Fuji Velvia (35mm, 50 iso) user-review

7

Velvia: Don't Shoot Without It! Well what can you say? One smart film for your very own Lomo camera!

Velvia: Don’t Shoot Without It! Well what can you say? One smart film for your very own Lomo camera!

After using a dozen of Fuji Velvia, I can say that the output of your Lomographic camera is entirely a guessing game! Some would come out reddish to magenta, while some would come out blue, green and yellow. Well it all depends on how you take the wild side of this film!

May it be sunny/rainy or indoors/outdoors, take this slide film along with you. Don’t be shy to take some shots, shoot wherever you go! You may really never know what the hell would happen with the pictures you’ll be getting!

written by ethermoon on 2009-01-30 in #reviews #fuji #35mm #x-pro #velvia

7 Comments

  1. xbalboax
    xbalboax ·

    nice review, all my velvia shots come out looking like red scale

  2. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    hi! it so happened that when I used this film, blue, green and yellow comes out. :)

  3. kirri-joy
    kirri-joy ·

    hey ethermoon! this is my favourite film thus far. mine come out crazy too - and ive begun to use filters to make it even weirder. i find that if there isnt much light it does come out redscale. if there is too much light, it comes out almost like normal film. somewhere in the middle it comes out very warm-coloured if i cross-process it. anyway, stellar film.

  4. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    wait... LSI, there's something wrong with this one. This is Fuji Velvia 35mm iso50 not iso100 because I saw in the film list that there's no Velvia 35mm iso50 review yet... Please check thanks!

  5. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    @Kirri-joy: yeah i tried Velvia iso100.. but this one, it's a velvia iso50 which has a lower iso and much more lovely colors when under the sunlight. blue to yellow green and whatever colors. it's a nice film to use :)

  6. d_i_d
    d_i_d ·

    ISO is correct now! Sorry for that!

  7. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    d_i_d thanks! and no problem :)

More Interesting Articles

  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • 18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear #news
    18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    Having a Belair X 6-12 feels like owning more than just one camera. It's a medium-format camera, but paired with its special accessories you can shoot 35mm or instant photos with it, too! The versatility of its 3 photo formats also offers more options to suit your shooting needs. Here, we present to you some of the most gorgeous Belair X 6-12 photos in classic 6x6 format. Enjoy!

    11
  • September 2015 Callout for Contributions

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-09-11 in #world #news
    September 2015 Callout for Contributions

    It's Tipstember! For this month, we will be awarding 25 fat piggies to every tipster article that gets published on the Lomography Magazine. You can share tips on composition, lighting, film experiments and camera modifications; or maybe techniques for shooting portraits, landscapes, still life and even wildlife! If you don't have tricks up your sleeve, however, you can still contribute to the Magazine and let your voice be heard. Here are some suggestions.

  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Take a Peek Through The ONDU Pinhole

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news
    Take a Peek Through The ONDU Pinhole

    Have you ever tried going lens-less when taking a photo? Try shooting with ONDU Pinhole Cameras and see what it's like to take photos through a tiny pinhole. Check out these lovely shots taken by Lomographers; if you do have some ONDU pinhole photos of your own, upload and tag them accordingly so that we can see them!

    4
  • Taking Back Tipsters: DIY Pinhole Cameras

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-25 in #gear #tipster
    Taking Back Tipsters: DIY Pinhole Cameras

    Tomorrow, April 26, marks World Pinhole Photography Day, and what better way to celebrate the occasion by taking your favorite pinhole camera out on an analog adventure? Or if you don't have one yet, you can make one yourself from scratch! Here are five innovative Tipsters from the community for you to peruse.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Shop News

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    A true Lomographic gem, the Lomo LC-A+ RL is blessed with good looks and bursting with experimental potential. Get ready to shoot amazing Lomographic photos by experimenting with MX shots, long exposures and a whole range of accessories!

  • Snag the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens and Mount Adaptor Kit at 30% Off!

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-21 in #gear #news
    Snag the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens and Mount Adaptor Kit at 30% Off!

    Have no Leica M mount camera in your arsenal? Fret not, you can still shoot with the new Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 2.8/32M Art Lens with your mirrorless camera using one of our adaptors!

  • The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    What exactly do I feel while waiting for my Lomo'Instant photos to be developed? I have to say I get a mix of "Surprise me, dear Lomo!" but also some "Did I capture it as I wanted?" kind of thought. No matter the school of thought, with the Splitzer you can add so many cool effects to your photos you'll definitely embrace it!

  • Ethereal Landscapes Captured with the Efke IR820 (35mm)

    written by lomography on 2015-11-01 in #gear #news
    Ethereal Landscapes Captured with the Efke IR820 (35mm)

    Marvel at this week's handpicked selection of beautiful landscape photographs captured by our community members with the Efke IR820 for 35mm cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Lomo'Instant Wide - A Camera To Fall In Love With

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2016-01-05 in #gear #reviews
    Lomo'Instant Wide - A Camera To Fall In Love With

    I was really excited when I got to test the Lomo'Instant Wide recently. Nine packs of film and and one week later I can say: "This camera works really well and I am looking forward to my own Portobello Road Edition!"

    10
  • Brilliant Low Light and Nighttime Shots Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 800 (35mm)

    written by lomography on 2015-10-11 in #gear #news
    Brilliant Low Light and Nighttime Shots Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 800 (35mm)

    Have a look at our handpicked selection of lovely photographs shot in low light and at night with the Lomography Color Negative 800 ISO for 35mm cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    written by zonderbar on 2015-12-18 in #world #competitions
    Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    North or South, East or West - in every corner of Germany you can find analog photography lovers. Lomography brings them together and shows their pictures to a worldwide community. With this rumble we want to get to know you a little better. Show Lomography and fotoforum where you come from, capture your hometown on film and win a one-year subscription of fotoforum magazine as well as a Lomo LC-A 120 camera. Please note: This competition is only for users from Germany, Austria or Switzerland.