Abnormal-Review: Fuji Reala (35mm, 100 ISO) User-Review

19

Recipe to obtain the weirdest results with this negative film: Horizon Perfekt + green filter + reversed x-pro in expired chemistries.

I can’t really comment on the characteristics of that film, according to these results. Sorry…

I loaded it in my Horizon Perfekt, with one of its color filters (green). I processed it at home with my Jobo. As I only had expired E6 chemistries, I cross-processed it.

The results were extremely weird. I didn’t know if these were negative or positive. So I scanned them in both settings and putted the results together. In the gallery, negative scans are on the left or on top, and positive scans are on the right or on bottom.

So what do you think? Positive or negative?

written by stouf on 2010-05-28 in #reviews

19 Comments

  1. eggzakly
    eggzakly ·

    Awesome!! If they were developed in e6, I suppose they're technically positives, but they look cool either way! Kind of reminds me of that roll of Superia www.lomography.com/homes/eggzakly/albums/1108204-shhh/photo… I had that came out purple and yellow - only these are even crazier!! :D

  2. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Weird, weird, weird, and faboulous !

  3. amsyarhilman
    amsyarhilman ·

    That is absolutely awesome.

  4. eddie_2k9
    eddie_2k9 ·

    Pop art at it's best!

  5. edithnine
    edithnine ·

    weird but super nice

  6. photohuggers
    photohuggers ·

    wicked cool!

  7. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    you are the mad professor! :) look like horizon shots from the outer space :)

  8. gvelasco
    gvelasco ·

    This effect is called solarisation (or solarization, or Sabattier effect). It happens when you expose film (or paper) to light during the development process. When you add cross-processing to "the mix", it makes it even wilder.

  9. leela_dark
    leela_dark ·

    wow, these are the craziest Lomo-colors I´ve ever seen! Cool effect!

  10. rater
    rater ·

    LOL! Crazy colors...

  11. paramir
    paramir ·

    this is superfunkypsychedelic shit! the black/white line that seems to be tracing only the right subjects... this is really interesting as this line is appearing in photos taken with glass lenses only (!) since i changed my lab... not so much as this, but it is there. My girl also said "this is solarization" when she saw it... great stuff in any case!! go Stouf!

  12. stouf
    stouf ·

    Thank you so much everyone ! You're making me so happy with your nice comments ! I was really puzzled by these shots... : )

  13. nicolas_noir
    nicolas_noir ·

    Weird head ache inducing colours! I want to vomit, I love it! I think I found I "preferred" the positive images more, but it wasn't consistent.

  14. pulex
    pulex ·

    wow!!! that just completely blew me away! this os so awesome!!

  15. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Wow, out of control. They look solarized. It'd be really cool to shoot some portraits like this and see what comes out. I know Richard Avedon used a technique that gave similar results like when he shot the Beatles.

  16. j_robert
    j_robert ·

    whoa! weird science. great colors

  17. erikamentari
    erikamentari ·

    positive with negative highlights! or the other way around...either way you look at it, great album and experimentation! love it.

  18. pietrone
    pietrone ·

    awesome!!! really stunning

  19. stickyvinny
    stickyvinny ·

    Love this! :D

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Linuxbcn and His Weapon of Choice: Lomography Redscale ISO 100 (120 mm)

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-04-17 in #lifestyle
    Linuxbcn and His Weapon of Choice: Lomography Redscale ISO 100 (120 mm)

    Awed by the eye-popping fiery red shade the film produces, Joan brands the Lomography Redscale 100 (120 mm) as the most original emulsion in Lomography's catalogue. Aside from this, he also enjoys experimenting with the film's ISO to produce a variety of stunning results. Read on to find out why linuxbcn chose the Lomography Redscale 100 as his Weapon of Choice!

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shop News

    Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

    Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

    The Phoblographer Editor's Choice Award Winner "The best street photography camera: film or digital. Pretty much nothing will beat this." Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    12
  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • #Filmphotographyday Mega Film Deals

    written by shhquiet on 2014-03-17 in #news
    #Filmphotographyday Mega Film Deals

    April 12th is Film Photography Day, a celebration of analogue experimentation and getting out there with your camera, unplugged, wild and free! In the run up to this great annual occasion we are giving you 30% off all Lomography film when you buy any camera and 3 for 2 deals on 100 ISO color negative 35mm, Lobster 110 film and 100 ISO color negative 120 film in our Online Shop and Gallery Stores!* But hurry because these deals only last until Sunday 23rd March!

  • Shop News

    Pinhole Heaven is Close!

    Pinhole Heaven is Close!

    Get back to the roots of Photography and discover our fine selection of handcrafted ONDU pinhole cameras in the Online Shop. Available in all kind of different Formats each camera can produce wonderfully unique photos.

  • Photographer Gilbert Blecken Captures Iconic Musicians on Film

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-03-02 in #people #lifestyle
    Photographer Gilbert Blecken Captures Iconic Musicians on Film

    Back in the 1990s, Gilbert Blecken was a big music fan and wrote for his own small music fanzine. He would interview bands in between sound checks and take photographs of them. He was never a professional photographer or worked for a company; he simply did it for his fanzine. Twenty years on, Gilbert’s photographs have matured into an amazing documentation of some of the biggest music icons of that era. We caught up with Gilbert to ask him about these photographs and the fascinating story behind them.

  • Testing the ONDU Pinhole Camera Around Germany

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-03-01 in #world #reviews
    Testing the ONDU Pinhole Camera Around Germany

    A few months ago, Lomography made available a whole range of pinhole cameras made out of premium wood. Interested on knowing how good they are, I brought the medium format one on my last trip to Germany.

  • Ponzi is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-03-01 in #world #news
    Ponzi is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to ponzi for winning Home of the Day!

    2
  • Shop News

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Shooting with the Lubitel 166+ is an experience on it´s own. The waist level finder will help you to compose your frames perfectly.With the possibility to use 120 and 35mm Film It offers unlimited creative possibilities deemed to be an analogue masterpiece. Get your legendary Lubitel 166+ in our Online Shop!

  • Photo of the Day by freerangechicken

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-01 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by freerangechicken

    Do you think you can beat this kid at doing handstand?

  • Tate Holds First Exhibit in Britain Dedicated to Salted Paper Prints

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-01 in #world #news #events
    Tate Holds First Exhibit in Britain Dedicated to Salted Paper Prints

    The show puts the spotlight on rare photographs created through this early photographic technique.

  • Newcomer of the Week: fmonteiro

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-01 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: fmonteiro

    As a professional photography graduate, Fernando never goes out without carrying at least one camera and treats it as an integral part of his body. Although he uses both digital and analog gears, he still regards using film as a more intimate way of creating images. Let's all welcome our newcomer from Brazil, Fernando Monteiro.

    1