Lomo LC-A+ - Staff Review

Combining the best features of the original Russian Lomo LC-A and new features to accommodate accessories and multiple-exposure options, the LC-A+ offers unlimited creative possibilities.

To call the original LC-A an “excellent” camera is an understatement – hardcore fans would even run out of superlatives trying to describe it! It’s compact-sized – perfect to take anywhere you go. It’s easy to use, convenient, and produces mind-blowing images. Whether you use slides or negative, the images express deep, punchy colors and vignetting that is the trademark LC-A look.

It was tough when our friends from St. Petersburg decided to pull the plug on the LC-A, making it a sought-after Deadstock all over the world. The Lomography team in Vienna wasn’t about to give up on the LC-A madness, so they came up with a perfect reproduction of the LC-A, throwing in new features as suggested by the enthusiastic members of the Lomography community. From its’ slip-in-your-pocket size down to the Minitar lens (the LC-A’s secret weapon) – our friends from China has made the LC-A+ an enhanced identical twin of the Russian classic.

So yes, what about the PLUS part. The LC-A+ is pimped up with a Multiple Exposure (MX) button. Take a picture, switch the MX button on, and take another picture on the same frame – that easy. It also has a cable release thread (to use with the cable release, of course – it’s included in the package) to make long-exposures sharp and steady. The expanded manual ISO setting allows you to use a wide range of films – from slow (100) to super-fast (1600).

The Chinese Minitar lens also yields the same vignetted, color-bursting goodness that the Russian Minitar lens is known for. Pick up some slides, have them cross-processed – and you’ll have super-saturated images, framed with a vignette. Try it with a negative film, and the colors will come out extra-punchy. The LC-A+ also accommodates accessories such as the Splitzer which has become a personal favorite. It’s fun to control the blades to get random slices of images in a print – most of the time the results are wickedly funny.

Now I understand why anyone with a Russian LC-A would still want to get an LC-A+ – despite their identical looks, the LC-A+ makes it very convenient to be experimental with your Lomographs, thanks to the special features thrown in.

Check out the LC-A+ microsite here

written by shhquiet on 2008-11-04 in #reviews #35mm #lc-a #staff #review #lomography

More Interesting Articles

  • Review: Take Crazy Shots with Friends with Lomo'Instant + Splitzer!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #reviews
    Review: Take Crazy Shots with Friends with Lomo'Instant + Splitzer!

    Lomo’Instant allows you to shoot limitless multiple exposure instants and our latest accessory Splitzer will just add more fun to it! Just utilize your creativity and some simple skills and you’ll be able to take dozens of crazy and fun pictures. The more you try, the more fun you’ll discover!

    1
  • Double Exposure Snaps with the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-10 in #gear
    Double Exposure Snaps with the Lomo'Instant

    One of the great things about the Lomo'Instant Camera is how versatile and creative it is, yet super easy to play with. Want to create beautiful unexpected multiple exposure shots? No problem — hit the MX switch and a ta-da! Your analogue experience instantly has a brand new world of possibilities!

  • How To Party, Lomo'Instant Style

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-30 in #lifestyle
    How To Party, Lomo'Instant Style

    We had a party recently and used the Lomo'Instant camera to snap spontaneous moments. We had a lot of fun playing with the creative features, such as the Multiple Exposure function!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Liz of Lomography NYC Creates Light Paintings with the Lomo Instant

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-11-21 in #lifestyle

    Here at the Lomography NYC Gallery Store, we are always testing and playing with our cameras and accessories. We asked our staff to test the new Lomo'Instant camera. Liz, our lab assistant, went crazy with the long exposure future.

  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Tom Bates

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-05 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Tom Bates

    The best thing about working for Lomography is having first access to new products. Imagine everyone's excitement when the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens 2.8/32M was delivered to the headquarters in Vienna, where members of the Lomography team took turns testing this tiny yet powerful optic on various cameras. Meanwhile, Tom Bates from Marketing teased out the idyllic and colorful possibilities of shooting with the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 lens on a trip to the UK countryside.

    4
  • Introducing the New Lomo’Instant Havana Edition!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-06-18 in #gear #news
    Introducing the New Lomo’Instant Havana Edition!

    The heat is on for instant photography! We’re thrilled to present the summer babe of the Lomo’Instant Family – the new Lomo’Instant Havana Edition. With this ultra-hot instant package, you’re all set for super easy and creative Lomographic adventures! Take action-packed classic instant snaps, try cool multiple-exposed picnic snapshots or sliced-and-diced poolside scenes – the creative options are virtually endless.

    2
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • 10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-08 in #gear #tipster
    10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    With features that allow one to be as creative as possible and a size compact enough to bring it anytime, anywhere, the LC-A+ is indeed an embodiment of our 10 Golden Rules. In this week's feature, we list down some of the ways you could up your photography game with this wonderful camera.

  • Accessorize Your Lomo’Instant Fun with Lomo'Instant Splitzer!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-06 in #gear #news
    Accessorize Your Lomo’Instant Fun with Lomo'Instant Splitzer!

    Mix two of your friends’ faces in one shot, combine different scenes in a picture, or pair unlikely objects in one photo! Anything and everything is possible with the Lomo’Instant Splitzer – the latest addition to the creative Lomo’Instant family.

  • LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    Norman Records is an online record store based in Leeds, United Kingdom that offers a diverse selection of music from all around the globe. They sell Indie, Rock, Kosmiche, IDM, EBM, Dancehall, Jazz, Library, Math Rock, Cheesecore and all the other crazy music genres your could ever imagine. We decided to give them an L-CA+ to get a backstage glimpse of life in an online record shop.

    1
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-02-17 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    What’s not to love about the Lomo LC-Wide? If you are a fan of wide angle lenses or Lomography, you probably have one in your collection. The LC-Wide is a powerful camera with many fun features to get creative when shooting. Best of all, all these are already built into the camera.

    16