My First Lomo Year in Review 2010

11

I met Lomography in the beginning of 2010, and with my year anniversary as a Lomographer coming around, I thought I'd look down memory lane for my first year.

I found Lomography by accident (or destiny) in February 2010 at an Urban Outfitters store while visiting my girlfriend in Hollywood, California. I bought a Fisheye without knowing what I was getting into, just because the box looked so damn attractive I just had to get my hands on it and buy it! Besides it was like $20 so what could I be losing right? So I picked up a pack of Lomography 800 ISO 35mm film and read the instructions to learn how to load the film into the camera and started shooting on the last day of my trip.

I got back home to Puerto Rico and with seeing the results I was HOOKED. I read the whole booklet that came with the camera and came into Lomography.com to see what the deal was about. And boy did I not know what I had just gotten myself into. I saw thousands of amazing pictures by all of the community members and thought to myself “I need to get another camera”. So I went and bought a Holga 135 BC.

I shot roll after roll and it wasn’t enough. I wanted more and more! I stumbled across the Diana F+ deluxe kit and remember being so attracted to all the lenses and the beauty of the chrome edition. Luckily within a few weeks my school gave me $200 for some unknown reason (they said, forget what the money’s for, don’t ask, just take it, haha) and so I ordered the “Diana F+ deluxe kit”http://shop.lomography.com/diana-deluxe-kit!

Somewhere in between that my dad saw I was getting pretty serious about my analog photography and decided to give me his old Nikon N6006. It was a lot for me to handle at the time, since I was a real newbie to all of this photography terms, and the camera looked pretty complicated for my knowledge. But I gave it a shot either way and quickly learned my way around it.

By then I was already writing articles, and submitting locations, and participating in the community saving up piggies for the day I would be able to buy the beautiful Lomo LC-A+. My girlfriend who was still in Los Angeles bought me a SuperSampler and sent it to me. Isn’t she the best?

I remember I got photo of the day a few times with these pictures:

And in between I also got Lomo Home of the Day! Which helped me boost my piggies A LOT! Enough that I was then able to buy the Lomo LC-A+!

My girlfriend came back from California and it was road trip time! We went many places to photograph during the beginning of the summer around the island, as I had made it my mission to post many locations from Puerto Rico, so I could share my island with the Lomo World. We then went on a trip to New York with my family and boy did we take lots of photos in that week!

After coming back school was starting again so I had less time to take photos, but I still remained active. I contributed some more articles and had been saving up piggies from random rumbles I would get chosen for. There’s was a time when Lomography had a big translation week and I remember I translated like crazy because I was saving up for a Horizon Perfekt which was my new favorite camera on the wishlist. And so the day came, when the Lomography Facebook page reached I don’t remember how many fans, they released a really big discount which I was able to grab and combined with my piggies I was able to get my dream camera! =D

Here comes the best part. I then started winning free cameras! Harry had made his way to Puerto Rico, and we had been having some great times, and as it turns out, apparently the judges had loved my Harry’s photo so much that they decided to give us first place! And with it a brand new Spinner 360º camera for me!

Then the Ripcurl rumble had started and I got chosen for the 1st round with this picture, which got me a lovely Diana Mini!

THEN the big User Blog rumble happened, and that was probably the toughest rumble I’ve fought for. I remember going head to head with azzzy but in the end my love came through and got me a spanking new Sprocket Rocket!

So in conclusion it’s safe to say that it’s been a great first year for my Lomography journey. Since I couldn’t pin them down within the story, here’s a list of the rumbles for which I got a badge in the year 2010.

  • Weekly Rumble: Hot to die
  • Diana Vignettes Rumble Berlin
  • With Lomography Camera
  • Like it Like That Rumble
  • Spread the Love Rumble
  • Łódz LomoWall Rumble
  • My Very Very Vi Ai Pi
  • Sounds Like… Lomowall Competition
  • Rip Curl Competition: Stage I – Whole Lotta Love
  • Lomography Blogathon
  • What Are You Thankful For? Rumble

So that pretty much sums up my analog year in 2010. Now, tell me about yours =)

written by reneg88 on 2011-02-09 in #lifestyle

11 Comments

  1. willyboy
    willyboy ·

    Great post. Very inspirational to those of us just starting out!

  2. kylethefrench
    kylethefrench ·

    Ha only been one year? Seems u been here forever

  3. samguino
    samguino ·

    Holy moly - that's an awesome first year! Congrats on all the rumble wins and photos of the day. Last year is going to be a tough year for you to beat!!

  4. jojo8785
    jojo8785 ·

    Wow!! Congrats on an amazing first year! If my first lomo year is a tenth as successful as yours, I'll be happy.

  5. iaki
    iaki ·

    I love the history!
    Eres un grande René!!!

    I have lomohome since 2008 maybe, but 2010 I begun to be real part of this and It´s amazing
    The Rene´s history in LSI is a little as mine.

    God save LSI!!! haha

  6. antibiotyx
    antibiotyx ·

    congratulations! what an amazing year. february marks my first lomo anniversary too. i should write my own review, but i'm too lazy right now. haha. lomo on, rene!

  7. svala
    svala ·

    Nice, very inspirational!

  8. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    A great first lomo year!!! I wish you a lot more love, lomo and success in the following years René!! :)

  9. natalieerachel
    natalieerachel ·

    Gorgeous gallery!!

  10. reneg88
    reneg88 ·

    thanks everyone for your wonderful comments! it was a lovely year! i hope all the follow are as beautiful! =)

  11. moronoutside
    moronoutside ·

    you are something, man. very inspirational as i just started last december, i wish you more and more success in the following years, cheers!

