Agfa Vista (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

4

As cheap as it's good! Like most of the good things that happened to me at some point, I met the Agfa Vista film purely by accident.

As cheap as it’s good! Like most of the good things that happened to me at some point, I met the Agfa Vista film purely by accident.

I was tired of cross processing because my lab would charge more to do it, so a friend traded a roll of slide film with a roll of Agfa Vista 400. I wasn’t very happy in the beginning because I new the Agfa Vista was cheap stuff, so I didn’t expect much from it. I loaded it in my hungry Supersampler and shot a full roll on a bright sunny day.
When I got the pictures from the lab, I couldn’t believe my eyes. The colors were so vibrant and saturated, it looked almost as if it was cross processed ! And those blue tones, man, those blue tones were just incredible.

I was hooked.

I bought a bunch of rolls of this film which, eventually, became the favorite companion of my rubbered blue Supersampler. The 400 iso speed is perfect for that camera (because you all know it needs a fast film !), it is not that grainy, and it is as cheap as it’s good ! I was so sad when I heard Agfa stopped making this film that I bought a huuuuuuge stock of it, ready to face Armaggeddon !!!!

written by xpunklovex on 2008-08-16 in #reviews #vista #agfa #colour-negative #35mm #supersampler

4 Comments

  1. superlighter
    superlighter ·

    Despite the fact that actually Agfa films are not he original ones just becouse Agfa don't exist anymore and the Name was bought by some obscure film producer...long life to the Agfa Vista 400!
    I have two rolls over the desk ready to be developed.
    I'm agreed with you about "these" blue tones (you should seen it on the LC-A)!

  2. xkelx
    xkelx ·

    great 1st and 3rd photos!

  3. xpunklovex
    xpunklovex ·

    Thanks for your comments !

  4. anarchy
    anarchy ·

    Yeah, the first shot is awesome... she's a tiger... roarrrrrr ;-)

More Interesting Articles

  • My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    written by murdoc_niccals on 2014-12-15 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    Hi, everyone! I'd like to share with you my 2014 summary on analogue photography. Some things I did were completely new, while some were my good old habits. This year I learned how to develop black and white film, which I consider my greatest milestone. But the most important thing is that in 2014, I remain in love with Lomography! And the rest? Well, let's see...

    3
  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Seeking the Elusive 'Decisive Moment' in Foreign Cities

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-01 in #lifestyle
    Seeking the Elusive 'Decisive Moment' in Foreign Cities

    Some of the photos I took during my trips to Penang and Singapore may pass as street photography, but to be honest, they were more like my feeble attempts to capture 'decisive moments' that I don't usually find at home.

    1
  • Shop News

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Fly over to our 30% Discount Section to discover previously unavailable Editions & Clones! Be quick and make one yours before they are all gone again!

  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 1

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-02 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 1

    Here’s a random and rather mysterious tale for you folks. Just the other day, I was at a local bar with a few friends. It was much like any other evening; we were sipping a couple of cocktails, recounting our adventures, falling over ourselves with laughter and half-drunkenly meditating on the meaning of life (a scientist once told me it’s 42 by the way). But then something truly strange happened. Read on to hear my story and please make a comment with your guess at the end!

    31
  • Photo of the Day by robertofiuza

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-30 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by robertofiuza

    Left your splitzer at home? Make use of your surroundings to create a perfect symmetrical image. Take a cue from our winning Photo of the Day!

    2
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Proofbook is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-30 in #world #news
    Proofbook is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to proofbook for winning Home of the Day!

    1
  • Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    written by sirio174 on 2015-03-30 in #world #lifestyle
    Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    In my early adolescence, I liked to play table football. For my 12th birthday, my parents gifted me with a wonderful Subbuteo table soccer game set that I had wished for many months! This was my favorite toy until I discovered other interesting hobbies, like ham radio and electronics. So after some years, I gave away this game to other kids. I always remembered this game with pleasure and a hint of nostalgia.

  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Kevin Law

    written by candilsw on 2015-03-30 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Kevin Law

    Kevin Law, a young photographer from Hong Kong specializing in shooting portraits, wedding events, and street snaps, likes to utilize natural lighting and colors to tell the story. Most importantly, he fell in love with the Petzval Art Lens immediately after his first try!

  • Shop News

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Build vivid hanging LomoCurtains, robust free-standing LomoCastles, and dazzling mounted LomoMosaics! Just click them together with the Lomography Photoclips!

  • Join Us For a Day of Fun This Film Photography Day 2015 at NYC!

    written by givesmehell on 2015-03-30 in #people #events
    Join Us For a Day of Fun This Film Photography Day 2015 at NYC!

    Lomography NYC is celebrating Film Photography Day for the third consecutive year. We are inviting all lomographers and analog enthusiasts to mark your calendars and come join us on Saturday, April 11. To commemorate this day, we have organized an exciting line-up of events including live music and drinks!

  • Now Available From Lomography: Fuji Instax Wide 300 Instant Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-30 in #gear #news
    Now Available From Lomography: Fuji Instax Wide 300 Instant Camera

    We are delighted to announce the newest camera from Fuji, the Fuji Instax WIDE 300, is now available in the Lomography Online Shop!

  • Martin Parr on Traveling with a Camera

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-03-29 in #world #lifestyle
    Martin Parr on Traveling with a Camera

    "My source of inspiration for all the work that I take is the world in which we live, which is always fascinating, always complicated," Martin Parr says in this video by Camper.

    1