Diana+ Splitzer Review: Mixing it Up

My latest Lomo addition came this Christmas in the form of a Splitzer for my Diana F+. The timing was perfect, as New Years was around the corner and I had several packs of Instax to use.

Credits: zakguy

I’ve been shooting with a Diana for over 3 years now and had always been enamored with shots on the site that used the incredibly simple, yet effective Diana+ Splitzer. I’d put off buying one in favor of bigger accessories and new cameras until I was recently given one for Christmas. I was very excited to start shooting with it and conveniently enough, New Year’s Eve was around the corner and I’d just gotten several packs of Fuji Instax for my Instant Back, so I had to combine the two accessories to see what the results were. My friends and I had a ton of fun experimenting with this over the course of a few nights.

Credits: zakguy

The Splitzer concept is simple. It essentially acts as a partial lens cap, completely covering a minimum of half your lens at a time. This allows you to expose half of a frame at a time (or less depending on how you set the Splitzer, but we’ll get to that in a minute), which then lets you double expose a frame with two separate images that blend together into one You even attach it the same way you would a lens cap, it simply slips right onto the front of your lens barrel and then you adjust it accordingly to split the photo as you see fit. You might think, “Wait a minute, couldn’t I just cut a piece out of a lens cap and get the same effect?”, but you’d be wrong. What sets the Splitzer apart from the economic alternative is a combination of greater control of how evenly split a frame is and an additional piece that lets you split down to essentially 1/8th of a frame per exposure.

Credits: zakguy

So once you’ve affixed your Splitzer, you’ll notice there are notches around the outer edge on the front. These let you slide the Splitzer to specific points, which lets you determine exactly when you’ve twisted your Splitzer 1/4 of a rotation, 1/2 of a rotation, etc. Using these, you can ensure that you’re exposing frames exactly as you’d like, whether it is halves, fourths or more. A second notch on the outside controls the secondary, blue colored shade. This cuts the frame down further from half if you want to expose an even smaller portion of the frame for crazy combinations of several exposures, allowing you to mix multiple people, places, colors, etc. There are few limits on what you can splice together.

Credits: zakguy

My only experience so far is with the Diana Instant Back+ attached, but I’m looking forward to having even more space to play with using 120 film. Some things to keep in mind when shooting with a Splitzer:

1. If you want perfectly even halves of two objects/people/etc, make sure you’re the same distance from each subject so they’re to the same scale.
2. Be sure to at least double expose every frame unless you’re intentionally trying to have half the photo look like you had the lens cap on.
3. When shooting using instant film and a Splitzer, you have less room to work with and I noticed the left side of the photo tends to have more room than the left. Alternatively, splitting horizontally down the middle will come out more even, but you’ll be shooting rather thin slices that are very wide, so adjust accordingly.

Overall, I love my Splitzer and I’m excited to try new techniques to create fun, beautiful lomographs for my home.

written by zakguy on 2011-03-21 in #reviews #diana #user-review #instanx #accessory #reviews #lomography #splitzer

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part One)

    written by dermanu on 2014-08-31 in #world #locations
    Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part One)

    When I was a child, I regularly went to Blaavand located at the Danish west coast with my brothers and my parents. However, I didn't anymore when I grew up. But in 2012, we hit the road again. It was my first visit there in about 20 years. I took the chance and packed as many cameras as possible into my luggage. In this article, I'm going to present to you the photos I took with my Nikon F-501 SLR.

  • Early Inspirations in Film Photography: A Tomato Project

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-10-21 in #lifestyle
    Early Inspirations in Film Photography: A Tomato Project

    I’m lucky enough and old enough to have grown up in an era where film was the only form of photography available. I’ve always had a passion for film but it was a certain series of images that inspired me and changed my idea of photography forever. Find out what that was after the jump.

  • Shop News

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    The LC-Wide Elite Kit gathers all the accessories you would ever need for your Lomo LC-Wide.

  • Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part Two)

    written by dermanu on 2014-09-22 in #world #locations
    Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part Two)

    When I was a child, I regularly went to Blaavand, located at the Danish west coast, with my brothers and parents. I stopped going there as I grew up. In 2012 however, we hit the road again. It was my first return visit in about 20 years. I took the chance and packed as many cameras as possible into my luggage. In part two of my journey log, I'm going to show you the pictures I took with my Lomography cameras.

  • Capturing the Summer with the Diana F+ Close-Up Lens

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-05-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    Capturing the Summer with the Diana F+ Close-Up Lens

    Every summer I get a burst of analogue excitement when I see the flowers starting to bloom. My favorite summer pastime is to take glorious shots of plants and flowers, and for perfect dreamy shots, I like to use the Diana Close-Up lens. Join me as I take you through a garden of analogue delights.

  • Lomography Diana Tips + Tricks

    written by joellep on 2014-09-27 in #gear #tipster
    Lomography Diana Tips + Tricks

    I have been using the Diana extensively for the past two years. It was actually the camera that got my into film photography (something that I am so grateful for). So I have compiled a list of Diana tips for y’all…

    3
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini Flash Bundle

    Diana Mini Flash Bundle

    Ready to dive into the world of Lomography? This Bundle will provide you with all that you need: a Diana Mini, a Diana flash, a flash adaptor and you're ready good to go!

  • My First Lomo Affair: Litumai and her Diana Mini

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-31 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Litumai and her Diana Mini

    She was supposed to get a Diana F+ camera but ended up with its equally charming small sister Diana Mini. Find out why Andrea Lituma, litumai in the Lomography Community, considers this mishap as "the best mistake ever" in this edition of My First Lomo Affair!

  • Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-01-21 in #gear #tipster
    Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    Perhaps you’ve already had chance to try light painting, multiple exposures and long exposures with your Lomo’Instant, but what can you experiment with next? Well, that’s exactly the thought I had which led to giving this Tipster a go. I wanted to shoot Lomo’Instant photos which felt a bit “messier” than what I’m usually used to and to use a technique which would open up new possibilities with the kinds of images I could create with my favorite instant camera. Well, here I go!

    2
  • Lomography x The Victoria and Albert Museum Presents a HORST Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-10-03 in #competitions
    Lomography x The Victoria and Albert Museum Presents a HORST Rumble

    Horst P. Horst was a fashion photographer who became famous for his striking use of composition and lighting. His photographs depict sheer and timeless beauty. The Victoria and Albert Museum is celebrating Horst's work with a retrospective exhibition of photographs from his prolific career. Lomography has teamed up with the V&A to give YOU the chance to win amazing prizes including tickets to see the exhibition, a book of his photographs and a Diana F+ Colette. Read on to find out more.

  • Shop News

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    Start capturing images even in low-light conditions with this bundle you can create your own combination of LC-A camera and Iblazr flash. And save 20% off!

  • Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-02 in #people
    Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    The characters in Argus Paul Estabrook's work in paper cutting are the stuff nightmares are made of: unusual forms, jagged edges, arms outstretched as if seeking salvation—all emphasized further by the plain white background on which they are placed. Combined, these details paint a picture straight out of Dante Alighieri's "Divine Comedy."

    3
  • Photo of the Day by toania

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-06-02 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by toania

    Even after a tiring party, this charming little girl still wears her brightest smile for the camera!

    2
  • Awesome Albums: A Lomochromatic Highline by jonjonkam

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-02 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: A Lomochromatic Highline by jonjonkam

    Sleek architecture and dainty flowers welcome you in today's featured album.

    1