Kodak Elitechrome ED (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

3

The 200 Blues: When Elitechrome 100 is 100 short of your lofty Lomographic ambitions, try its understated cousin for rich blue tones.

The 200 Blues: When Elitechrome 100 is 100 short of your lofty Lomographic ambitions, try its understated cousin for rich blue tones.

Having been given a roll of expired Elitechrome ED 200 by an old photographer friend (who had made the rather foolhardy leap to jpegs and pixels), I must admit my first thought was of mild distrust; that it wasn’t 100, and therefore couldn’t be good.

But then I realized—hey, free film is free film! and popped it right into my trusty LC-A to see what might be birthed from such an experimental marriage.

The results were spectacularly blue! Sharp, deep blacks, contrasted with little grain and huge heaping amounts of utlramarine and cerulean and every other kind of blue in between. The cross processed prints, with respect to Mr. Dylan, had indeed been tangled up in the stuff.

Quite obviously a stellar performer outside, in broad daylight, and yet as gentle and cool as anyone could ask for indoors, as well.

What had been a gift of pity from an aging digital junkie has now turned into a love affair that I would most certainly pay for in the future. …er, not that I’m into that sort of thing.

written by nat-errant on 2008-10-23 in #reviews

3 Comments

  1. agrimony
    agrimony ·

    beautiful shots and colours. never thought of buying this film with 200 iso. but i will now.

  2. ipdegirl
    ipdegirl ·

    This review comes just in time for me. Someone recommended the Kodak Elitechrome but I'd never seen the xpro results. Thanks! Your shots are wonderful.

  3. krabbpojken
    krabbpojken ·

    the third shot is brilliant!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Rico Suave - Kodak Ektar 100

    written by kylejwilke on 2014-04-04 in #reviews
    Rico Suave - Kodak Ektar 100

    You've heard the song, what you didn't know is that he wrote it about Kodak Ektar 100. With colors so rich and so smooth, you will want to write a love song for your new favorite emulsion.

  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-08 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2014

    Take an interest in that little box in our website because it is one of the perfect avenues for your voice to be heard by our always busy Community!

    3
  • Shop News

    Belair Camera

    Belair Camera

    Love medium format? This Belair baby will never fail you to satisfy your cravings for taking photographs in 120 format! Choose among the different variants of Belair cameras that will suit your tastes!

  • Top Tips For Krab Underwater Case and Fisheye Submarine Users

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle

    If it's your first time to use the Fisheye Submarine Case (with your Fisheye One/Fisheye No.2 cameras) or the Krab Underwater Housing (with your LC-A+ or LC-Wide cameras), you might still feel a liiiiittle bit anxious about taking your favorite cameras underwater. To help ease your worries I gathered some of the most helpful tips, straight from summer-lovin' Lomographers who braved the waves with their cameras!

  • A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    written by ichdaschaos on 2015-01-06 in #reviews
    A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    Lomography ran a vote for the backers of the Lomo’Instant Kickstarter project to decide which design the Lomo’Instant Strap should have. Below is my little review about it.

  • Awesome Filmswap Lomographs Taken with the LC-A and LC-A+

    written by chooolss on 2014-04-09 in #lifestyle
    Awesome Filmswap Lomographs Taken with the LC-A and LC-A+

    Lomographers are notorious for being adventurous when it comes to trying out all things new and exciting. It's no wonder filmswaps are such a hit within the community! Have a look at this sampling of awesome shots produced through collaborations by community members from various parts of the globe!

    7
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Guess That Tag! Rumble: That Girl Under the Sun Winners Announcement

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-03-28 in #competitions
    Guess That Tag! Rumble: That Girl Under the Sun Winners Announcement

    When the sun is high, it's time to take your lovely muse out for some fun photoshoot under the sun!

    2
  • Most Popular Photo Last Year: May 8, 2013

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-08 in #news
    Most Popular Photo Last Year: May 8, 2013

    Could it be that the ground is shaking because of the Community's cheers for this Lomograph?

    1
  • Presenting the Lomo LC-A-to-Z

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-06-11 in #news
    Presenting the Lomo LC-A-to-Z

    Here at Lomography, we don’t only deliver the fantastic goodies, but we also try to provide you with the wisdom you’ll need on your lomo adventures. We gave you the 10 Golden Rules, didn’t we, and it has bestowed you with a cred and attitude hat lomographers are admired for. In celebration of the Lomo-LC-A’s 30th Anniversary, we are proud to present the Lomo LC-A-to-Z, brought to you by Professor Lomo van Graphy. Watch and learn!

    3
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    12
  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Useful Guidelines on Shooting with Ultra Wide Lenses

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-04-19 in #gear #tipster
    Useful Guidelines on Shooting with Ultra Wide Lenses

    Wide-angle lens are further divided into sub-classifications: Wide, ultra-wide and ultra-ultra-wide. Based on current standards, wide lenses for 35mm cameras are those with focal lengths ranging from 24 to 35mm. Lenses are considered ultra-wide if they have focal lengths from 17 to 21 mm, and ultra-ultra-wide if from 12 to 16mm. The New Russar+ is a 20mm lens; hence it falls under the ultra-wide classification. If you have an ultra-wide lens or if you intend to get the Russar+, you might as well make the most out of your precious investment. Read on for a few guidelines on shooting with ultra-wide lenses.

    2