Camera Review of the Week

2

So what could it be this time? I promise myself not to give you any clue, but it's a kind of a 2 in 1 review where they battle it out with their camera shutters!

For the majority of us who owns more than one camera, there’s always a question that’s clouding our heads, intriguing us about which one can take better photographs. Our Lomo-guru Mephisto19 took the challenge and brilliantly conducted a showdown between the two variants of the most wide-sweeping Horizon cameras!

With his blow-by-blow account of this match (complete with pictures!) It showed us that they perform at their optimum level when used correctly and both cameras are sure winners! Good job Stefan, Congratulations!

Do you have what it takes to be next week’s featured snapshooter? Then submit you camera review but if yours isn’t on the list please let me know.

written by fookshit on 2010-06-12 in #reviews #horizon-kompakt #review-of-the-week #horizon-perfekt #camera #battle-royale

2 Comments

  1. ecchymoses
    ecchymoses ·

    congratulations Lomo-Guru ! you deserved it ! <3 !

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Yes, that was for sure the review of the week!! Congrats Stephan!

More Interesting Articles

  • Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-20 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    Recently, I used my trusty Fuji Silvi. It may not be my all-time favorite camera, but I just wanted to use it because I kind of missed shooting with it. So I decided to look through my film stash to see what I could use with the Fuji Silvi. After much consideration, I ended up picking the old Agfa CT Precisa ISO 100 to get that classic blue tone. Silvia Precisa!

    2
  • The Phoblographer Gives the LC-A 120 Five Stars and Editor's Choice Award!

    written by jacobs on 2015-01-08 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives the LC-A 120 Five Stars and Editor's Choice Award!

    We love our cameras. We especially love it when you love our cameras. And we get super pumped when you tell us about it. So when the LC-A 120 got a stunning review from the fellas at The Phoblographer, we were giddy with delight! Not only did they give it a killer, in-depth review, but they also bestowed it with a 5/5 rating and Editor's Choice award! Read on for a little taste of the review and then head to their site to read the whole thing!

  • Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    written by ichdaschaos on 2014-11-03 in #reviews
    Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    I've always wanted to have an instant camera, but what put me off were the expensive price of the film and the transience of the photos. But then I wasn't able to fight it any longer and bought myself an Instax Wide 210 set. Now, here is a review of the Fuji Instax Wide film.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Summer Hot Spots: The Dreamy Desert of Palm Springs

    written by neonstash on 2014-08-20 in #world #locations
    Summer Hot Spots: The Dreamy Desert of Palm Springs

    With a camera loaded with Lomography X Tungsten 64 ISO, we went to Palm Springs in June to capture the desert heat and vibes. It was a battle to make it in the 40° scorching sun, and somehow our film survived although it was left baking in the car. So take in these dreamy snapshots of a place where time stands still and the sun always shines.

  • Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-19 in #lifestyle
    Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    Lomography has previously shown you the kind of shots that one could take with the new Lomo LC-A 120. Now, with the first batch already shipped out and arriving to their lucky owners, it's the community's turn to show everyone what they've been shooting with this awesome camera!

    7
  • Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-01-21 in #gear #tipster
    Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    Perhaps you’ve already had chance to try light painting, multiple exposures and long exposures with your Lomo’Instant, but what can you experiment with next? Well, that’s exactly the thought I had which led to giving this Tipster a go. I wanted to shoot Lomo’Instant photos which felt a bit “messier” than what I’m usually used to and to use a technique which would open up new possibilities with the kinds of images I could create with my favorite instant camera. Well, here I go!

    2
  • Shop News

    Lubitel & film bundle

    Lubitel & film bundle

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • My New Point-and-Shoot Buddy: The Konica POP EF-7

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-01 in #lifestyle
    My New Point-and-Shoot Buddy: The Konica POP EF-7

    Any day becomes instantly better whenever someone hands you a film camera because they know you’ll put it to good use. So you can just imagine how giddy I was when a friend handed me a Konica POP EF-7 just last week.

  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • Horse Thief and a Fisheye, a Killer Combination at CMJ

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-11-28 in #people #lomoamigos
    Horse Thief and a Fisheye, a Killer Combination at CMJ

    Horse Thief was one of the bands we worked with during CMJ Music Marathon.This Oklahoma-based band came all the way to NYC to play in tone of the world's biggest indie music festivals. We gave them a Fisheye camera too, so they could capture their trip around the Big Apple.

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Newcomer of the Week: analogeanstalten

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-21 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: analogeanstalten

    Her interest in photography started when she saw a shop in Vienna selling cameras with her name "Diana" printed all over. She then applied as an intern in Lomography Germany where she had a great time getting on the analogue grind. Let's all give our cheerful and perky Newcomer of the Week, analogeanstalten, a warm welcoming hug!

    2
  • The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    What exactly do I feel while waiting for my Lomo'Instant photos to be developed? I have to say I get a mix of "Surprise me, dear Lomo!" but also some "Did I capture it as I wanted?" kind of thought. No matter the school of thought, with the Splitzer you can add so many cool effects to your photos you'll definitely embrace it!

  • Tutorial: Tetenal Colortec E6 3-bath Kit - Develop your own color slides

    written by sandravo on 2014-05-29 in #gear #tipster
    Tutorial: Tetenal Colortec E6 3-bath Kit - Develop your own color slides

    This is a tutorial for the adventurous Lomographers, for those brave enough to do their own B&W and C-41 work but lacking the confidence to move onto E6. Fear no more! I am an enthusiastic home developer, just like the rest of you, I am not a chemical lab wizard! So if I can pull this off, so can the rest of you. Take a deep breath, relax, and read on. By the end of this article I hope you'll have mustered the courage to give it a go yourselves!

    5