Foma Fomapan (120/35mm,100 iso) user-review

2

I've used Fomapan 100 in many of my 35mm and 120 cameras, and it's become one of my favorite films. It has great tonal range, and is affordably priced.

I’ve used Fomapan 100 in many of my 35mm and 120 cameras, and it’s become one of my favorite films. It has great tonal range, and is affordably priced.

Fomapan 100 (and other speed Fomapan films) are also available in the US branded at Arista EDU Ultra. As far as I have been able to determine they are the same film in different packaging, so if the Arista is all you can get, then you can rest assured that you are actually shooting with Fomapan.

Fomapan 100 seems to have a bit more grain than other 100 ASA films I have used, but this may be because all the Fomapan films I’ve used I have developed myself, and it could just be the chemicals and processing I use. That being said, I LOVE the grain and tones the film gives off. And unlike some other films, Fomapan does not curl when loading onto film spools and lies flat when dry after developing, making it a very easy to scan the negatives.

The shots here are taken with my Kiev-4A, Kiev-6C, Lubitel 166B, Agfa Isoly III, Penatcon Electra, and Praktica BCS. With each of these cameras, the Fomapan has given an incredibly warm, vintage look which keeps me buying more of it each time my supply runs low.

written by trabantdeluxe on 2008-08-01 in #reviews #b-w #35mm #120 #fomapan

2 Comments

  1. ipdegirl
    ipdegirl ·

    I like your shots. Were they taken in Baltimore? I like the Arista EDU Ultra and have used it before with nice results as well.

  2. trabantdeluxe
    trabantdeluxe ·

    Thanks for the comment! No, not Baltimore.....they were all taken in Troy, NY....all within a few blocks from my house. I have used alot of the Arsita EDU and then found out that it is actually Fomapan, just repackaged. It's great stuff!

More Interesting Articles

  • Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    written by sanamiii on 2014-06-06 in #reviews
    Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    It is my first time to use the New Petzval Lens outside of work and I got some surprising photos!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Top Tips For Krab Underwater Case and Fisheye Submarine Users

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle

    If it's your first time to use the Fisheye Submarine Case (with your Fisheye One/Fisheye No.2 cameras) or the Krab Underwater Housing (with your LC-A+ or LC-Wide cameras), you might still feel a liiiiittle bit anxious about taking your favorite cameras underwater. To help ease your worries I gathered some of the most helpful tips, straight from summer-lovin' Lomographers who braved the waves with their cameras!

  • Shop News

    Lubitel & film bundle

    Lubitel & film bundle

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-21 in #reviews
    LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    I bought the LomoKino years ago, and since then I've been having great times with it. I will continue documenting my daily life with the LomoKino, which is Lomography in motion! You can see the movements and facial expressions of people - it’s priceless! Documenting life in moving pictures, the Lomokino can be used as a camera that not only shoots moving pictures but also works like the multi-frame wonder camera, Supersampler!

  • Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-19 in #lifestyle
    Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    Lomography has previously shown you the kind of shots that one could take with the new Lomo LC-A 120. Now, with the first batch already shipped out and arriving to their lucky owners, it's the community's turn to show everyone what they've been shooting with this awesome camera!

    7
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    written by raypg on 2014-09-05 in #lifestyle
    My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    I love the different styles of cameras that Lomography has, but I also like to create my own cardboard cameras that use pinholes to be able to take pictures using traditional film. This time I created the Pinhole F, a camera inspired by the Diana F+ and shoots 12 pinhole photos using 120 film.

    2
  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    written by zonderbar on 2014-08-04 in #people #lomoamigos
    From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    I don't know many bands from Russia but one that I've been admiring for years is Motorama from Rostov-on-Don. With catchy tunes and adorable videos, they took my heart by storm and that of fans from all over the world. Because of their Russian origin, Motorama is of course familiar with Lomo products. Reason enough to let them become our latest LomoAmigos! Enjoy the interview with singer Vlad and check out their B&W photos, taken with a La Sardina Splendour.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Experiencing the Rainforest Adventure Experience

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2014-05-17 in #world #locations
    Experiencing the Rainforest Adventure Experience

    When I was a kid, one of my greatest joys was to go to the park. I especially loved playgrounds. It didn't matter how may other children there were, as long as I could have my turn to go on the slide and and sit on the swing. These days, enjoying one's childhood has become so different. Technology has stolen the interest of children in more physically demanding yet fun activities.

    1
  • The Magical Diana F+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-10-07 in #reviews
    The Magical Diana F+

    "Magical" here means that every time I use the Diana F+, the results are always beyond both my expectations and imagination. That's why I always use it when I feel like doing something different. It has never failed me since day one; I even always bring this camera during my trips!

    6
  • Simple Color Gels or Filters Holder for the Diana Mini's Flash

    written by grungyjodie on 2014-04-25 in #gear #tipster
    Simple Color Gels or Filters Holder for the Diana Mini's Flash

    I've always been looking for a really simple solution to hold my color gels of my Diana Mini's flash WITH the camera and make them easy to grab when I want to use them. I also wanted something to keep them from getting damaged. Let me show you how I found a simple way to make it.