Fuji Provia (120, 400 iso) staff-review

3

Fuji Provia: day in and day out or with an electronic flash, you can’t go wrong with this one.

Fuji Provia: day in and day out or with an electronic flash, you can’t go wrong with this one.

The Provia line from Fujifilm is actually meant for professional use but surprisingly enough, it knows nothing to intimidate even for a novice snapshooter. It’s versatility of use either on a bright sunlight or in a situation where a bunch of clouds hovering above, there’s nothing to worry the relentless camera-clicker in you. In 400 ASA, you can’t really go wrong because it will consistently yields vivid colour reproduction and sharpness this film is known for! Also, it boasts one of the world’s highest levels of grain quality which means you’ll get a fine grain quality that of 100 ASA whilst having a high level of sensitivity.

And when this one is washed with C-41 chemicals, a very consistent hues of blue and green will cast your image while still giving you a high contrast and somewhat muted colour saturation altogether. It may not give you those extreme colour shifts like other cross processed slide films you know, but it will give you a feeling of solitude like that of looking through someone else’s lucid dreams and having it captured on a medium format film which makes it an indelible piece of a high resolution, analogue de ja vu…

Once in a while, it’s good to see things on the other end of the colour spectrum. And to make it possible, this film is a must for everyone who likes the diversity being achieved on using films. Results may vary depending on how it is handled and processed but this is one of its charms, it is the surprises we always have which makes analogue photography more real and surreal at the same time.

written by fookshit on 2008-10-08 in #reviews #120 #slide #provia #fujifilm

3 Comments

  1. hanspan
    hanspan ·

    i think i need to pick some up and stop using incredibly dirty 200 speed films!?

    but then i have the predicament when i got 6 films for £1 i can't help but whack them through...

  2. fookshit
    fookshit ·

    you should!
    but you can't really put a price on this.
    ^_^

  3. graefin
    graefin ·

    uploaded some Provia pics! I love to use it on sunny days!

More Interesting Articles

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Standard Development (Develop and Scan Only)

    Standard Development (Develop and Scan Only)

    Get negatives and scans for your 35mm, 120 or 110 films with Standard Development.Choose between Colour Negative Development, Black & White Development, Slide Film (E-6) and Cross-Processing Development. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Lomography and Alfa Mito Club to Club Festival 2014 Competition: The Trojan Horse

    written by camilla_illa on 2014-10-27 in #competitions
    Lomography and Alfa Mito Club to Club Festival 2014 Competition: The Trojan Horse

    Lomographers, fans of electronic music and art, this is the competition for you! We are very happy to launch this competition with Alfa MiTo Club To Club, one of the most important festivals of music, art and culture electronics in Europe, which will take place in Turin, Italy, from 5th to 9th November 2014. Find out how to win two tickets, lots of music and Lomography cameras!

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-09 in #news
    Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    Did you enjoy shooting with Cine200 Tungsten Film when it launched? Or were you one of the unlucky many who missed out on this ultra-limited edition emulsion? Well, we’re thrilled to say we have an exciting follow-up to Cine200 which will launch in just a few days! And as the other film sold out so fast, we wanted to give you the opportunity to sign-up to our list to get the news as soon as it happens.

    1
  • Film Manipulation: Mixing Bleach, Detergent and Negatives

    written by neonlights on 2014-07-22 in #gear #tipster
    Film Manipulation: Mixing Bleach, Detergent and Negatives

    I've been experimenting with many substances, more or less corrosives, for film manipulation. The images come out so different, that sometimes you can't even recognize them. The pictures in this experiment are a result of mixing bleach and detergent powder.

    1
  • Beautiful, Crisp Shots Taken with the LC-A 120

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-09 in #lifestyle
    Beautiful, Crisp Shots Taken with the LC-A 120

    Just when you thought the LC-A family couldn't get any bigger and better, in comes the LC-A 120. Check out a few sample shots taken in Japan with this awesome new camera after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Mini Neo & 10x Fuji Instax Mini Film

    Fuji Instax Mini Neo & 10x Fuji Instax Mini Film

    Save 20% on Fuji Instax Mini Film with this bundle and get 100 sheets for pure Instant fun! Plus, get to choose which Fuji Instax Mini Camera fits your personality!

  • Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-19 in #lifestyle
    Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    Lomography has previously shown you the kind of shots that one could take with the new Lomo LC-A 120. Now, with the first batch already shipped out and arriving to their lucky owners, it's the community's turn to show everyone what they've been shooting with this awesome camera!

    7
  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • Lomo'Instant: How to Make Instant Connections

    written by mindofmyra on 2014-10-31 in #lifestyle

    Before moving to New York City, I was told that people keep to themselves. Thus, I set forth to put myself out there and create connections with the people in my community, using the Lomo'Instant as an icebreaker! I was proven wrong—if you show an ounce of kindness to anyone, they will overflow in return.