Camera Review of the Week

2

So what could it be this time? I promise myself not to give you any clue, but it's a kind of a 2 in 1 review where they battle it out with their camera shutters!

For the majority of us who owns more than one camera, there’s always a question that’s clouding our heads, intriguing us about which one can take better photographs. Our Lomo-guru Mephisto19 took the challenge and brilliantly conducted a showdown between the two variants of the most wide-sweeping Horizon cameras!

With his blow-by-blow account of this match (complete with pictures!) It showed us that they perform at their optimum level when used correctly and both cameras are sure winners! Good job Stefan, Congratulations!

Do you have what it takes to be next week’s featured snapshooter? Then submit you camera review but if yours isn’t on the list please let me know.

written by fookshit on 2010-06-12 in #reviews #review-of-the-week #horizon-perfekt #camera #horizon-kompakt #battle-royale

2 Comments

  1. ecchymoses
    ecchymoses ·

    congratulations Lomo-Guru ! you deserved it ! <3 !

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Yes, that was for sure the review of the week!! Congrats Stephan!

More Interesting Articles

  • Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-20 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    Recently, I used my trusty Fuji Silvi. It may not be my all-time favorite camera, but I just wanted to use it because I kind of missed shooting with it. So I decided to look through my film stash to see what I could use with the Fuji Silvi. After much consideration, I ended up picking the old Agfa CT Precisa ISO 100 to get that classic blue tone. Silvia Precisa!

    2
  • The Phoblographer Gives the LC-A 120 Five Stars and Editor's Choice Award!

    written by jacobs on 2015-01-08 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives the LC-A 120 Five Stars and Editor's Choice Award!

    We love our cameras. We especially love it when you love our cameras. And we get super pumped when you tell us about it. So when the LC-A 120 got a stunning review from the fellas at The Phoblographer, we were giddy with delight! Not only did they give it a killer, in-depth review, but they also bestowed it with a 5/5 rating and Editor's Choice award! Read on for a little taste of the review and then head to their site to read the whole thing!

  • Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    written by ichdaschaos on 2014-11-03 in #reviews
    Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    I've always wanted to have an instant camera, but what put me off were the expensive price of the film and the transience of the photos. But then I wasn't able to fight it any longer and bought myself an Instax Wide 210 set. Now, here is a review of the Fuji Instax Wide film.

    1
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Summer Hot Spots: The Dreamy Desert of Palm Springs

    written by neonstash on 2014-08-20 in #world #locations
    Summer Hot Spots: The Dreamy Desert of Palm Springs

    With a camera loaded with Lomography X Tungsten 64 ISO, we went to Palm Springs in June to capture the desert heat and vibes. It was a battle to make it in the 40° scorching sun, and somehow our film survived although it was left baking in the car. So take in these dreamy snapshots of a place where time stands still and the sun always shines.

  • Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-19 in #lifestyle
    Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    Lomography has previously shown you the kind of shots that one could take with the new Lomo LC-A 120. Now, with the first batch already shipped out and arriving to their lucky owners, it's the community's turn to show everyone what they've been shooting with this awesome camera!

    7
  • Shop News

    Fisheye No. 2 Gold

    Fisheye No. 2 Gold

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Word On The Street: A New Mystery Product Will Be Unveiled Soon!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-27 in #gear #news
    Word On The Street: A New Mystery Product Will Be Unveiled Soon!

    Pssst, have you heard the latest? We're unveiling a brand new product very soon, and while we can't give you any strong clues right now, we hope that you can still try to guess what it is. In honor of this mystery product, we'd like to reiterate why Lomography's 10 Golden Rules is perfectly applicable to street photography.

    18
  • Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-01-21 in #gear #tipster
    Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    Perhaps you’ve already had chance to try light painting, multiple exposures and long exposures with your Lomo’Instant, but what can you experiment with next? Well, that’s exactly the thought I had which led to giving this Tipster a go. I wanted to shoot Lomo’Instant photos which felt a bit “messier” than what I’m usually used to and to use a technique which would open up new possibilities with the kinds of images I could create with my favorite instant camera. Well, here I go!

    2
  • Awesome Albums: Mystery Photos by My Late Uncle Herbert by Herbert-4

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-10 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Mystery Photos by My Late Uncle Herbert by Herbert-4

    In 1987, Herbert Morris combed through the files of his uncle, the late Herbert Habeeb. The things he left behind suggest that Mr. Habeeb was a man of staggering talent. He was an all-around science man who took excellent photos. But the mystery remains: Where did Uncle Herbert take his camera? What was the purpose of his travels? His namesake, fellow Lomographer Herbert, clues us in as to what his uncle might have been up to.

    14
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • My New Point-and-Shoot Buddy: The Konica POP EF-7

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-01 in #lifestyle
    My New Point-and-Shoot Buddy: The Konica POP EF-7

    Any day becomes instantly better whenever someone hands you a film camera because they know you’ll put it to good use. So you can just imagine how giddy I was when a friend handed me a Konica POP EF-7 just last week.

  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • Horse Thief and a Fisheye, a Killer Combination at CMJ

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-11-28 in #people #lomoamigos
    Horse Thief and a Fisheye, a Killer Combination at CMJ

    Horse Thief was one of the bands we worked with during CMJ Music Marathon.This Oklahoma-based band came all the way to NYC to play in tone of the world's biggest indie music festivals. We gave them a Fisheye camera too, so they could capture their trip around the Big Apple.