Love, Adventure and Expansion! My Analogue Year in Review 2010

3

I’ve realized that 2010 so far has been the most significant year in my analogue life -- and three words that best describes my 2010 analogue life are Love, Adventure and Expansion!

Love and Adventure

I used to think that even though there are quite a number of lomographers here in the Philippines, we were all divided and were doing our own little thing with our own little cliques! Lomomanila, the online community that brought together most lomographers suddenly disappeared – cutting me off from the rest of the group! At first, it seemed impossible for me to create new friends so I would usually just shoot on my own (or sometimes I dragged my boyfriend along because he had no choice :)

Last 2010 however, everything changed and has it has been full ANALOGUE LOVE, LOVE and LOVE ever since!

Early in the year, I joined an online project called Whilst We Wait where I was able to meet wonderful people such as basterda and icuresick. It became an opportunity for me to get to know other Filipino lomographers and join actual lomowalks where anything-goes! I also got to meet a lot of the other Filipino lomographers such as lakandula, icuresick and boredbone through various events.

Various lomowalks and lomoruns!

Not only limited within Philippine borders, last year I had an awesome opportunity to meet and shoot with world-renowned lomographers. Going to USA will never be the same anymore because of ceduxi0n and satomi! From California to Las Vegas we always brought our guns and ammunition wherever we went until our feet got tired and we fell asleep as soon as we plopped down on our beds!!

Adventures with ceduxi0n and satomi

Expansion and Adventure

2010 started out as normal year – I could foresee my analogue life to grow gradually and predictably — I was so wrong however, because now that I look at it, there never any gradual slope! To be technical about things, let me put in a bit of statistics in my review:

In 2010, I bought 170% more cameras than I did in 2009. I’ve tried 400% more varieties of film, and I’ve shot 300% more rolls than 2009 & 2008 combined.

I bought 12 new cameras this 2010.

I’ve also seen adventure in my tastes in film and in cameras. At first I fully enjoyed toy plastic cameras, until I realized I really wanted to learn more about manual photography so I started acquiring rangefinders and SLRs. I’ve also started to explore more serious medium format cameras by trying out TLRs and folder cameras. With films, at first I only stuck to slide films but now I hoard quite a number of DIY redscales, color negatives and black & white films! It was also the year when I first started doing self-portraits, doubles, film swaps and lightpaintings! (I guess the only thing that hasn’t been expanding is my bank account.)

Expansion of Lomography in the Philippines

As a film and film camera seller, business has also expanded in the same exponential manner! The most important fact that I would like to point out is that by mid-2010, 50% of my current customer base is NEW to lomography and have only just begun their journey into the whole new wonderful world of analogue photography! This means that we (and lomography.com) are doing an aweeeesome job spreading the analogue love!

Selling films & cameras during a bazaar in CubaoX

Another important occurrence in 2010 that must be noted is the Fuji Instax Fever! With the help of the Kpop sensation Super Junior and the controversial Lady Gaga (who is now a Polaroid Creative Director), instant photography has been reborn! Fujifilm’s Instax Mini Cameras became so popular worldwide that for some time, it was quite difficult to get your hands on these cameras since they were always out of stock! Now with credit-card sized film, Polaroid also came out with a new line of instant cameras to replace the old square picture format.

Looking back, 2010 has been an awesome year for me and analogue photography. With new locations, new friends, new cameras, new films and new goals — I can’t wait for 2011 to knock my socks off!!! Being blown away by how unpredictable (and in an amazing way) 2010 has been for me, I humbly admit I have no idea how this year will look like — And that’s probably the best possible way it can be.

This article was first published by Kara Hizon in her blog

written by ak47lomogurl on 2011-03-16 in #lifestyle #love #friends #review #lomowalk #adventure #philippines #analogue-life #2010 #expansion

3 Comments

  1. olen
    olen ·

    where is your shop located?

  2. ak47lomogurl
    ak47lomogurl ·

    yay! it finally got posted!

  3. renenob
    renenob ·

    Kudos to you Kara!

More Interesting Articles

  • My Year in Analogue: How Film Photography Changed Me For Life

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2015-01-05 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: How Film Photography Changed Me For Life

    2014 has been a fulfilling year, in my personal life as well as in analogue photography.

  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Photo of the Day by gakurou

    written by cheeo on 2014-12-29 in #news
    Photo of the Day by gakurou

    Feeling a bit nostalgic about the year that has been? Recall your best analogue adventures! Allow this dreamy double exposure by gakurou to set the mood.

    2
  • My Year in Analogue: The Travel Issue

    written by roxyvonschlotterstein on 2015-01-29 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: The Travel Issue

    2014 has been a year of many travels for me. Lucky, I know. Let me show you a few photos that I have taken during my adventures far away from home.

    4
  • LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-21 in #reviews
    LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    I bought the LomoKino years ago, and since then I've been having great times with it. I will continue documenting my daily life with the LomoKino, which is Lomography in motion! You can see the movements and facial expressions of people - it’s priceless! Documenting life in moving pictures, the Lomokino can be used as a camera that not only shoots moving pictures but also works like the multi-frame wonder camera, Supersampler!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Storytelling with Petzvals: Alex Timmermans and the Art of Collodion

    written by jacobs on 2015-04-03 in #people #lifestyle
    Storytelling with Petzvals: Alex Timmermans and the Art of Collodion

    Not long after Alex Timmermans purchased his first digital camera at the turn of the century, he quickly realized the trappings of digital photography couldn't fulfill his personal photographic desires. He then began searching for a more challenging process — one that wasn't so predictable. His journey eventually landed him back at the roots of analogue photography, specifically employing the wet plate collodion process using original Petzval lenses. This antique photographic process found in him a renewed inspiration and has since become his passion, which is evident in both his words and his images.

    13
  • Colorful Transformations: Part One

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-17 in #news
    Colorful Transformations: Part One

    Don’t you love it when the whole world shifts into new perspectives? Perhaps it’s the moment you realize the grass isn’t always greener on the other side, or that secondly when it’s like someone has flicked a switch and life suddenly appears completely fresh again. Well ladies and gentlemen, we are nearly ready to unveil a new Lomographic surprise which will have this magical impact on your photographic life!

    8
  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    written by murdoc_niccals on 2014-12-15 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    Hi, everyone! I'd like to share with you my 2014 summary on analogue photography. Some things I did were completely new, while some were my good old habits. This year I learned how to develop black and white film, which I consider my greatest milestone. But the most important thing is that in 2014, I remain in love with Lomography! And the rest? Well, let's see...

    3
  • Loving the Lomo'instant!

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-16 in #news
    Loving the Lomo'instant!

    It's only been a few months since the lovely Lomo'instant camera was officially launched online and in the Lomography stores. Since then this Instant compact camera has been flying off the shelves. You've all been busy experimenting and uploading your amazing shots so we've decided show you some of the best shots out there to inspire you to get creative!

  • Petzval Artist: The Aesthetics Of Photographer Issa Ng

    written by lomographygallerystorehk on 2015-07-02 in #people #lifestyle #reviews
    Petzval Artist: The Aesthetics Of Photographer Issa Ng

    As a photographer, Issa Ng is known for his expertise in portraiture and fashion photography. Having worked with different international brands as an Art Director, he has developed a great sense for aesthetics and details, which are reflected in his work. For the past three years thePetzval lens has been part of his workflow, and it has helped him create those show-stopping fashion portraits.