Spinner 360: Going in Circles!

2

I had always wanted to buy a panoramic camera but I can't afford the Horizon. Therefore, I can't hide my excitement when the Spinner 360 was announced! It seems like a fun and exciting camera with its ability to take 360-pano complete with sprockets! Immediately I ordered one from the online store and counted down to the day I will be receiving it.

When the DHL package arrived at my door step, I was amazed at the large packaging size and it was somewhat difficult to “liberate” the Spinner from due to the complicated packaging.

Once I hold the Spinner 360 in my hand, I noticed that this is one solidly built camera. It is much heavier than normal plastic cameras and it even has a metal lens hood!

On the camera it self, there is a pull ring similar to that on the Supersampler, an aperture switch, the rewind knob, and lo and behold, a built-in bubble level.

Loading the camera takes some getting used to. The film leader have to go into the take up spool and to advance the film, I have to rotate the handle. Once the first roll of film goes into the camera, I am ready to spin.

The first location I had chosen for my Spinner shoot is a famous local tourist attraction, Chinatown. When I take out the Spinner form my camera bag, I attract some stares from strangers, as if I am holding some death ray guns from 60’s B-grade movies. I braved the stares and went about my serious business of taking spinner shots, trying out various techniques from the website and manual.

Sadly, time flies when you are having fun and 6-7 spins later, I had used up my roll of 36 exposure negative film. I sent the roll to my fav minilab for developing and I got it back within a day. Scanning the negatives is another chore as the film is uncut and I have to manually unroll it, review and cut. Putting it on my home flatbed scanner is another epic struggle. Fortunately, I bought the DigitaLiza and that made my life slightly easier. The end results are fun and exciting. I can sometimes see myself appearing twice in the same frame! I had since ran through another 6-8 rolls on the Spinner and all my pals love the results it produces!

In conclusion, Spinner 360 is a must have if you like pano and an attention seeker that likes the stares from strangers. It is fun, exciting and unconventional. One word of caution, scanning can be a chore so it is recommended that you also purchase the DigitaLiza at the same time!

written by coolsigg on 2010-12-23 in #reviews #spinner-360-panoramic-sprocket-fun-circle-special #spinner-collection-2012 #user-review

2 Comments

  1. elvismartinezsmith
    elvismartinezsmith ·

    the Spinner is so cool, I'm addicted to it!!! :)

  2. nural
    nural ·

    one of my favs when it`s sunny!

More Interesting Articles

  • Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-09 in #reviews
    Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    The story between the Spinner 360 and I goes way back to the year 2010, when Lomography decided to send me a beta model of the Spinner 360 to test. It was a complete surprise! I thought, "What the hell is that?" as I first took this camera out of the package. Then, when my little brother grabbed it from me and pulled the cord, it buzzed and turned 360°! We all had the same expression: "Whoa..."

    4
  • Shoot Awesome Panoramic Videos With The Spinner Motorizer and Smartphone Combo!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-08-04 in #news
    Shoot Awesome Panoramic Videos With The Spinner Motorizer and Smartphone Combo!

    The Spinner 360 Motorizer does a superb job when used with the Spinner 360 camera. Even when shooting from afar or indoors, you'll get breathtaking panoramic photos with this pairing. Now, see what happens when you attach a smartphone to the Spinner 360 Motorizer.

  • Stacy_mcpommes and her Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166B

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-10-09 in #lifestyle
    Stacy_mcpommes and her Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166B

    Not knowing exactly how to do deal with its odd appearance, Nadica first regarded the Lubitel 166B as a complete monstrosity. She left it untouched on her shelf for months after receiving it as a gift. After using other Lomo cameras and getting familiar with the rules on exposure, she finally had the courage to test it. Find out what made stacy_mcpommes fall in love with the Lubitel 166B in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    5
  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Petzval Lens and Adaptor with Olympus OM-D E-M5 Micro 4/3 Camera

    written by blackfairy on 2015-05-15 in #gear #reviews
    Petzval Lens and Adaptor with Olympus OM-D E-M5 Micro 4/3 Camera

    Using my Canon EOS 20D, I already discovered the amazing bokeh effect of the Petzval Lens. So I was really excited to try it with my favorite digital hybrid camera, Olympus OM-D E-M5. Just attach an adaptor and off you go!

    2
  • Stark Portraits of 'Newsies' by Lewis Hine

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-25 in #world #lifestyle
    Stark Portraits of 'Newsies' by Lewis Hine

    The acclaimed American sociological photographer took these photographs of "newsies," or children who sold newspapers on the streets, during the 20th century in a bid against child labor.

  • Wanderlust-Inducing Spinner 360° Panoramas Rumble Winners

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-25 in #world #news #competitions
    Wanderlust-Inducing Spinner 360° Panoramas Rumble Winners

    Ready to take panoramic photography into new heights? Take the Spinner 360° camera out for a ride and capture the world in a 360° panorama.

    2
  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Mini Neo & 10x Fuji Instax Mini Film

    Fuji Instax Mini Neo & 10x Fuji Instax Mini Film

    Save 20% on Fuji Instax Mini Film with this bundle and get 100 sheets for pure Instant fun! Plus, get to choose which Fuji Instax Mini Camera fits your personality!

  • Erwin Blumenfeld's Beautiful Women

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-25 in #people #lifestyle
    Erwin Blumenfeld's Beautiful Women

    Blumenfeld had what curator William Ewing termed a "fetish for beauty." His incurable love of women helped him create the most iconic fashion photos of the 1940s and 1950s.

  • Photo of the Day by vikkki

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-25 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by vikkki

    Have you read the story of "The Bremen Town Musicians"? Today's featured photo might help you recall this fantastic tale!

  • Lomo Essentials: The Mystery Hunt

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-25 in #gear #news
    Lomo Essentials: The Mystery Hunt

    Whether behind bushes or in front of enigmatic women, a vivacious photographer always has a trusty lens strapped to his chest. In this Lomo spread, we take inspiration from Antonioni's Cannes-winning film Blow-Up.