Guidelines for Submitting Camera Reviews

11

The following guidelines have been prepared for you to see what it is that we look at before we publish a camera review. As you will see, the guidelines allow for personal freedom but also point out several things that you should keep in mind before you submit a review. Do keep in mind though that these are guidelines, not rules. The last thing we want to do is to put a leash around your neck and take the joy out of writing a review.

The following guidelines have been prepared for you to see what it is that we look at before we publish a camera review. As you will see, the guidelines allow for personal freedom but also point out several things that you should keep in mind before you submit a review. Do keep in mind though that these are guidelines, not rules. The last thing we want to do is to put a leash around your neck and take the joy out of writing a review.

Overview:

A camera review is meant to give the reader an insight into the usability of a camera. Be creative when you write, include some basic facts but also don’t forget to include you personal opinion. Below are some basic things that you should consider including when you write a review. Try to include at least 2 of the following (history, specifications, personal experience)

Title:

Please mention the camera name in the title

Content: (Should be 200 to 500 words)

In the introduction, remember to mention which camera you are talking about, and mention why you choose this camera. You could start by stating with some trivia, for example, does the camera name mean something? You chould also mention for which type of Lomographer this camera would suit the best, the action oriented, the traveler or nocturnal?

Please include a short piece about the history of the camera, how old is it, why was it made and who bought it back then?

Write a section about specifics, which film could be used, under which conditions, which settings can be altered and most importantly, how does this affect the pictures?

Include your personal experience. What adventures did you have with the camera? How did you take better pictures (which conditions, which settings, which film). If you are particularly fond of the camera, then tell us about how you meet and whether or not it was love at first sight.

End by commenting on why a Lomographer should get excited about this camera but also about any particular problems that you may have had so far.

Links & References:

If you use information from another site (or another camera review) please mention this.

Tags:

Try to use tags for each review. Tags are meant to make it easier for another reader to find your review. Below you can find some suggestions:

• Camera name

• Camera type (vintage, new, plastic, Russian, vintage)

• Type of film used

• Techniques that are good for this camera

Pictures:

As this is a camera review, and as we are Lomographers, pictures must be included. For a review a minimum of 10 pictures have to be included although 15-20 would be considered optimum. It would be great if the images varied (day/night shoots, color/b&w, various exposures) so that the readers can get a complete picture of what the camera is capable of.

Examples:

Diana+

Lubitel 2

All Weather Actionsampler

Please keep in mind that a review with a sentence for text or a review with only 1 picture can not be published.

written by lucasjakobsson on 2008-09-10 in #news #relaunch #guidelines #camera

11 Comments

  1. kylethefrench
    kylethefrench ·

    this is like a teacher wrote this... i love it

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    What about some camera reviews I submitted a very long time ago about the Beier Beroquick, the Welta Belmira and the Voigtländer VF101: they were added to the list but since then my reviews weren't published... Is it because the reviews weren't good enough, because of missing informations or something else??? Please tell me, I can add more about these cameras if there wasn't enough, even if I think I made almost complete reviews following these guidelines... ;))

  3. champi
    champi ·

    I remember having seen an email to send reviews of cameras not in the list... But I don't remember it! Anybody can help please?

  4. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    you find it on the film (and camera ) site here.... look on top

  5. lucasjakobsson
    lucasjakobsson ·

    @ vicuna

    Not all reviews that we have recieved have been published due to various reasons. The reviews you have submitted were good and they should be up in the near future sometime.

  6. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    @lucsjakobsson : thanks for the answer :)

  7. inkel
    inkel ·

    Are there any restrictions as regarding the language for the review?

  8. lucasjakobsson
    lucasjakobsson ·

    @ inkel

    all reviews must be in english, sorry

  9. halfawakehaiku
    halfawakehaiku ·

    me too I sent in a couple of camera reviews can I also ask if they were rejected? would really appreciate it

  10. annegreat
    annegreat ·

    I was wondering how can we influence which of our photos is chosen for the thumbnail of the review. Sometimes you wanna catch attention by using a special photo.

  11. shoujoai
    shoujoai ·

    The links for the examples don't work

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomo'Instant + Splitzer: Anything is Possible!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-27 in #gear
    Lomo'Instant + Splitzer: Anything is Possible!

    The Splitzer is a small slice'n'dice accessory that allows you to do all kinds of crazy stuff with your Lomo'Instant camera. For this gallery, we experimented with splitting faces and the results are quite hilarious!

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • 5 Snapshot Moments on the Road

    written by kenaz on 2015-08-19 in #world #lifestyle
    5 Snapshot Moments on the Road

    A road trip is a celebration of little freedoms. It’s a chance to break out of a rut and to be a little unruly. All the mischief may be off limits to the camera, so the things we do photograph need to serve our memory well: They must convey the relief, fun and color of our secret sprees.

    5
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • New Lomography Magazine Submission Guidelines

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-02-09 in #world
    New Lomography Magazine Submission Guidelines

    That's right, folks! The New Lomography Magazine is ready for your contributions. But before you put your thoughts to paper, carefully read the new and updated submission guidelines.

    5
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Lorenzo Antico's 'Final Shot' Presents Last Shots From 33 Films

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-12 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Lorenzo Antico's 'Final Shot' Presents Last Shots From 33 Films

    A movie's parting shot is a crucial element in the sense that it could either make or break the lasting impression that it would have on its audience. It could either wrap things up quite nicely and leave viewers satisfied, or it could do otherwise. For many, it's often the first thing that comes to mind long after the final credits have rolled out.

  • December 18th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-18 in #news
    December 18th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    With the holidays just around the corner, it's a great time to make sure you have loads of wonderful films for all the fun festivities coming up. Today's Advent deal of the day is here to help you do just that! Head on over to the Online Shop and save 10% on our wide selection of films. Do the right thing and keep your camera happy this year!

  • Requested Posts for October 2014

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-10-01 in #news
    Requested Posts for October 2014

    Lomography Magazine offers you the perfect platform to reach an international audience! Have something to say? Submit to the Lomography Magazine for a chance to be heard. Whether you are a seasoned writer, or a motivated beginner, we want to hear from you. Read on and discover what type of articles we are looking for. Remember, writing for the Lomography Magazine earns you Piggies!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Requested Posts for November 2014

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-11-01 in #news
    Requested Posts for November 2014

    Lomography Magazine offers you the perfect platform to reach an international audience! Have something to say? Submit to the Lomography Magazine for a chance to be heard. Whether you are a seasoned writer, or a motivated beginner, we want to hear from you. Read on and discover what type of articles we are looking for. Remember, writing for the Lomography Magazine earns you Piggies!

  • Requested Posts for January 2015

    written by jillytanrad on 2015-01-05 in #news
    Requested Posts for January 2015

    Lomography Magazine offers you the perfect platform to reach an international audience! Have something to say? Submit to the Lomography Magazine for a chance to be heard. Whether you are a seasoned writer, or a motivated beginner, we want to hear from you. Read on and discover what type of articles we are looking for. Remember, writing for the Lomography Magazine earns you Piggies!

  • Requested Posts for December 2014

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-12-02 in #news
    Requested Posts for December 2014

    Lomography Magazine offers you the perfect platform to reach an international audience! Have something to say? Submit to the Lomography Magazine for a chance to be heard. Whether you are a seasoned writer, or a motivated beginner, we want to hear from you. Read on and discover what type of articles we are looking for. Remember, writing for the Lomography Magazine earns you Piggies!

    1