Diana Mini - Review after one and a half years of use

7

Hi, I want to talk about personal experiences of shooting for Diana mini for one and a half years of use. I'm not going to talk about the characteristics of the camera since you perfectly know that already. I'll tell you about my personal feelings instead.

Diana Mini — not the camera for any occasion. But it’s one of my favorite cameras. I bought it from the Lomographic Embassy Russia soon as it appeared there (September 2009). Before that I already had a few cameras and basics of photography. But Diana Mini can be called one of my first cameras.

Diana Mini very well takes pictures of people on any film, even though it is a professional film like Ilford Delta or amateur film Konica Centuria and Svema Reporter 200 (Ukrainian post-Soviet film, are still sold here in Russia and CIS).

In addition to portraits, I just like to shoot everyday photos, more of my friends for any business.

I consumed about 30 films on Diana Mini. About half – color film, the second half – black and white. Except the people I shot town house and nature (my favorite subject of shooting). Honestly saying, Diana Mini — not the best camera for capturing those topics, but it has the features of pictures that I like: softness like a dream.

I also did a few panoramas on the camera.

I had experienced shooting redscale: Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 and home-made from Konica Centuria.

I also want to show you pair shots from a very expired film Tasma 64, which I have inherited a lot from my grandfather. This film was kept in poor conditions. But I like everything that happened to it, all this shadows… etc! As if every shot has a world of its own.

Of course, I still shoot with this camera and am not going to throw it. I prefer the square format, but the half-frame is also good, such as shooting parties or of some events that require a large number of photos. I advise everyone who does not have Diana Mini to at least buy one! Perhaps my photos are not very Lomographic (for example, I’ve never tried cross-process on Diana Mini), but I always remembered the tenth rule of Lomography – forget them rules!

written by mcrstar on 2011-03-11 in #reviews #diana-mini #mini #lomography #35mm #135 #plastic-camera #user-review #film-camera

7 Comments

  1. superlighter
    superlighter ·

    style!

  2. fafascinado
    fafascinado ·

    great gallery! i really like diana mini too!

  3. gnarlyleech
    gnarlyleech ·

    Very nice dude

  4. mcrstar
    mcrstar ·

    thanks to all)

  5. pim_g
    pim_g ·

    Love the Mini! And your photos! Number 8 (the tree) Looks very Starn Twins, very cool.

  6. chethong
    chethong ·

    Like the true and honest feeling you expressed about your Mini experience. I thought I don't quite like the softness of Mini, but after reading your article, I realize the LOVE! Thanks!

  7. mcrstar
    mcrstar ·

    chethong, i glad to see this words) Thank you too!

More Interesting Articles

  • Petzval Artist: The Marvelous Bokeh of Matthieu Soudet

    written by lomographyfrance on 2014-09-29 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval Artist: The Marvelous Bokeh of Matthieu Soudet

    Matthieu Soudet is a child of photography. He started shooting in his native Normandy when he was only nine years old. Since then, he has dedicated his life to capturing magical moments and puts his boundless creativity to good use through beautiful pictures and portraits. He tested the New Petzval Art Lens tells us about his experience in this exclusive interview.

  • Film Swap for Creative Loners

    written by nickpage on 2015-07-16 in #world #lifestyle
    Film Swap for Creative Loners

    I am Nick Page, a Hertford-based graphic designer. I do analog photography as an alternative to the pixel-perfect images I encounter every day. In this article, I'll tell you about my film swap technique for the solo film photographer.

    1
  • Glastonbury As Seen Through the New Petzval 85 Lens by Taio Konishi

    written by ciscoswank on 2015-07-10 in #people #lifestyle #lomoamigos
    Glastonbury As Seen Through the New Petzval 85 Lens by Taio Konishi

    The Glastonbury Festival is arguably one of the most anticipated and renowned music festivals in the world. It is a joy to be able to watch it, and a privilege to capture scenes on and off stage. Apart from creating beautiful portraits, the Petzval Lens is great for adding an albeit subtle drama to the already spectacular scenes of music festivals. Japanese photographer Taio Konishi photographed this year's Glastonbury with a Petzval 85mm Lens, and here are some of the photos. He also talks about his Petzval-meets-Glastonbury experience in this exclusive.

    3
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-01-21 in #gear #tipster
    Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    Perhaps you’ve already had chance to try light painting, multiple exposures and long exposures with your Lomo’Instant, but what can you experiment with next? Well, that’s exactly the thought I had which led to giving this Tipster a go. I wanted to shoot Lomo’Instant photos which felt a bit “messier” than what I’m usually used to and to use a technique which would open up new possibilities with the kinds of images I could create with my favorite instant camera. Well, here I go!

    2
  • Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-03 in #world #lifestyle
    Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    As Steve Jobs puts it, "creativity is just connecting things." It's all about tracing one's experiences and pushing the boundaries of what's already known to establish new things. The Lomography community is no stranger to these instances. In fact, the community is filled with brilliant minds who are always ready to refine existing techniques and look for innovative ways to express their visions and ideas. Here are just a few of the creative lomographers we've come to love over the years.

    9
  • Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-02-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    Joe Brook is one of the most popular photographers in the West Coast skate scene, shooting for magazines like Trasher, Juxtapoz, Rolling Stone, and different outlets such as PDN and Kodak. Having previous experience with an old Petzval lens mounted on a 4x5 camera, it was but natural for him to try the new one. Brook talks about finding himself, his work, and shooting with the Lomograhy Petzval Lens in this exclusive interview.

    2
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Angela Izzo on Shooting with the Diana Mini, Photographing Musicians, and Then Some

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-29 in #people #lifestyle
    Angela Izzo on Shooting with the Diana Mini, Photographing Musicians, and Then Some

    While many of us can only dream of working with musicians and photographing them, Angela Izzo's job entails exactly that. Apparently, this is a fulfillment of her own dream that she had when she was younger. In this interview, Izzo talks about her beginnings which, of course, included going to as many shows and festivals as she possibly can; some of her most memorable on-the-job-experiences with the likes of The Doors, Lykke Li, Jack White, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, and Chris Robinson Brotherhood; her inspirations and other interests; and her love for film photography and Diana Mini. And to those looking into fulfilling their own dreams of working in the same industry, Izzo also shares helpful advice based on her own experiences.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • How To Digitize LomoKino Movies With Samplomat

    written by shhquiet on 2015-09-03 in #gear #news #tipster #videos
    How To Digitize LomoKino Movies With Samplomat

    Making your very own LomoKino movie is really fun and rewarding, but it also requires some time and effort. Now here's some good news - Samplomat will make it easier for you! This desktop application is free for Mac and Windows systems. Let the LomoKino movie-making begin!

    2
  • Travel Stories: Discovering India by pinklert

    written by anamartaml on 2015-09-03 in #world #locations
    Travel Stories: Discovering India by pinklert

    When I travel, nothing makes me happier than discovering new places, experiencing new environments and, most of all, trying local food. These are exactly what I did in India.

  • A Round-up of Lomography Events Around the World in September

    written by dop on 2015-09-03 in #world #news #events
    A Round-up of Lomography Events Around the World in September

    If you are looking for some lomographic entertainment this month in your home city or if you are traveling the world and want some insider tips from our lomography teams, here’s a selection of what is going on in Lomography Gallery and Embassy Stores around the world.