Ilford HP5 (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

3

Nice contrast and grain, definitely one of my new favorites!

Nice contrast and grain, definitely one of my new favorites!

This is a great faster speed film with good contrast and smaller grain. I usually like to work with Kodak Plus-X 125; it is low speed, moderate contrast, very small grain, very nice to print with… so when i needed a faster film for long exposure i was tempted to go to Kodak Tri-X 400. Instead i took a chance with the Ilford because i had a few rolls and I enjoyed printing on Ilford paper- I figured the film would be just as nice.

I was pleasantly surprised with Ilford’s nice contrast and not so big grain! I picked up a lot of nice details with this film. as for developing, i had to fix for five extra minutes (10 minutes total) than i would have with the plus-x or tri-x and it was not responding to the photo-flo well (very streaky and water marks everywhere)! i ended up re-washing the negs and re-doing the photo-flo. It was still a little streaky even after that but was better than the first time. i ended up wiping it with a (lintless) cloth when it was in the negative carrier before printing.

Over all, it was pretty easy to develop (compared to Kodak T-max) and i should have no problems the second time around. Definitely a joy to work with, i’ll be using this again!

written by strangerous on 2008-10-30 in #reviews #b-w #35mm #ilford #hp5

3 Comments

  1. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Great pics !

  2. xbalboax
    xbalboax ·

    Nice review, I have 3 rolls i have to get developed. cant wait to see the results

  3. strangerous
    strangerous ·

    i would like to note that i've developed about a dozen more rolls since my review was posted. for the fixing, i find that "cleaner" fixer is better (if you are working in a shared darkroom). even after ten minutes of fixing, i still get purple-color negs. after about 15 more minutes it's a little better. i would recommend using TMax fixer or just cleaner fixer in general so you don't have to fix as long. do about 5 minutes and then check the color. if it's still purple, do five more minutes. when printing with purplish colored negs, it's not too bad- i'm noticing my pictures come out less contrasty, though.
    i'm slowly adding pictures to my chinese new year 2009 set and all of them were taken with ilford hp5 plus. check out my lomo home for more examples of the hp5! <3

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-09-27 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm)

    Its stunning tones, smooth grain, and overall elegant monochrome look have inspired fellow lomographers to pen odes of praise—well, reviews, actually. Find out how the Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm) fared right here.

  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • My Best LC-A Photos Ever by alienmeatsack

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-06-25 in #gear #reviews
    My Best LC-A Photos Ever by alienmeatsack

    I love my Lomo LC-A series cameras. They are so easy to use and take such amazing photos. I don’t ever go shooting without at least one of them in my bag. Here are some of my favorite shots.

    13
  • Shop News

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    A true Lomographic gem, the Lomo LC-A+ RL is blessed with good looks and bursting with experimental potential. Get ready to shoot amazing Lomographic photos by experimenting with MX shots, long exposures and a whole range of accessories!

  • My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 in #gear #news #lifestyle #reviews
    My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    The LC-Wide is definitely one of Lomography's must-have cameras. Its Minigon 1 Ultra-Wide-Angle lens adds a different flavor to your shots, on top of the stunning vignettes, intense colors and breathtaking saturation and contrast LC-A cameras are known for. The Lomography Team is no stranger to the LC-Wide's creative potential, and has proven it capable of the most captivating images. First on the list is danika, from the Lomography Headquarters in Vienna.

  • A Salute to the Masters: A Subbuteo Tournament (A Tribute to Dennis Oulds)

    written by sirio174 on 2016-01-23 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: A Subbuteo Tournament (A Tribute to Dennis Oulds)

    This article is dedicated to the British photojournalist and sport photographer Dennis Oulds, and to one of my favorite home games, Subbuteo Table Football. Here are some photos I took during a local tournament in Como. Take a look!

    1
  • A Summer Of Festivals – Discover Electric Castle

    written by dop on 2015-07-18 in #world #lifestyle #locations
    A Summer Of Festivals – Discover Electric Castle

    There are quite a lot of festivals to choose from every summer and for sure everyone has his favorite. This June @danika, @hinny and @tomas_bates joined me for one of my favorites: Electric Castle Festival. Armed with loads of films & cameras, good mood and a lot of patience for the road to the heart of Romania, we set off to discover Electric Castle. Read on to find out what this off the radar festival has to offer!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Emily Soto Artist Talk at NYC Gallery Store

    written by Samantha Norman on 2015-06-30 in #world #news #events #lomoamigos
    Emily Soto Artist Talk at NYC Gallery Store

    Join us for an evening with NYC-based fashion photographer Emily Soto. Concurrent with her exhibition at our Gallery Store, "Petzval Portrats: Bloom," Emily will discuss her work and experience using the New Petzval Art Lens in her work. Gather insight into the creative process of one of New York's favorite photographers. This event will take place on July 9 at 6:00 p.m.

  • 10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-05-13 in #world #news #lifestyle #videos
    10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    The Cannes Film Festival showcases some of the world's best cinematographic masterpieces. It is an annual event that is highly anticipated by fans and connoisseurs of both mainstream and independent cinema. This year's festival has officially opened and film buffs everywhere are excited, at the same time curious, about which film will win the Palme d'Or. We are in no position to predict the winner, but we do have our favorites, from the ones in competition and otherwise. In no definitive order, here is a list of 10 films that we'd like to see.

  • Lomo'Instant Wide First Shots

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-16 in #gear #lifestyle
    Lomo'Instant Wide First Shots

    You know that friend who hovers around after a picture and begs for a peek? That’s us. So when the first batch of Lomo’Instant Wide was shipped out, we naturally waited for happy new owners to share their one-offs. Here are some of our favorites.

    5
  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Spirit of Jogja

    written by wil6ka on 2015-11-03 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Spirit of Jogja

    It is the marvel of Java, the cultural center of Indonesia: Yogyakarta, or, as we assimilated locals call it, Jogja! Jogja is full of historic sites and exudes a very adventurous yet welcoming spirit. It is a true multireligious melting pot that has seen kings and sultans come and go, and religions introduced and either went or stayed. Time has been gentle on Jogja. It's one of my most favorite cities in Asia.

    4
  • Aziz Ansari Shoots With a Diana F+ Black Jack in “Master of None”

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-23 in #world #news
    Aziz Ansari Shoots With a Diana F+ Black Jack in “Master of None”

    Aziz Ansari’s new Netflix show “Master of None” might just be our favorite show this fall season. And it’s not just because he’s seen using our Diana F+ Black Jack in one shot; there are absolutely more reasons to love this show.

  • Doug DuBois on My Last Day at Seventeen

    written by anamartaml on 2015-09-15 in #people #lifestyle
    Doug DuBois on My Last Day at Seventeen

    Doug DuBois spent five summers photographing the small neighborhood of Russell Heights in Ireland to capture the essence of coming of age: the inevitable loss of youth and the imminent transition into adulthood. Those four years resulted in his latest book, My Last Day At Seventeen. The book is a visual tale told through a collection of photographs and gives an alternative perspective through a comic narrative around the same subject. This creative combination of two distinct narratives in one book not only works wonderfully in visual terms; it also serves as an essential tool that lets the reader dig deeper into the story being told, making one go back to the book over and over again, yet from a new perspective, every single time.

    4