Ilford XP2 (35mm, iso 400), user-review

1

Black and white lovely-ness with the ease of c41 processing: This is a great black and white film that is widely and cheaply available and can be processed with standard c41 chemicals, so you can take it to your local supermarket, chemist, or 1 hour photo place and get it developed for a couple of quid.

Black and white lovely-ness with the ease of c41 processing: This is a great black and white film that is widely and cheaply available and can be processed with standard c41 chemicals, so you can take it to your local supermarket, chemist, or 1 hour photo place and get it developed for a couple of quid.

I love this film because of its sharpness that it always seems to deliver. As its 400 iso, it performs well in low light but when the sun is out, its brilliant.
I have found that overexposing it ever so slightly (half a stop or so) makes everything stand out nicely.
I really like the fact i can drop into my local chemist and get it developed quickly and cheaply.

Unless i ever get a darkroom at home i cant see myself ever shooting any other black and white 35mm film.
Now ive got a Holga i cant wait to try the 120 version.

written by thomasstephen on 2008-08-18 in #reviews #xp2 #35mm #b-w #ilfords #400

One Comment

  1. totalgenervt
    totalgenervt ·

    right - this one is more flexible as the kodak bw 400 cn ... the xp2 super is also in sunlight good

More Interesting Articles

  • Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-12 in #lifestyle
    Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    Stop bath is a type of chemical used in the darkroom for processing black and white film, aptly named as such because it halts the development of the images. In this case, stop bath is also part of the title that Korean analogue street photographer <b><a href="http://instagram.com/sooeatsyourstreetforbreakfast">Soomin Yim</a></b> has given her body of work, "Stop Bath the City," to represent the forgotten faces of people in the city amid rapid modernization, captured and immortalized on black and white film.

  • A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-11 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    This is a tribute to a great Austrian sports photographer, Lothar Rübelt. In an era with no high speed films available, he was able to immortalize wonderful moments in sports - from diving to gymnastics and football. In creating this tribute, I took a series of photos of an amateur football match using expired black and white film developed using an uncommon chemical. Take a look after the jump!

  • Tutorial: Tetenal Colortec E6 3-bath Kit - Develop your own color slides

    written by sandravo on 2014-05-29 in #gear #tipster
    Tutorial: Tetenal Colortec E6 3-bath Kit - Develop your own color slides

    This is a tutorial for the adventurous Lomographers, for those brave enough to do their own B&W and C-41 work but lacking the confidence to move onto E6. Fear no more! I am an enthusiastic home developer, just like the rest of you, I am not a chemical lab wizard! So if I can pull this off, so can the rest of you. Take a deep breath, relax, and read on. By the end of this article I hope you'll have mustered the courage to give it a go yourselves!

    6
  • Shop News

    110 Experiment Kit

    110 Experiment Kit

    With this bundle, you can choose a camera, film and accessories to spice up your 110 shooting experience!

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. March was for caffenol. You have probably heard of the amazing fact that you can develop black and white photos with coffee, sodium, and vitamin C. I had tried this before but with less than stellar results. Somehow, there's always something going wrong. Time to devote a few rolls to caffenol to finally get the hang of it.

    1
  • The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-10-20 in #news
    The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    Did you ever think about the myth that we actually dream in Black & White? No colors, maybe no truth behind it anyways. But we know for a fact that you can create the most dreamy photographs with an analogue camera. And for that you need the right film. Scroll down and find out which B&W film is the film of your dreams!

    5
  • Portugal. The Man Petzval Concert Shoot by Matthias Hombauer

    written by zonderbar on 2014-06-27 in #people #lomoamigos
    Portugal. The Man Petzval Concert Shoot by Matthias Hombauer

    The New Petzval Art Lens is the perfect portrait lens. But have you ever wondered how it performs in difficult situations with low light and unpredictable movements, such as a concert? Viennese rockstar photographer Matthias Hombauer proves that such a challenge can be surpassed with exceptional results. In Linz, Austria he met the American rock band Portugal. The Man and shot excellent black and white photos! Check out the gallery below and let Matthias teach you how to work with the lens during concerts.

    1
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Derek Woods' 365 Days of Lomography Recap - March 8-21

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-23 in #people #news
    Derek Woods' 365 Days of Lomography Recap - March 8-21

    Tasteful nudes, candid portraits, and landscapes comprise today's update. Please note that a couple of images in this post are NSFW.

  • A Salute to the Masters: Paestum (A Tribute to Serge Moulinier)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-23 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Paestum (A Tribute to Serge Moulinier)

    This article is dedicated to Serge Moulinier, a largely unknown French photographer who won one of the most important prizes in France with a book on Greek architecture. Strangely, few information can be found on the Internet about this great photographer whose work had also been published in an important essay written by the famous John Szarkowski, former Director of Photography at the Museum of Modern Art in New York.

  • C.S. Muncy Gets Colorful with the LomoChrome Turquoise

    written by givesmehell on 2015-05-22 in #gear #reviews
    C.S. Muncy Gets Colorful with the LomoChrome Turquoise

    C.S Muncy is a New York City-based freelance photojournalist and a fellow LomoAmigo who tested and reviewed the LomoChrome Turquoise film. The rolls of film were put to good use; the resulting shots were simply stunning.

    3
  • Shop News

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    Start capturing images even in low-light conditions with this bundle you can create your own combination of LC-A camera and Iblazr flash. And save 20% off!

  • Awesome Albums: Tri-X by Ccwu

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-22 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Tri-X by Ccwu

    In this stunning collection, night lights are a form of movement.

    5
  • Felice Beato's Hand-Colored Photographs of Edo Period Japan

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-23 in #world #news
    Felice Beato's Hand-Colored Photographs of Edo Period Japan

    These rare images of samurais and courtesans were photographed and hand-colored by Felice Beato in 1865, and will be on view this weekend at The London Photograph Fair.

  • My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-23 in #gear #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    Sonja started her analog adventures during her teenage years. She took her first film photographs when she was 13 and has been in love with the magic of the process since. Her idea of a perfect day involves developing film rolls while listening to jazz and having a cup of tea in between. In this interview, she recalls about her experience with her first Lomography camera, a Holga 120 CFN.