Ilford HP5 (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

3

Nice contrast and grain, definitely one of my new favorites!

Nice contrast and grain, definitely one of my new favorites!

This is a great faster speed film with good contrast and smaller grain. I usually like to work with Kodak Plus-X 125; it is low speed, moderate contrast, very small grain, very nice to print with… so when i needed a faster film for long exposure i was tempted to go to Kodak Tri-X 400. Instead i took a chance with the Ilford because i had a few rolls and I enjoyed printing on Ilford paper- I figured the film would be just as nice.

I was pleasantly surprised with Ilford’s nice contrast and not so big grain! I picked up a lot of nice details with this film. as for developing, i had to fix for five extra minutes (10 minutes total) than i would have with the plus-x or tri-x and it was not responding to the photo-flo well (very streaky and water marks everywhere)! i ended up re-washing the negs and re-doing the photo-flo. It was still a little streaky even after that but was better than the first time. i ended up wiping it with a (lintless) cloth when it was in the negative carrier before printing.

Over all, it was pretty easy to develop (compared to Kodak T-max) and i should have no problems the second time around. Definitely a joy to work with, i’ll be using this again!

written by strangerous on 2008-10-30 in #reviews #35mm #b-w #hp5 #ilford

3 Comments

  1. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Great pics !

  2. xbalboax
    xbalboax ·

    Nice review, I have 3 rolls i have to get developed. cant wait to see the results

  3. strangerous
    strangerous ·

    i would like to note that i've developed about a dozen more rolls since my review was posted. for the fixing, i find that "cleaner" fixer is better (if you are working in a shared darkroom). even after ten minutes of fixing, i still get purple-color negs. after about 15 more minutes it's a little better. i would recommend using TMax fixer or just cleaner fixer in general so you don't have to fix as long. do about 5 minutes and then check the color. if it's still purple, do five more minutes. when printing with purplish colored negs, it's not too bad- i'm noticing my pictures come out less contrasty, though.
    i'm slowly adding pictures to my chinese new year 2009 set and all of them were taken with ilford hp5 plus. check out my lomo home for more examples of the hp5! <3

More Interesting Articles

  • Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    written by sanamiii on 2014-06-06 in #reviews
    Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    It is my first time to use the New Petzval Lens outside of work and I got some surprising photos!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    written by marioman112 on 2014-09-01 in #reviews
    Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    They say you can't teach an old dog new tricks, but whoever said that must have never shot with a Konica C35. This 46-year-old beauty can definitely hang with the big boys. Come see why this camera is one of my favorites, and why it should be one of yours, too.

  • Shop News

    Summer Inspired Camera at 20% off

    Summer Inspired Camera at 20% off

    The brazilian summer inspired camera is now at 20% off! You can now celebrate life in full color and treasure every culture in a snap! This summer is no exception; make sure you’re prepared to capture all the sporty action with the Fisheye No.2 Brazilian Summer Camera!

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Fresh from My Darkroom: The First Game of the New Rugby Season

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-15 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from My Darkroom: The First Game of the New Rugby Season

    Last Sunday, the local rugby team Rugby Como played the first match of the 2014-1025 season. Rugby is my favorite sport to photograph, and for some years I've been documenting almost every home match of this young team. This time I used a 1959 Zorki 5 camera with a vintage 1958 Industar-50 lens loaded with a timeless film, the Ilford HP5+ developed in a century-old developer, the mythical Rodinal. Take a look after the jump!

    1
  • Ride Your Bike to the Unexplored Side of Bandung

    written by hanikartikasari on 2014-05-25 in #world #locations
    Ride Your Bike to the Unexplored Side of Bandung

    Bandung is one of the biggest cities in Indonesia. Thinking about escaping from city life, one morning in April, 2014, I took my bike and went to my favorite biking route located in south Bandung.

    4
  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • Fresh from the Lab: Fun in the Pool

    written by guanatos on 2014-09-18 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Fun in the Pool

    One of my favorite things about summer is being able to splash and fool around in the pool with my family. When you add to that the possibility of using the LC-A, then the fun is doubled!

  • Chasing The Sun: Oasis 1993 - 1997 Exhibition

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-05-02 in #news
    Chasing The Sun: Oasis 1993 - 1997 Exhibition

    Manchester based band Oasis rose to fame in late 1994 with their debut album "Definitely Maybe" which went straight to number one in the UK charts. They went on to have eight UK number one singles, eight number one albums and whole host of awards, dramas, fights, fall outs and new members in between. Chasing The Sun: Oasis 1993 - 1997 was the first Oasis exhibition of rare and iconic photographs, artifacts and memorabilia from the early years of the band. Some of these photos were take by Tom Sheehan who had his own exhibition at our Lomography Store East.

    5
  • Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-01-21 in #gear #tipster
    Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    Perhaps you’ve already had chance to try light painting, multiple exposures and long exposures with your Lomo’Instant, but what can you experiment with next? Well, that’s exactly the thought I had which led to giving this Tipster a go. I wanted to shoot Lomo’Instant photos which felt a bit “messier” than what I’m usually used to and to use a technique which would open up new possibilities with the kinds of images I could create with my favorite instant camera. Well, here I go!

    2
  • Shop News

    Last Day: Free Camera Deal

    Last Day: Free Camera Deal

    Last day of the free camera deal today! Grab films now worth 99 EUR/USD/GBP and get your free Diana Mini or Diana F+ Love Letters for free!

  • Star Wars Mania 2015: The All-New Trailer

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle
    Star Wars Mania 2015: The All-New Trailer

    The second trailer for "Star Wars:Episode VII - The Force Awakens" has the internet abuzz in the last last few hours. To join in on the fun, we scoured our archives and the cyberspace for some Star Wars treasures. Think Princess Leia and her double in that glorious gold costume, plus a photo of the new cast in roundtable discussion.

    1
  • Film Photography Day UK Party Recap!

    written by gise11e on 2015-04-17 in #people #events
    Film Photography Day UK Party Recap!

    It was great to see you all at the Film Photography Day party here at Lomography Soho! We had good fun and gave away some amazing prizes. Here is a recap of what went on.

    1
  • Groovy Vintage Styles Photographed by The Séeberger Brothers

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle
    Groovy Vintage Styles Photographed by The Séeberger Brothers

    Before Bill Cunningham and Scott Schuman, street fashion photography had Jules, Louis and Henri Séeberger.