More Interesting Articles

  • Fresh from the Lab: Modern Architecture in Valencia

    written by sirio174 on 2014-08-14 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Modern Architecture in Valencia

    Between the end of July and the beginning of August this year, I traveled around Spain, from Barcelona to Gibraltar, then up to Toledo and again down to Zaragoza. With photos fresh from the lab, I'll show you the wonderful architecture of the City of The Arts and Sciences of Valencia in this article. Take a look after the jump!

    1
  • Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-09 in #reviews
    Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    The story between the Spinner 360 and I goes way back to the year 2010, when Lomography decided to send me a beta model of the Spinner 360 to test. It was a complete surprise! I thought, "What the hell is that?" as I first took this camera out of the package. Then, when my little brother grabbed it from me and pulled the cord, it buzzed and turned 360°! We all had the same expression: "Whoa..."

    4
  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • Shop News

    Build your own analog SLR Camera!

    Build your own analog SLR Camera!

    With a list of fine accessories it´s not only fun to build but also great to shoot with! Check out the enhanced, flash compatible version now!

  • Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part Two)

    written by dermanu on 2014-09-22 in #world #locations
    Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part Two)

    When I was a child, I regularly went to Blaavand, located at the Danish west coast, with my brothers and parents. I stopped going there as I grew up. In 2012 however, we hit the road again. It was my first return visit in about 20 years. I took the chance and packed as many cameras as possible into my luggage. In part two of my journey log, I'm going to show you the pictures I took with my Lomography cameras.

  • A Weekend in Madrid with the Petzval Lens

    written by ninouchka on 2014-12-10 in #lifestyle
    A Weekend in Madrid with the Petzval Lens

    At the beginning of November, I went to Madrid for the first time. I wanted to bring back home unique memories and photographs of what I was going to discover in the Spanish capital, so I brought the Petzval Lens with me to capture this trip within a beautiful swirling bokeh.

  • Flashing Lights: Taking Photos of Artificial Light Installations with my LC-A+ and Fisheye No. 2

    written by vanfrancis on 2014-03-12 in #lifestyle
    Flashing Lights: Taking Photos of Artificial Light Installations with my LC-A+ and Fisheye No. 2

    My two passions are art and photography. For my first article about art on the Lomography magazine, I decided to visit "The Light Show" exhibition at the Hayward Gallery. I aimed to take as many creative photos of light installations as I can with my Lomo LC-A+ and Fisheye No. 2.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • A Salute to the Masters: Crosswalk (A Tribute to Dennis Stock)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-04-21 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Crosswalk (A Tribute to Dennis Stock)

    Exactly 40 years ago in 1974, American photographer Dennis Stock took a series of photos of a crosswalk in Tokyo. For the anniversary of his reportage in Japan, I dedicated to him this article, with a series of photos of one of the most populated crosswalk in my city, Como. Take a look after the jump!

  • My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    written by murdoc_niccals on 2014-12-15 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    Hi, everyone! I'd like to share with you my 2014 summary on analogue photography. Some things I did were completely new, while some were my good old habits. This year I learned how to develop black and white film, which I consider my greatest milestone. But the most important thing is that in 2014, I remain in love with Lomography! And the rest? Well, let's see...

    3
  • My Day in Analogue: Weekends in Bandung

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-03 in #lifestyle
    My Day in Analogue: Weekends in Bandung

    Hello, fellow lomographers! To be honest, ever since I started working last year, I haven't been able to write a single analogue lifestyle piece. But today I decided to write something about my days, especially about my weekend in Bandung. It's not much but I take it as the start of a new beginning in writing all over again here. So, here's my weekend in Bandung!

    2
  • Shop News

    A quick guide to Inkodye

    A quick guide to Inkodye

    Shake well and apply to fabric. Blot out excess using a paper towel. Create your design using Inkofilm or anything that casts a shadow. Expose to sunlight or bright UV light for 10-20 minutes or until color reaches full saturation. Machine wash using Inkowash to remove unexposed dye. Double your exposure time in overcast weather. Enjoy the "wow" result!

  • Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-03 in #world #lifestyle
    Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    As Steve Jobs puts it, "creativity is just connecting things." It's all about tracing one's experiences and pushing the boundaries of what's already known to establish new things. The Lomography community is no stranger to these instances. In fact, the community is filled with brilliant minds who are always ready to refine existing techniques and look for innovative ways to express their visions and ideas. Here are just a few of the creative lomographers we've come to love over the years.

    5
  • Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part One)

    written by dermanu on 2014-08-31 in #world #locations
    Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part One)

    When I was a child, I regularly went to Blaavand located at the Danish west coast with my brothers and my parents. However, I didn't anymore when I grew up. But in 2012, we hit the road again. It was my first visit there in about 20 years. I took the chance and packed as many cameras as possible into my luggage. In this article, I'm going to present to you the photos I took with my Nikon F-501 SLR.

  • My Day in Analogue: Lazy Summer Days at Home

    written by jokelangens on 2014-08-27 in #lifestyle
    My Day in Analogue: Lazy Summer Days at Home

    Every summer, my soul screams for a lazy, hot day back at my parents' home, for some good food, relaxation, and catching up with childhood friends. This year is no different, so I went back down to my small hometown in the very northeast of Belgium to enjoy a perfect laid back day doing nothing and everything. And of course, I brought my analogue cameras along to eternalize all of these small but grand moments in life.