Fuji Velvia (35mm, 50 iso) user-review

7

Velvia: Don't Shoot Without It! Well what can you say? One smart film for your very own Lomo camera!

Velvia: Don’t Shoot Without It! Well what can you say? One smart film for your very own Lomo camera!

After using a dozen of Fuji Velvia, I can say that the output of your Lomographic camera is entirely a guessing game! Some would come out reddish to magenta, while some would come out blue, green and yellow. Well it all depends on how you take the wild side of this film!

May it be sunny/rainy or indoors/outdoors, take this slide film along with you. Don’t be shy to take some shots, shoot wherever you go! You may really never know what the hell would happen with the pictures you’ll be getting!

written by ethermoon on 2009-01-30 in #reviews #35mm #fuji #velvia #x-pro

7 Comments

  1. xbalboax
    xbalboax ·

    nice review, all my velvia shots come out looking like red scale

  2. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    hi! it so happened that when I used this film, blue, green and yellow comes out. :)

  3. kirri-joy
    kirri-joy ·

    hey ethermoon! this is my favourite film thus far. mine come out crazy too - and ive begun to use filters to make it even weirder. i find that if there isnt much light it does come out redscale. if there is too much light, it comes out almost like normal film. somewhere in the middle it comes out very warm-coloured if i cross-process it. anyway, stellar film.

  4. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    wait... LSI, there's something wrong with this one. This is Fuji Velvia 35mm iso50 not iso100 because I saw in the film list that there's no Velvia 35mm iso50 review yet... Please check thanks!

  5. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    @Kirri-joy: yeah i tried Velvia iso100.. but this one, it's a velvia iso50 which has a lower iso and much more lovely colors when under the sunlight. blue to yellow green and whatever colors. it's a nice film to use :)

  6. d_i_d
    d_i_d ·

    ISO is correct now! Sorry for that!

  7. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    d_i_d thanks! and no problem :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Handmade Cameras by Cedric Chatterley

    written by cheeo on 2014-12-05 in #lifestyle
    Handmade Cameras by Cedric Chatterley

    Shooting with film can be considered a labor of love. From carefully loading the film and adjusting for lighting conditions to the darkroom process, it’s a laborious process but certainly a fulfilling experience. What more if you created your own cameras?

    1
  • 18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear #news
    18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    Having a Belair X 6-12 feels like owning more than just one camera. It's a medium-format camera, but paired with its special accessories you can shoot 35mm or instant photos with it, too! The versatility of its 3 photo formats also offers more options to suit your shooting needs. Here, we present to you some of the most gorgeous Belair X 6-12 photos in classic 6x6 format. Enjoy!

    11
  • Awesome Albums: 2 in 1 by kleeblatt

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-14 in #news
    Awesome Albums: 2 in 1 by kleeblatt

    What do you get when you shoot 35mm films using a 120 camera? Check out our featured album for today to find out!

    1
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Lomo’Instant Tip No. 13 – Fisheye Doubles

    written by ciscoswank on 2014-10-03 in #gear #tipster
    Lomo’Instant Tip No. 13 – Fisheye Doubles

    Can’t wait to get your hands on your very own Lomo’Instant? Learn these cool and quick tricks so you can master your instant camera before it comes knocking at your door!

    1
  • Take a Peek Through The ONDU Pinhole

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news
    Take a Peek Through The ONDU Pinhole

    Have you ever tried going lens-less when taking a photo? Try shooting with ONDU Pinhole Cameras and see what it's like to take photos through a tiny pinhole. Check out these lovely shots taken by Lomographers; if you do have some ONDU pinhole photos of your own, upload and tag them accordingly so that we can see them!

    4
  • Taking Back Tipsters: DIY Pinhole Cameras

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-25 in #gear #tipster
    Taking Back Tipsters: DIY Pinhole Cameras

    Tomorrow, April 26, marks World Pinhole Photography Day, and what better way to celebrate the occasion by taking your favorite pinhole camera out on an analog adventure? Or if you don't have one yet, you can make one yourself from scratch! Here are five innovative Tipsters from the community for you to peruse.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Snag the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens and Mount Adaptor Kit at 30% Off!

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-21 in #gear #news
    Snag the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens and Mount Adaptor Kit at 30% Off!

    Have no Leica M mount camera in your arsenal? Fret not, you can still shoot with the new Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 2.8/32M Art Lens with your mirrorless camera using one of our adaptors!

  • The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    What exactly do I feel while waiting for my Lomo'Instant photos to be developed? I have to say I get a mix of "Surprise me, dear Lomo!" but also some "Did I capture it as I wanted?" kind of thought. No matter the school of thought, with the Splitzer you can add so many cool effects to your photos you'll definitely embrace it!