Guidelines for Submitting Camera Reviews

11

The following guidelines have been prepared for you to see what it is that we look at before we publish a camera review. As you will see, the guidelines allow for personal freedom but also point out several things that you should keep in mind before you submit a review. Do keep in mind though that these are guidelines, not rules. The last thing we want to do is to put a leash around your neck and take the joy out of writing a review.

The following guidelines have been prepared for you to see what it is that we look at before we publish a camera review. As you will see, the guidelines allow for personal freedom but also point out several things that you should keep in mind before you submit a review. Do keep in mind though that these are guidelines, not rules. The last thing we want to do is to put a leash around your neck and take the joy out of writing a review.

Overview:

A camera review is meant to give the reader an insight into the usability of a camera. Be creative when you write, include some basic facts but also don’t forget to include you personal opinion. Below are some basic things that you should consider including when you write a review. Try to include at least 2 of the following (history, specifications, personal experience)

Title:

Please mention the camera name in the title

Content: (Should be 200 to 500 words)

In the introduction, remember to mention which camera you are talking about, and mention why you choose this camera. You could start by stating with some trivia, for example, does the camera name mean something? You chould also mention for which type of Lomographer this camera would suit the best, the action oriented, the traveler or nocturnal?

Please include a short piece about the history of the camera, how old is it, why was it made and who bought it back then?

Write a section about specifics, which film could be used, under which conditions, which settings can be altered and most importantly, how does this affect the pictures?

Include your personal experience. What adventures did you have with the camera? How did you take better pictures (which conditions, which settings, which film). If you are particularly fond of the camera, then tell us about how you meet and whether or not it was love at first sight.

End by commenting on why a Lomographer should get excited about this camera but also about any particular problems that you may have had so far.

Links & References:

If you use information from another site (or another camera review) please mention this.

Tags:

Try to use tags for each review. Tags are meant to make it easier for another reader to find your review. Below you can find some suggestions:

• Camera name

• Camera type (vintage, new, plastic, Russian, vintage)

• Type of film used

• Techniques that are good for this camera

Pictures:

As this is a camera review, and as we are Lomographers, pictures must be included. For a review a minimum of 10 pictures have to be included although 15-20 would be considered optimum. It would be great if the images varied (day/night shoots, color/b&w, various exposures) so that the readers can get a complete picture of what the camera is capable of.

Examples:

Diana+

Lubitel 2

All Weather Actionsampler

Please keep in mind that a review with a sentence for text or a review with only 1 picture can not be published.

written by lucasjakobsson on 2008-09-10 in #news

11 Comments

  1. kylethefrench
    kylethefrench ·

    this is like a teacher wrote this... i love it

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    What about some camera reviews I submitted a very long time ago about the Beier Beroquick, the Welta Belmira and the Voigtländer VF101: they were added to the list but since then my reviews weren't published... Is it because the reviews weren't good enough, because of missing informations or something else??? Please tell me, I can add more about these cameras if there wasn't enough, even if I think I made almost complete reviews following these guidelines... ;))

  3. champi
    champi ·

    I remember having seen an email to send reviews of cameras not in the list... But I don't remember it! Anybody can help please?

  4. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    you find it on the film (and camera ) site here.... look on top

  5. lucasjakobsson
    lucasjakobsson ·

    @ vicuna

    Not all reviews that we have recieved have been published due to various reasons. The reviews you have submitted were good and they should be up in the near future sometime.

  6. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    @lucsjakobsson : thanks for the answer :)

  7. inkel
    inkel ·

    Are there any restrictions as regarding the language for the review?

  8. lucasjakobsson
    lucasjakobsson ·

    @ inkel

    all reviews must be in english, sorry

  9. halfawakehaiku
    halfawakehaiku ·

    me too I sent in a couple of camera reviews can I also ask if they were rejected? would really appreciate it

  10. annegreat
    annegreat ·

    I was wondering how can we influence which of our photos is chosen for the thumbnail of the review. Sometimes you wanna catch attention by using a special photo.

  11. shoujoai
    shoujoai ·

    The links for the examples don't work

More Interesting Articles

  • Useful Guidelines on Shooting with Ultra Wide Lenses

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-04-19 in #gear #tipster
    Useful Guidelines on Shooting with Ultra Wide Lenses

    Wide-angle lens are further divided into sub-classifications: Wide, ultra-wide and ultra-ultra-wide. Based on current standards, wide lenses for 35mm cameras are those with focal lengths ranging from 24 to 35mm. Lenses are considered ultra-wide if they have focal lengths from 17 to 21 mm, and ultra-ultra-wide if from 12 to 16mm. The New Russar+ is a 20mm lens; hence it falls under the ultra-wide classification. If you have an ultra-wide lens or if you intend to get the Russar+, you might as well make the most out of your precious investment. Read on for a few guidelines on shooting with ultra-wide lenses.

