Fuji Provia (120, 400 iso) staff-review

3

Fuji Provia: day in and day out or with an electronic flash, you can’t go wrong with this one.

Fuji Provia: day in and day out or with an electronic flash, you can’t go wrong with this one.

The Provia line from Fujifilm is actually meant for professional use but surprisingly enough, it knows nothing to intimidate even for a novice snapshooter. It’s versatility of use either on a bright sunlight or in a situation where a bunch of clouds hovering above, there’s nothing to worry the relentless camera-clicker in you. In 400 ASA, you can’t really go wrong because it will consistently yields vivid colour reproduction and sharpness this film is known for! Also, it boasts one of the world’s highest levels of grain quality which means you’ll get a fine grain quality that of 100 ASA whilst having a high level of sensitivity.

And when this one is washed with C-41 chemicals, a very consistent hues of blue and green will cast your image while still giving you a high contrast and somewhat muted colour saturation altogether. It may not give you those extreme colour shifts like other cross processed slide films you know, but it will give you a feeling of solitude like that of looking through someone else’s lucid dreams and having it captured on a medium format film which makes it an indelible piece of a high resolution, analogue de ja vu…

Once in a while, it’s good to see things on the other end of the colour spectrum. And to make it possible, this film is a must for everyone who likes the diversity being achieved on using films. Results may vary depending on how it is handled and processed but this is one of its charms, it is the surprises we always have which makes analogue photography more real and surreal at the same time.

written by fookshit on 2008-10-08 in #reviews #slide #120 #fujifilm #provia

3 Comments

  1. hanspan
    hanspan ·

    i think i need to pick some up and stop using incredibly dirty 200 speed films!?

    but then i have the predicament when i got 6 films for £1 i can't help but whack them through...

  2. fookshit
    fookshit ·

    you should!
    but you can't really put a price on this.
    ^_^

  3. graefin
    graefin ·

    uploaded some Provia pics! I love to use it on sunny days!

More Interesting Articles

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-02 in #gear #news
    Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    Have a look at these bright and beautiful medium format photographs from the community shot with the Lomography Color Negative 400 for 120 cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own CN 400 (120) snaps be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Awesome Albums: Fuji Reala 500D Roll#1 by lzyrich

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-22 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Fuji Reala 500D Roll#1 by lzyrich

    In today's featured album, we put the spotlight on photographs taken with a motion picture film. Find out how one lomographer did it and see the results here!

    5
  • Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    With its surreal, psychedelic results that easily remind one of fairy tale-like wonderlands, the LomoChrome Purple has quickly grown to become one of the most popular emulsions in the community. We're giving you that extra push in the form of more community-penned reviews to finally try this film yourself, if you haven't.

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. March was for caffenol. You have probably heard of the amazing fact that you can develop black and white photos with coffee, sodium, and vitamin C. I had tried this before but with less than stellar results. Somehow, there's always something going wrong. Time to devote a few rolls to caffenol to finally get the hang of it.

    1
  • Shop News

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    A true Lomographic gem, the Lomo LC-A+ RL is blessed with good looks and bursting with experimental potential. Get ready to shoot amazing Lomographic photos by experimenting with MX shots, long exposures and a whole range of accessories!

  • Concert Photography Tips: Low ISO Film at Night

    written by sirio174 on 2015-08-10 in #gear #tipster
    Concert Photography Tips: Low ISO Film at Night

    In this article I'll teach you how to take sharp photos in low-light conditions using a simple point-and-shoot camera loaded with slow-speed film.

    5
  • Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    written by zonderbar on 2015-12-18 in #world #competitions
    Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    North or South, East or West - in every corner of Germany you can find analog photography lovers. Lomography brings them together and shows their pictures to a worldwide community. With this rumble we want to get to know you a little better. Show Lomography and fotoforum where you come from, capture your hometown on film and win a one-year subscription of fotoforum magazine as well as a Lomo LC-A 120 camera. Please note: This competition is only for users from Germany, Austria or Switzerland.

  • Meet our LomoGuru: sirio174

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-21 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Meet our LomoGuru: sirio174

    We all know him as the man behind some of the striking street photographs in the community and the inspirational "A Salute to the Masters" series in the magazine. But did you know that he is also an engineering and electronics teacher and a ham radio operator? In this interview, Davide Tambuchi opens up about his fascination with radio, bikes, Subbuteo, and of course analog photography!

    14
  • Shop News

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Want to push your limits in the field of photography? Go large format! This camera uses a 4x5” film and can capture all the subjects you want with this pinhole camera in large format!

  • Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    written by Lomography London on 2015-12-03 in #world #lomoamigos
    Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    Stephen Dowling is no stranger to the LC-A 120 camera; he has brought it on trips to Brighton, Malta and most recently, on a holiday in Istanbul. In this feature, Stephen talks about his experience shooting with this medium format camera around the markets and mosques of one of Turkey's most colourful and vibrant cities.

    1
  • Analog By Nature

    written by Cameron Jean-laing on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Analog By Nature

    It's late October in Copenhagen and summer was well and truly behind us. With the nights drawing in, the chances of going out with one of my cameras was slim. All was not lost at this time of year, however, as it allowed me time to focus on my own personal music projects—I am a professional composer/musician and audio engineer at my own studio by day.

    1
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.