DigitaLiza: Perfect Companion for Your Pano-cameras!

7

What if you always wanted to shoot panoramic photos complete with sprockets but can't afford the expensive scanning at your local photolab? Buy a DigitaLiza!

As usual, I can count on Lomography.com to come out with innovative new products that save me $$. DigitaLiza 35mm scanning mask is an accessory that allows you to scan 35mm panoramic shots, including the sprockets. I had always wondered why it is so much more expensive to scan films with sprockets at the photolab. After I bought the DigitaLiza and tried DIY scanning, I begin to appreciate the enormous amount of time and effort required, and the cost is rightly justified.

DigitaLiza consists of 3 parts, the steel bottom, the holder, and the “lid”.

Operation is simple and from my experience is best done on a flat surface. First, open the holder and place it on top of the steel plate. Lay your film in the holder. Close the holder and then put the “lid” onto the film. The magnet in the lid will press the film flat against the steel plate. The next part is somewhat the reverse of the previous 3 steps. Pull out the lid and lift the holder from the steel plate. Lay and align the holder (with the film) onto your scanner. Proceed to scan!

The DigitaLiza allows you to scan up to 6 frames each time. Meaning you can scan 3 Sprocket Rocket shots or 1 Spinner 360 shot. This is really convenient and speeds up my scanning productivity. Here are some photos scanned with DigitaLiza! The results are awesome!

If you intend to buy a panoramic camera and are doing DIY scanning, I would strongly recommend that you get one to save $$ in the long run!

written by coolsigg on 2010-12-17 in #reviews #scanning-mask-35mm-pano-panoramic-sprocket-spinner-rocket-360-convenient #user-review

7 Comments

  1. saidseni
    saidseni ·

    Hi! For doing this you need a special scanner, right?

  2. nigelk
    nigelk ·

    I received my Digitaliza holders (35mm and 120 film) last week. They are fantastic and I think they work better than the negative holders that came with my Epson v700 Photo scanner.

  3. saidseni
    saidseni ·

    But... you need a PHOTO SCANNER, right? If you have one that works with 120 it will also work with 35mm with sprockets... right?

  4. vanc180sx
    vanc180sx ·

    hi guys , have you guys heard about canon Lide 210 / Lide 700F scanner ? will it scan panaroma and 120 Film ? i m looking for a budget scanner :)

  5. coolsigg
    coolsigg ·

    hi guys, I m using Epson V500 photo scanner. So far so good. it comes with holders to scan 35mm, 120mm (mounted and unmounted) films. But these holders dont allow me to scan the 35mm films with sprockets. If I use the DigitaLiza, I just place it on the scanner without using the Epson provided holders. Hope this helps. :)

  6. nigelk
    nigelk ·

    You will need a scanner that has backlighting. This is a light in the lid of the scanner that illuminates the negative. The reason I bought the DigitaLiza was to get a full scan of the negative, including panorama and/or sprocket shots. I bought 2 separate DigitaLizas - one for 35mm and another for 120. The 120 holder is too wide to accommodate 35mm film, that's why you need a separate one.

  7. saidseni
    saidseni ·

    Thank you! I'm thinking about buying the epson v500 but I though it would work for sprockets without the DigitaLiza...

More Interesting Articles

  • Make Loading Your Horizon Camera Much Easier with This Simple Tip

    written by alienmeatsack on 2014-12-10 in #gear #tipster
    Make Loading Your Horizon Camera Much Easier with This Simple Tip

    Do you love taking photos with your Horizon panoramic camera, but loading the film makes you crazy? Try this tipster to make your favorite Horizon or similar swing lens camera a joy to load and shoot.

    2
  • Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    written by ichdaschaos on 2014-11-03 in #reviews
    Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    I've always wanted to have an instant camera, but what put me off were the expensive price of the film and the transience of the photos. But then I wasn't able to fight it any longer and bought myself an Instax Wide 210 set. Now, here is a review of the Fuji Instax Wide film.

    1
  • A Collection Of Awesome Konstruktor Snapshots

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle
    A Collection Of Awesome Konstruktor Snapshots

    There's nothing more satisfying than taking fantastic photos with a camera that you built yourself. If you've always wanted to impress your friends with your mad DIY skills, pick up a Konstruktor Camera Kit and show them what you've got! It's also a cool way to get them into Lomography, because as you build the camera you'll discover how analogue photography works. Oh, and the Konstruktor takes gorgeous photos, too - check out the gallery and see what we mean!

    6
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Take a Peek Through The ONDU Pinhole

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news
    Take a Peek Through The ONDU Pinhole

    Have you ever tried going lens-less when taking a photo? Try shooting with ONDU Pinhole Cameras and see what it's like to take photos through a tiny pinhole. Check out these lovely shots taken by Lomographers; if you do have some ONDU pinhole photos of your own, upload and tag them accordingly so that we can see them!

    4
  • Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-05 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    Lubitel for lovers+. You're probably wondering, "Why is there a '+'?" It's to describe and expand a whole new definition of the Lubitel - in this case, this camera is not only for lovers literally, but also for anyone who loves to shoot portraits, street scenes, objects, and the skies. Do you love to take photos of your lover, your dear friend, your lovely family, your pet, or at the streets? This camera can be used in ALL situations. You can shoot everything that you love with it!

  • Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-01-21 in #gear #tipster
    Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    Perhaps you’ve already had chance to try light painting, multiple exposures and long exposures with your Lomo’Instant, but what can you experiment with next? Well, that’s exactly the thought I had which led to giving this Tipster a go. I wanted to shoot Lomo’Instant photos which felt a bit “messier” than what I’m usually used to and to use a technique which would open up new possibilities with the kinds of images I could create with my favorite instant camera. Well, here I go!

    2
  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Easy Tips and Ideas to Shoot the Lomo'Instant in the Daylight

    written by mariemcnaan on 2014-11-14 in #gear #tipster
    Easy Tips and Ideas to Shoot the Lomo'Instant in the Daylight

    Apologies for making you go through my "weekend with my BFFs" shots, but I do want to share with you some easy tips and ideas to shoot your Lomo'Instant in the daylight and outdoor. This is especially aimed at people who don't read manuals.

  • Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-02-17 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways to Shoot with Your Lomo LC-Wide Camera

    What’s not to love about the Lomo LC-Wide? If you are a fan of wide angle lenses or Lomography, you probably have one in your collection. The LC-Wide is a powerful camera with many fun features to get creative when shooting. Best of all, all these are already built into the camera.

    16
  • Handmade Cameras by Cedric Chatterley

    written by cheeo on 2014-12-05 in #lifestyle
    Handmade Cameras by Cedric Chatterley

    Shooting with film can be considered a labor of love. From carefully loading the film and adjusting for lighting conditions to the darkroom process, it’s a laborious process but certainly a fulfilling experience. What more if you created your own cameras?

    1
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Happenings on Film: Photographia Project

    written by Hugo Pereira on 2015-07-27 in #world #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: Photographia Project

    Last year I took part in Photographia, a project that encouraged the use of cameras from the volt of Museu da Imagem em Movimento (M|i|mo). The gear collection used to belong to a well-known Portuguese TV channel (RTP) and some professional photographers. The cameras hadn’t been used since they were donated to the museum—until the launch of Photographia.

    3
  • Thomas Campbell's Surf Cruise Around Morocco

    written by kenaz on 2015-07-27 in #world #lifestyle
    Thomas Campbell's Surf Cruise Around Morocco

    A new photo essay presents Morocco as a haven for surfing, joy and energy.