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Make Your Very Own DIY Waterproof Camera Case!

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-03 in #gear #tipster
    Make Your Very Own DIY Waterproof Camera Case!

    Still keeping a look out for an affordable waterproof case that can take a beating? Well, if your neck’s a bit sore from all the looking then why not make one yourself? Check out how to do it with this quick tipster!

  • Shop News

    Capture your Special Moments in lovely Circles

    Capture your Special Moments in lovely Circles

    See the world through 170⁰ of fabulous Fisheye distortion. Browse them now and find selected editions discounted up to 30%!

  • New Lomography Magazine Submission Guidelines

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-02-09 in #world
    New Lomography Magazine Submission Guidelines

    That's right, folks! The New Lomography Magazine is ready for your contributions. But before you put your thoughts to paper, carefully read the new and updated submission guidelines.

    3
  • Summer Fun With the Fisheye Sub

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle
    Summer Fun With the Fisheye Sub

    It's time to take your Fisheye One or Fisheye No.2 Camera out for a swim! But make sure that it's encased in its swimsuit - the Fisheye Submarine Case. This transparent case allows you to take photos 20m (65 ft) beneath the water surface! See the gallery below to see some cool photos taken by your fellow Lomographers!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Shop News

    Adopt an Adaptor and use your Petzval Lens on a huge variety of Cameras!

    Adopt an Adaptor and use your Petzval Lens on a huge variety of Cameras!

    Find a fine selection of Adapters and Filters for your Petzval Lens in our Online Shop. Bundle up and get discounts up to 20%!

  • December 18th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-18 in #news
    December 18th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    With the holidays just around the corner, it's a great time to make sure you have loads of wonderful films for all the fun festivities coming up. Today's Advent deal of the day is here to help you do just that! Head on over to the Online Shop and save 10% on our wide selection of films. Do the right thing and keep your camera happy this year!

  • Requested Posts for September 2014

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-09-01 in #news
    Requested Posts for September 2014

    Lomography Magazine offers you the perfect platform to reach an international audience! Have something to say? Submit to the Lomography Magazine for a chance to be heard. Whether you are a seasoned writer, or a motivated beginner, we want to hear from you. Read on and discover what type of articles we are looking for. Remember, writing for the Lomography Magazine earns you Piggies!

    1
  • Requested Posts for April 2014

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-01 in #news
    Requested Posts for April 2014

    Lomography Magazine offers you the perfect platform to reach an international audience! Have something to say? Submit to the Lomography Magazine for a chance to be heard. Whether you are a seasoned writer, or a motivated beginner, we want to hear from you. Read on and discover what type of articles we are looking for. Remember, writing for the Lomography Magazine earns you Piggies!

    5
  • Shop News

    Still one of the Best - Horizon Kompakt

    Still one of the Best - Horizon Kompakt

    The Horizon Kompakt is a miracle in the shape of a 35mm camera. Just watching its multi-coated swing lens as it sweeps 120° degrees is a wonder to behold. With "Day" and "Night" shooting settings and battery free operation, it's also incredibly simple to use. Capture picture-perfect panoramas and get prints approximately the size of two standard frames. With the Kompakt, you'll see the world from a whole new perspective.

  • Requested Posts for August 2014

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-08-01 in #news
    Requested Posts for August 2014

    Lomography Magazine offers you the perfect platform to reach an international audience! Have something to say? Submit to the Lomography Magazine for a chance to be heard. Whether you are a seasoned writer, or a motivated beginner, we want to hear from you. Read on and discover what type of articles we are looking for. Remember, writing for the Lomography Magazine earns you Piggies!

  • Requested Posts for May 2014

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-01 in #news
    Requested Posts for May 2014

    Lomography Magazine offers you the perfect platform to reach an international audience! Have something to say? Submit to the Lomography Magazine for a chance to be heard. Whether you are a seasoned writer, or a motivated beginner, we want to hear from you. Read on and discover what type of articles we are looking for. Remember, writing for the Lomography Magazine earns you Piggies!

  • Requested Posts for July 2014

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-07-01 in #news
    Requested Posts for July 2014

    Lomography Magazine offers you the perfect platform to reach an international audience! Have something to say? Submit to the Lomography Magazine for a chance to be heard. Whether you are a seasoned writer, or a motivated beginner, we want to hear from you. Read on and discover what type of articles we are looking for. Remember, writing for the Lomography Magazine earns you Piggies!

    1