Spinner 360: Going in Circles!

2

I had always wanted to buy a panoramic camera but I can't afford the Horizon. Therefore, I can't hide my excitement when the Spinner 360 was announced! It seems like a fun and exciting camera with its ability to take 360-pano complete with sprockets! Immediately I ordered one from the online store and counted down to the day I will be receiving it.

When the DHL package arrived at my door step, I was amazed at the large packaging size and it was somewhat difficult to “liberate” the Spinner from due to the complicated packaging.

Once I hold the Spinner 360 in my hand, I noticed that this is one solidly built camera. It is much heavier than normal plastic cameras and it even has a metal lens hood!

On the camera it self, there is a pull ring similar to that on the Supersampler, an aperture switch, the rewind knob, and lo and behold, a built-in bubble level.

Loading the camera takes some getting used to. The film leader have to go into the take up spool and to advance the film, I have to rotate the handle. Once the first roll of film goes into the camera, I am ready to spin.

The first location I had chosen for my Spinner shoot is a famous local tourist attraction, Chinatown. When I take out the Spinner form my camera bag, I attract some stares from strangers, as if I am holding some death ray guns from 60’s B-grade movies. I braved the stares and went about my serious business of taking spinner shots, trying out various techniques from the website and manual.

Sadly, time flies when you are having fun and 6-7 spins later, I had used up my roll of 36 exposure negative film. I sent the roll to my fav minilab for developing and I got it back within a day. Scanning the negatives is another chore as the film is uncut and I have to manually unroll it, review and cut. Putting it on my home flatbed scanner is another epic struggle. Fortunately, I bought the DigitaLiza and that made my life slightly easier. The end results are fun and exciting. I can sometimes see myself appearing twice in the same frame! I had since ran through another 6-8 rolls on the Spinner and all my pals love the results it produces!

In conclusion, Spinner 360 is a must have if you like pano and an attention seeker that likes the stares from strangers. It is fun, exciting and unconventional. One word of caution, scanning can be a chore so it is recommended that you also purchase the DigitaLiza at the same time!

written by coolsigg on 2010-12-23 in #reviews #spinner-360-panoramic-sprocket-fun-circle-special #spinner-collection-2012 #user-review

2 Comments

  1. elvismartinezsmith
    elvismartinezsmith ·

    the Spinner is so cool, I'm addicted to it!!! :)

  2. nural
    nural ·

    one of my favs when it`s sunny!

More Interesting Articles

  • Get a Free Spinner 360° Motorizer When You Buy a Spinner 360° Camera!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-06-06 in #gear #news
    Get a Free Spinner 360° Motorizer When You Buy a Spinner 360° Camera!

    Enjoy shooting amazing 360-degree photographs with the Spinner 360° Camera! It gets even better when you pair it with the Spinner 360° Motorizer - a cool accessory that allows you to shoot from afar and in low-light situations. Get it free when you buy the Spinner 360° until 14th June only!

    3
  • Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-09 in #reviews
    Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    The story between the Spinner 360 and I goes way back to the year 2010, when Lomography decided to send me a beta model of the Spinner 360 to test. It was a complete surprise! I thought, "What the hell is that?" as I first took this camera out of the package. Then, when my little brother grabbed it from me and pulled the cord, it buzzed and turned 360°! We all had the same expression: "Whoa..."

    4
  • Stacy_mcpommes and her Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166B

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-10-09 in #lifestyle
    Stacy_mcpommes and her Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166B

    Not knowing exactly how to do deal with its odd appearance, Nadica first regarded the Lubitel 166B as a complete monstrosity. She left it untouched on her shelf for months after receiving it as a gift. After using other Lomo cameras and getting familiar with the rules on exposure, she finally had the courage to test it. Find out what made stacy_mcpommes fall in love with the Lubitel 166B in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    8
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Petzval Lens and Adaptor with Olympus OM-D E-M5 Micro 4/3 Camera

    written by blackfairy on 2015-05-15 in #gear #reviews
    Petzval Lens and Adaptor with Olympus OM-D E-M5 Micro 4/3 Camera

    Using my Canon EOS 20D, I already discovered the amazing bokeh effect of the Petzval Lens. So I was really excited to try it with my favorite digital hybrid camera, Olympus OM-D E-M5. Just attach an adaptor and off you go!

    2
  • Nadindra is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-29 in #world #news
    Nadindra is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to nadindra for winning Home of the Day!

    2
  • Photo of the Day by pannydeters

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-29 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by pannydeters

    Streaks of red and yellow lights set this snapshot in motion.

    1
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Mallorynox and her Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-29 in #gear #lifestyle
    Mallorynox and her Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    Barbora Smoláková's first brush with lomography started with a Diana F+ Deluxe Kit. With its variety of accessories, the Diana F+ allowed her to explore the endless possibilities of creative photography. In this interview, she opens up about her experience shooting with this versatile camera and how it helped her appreciate the beauty of ordinary things.

    1
  • Vintage Gallery: Headpieces from Around the World

    written by kenaz on 2015-08-29 in #world #lifestyle
    Vintage Gallery: Headpieces from Around the World

    A hat is in the position to be noticed before any other item of clothing. Its shape and texture can immediately call to mind cultural associations. A cloche is to 1920s fashion as a picture hat is to the 1900s. The wide-brimmed or fur-lined variety, on the other hand, is more functional for tribes.

  • An Interview with Mary Robinson

    written by anamartaml on 2015-08-29 in #people
    An Interview with Mary Robinson

    Mary Robinson has shown a natural talent for photography even at such an early age. Even when she was first featured on the Magazine in 2011, her images already made an impression on the Lomography Community. Her work has evolved in the span of four years, but its quaint beauty remains.