Kodak Elitechrome ED (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

3

The 200 Blues: When Elitechrome 100 is 100 short of your lofty Lomographic ambitions, try its understated cousin for rich blue tones.

The 200 Blues: When Elitechrome 100 is 100 short of your lofty Lomographic ambitions, try its understated cousin for rich blue tones.

Having been given a roll of expired Elitechrome ED 200 by an old photographer friend (who had made the rather foolhardy leap to jpegs and pixels), I must admit my first thought was of mild distrust; that it wasn’t 100, and therefore couldn’t be good.

But then I realized—hey, free film is free film! and popped it right into my trusty LC-A to see what might be birthed from such an experimental marriage.

The results were spectacularly blue! Sharp, deep blacks, contrasted with little grain and huge heaping amounts of utlramarine and cerulean and every other kind of blue in between. The cross processed prints, with respect to Mr. Dylan, had indeed been tangled up in the stuff.

Quite obviously a stellar performer outside, in broad daylight, and yet as gentle and cool as anyone could ask for indoors, as well.

What had been a gift of pity from an aging digital junkie has now turned into a love affair that I would most certainly pay for in the future. …er, not that I’m into that sort of thing.

written by nat-errant on 2008-10-23 in #reviews #slide #kodak #x-pro #kodak-elitechrome #35mm

3 Comments

  1. agrimony
    agrimony ·

    beautiful shots and colours. never thought of buying this film with 200 iso. but i will now.

  2. ipdegirl
    ipdegirl ·

    This review comes just in time for me. Someone recommended the Kodak Elitechrome but I'd never seen the xpro results. Thanks! Your shots are wonderful.

  3. krabbpojken
    krabbpojken ·

    the third shot is brilliant!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    written by ichdaschaos on 2015-01-06 in #reviews
    A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    Lomography ran a vote for the backers of the Lomo’Instant Kickstarter project to decide which design the Lomo’Instant Strap should have. Below is my little review about it.

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Photo of the Day by evilpete

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-06-21 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by evilpete

    What's your most favorite thing to do when the weather is bad and you can't leave the house? For one of our fellow lomographer, he travels through his imagination!

    1
  • Introducing Pixelstick — The Light Painting Tool Of The Future

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-12 in #gear #news
    Introducing Pixelstick — The Light Painting Tool Of The Future

    Have you ever dreamed of creating magical scenes with just the wave of your hand? Wish no longer — Pixelstick makes that dream a reality! Packed to the brim with 200 full color, high fidelity LEDs, the 1.8 meter long Pixelstick is your ticket to incredible, mind-boggling light paintings. It's now available for the first time in the Online Shop!

    9
  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Belair Blowout: 20% Off Belair Instant Back & 35mm Back!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-10 in #gear #news
    Belair Blowout: 20% Off Belair Instant Back & 35mm Back!

    When it comes to shooting premium medium-format photography, we know the Belair X 6-12 is your go-to choice for incredible results — are you ready to extend those results to new realms?

  • Speakers' Corner: Interview with Photographer Philip Wolmuth

    written by anamartaml on 2015-07-25 in #people
    Speakers' Corner: Interview with Photographer Philip Wolmuth

    Having a respectable career photographing social, political and economical matters, Philip Wolmuth is capable of starting a dialogue with the public via his thought-provoking photographs. Going through the collective of images on his latest work, it seems impossible not to be instantly affected by the rawness of the emotions captured within the images. The passion, the anger, the commotion, the rebellion, the fervor, the shouting, the devotion; his work is inebriating. It's as if the images are screaming at you and, for a short while, you are transported to the Speakers' Corner without actually setting foot on that location.

    4
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • Swaying to the Rhythm with the New Petzval Lens

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-05-14 in #gear #lifestyle
    Swaying to the Rhythm with the New Petzval Lens

    Capturing musicians at the peak of their performance is a tricky business for any photographer. Some Lomographers have done it, however, with none other than the New Petzval Lens!

    3
  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1