Diana Mini - Review after one and a half years of use

7

Hi, I want to talk about personal experiences of shooting for Diana mini for one and a half years of use. I'm not going to talk about the characteristics of the camera since you perfectly know that already. I'll tell you about my personal feelings instead.

Diana Mini — not the camera for any occasion. But it’s one of my favorite cameras. I bought it from the Lomographic Embassy Russia soon as it appeared there (September 2009). Before that I already had a few cameras and basics of photography. But Diana Mini can be called one of my first cameras.

Diana Mini very well takes pictures of people on any film, even though it is a professional film like Ilford Delta or amateur film Konica Centuria and Svema Reporter 200 (Ukrainian post-Soviet film, are still sold here in Russia and CIS).

In addition to portraits, I just like to shoot everyday photos, more of my friends for any business.

I consumed about 30 films on Diana Mini. About half – color film, the second half – black and white. Except the people I shot town house and nature (my favorite subject of shooting). Honestly saying, Diana Mini — not the best camera for capturing those topics, but it has the features of pictures that I like: softness like a dream.

I also did a few panoramas on the camera.

I had experienced shooting redscale: Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 and home-made from Konica Centuria.

I also want to show you pair shots from a very expired film Tasma 64, which I have inherited a lot from my grandfather. This film was kept in poor conditions. But I like everything that happened to it, all this shadows… etc! As if every shot has a world of its own.

Of course, I still shoot with this camera and am not going to throw it. I prefer the square format, but the half-frame is also good, such as shooting parties or of some events that require a large number of photos. I advise everyone who does not have Diana Mini to at least buy one! Perhaps my photos are not very Lomographic (for example, I’ve never tried cross-process on Diana Mini), but I always remembered the tenth rule of Lomography – forget them rules!

written by mcrstar on 2011-03-11 in #reviews #lomography #mini #plastic-camera #film-camera #diana-mini #35mm #135 #user-review

7 Comments

  1. superlighter
    superlighter ·

    style!

  2. fafascinado
    fafascinado ·

    great gallery! i really like diana mini too!

  3. gnarlyleech
    gnarlyleech ·

    Very nice dude

  4. mcrstar
    mcrstar ·

    thanks to all)

  5. pim_g
    pim_g ·

    Love the Mini! And your photos! Number 8 (the tree) Looks very Starn Twins, very cool.

  6. chethong
    chethong ·

    Like the true and honest feeling you expressed about your Mini experience. I thought I don't quite like the softness of Mini, but after reading your article, I realize the LOVE! Thanks!

  7. mcrstar
    mcrstar ·

    chethong, i glad to see this words) Thank you too!

More Interesting Articles

  • Petzval Artist: The Marvelous Bokeh of Matthieu Soudet

    written by lomographyfrance on 2014-09-29 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval Artist: The Marvelous Bokeh of Matthieu Soudet

    Matthieu Soudet is a child of photography. He started shooting in his native Normandy when he was only nine years old. Since then, he has dedicated his life to capturing magical moments and puts his boundless creativity to good use through beautiful pictures and portraits. He tested the New Petzval Art Lens tells us about his experience in this exclusive interview.

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 2

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-03 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 2

    I’d only heard rumors of the Magic Tree. I had no idea if they were true and, honestly, I’m still half disbelieving of it despite the story I’m about to tell you. If you have faith in what I say, I’m grateful. If you don’t, I bear no ill will towards you. But either way, please shout out in the comments what secrets or sophistries you think I found through its twisting branches.

    18
  • What Photography and Tech Websites are Saying About the New LC-A 120

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-25 in #news
    What Photography and Tech Websites are Saying About the New LC-A 120

    It's only been a few weeks since we launched the newest member of the LC-A family, yet the Internet has already been abuzz with much talk about it. We're thrilled to see all the coverage that photography and tech websites and blogs have given the LC-A 120, so we've rounded up some of them to share with you right here!

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-03 in #world #lifestyle
    Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    As Steve Jobs puts it, "creativity is just connecting things." It's all about tracing one's experiences and pushing the boundaries of what's already known to establish new things. The Lomography community is no stranger to these instances. In fact, the community is filled with brilliant minds who are always ready to refine existing techniques and look for innovative ways to express their visions and ideas. Here are just a few of the creative lomographers we've come to love over the years.

    9
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-23 in #gear #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    Sonja started her analog adventures during her teenage years. She took her first film photographs when she was 13 and has been in love with the magic of the process since. Her idea of a perfect day involves developing film rolls while listening to jazz and having a cup of tea in between. In this interview, she recalls about her experience with her first Lomography camera, a Holga 120 CFN.

    2
  • Shop News

    Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    Panoramic shots are here ready to be processed by our dedicated team experts! Development, prints and scans included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-01-21 in #gear #tipster
    Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    Perhaps you’ve already had chance to try light painting, multiple exposures and long exposures with your Lomo’Instant, but what can you experiment with next? Well, that’s exactly the thought I had which led to giving this Tipster a go. I wanted to shoot Lomo’Instant photos which felt a bit “messier” than what I’m usually used to and to use a technique which would open up new possibilities with the kinds of images I could create with my favorite instant camera. Well, here I go!

    2
  • Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-02-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    Joe Brook is one of the most popular photographers in the West Coast skate scene, shooting for magazines like Trasher, Juxtapoz, Rolling Stone, and different outlets such as PDN and Kodak. Having previous experience with an old Petzval lens mounted on a 4x5 camera, it was but natural for him to try the new one. Brook talks about finding himself, his work, and shooting with the Lomograhy Petzval Lens in this exclusive interview.

    2
  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    Dale McCready is a cinematographer working in the film/ TV industry and has worked on programmes such as Doctor Who and Merlin. He was one of our supporters for the Petzval Kickstarter campaign and recently used the lens to film for a new BBC drama, which is due out in March. Dale kindly shared some of his Petzval photographs with us and talked about his love for this lens. Read on for the full interview.

  • Shop News

    Sprocket Rocket Flash Bundle

    Sprocket Rocket Flash Bundle

    Sprocket Love: The Sprocket Rocket is the world’s first wide-angle camera dedicated to sprockets. It shoots 18 panoramas on a standard 35mm roll and exposes the whole width of film including sprocket holes. Use its dual winding knobs for easy multiple exposures and generate perfect nighttime shots with the bulb setting.

  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • Vintage Snapshots of Outdoor Playtime

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-06-21 in #world #lifestyle
    Vintage Snapshots of Outdoor Playtime

    Some city-based parents feel wistful when they see their kids huddled in front of screens. There is nostalgia for tree climbing, hopscotch and bicycling. And why must children of today spend all their free time playing with zeroes and ones? This black and white gallery will inspire you to get the little ones out and about even just for the weekend.

    1
  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.