Diana Mini - Review after one and a half years of use

7

Hi, I want to talk about personal experiences of shooting for Diana mini for one and a half years of use. I'm not going to talk about the characteristics of the camera since you perfectly know that already. I'll tell you about my personal feelings instead.

Diana Mini — not the camera for any occasion. But it’s one of my favorite cameras. I bought it from the Lomographic Embassy Russia soon as it appeared there (September 2009). Before that I already had a few cameras and basics of photography. But Diana Mini can be called one of my first cameras.

Diana Mini very well takes pictures of people on any film, even though it is a professional film like Ilford Delta or amateur film Konica Centuria and Svema Reporter 200 (Ukrainian post-Soviet film, are still sold here in Russia and CIS).

In addition to portraits, I just like to shoot everyday photos, more of my friends for any business.

I consumed about 30 films on Diana Mini. About half – color film, the second half – black and white. Except the people I shot town house and nature (my favorite subject of shooting). Honestly saying, Diana Mini — not the best camera for capturing those topics, but it has the features of pictures that I like: softness like a dream.

I also did a few panoramas on the camera.

I had experienced shooting redscale: Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 and home-made from Konica Centuria.

I also want to show you pair shots from a very expired film Tasma 64, which I have inherited a lot from my grandfather. This film was kept in poor conditions. But I like everything that happened to it, all this shadows… etc! As if every shot has a world of its own.

Of course, I still shoot with this camera and am not going to throw it. I prefer the square format, but the half-frame is also good, such as shooting parties or of some events that require a large number of photos. I advise everyone who does not have Diana Mini to at least buy one! Perhaps my photos are not very Lomographic (for example, I’ve never tried cross-process on Diana Mini), but I always remembered the tenth rule of Lomography – forget them rules!

written by mcrstar on 2011-03-11 in #reviews #135 #plastic-camera #lomography #mini #35mm #film-camera #diana-mini #user-review

7 Comments

  1. superlighter
    superlighter ·

    style!

  2. fafascinado
    fafascinado ·

    great gallery! i really like diana mini too!

  3. gnarlyleech
    gnarlyleech ·

    Very nice dude

  4. mcrstar
    mcrstar ·

    thanks to all)

  5. pim_g
    pim_g ·

    Love the Mini! And your photos! Number 8 (the tree) Looks very Starn Twins, very cool.

  6. chethong
    chethong ·

    Like the true and honest feeling you expressed about your Mini experience. I thought I don't quite like the softness of Mini, but after reading your article, I realize the LOVE! Thanks!

  7. mcrstar
    mcrstar ·

    chethong, i glad to see this words) Thank you too!

More Interesting Articles

  • Tinker on the fly: Make a digital pinhole camera with the Diana+ SLR Adaptor and Lens

    written by dopa on 2014-05-28 in #gear #tipster
    Tinker on the fly: Make a digital pinhole camera with the Diana+ SLR Adaptor and Lens

    With the Diana+ SLR adapters for Nikon F & Canon EF cameras, you can use the characteristic shooting of the Diana+ lenses with many SLRs. In this tipster, I'll show you how you can use the pinhole function of the Diana F+ with your SLR.

  • Petzval Artist: The Marvelous Bokeh of Matthieu Soudet

    written by lomographyfrance on 2014-09-29 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval Artist: The Marvelous Bokeh of Matthieu Soudet

    Matthieu Soudet is a child of photography. He started shooting in his native Normandy when he was only nine years old. Since then, he has dedicated his life to capturing magical moments and puts his boundless creativity to good use through beautiful pictures and portraits. He tested the New Petzval Art Lens tells us about his experience in this exclusive interview.

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 2

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-03 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 2

    I’d only heard rumors of the Magic Tree. I had no idea if they were true and, honestly, I’m still half disbelieving of it despite the story I’m about to tell you. If you have faith in what I say, I’m grateful. If you don’t, I bear no ill will towards you. But either way, please shout out in the comments what secrets or sophistries you think I found through its twisting branches.

    18
  • Shop News

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    An analogue camera inspired by Tara Mcpherson, A highly recommended gear for Lomography beginners and visual art lovers! With this edition see how Tara Mcpherson’s art joins the world of analogue cameras. Get it now for a special price!

  • What Photography and Tech Websites are Saying About the New LC-A 120

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-25 in #news
    What Photography and Tech Websites are Saying About the New LC-A 120

    It's only been a few weeks since we launched the newest member of the LC-A family, yet the Internet has already been abuzz with much talk about it. We're thrilled to see all the coverage that photography and tech websites and blogs have given the LC-A 120, so we've rounded up some of them to share with you right here!

  • Using a 20mm lens to take pictures from the top

    written by sirio174 on 2014-05-11 in #gear #tipster
    Using a 20mm lens to take pictures from the top

    While waiting for the new Lomography gem, the wonderful Russar+ lens, I took some photos at a fun fair with my wonderful Mir 20/3.5 super wide angle lens from the big panoramic wheel. Here I'll tell you some tips about the use of this kind of lens. Read more after the jump!

    1
  • Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-03 in #world #lifestyle
    Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    As Steve Jobs puts it, "creativity is just connecting things." It's all about tracing one's experiences and pushing the boundaries of what's already known to establish new things. The Lomography community is no stranger to these instances. In fact, the community is filled with brilliant minds who are always ready to refine existing techniques and look for innovative ways to express their visions and ideas. Here are just a few of the creative lomographers we've come to love over the years.

    6
  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    written by dopa on 2014-05-25 in #gear #tipster
    Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    Probably each one of you has been annoyed with failed film. This is particularly annoying when you get the developed film back from the lab, but you get blanks because the film was not exposed. It's either the film transport didn't work, or you have not taken the lens cap off, etc. Read on and I'll show you an alternative to just throwing away the film: Simply use it as a color filter for your camera, with the La Sardina for example.

    3
  • Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-01-21 in #gear #tipster
    Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    Perhaps you’ve already had chance to try light painting, multiple exposures and long exposures with your Lomo’Instant, but what can you experiment with next? Well, that’s exactly the thought I had which led to giving this Tipster a go. I wanted to shoot Lomo’Instant photos which felt a bit “messier” than what I’m usually used to and to use a technique which would open up new possibilities with the kinds of images I could create with my favorite instant camera. Well, here I go!

    2
  • Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-02-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    Joe Brook is one of the most popular photographers in the West Coast skate scene, shooting for magazines like Trasher, Juxtapoz, Rolling Stone, and different outlets such as PDN and Kodak. Having previous experience with an old Petzval lens mounted on a 4x5 camera, it was but natural for him to try the new one. Brook talks about finding himself, his work, and shooting with the Lomograhy Petzval Lens in this exclusive interview.

    2
  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    Dale McCready is a cinematographer working in the film/ TV industry and has worked on programmes such as Doctor Who and Merlin. He was one of our supporters for the Petzval Kickstarter campaign and recently used the lens to film for a new BBC drama, which is due out in March. Dale kindly shared some of his Petzval photographs with us and talked about his love for this lens. Read on for the full interview.

  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • Simple Color Gels or Filters Holder for the Diana Mini's Flash

    written by grungyjodie on 2014-04-25 in #gear #tipster
    Simple Color Gels or Filters Holder for the Diana Mini's Flash

    I've always been looking for a really simple solution to hold my color gels of my Diana Mini's flash WITH the camera and make them easy to grab when I want to use them. I also wanted something to keep them from getting damaged. Let me show you how I found a simple way to make it.