Kodak Ektachrome EPR (120, 64 iso) user-review

8

Hot Saturday with Kodak Ektachrome EPR: One day I was walking to a film shop, then the shopkeeper says to me "hey lad,there is some expired 120 film and it's a positive one too",after she says that to me she hands me some box full of 120 film. It was that Kodak Ektachrome and also expired six years, (expired from year 2002) and after that I go hunting with my new expired film and my beloved Holga 120 CFN

Hot Saturday with Kodak Ektachrome EPR: One day I was walking to a film shop, then the shopkeeper says to me “hey lad,there is some expired 120 film and it’s a positive one too”,after she says that to me she hands me some box full of 120 film. It was that Kodak Ektachrome and also expired six years, (expired from year 2002) and after that I go hunting with my new expired film and my beloved Holga 120 CFN

This film is a blast!! very very very suprising the result and I was wrong guessing this film is all about the blue. I have this hint if you use it with Holga, for a single exposure you’ll get that all bluesy image and also very sharp but yet still remained that kodak x-pro trademark. For a double exposure you certainly get that purple and blueish image that also very absurd which I really dig and for multiple exposure you’ll get that orange yellowish image,its very aburd. This film is really wacky and wicked when you x-pro it maybe this film is not the best film but you should try it for experiment if you are bored with the green x-pro.

This film gives you something else,something wacky and experimental. My friends says that this film is so shoegaze I mean the gallery below is a bit off like a cover album of shoegaze band.Whatever.. :)
Take it with you and get ready for a wacky ride with this film!

written by adi_totp on 2008-09-20 in #reviews #x-pro #120 #kodak #holga #ektachrome

8 Comments

  1. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    whooooaaaaaa.... this film is a big show!! use it in a sunny with your holga and bring some love to it! :)))))

  2. sudhashunmu
    sudhashunmu ·

    hey nice review adi .....do we have to use the film only under great sun or for eve shots too ?

  3. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    @sudhashunmu I recommend using this film only under great sun since this film is so expired :D

  4. sudhashunmu
    sudhashunmu ·

    yeah once i used in cloudy days and another on a sunny day both turned out blank....the whole roll was dark ....i used the film from 2004 on a holga ....any tip

  5. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    @sudhashunmu turned out blank? whoaa.. Have you removed the lens cap? Use flash on cloudy days. Maybe there's something wrong with the film. Do you still have this film?

  6. sudhashunmu
    sudhashunmu ·

    yeah i have two more rolls ...the cap was not on ....the sunny shots were taken on a beach church ...i was so depressed that all got washed away ...can i use the film again...the film is not refrigrated

  7. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    @sudhashunmu ohhh.. you can use the film again. Make sure this time you put the film rightly to the take up spool and shoot like usual. Good luck :D

  8. sudhashunmu
    sudhashunmu ·

    oh yeah will do ...thank you for ur time and advice it was really helpful...thanks a ton

More Interesting Articles

  • My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-23 in #gear #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    Sonja started her analog adventures during her teenage years. She took her first film photographs when she was 13 and has been in love with the magic of the process since. Her idea of a perfect day involves developing film rolls while listening to jazz and having a cup of tea in between. In this interview, she recalls about her experience with her first Lomography camera, a Holga 120 CFN.

    2
  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-08 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    A weekend without a lomowalk seems bad, at least for me. One Saturday morning, I decided to join my friends in their lomowalk. It was all cloudy at first but it didn't stop me from going out and walking. I brought my new Nikon FM2 and some expired rolls, just to test my camera. Was it just me being sleepy, or was my Nikon FM2 acting up? My photos turned out grainy, pale, and, in my opinion, looking so 1990s?

    1
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 35mm: Horizon Redscale Doubles!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-25 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 35mm: Horizon Redscale Doubles!

    About two years ago, sandkorn sent me this film for our doubles. She said that she had already exposed this film using the Horizon Perfekt and shot on a sunny day, so the idea was for me to not overexpose the film. The result was so red!

  • Early Inspirations in Film Photography: A Tomato Project

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-10-21 in #lifestyle
    Early Inspirations in Film Photography: A Tomato Project

    I’m lucky enough and old enough to have grown up in an era where film was the only form of photography available. I’ve always had a passion for film but it was a certain series of images that inspired me and changed my idea of photography forever. Find out what that was after the jump.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    written by sirio174 on 2015-03-30 in #world #lifestyle
    Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    In my early adolescence, I liked to play table football. For my 12th birthday, my parents gifted me with a wonderful Subbuteo table soccer game set that I had wished for many months! This was my favorite toy until I discovered other interesting hobbies, like ham radio and electronics. So after some years, I gave away this game to other kids. I always remembered this game with pleasure and a hint of nostalgia.

  • My Key to Escaping Digital Confinement: The Lomo LC-Wide

    written by nickpage on 2015-01-09 in #lifestyle
    My Key to Escaping Digital Confinement: The Lomo LC-Wide

    I'm Nick Page, a graphic designer based in the UK. After 20 years of working in advertising, I returned to film photography five years ago and found that the analogue life was just what I needed to get away from the "pixel perfect" images I deal with every day in my job.

    4
  • Transient Living: Getting to Know the Neighborhood in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2014-11-12 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Getting to Know the Neighborhood in Denver, Colorado

    <i>Editor's Note: The past several years saw <b><a href="http://www.lomography.com/homes/maliha">Maliha</a></b> frequently moving from one place to another, a sort of nomad who likes the thrill of starting anew and finding her place in every city she stays at. In the last decade she has spent in the USA, Maliha has stayed at six different cities in five different states. Currently, Maliha is based in Denver, Colorado, and "Transient Living," a new series in the Lomography magazine, documents her experiences and the ways that she has come to call this city her home.</i>

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Happenings on Film: Mr. & Mrs., Tales of a Wedding

    written by jokelangens on 2014-11-06 in #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: Mr. & Mrs., Tales of a Wedding

    In summer last year, my sister and her lover exchanged "I do's" after five colorful years of happiness and making future plans. It was the perfect occasion to grab some of my cameras and eternalize one of the most beautiful days not only of her life, but also mine.

  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • 10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-05-13 in #world #news #lifestyle
    10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    The Cannes Film Festival showcases some of the world's best cinematographic masterpieces. It is an annual event that is highly anticipated by fans and connoisseurs of both mainstream and independent cinema. This year's festival has officially opened and film buffs everywhere are excited, at the same time curious, about which film will win the Palme d'Or. We are in no position to predict the winner, but we do have our favorites, from the ones in competition and otherwise. In no definitive order, here is a list of 10 films that we'd like to see.