Kodak Elitechrome ED (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

3

The 200 Blues: When Elitechrome 100 is 100 short of your lofty Lomographic ambitions, try its understated cousin for rich blue tones.

The 200 Blues: When Elitechrome 100 is 100 short of your lofty Lomographic ambitions, try its understated cousin for rich blue tones.

Having been given a roll of expired Elitechrome ED 200 by an old photographer friend (who had made the rather foolhardy leap to jpegs and pixels), I must admit my first thought was of mild distrust; that it wasn’t 100, and therefore couldn’t be good.

But then I realized—hey, free film is free film! and popped it right into my trusty LC-A to see what might be birthed from such an experimental marriage.

The results were spectacularly blue! Sharp, deep blacks, contrasted with little grain and huge heaping amounts of utlramarine and cerulean and every other kind of blue in between. The cross processed prints, with respect to Mr. Dylan, had indeed been tangled up in the stuff.

Quite obviously a stellar performer outside, in broad daylight, and yet as gentle and cool as anyone could ask for indoors, as well.

What had been a gift of pity from an aging digital junkie has now turned into a love affair that I would most certainly pay for in the future. …er, not that I’m into that sort of thing.

written by nat-errant on 2008-10-23 in #reviews #x-pro #35mm #slide #kodak #kodak-elitechrome

3 Comments

  1. agrimony
    agrimony ·

    beautiful shots and colours. never thought of buying this film with 200 iso. but i will now.

  2. ipdegirl
    ipdegirl ·

    This review comes just in time for me. Someone recommended the Kodak Elitechrome but I'd never seen the xpro results. Thanks! Your shots are wonderful.

  3. krabbpojken
    krabbpojken ·

    the third shot is brilliant!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Rico Suave - Kodak Ektar 100

    written by kylejwilke on 2014-04-04 in #reviews
    Rico Suave - Kodak Ektar 100

    You've heard the song, what you didn't know is that he wrote it about Kodak Ektar 100. With colors so rich and so smooth, you will want to write a love song for your new favorite emulsion.

  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-08 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2014

    Take an interest in that little box in our website because it is one of the perfect avenues for your voice to be heard by our always busy Community!

    3
  • Shop News

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Fly over to our 30% Discount Section to discover previously unavailable Editions & Clones! Be quick and make one yours before they are all gone again!

  • Top Tips For Krab Underwater Case and Fisheye Submarine Users

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle

    If it's your first time to use the Fisheye Submarine Case (with your Fisheye One/Fisheye No.2 cameras) or the Krab Underwater Housing (with your LC-A+ or LC-Wide cameras), you might still feel a liiiiittle bit anxious about taking your favorite cameras underwater. To help ease your worries I gathered some of the most helpful tips, straight from summer-lovin' Lomographers who braved the waves with their cameras!

  • A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    written by ichdaschaos on 2015-01-06 in #reviews
    A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    Lomography ran a vote for the backers of the Lomo’Instant Kickstarter project to decide which design the Lomo’Instant Strap should have. Below is my little review about it.

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Shop News

    Color Your World with Colorsplash Camera

    Color Your World with Colorsplash Camera

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Awesome Filmswap Lomographs Taken with the LC-A and LC-A+

    written by chooolss on 2014-04-09 in #lifestyle
    Awesome Filmswap Lomographs Taken with the LC-A and LC-A+

    Lomographers are notorious for being adventurous when it comes to trying out all things new and exciting. It's no wonder filmswaps are such a hit within the community! Have a look at this sampling of awesome shots produced through collaborations by community members from various parts of the globe!

    7
  • Introducing Pixelstick — The Light Painting Tool Of The Future

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-12 in #gear #news
    Introducing Pixelstick — The Light Painting Tool Of The Future

    Have you ever dreamed of creating magical scenes with just the wave of your hand? Wish no longer — Pixelstick makes that dream a reality! Packed to the brim with 200 full color, high fidelity LEDs, the 1.8 meter long Pixelstick is your ticket to incredible, mind-boggling light paintings. It's now available for the first time in the Online Shop!

    9
  • Most Popular Photo Last Year: May 8, 2013

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-08 in #news
    Most Popular Photo Last Year: May 8, 2013

    Could it be that the ground is shaking because of the Community's cheers for this Lomograph?

    1
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Presenting the Lomo LC-A-to-Z

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-06-11 in #news
    Presenting the Lomo LC-A-to-Z

    Here at Lomography, we don’t only deliver the fantastic goodies, but we also try to provide you with the wisdom you’ll need on your lomo adventures. We gave you the 10 Golden Rules, didn’t we, and it has bestowed you with a cred and attitude hat lomographers are admired for. In celebration of the Lomo-LC-A’s 30th Anniversary, we are proud to present the Lomo LC-A-to-Z, brought to you by Professor Lomo van Graphy. Watch and learn!

    3
  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2