secret weapon) – our friends from China has made the LC-A+ an enhanced identical twin of the Russian classic.

So yes, what about the PLUS part. The LC-A+ is pimped up with a Multiple Exposure (MX) button. Take a picture, switch the MX button on, and take another picture on the same frame – that easy. It also has a cable release thread (to use with the cable release, of course – it’s included in the package) to make long-exposures sharp and steady. The expanded manual ISO setting allows you to use a wide range of films – from slow (100) to super-fast (1600).

The Chinese Minitar lens also yields the same vignetted, color-bursting goodness that the Russian Minitar lens is known for. Pick up some slides, have them cross-processed – and you’ll have super-saturated images, framed with a vignette. Try it with a negative film, and the colors will come out extra-punchy. The LC-A+ also accommodates accessories such as the Splitzer which has become a personal favorite. It’s fun to control the blades to get random slices of images in a print – most of the time the results are wickedly funny.

Now I understand why anyone with a Russian LC-A would still want to get an LC-A+ – despite their identical looks, the LC-A+ makes it very convenient to be experimental with your Lomographs, thanks to the special features thrown in.

Check out the LC-A+ microsite here

written by shhquiet on 2008-11-04 in #reviews #lomography #35mm #staff #review #lc-a

More Interesting Articles

  • How To Party, Lomo'Instant Style

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-30 in #lifestyle
    How To Party, Lomo'Instant Style

    We had a party recently and used the Lomo'Instant camera to snap spontaneous moments. We had a lot of fun playing with the creative features, such as the Multiple Exposure function!

  • LomoAmigo Alison Scarpulla Shoots With The LC-Wide

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-04-28 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo Alison Scarpulla Shoots With The LC-Wide

    Alison Scarpulla is an enormously talented photographer from the USA who utilizes experimental techniques such as multiple exposures and film soaking to create surreal, evocative and emotional shots. After previously featuring some of her work in the Lomography magazine, we were ecstatic that she accepted our offer to shoot with the LC-Wide to create some brand new photos. Read on for our exclusive interview with the woman behind such amazing photos, which you will see after the jump!

    4
  • Liz of Lomography NYC Creates Light Paintings with the Lomo Instant

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-11-21 in #lifestyle

    Here at the Lomography NYC Gallery Store, we are always testing and playing with our cameras and accessories. We asked our staff to test the new Lomo'Instant camera. Liz, our lab assistant, went crazy with the long exposure future.

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • Accessorize Your Lomo’Instant Fun with Lomo'Instant Splitzer!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-06 in #gear #news
    Accessorize Your Lomo’Instant Fun with Lomo'Instant Splitzer!

    Mix two of your friends’ faces in one shot, combine different scenes in a picture, or pair unlikely objects in one photo! Anything and everything is possible with the Lomo’Instant Splitzer – the latest addition to the creative Lomo’Instant family.

  • LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    Norman Records is an online record store based in Leeds, United Kingdom that offers a diverse selection of music from all around the globe. They sell Indie, Rock, Kosmiche, IDM, EBM, Dancehall, Jazz, Library, Math Rock, Cheesecore and all the other crazy music genres your could ever imagine. We decided to give them an L-CA+ to get a backstage glimpse of life in an online record shop.

    1
  • Diana F+ Part 1 The Camera: A Dozen of Possibilities

    written by dopa on 2014-06-27 in #reviews
    Diana F+  Part 1 The Camera: A Dozen of Possibilities

    The original Diana F is a plastic beauty from 1960s Hong Kong. The Diana F+ is a reinterpretation, which is in no way inferior to the old Diana. It´s so versatile with all the optional accessories and lenses like no other lomography camera. And because of this, I will show you what makes this camera so special.

    3
  • Shop News

    Color Your World with Colorsplash Camera

    Color Your World with Colorsplash Camera

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Photo of the Day by pearlgirl77

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-26 in #news
    Photo of the Day by pearlgirl77

    Show off your creative and multi-talented self by having an intriguing and perky multiple exposure portrait! Congratulations to pearlgirl77 for winning yet another Photo of the Day!

    1
  • Shop News

    Summer Inspired Camera at 20% off

    Summer Inspired Camera at 20% off

    The brazilian summer inspired camera is now at 20% off! You can now celebrate life in full color and treasure every culture in a snap! This summer is no exception; make sure you’re prepared to capture all the sporty action with the Fisheye No.2 Brazilian Summer Camera!

  • Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-02-17 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    What’s not to love about the Lomo LC-Wide? If you are a fan of wide angle lenses or Lomography, you probably have one in your collection. The LC-Wide is a powerful camera with many fun features to get creative when shooting. Best of all, all these are already built into the camera.

    16
  • My First Lomo Affair: Wesco and his La Sardina

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-17 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Wesco and his La Sardina

    It may take a while for some lomographers to figure out the perfect combination of camera, film, and accessory that suit their needs. But, Wessel de Haas, aka wesco, has been extremely lucky to find his early on his journey to Lomography. Find out what film and accessory he likes pairing his La Sardina 8Ball with in this edition of My First Lomo Affair!

    2
  • Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-01-21 in #gear #tipster
    Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    Perhaps you’ve already had chance to try light painting, multiple exposures and long exposures with your Lomo’Instant, but what can you experiment with next? Well, that’s exactly the thought I had which led to giving this Tipster a go. I wanted to shoot Lomo’Instant photos which felt a bit “messier” than what I’m usually used to and to use a technique which would open up new possibilities with the kinds of images I could create with my favorite instant camera. Well, here I go!

    2