Ilford HP5 (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

3

Nice contrast and grain, definitely one of my new favorites!

Nice contrast and grain, definitely one of my new favorites!

This is a great faster speed film with good contrast and smaller grain. I usually like to work with Kodak Plus-X 125; it is low speed, moderate contrast, very small grain, very nice to print with… so when i needed a faster film for long exposure i was tempted to go to Kodak Tri-X 400. Instead i took a chance with the Ilford because i had a few rolls and I enjoyed printing on Ilford paper- I figured the film would be just as nice.

I was pleasantly surprised with Ilford’s nice contrast and not so big grain! I picked up a lot of nice details with this film. as for developing, i had to fix for five extra minutes (10 minutes total) than i would have with the plus-x or tri-x and it was not responding to the photo-flo well (very streaky and water marks everywhere)! i ended up re-washing the negs and re-doing the photo-flo. It was still a little streaky even after that but was better than the first time. i ended up wiping it with a (lintless) cloth when it was in the negative carrier before printing.

Over all, it was pretty easy to develop (compared to Kodak T-max) and i should have no problems the second time around. Definitely a joy to work with, i’ll be using this again!

written by strangerous on 2008-10-30 in #reviews #ilford #35mm #b-w #hp5

3 Comments

  1. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Great pics !

  2. xbalboax
    xbalboax ·

    Nice review, I have 3 rolls i have to get developed. cant wait to see the results

  3. strangerous
    strangerous ·

    i would like to note that i've developed about a dozen more rolls since my review was posted. for the fixing, i find that "cleaner" fixer is better (if you are working in a shared darkroom). even after ten minutes of fixing, i still get purple-color negs. after about 15 more minutes it's a little better. i would recommend using TMax fixer or just cleaner fixer in general so you don't have to fix as long. do about 5 minutes and then check the color. if it's still purple, do five more minutes. when printing with purplish colored negs, it's not too bad- i'm noticing my pictures come out less contrasty, though.
    i'm slowly adding pictures to my chinese new year 2009 set and all of them were taken with ilford hp5 plus. check out my lomo home for more examples of the hp5! <3

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    written by marioman112 on 2014-09-01 in #reviews
    Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    They say you can't teach an old dog new tricks, but whoever said that must have never shot with a Konica C35. This 46-year-old beauty can definitely hang with the big boys. Come see why this camera is one of my favorites, and why it should be one of yours, too.

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Shop News

    Konstruktor Collector’s Gift Bundle

    Konstruktor Collector’s Gift Bundle

    With this bundle you get to shoot with Lomography’s DIY SLR and have the special transparent edition to display at home.

  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Fresh from My Darkroom: The First Game of the New Rugby Season

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-15 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from My Darkroom: The First Game of the New Rugby Season

    Last Sunday, the local rugby team Rugby Como played the first match of the 2014-1025 season. Rugby is my favorite sport to photograph, and for some years I've been documenting almost every home match of this young team. This time I used a 1959 Zorki 5 camera with a vintage 1958 Industar-50 lens loaded with a timeless film, the Ilford HP5+ developed in a century-old developer, the mythical Rodinal. Take a look after the jump!

    2
  • My Best LC-A Photos Ever by alienmeatsack

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-06-25 in #gear #reviews
    My Best LC-A Photos Ever by alienmeatsack

    I love my Lomo LC-A series cameras. They are so easy to use and take such amazing photos. I don’t ever go shooting without at least one of them in my bag. Here are some of my favorite shots.

    13
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Fresh from the Lab: Fun in the Pool

    written by guanatos on 2014-09-18 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Fun in the Pool

    One of my favorite things about summer is being able to splash and fool around in the pool with my family. When you add to that the possibility of using the LC-A, then the fun is doubled!

  • Emily Soto Artist Talk at NYC Gallery Store

    written by Samantha Norman on 2015-06-30 in #world #news #events #lomoamigos
    Emily Soto Artist Talk at NYC Gallery Store

    Join us for an evening with NYC-based fashion photographer Emily Soto. Concurrent with her exhibition at our Gallery Store, "Petzval Portrats: Bloom," Emily will discuss her work and experience using the New Petzval Art Lens in her work. Gather insight into the creative process of one of New York's favorite photographers. This event will take place on July 9 at 6:00 p.m.

  • 10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-05-13 in #world #news #lifestyle
    10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    The Cannes Film Festival showcases some of the world's best cinematographic masterpieces. It is an annual event that is highly anticipated by fans and connoisseurs of both mainstream and independent cinema. This year's festival has officially opened and film buffs everywhere are excited, at the same time curious, about which film will win the Palme d'Or. We are in no position to predict the winner, but we do have our favorites, from the ones in competition and otherwise. In no definitive order, here is a list of 10 films that we'd like to see.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini Starter Pack

    Diana Mini Starter Pack

    Your first dive into the world of Lomography need not be complicated, this starter pack has all you need: a Diana Mini and a Lomography film pack and you're ready to go! Save upto 10%

  • Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-01-21 in #gear #tipster
    Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    Perhaps you’ve already had chance to try light painting, multiple exposures and long exposures with your Lomo’Instant, but what can you experiment with next? Well, that’s exactly the thought I had which led to giving this Tipster a go. I wanted to shoot Lomo’Instant photos which felt a bit “messier” than what I’m usually used to and to use a technique which would open up new possibilities with the kinds of images I could create with my favorite instant camera. Well, here I go!

    2
  • Top 5 Remarkable Sunset Views

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-07-01 in #world #lifestyle
    Top 5 Remarkable Sunset Views

    Like a quick-changing siren, a sunset has fantastic showmanship. It may come in a costume of luminous yellow one day, and a daring paint canvas the next. And of its various looks, five have been getting the loudest applause from all over the community.

  • Petzval Artist: The Aesthetics Of Photographer Issa Ng

    written by lomographygallerystorehk on 2015-07-02 in #people #lifestyle #reviews
    Petzval Artist: The Aesthetics Of Photographer Issa Ng

    As a photographer, Issa Ng is known for his expertise in portraiture and fashion photography. Having worked with different international brands as an Art Director, he has developed a great sense for aesthetics and details, which are reflected in his work. For the past three years thePetzval lens has been part of his workflow, and it has helped him create those show-stopping fashion portraits.