Fisheye Submarine: But First, Let Me Take a Selfie

1

I love summer but I just can't imagine a summer vacation without my best buddy: the Fisheye Submarine.

The *Fisheye* was one of the first cameras I ever got. It’s also the camera that brought me to the world of Lomography, but I’m sad to say that I don’t use it that much anymore. It is a fun camera but through the years I got so many cameras that I grew fonder of than my Fisheye. It just sits forgotten on my shelf. But once a year, every summer vacation by the seaside, the Fisheye becomes my go-to camera. The Fisheye and its *Submarine* are just the perfect combination!

Credits: lomofrue

The Fisheye, when inside the Submarine, becomes a very capable underwater camera. It looks big and sometimes people would ask me what this UFO is this that I’m carrying around the beach. It draws attention, I can assure you, but that is one of the reasons why this camera is so special. It doesn’t look like any other underwater camera that I have ever seen. And you can’t possibly lose it: this camera looks like a little boat floating on the water!

I use this camera in every condition and have already put it through a lot, but it never let me down. There are lots of ways to use it.

1. Diving

The first time I got the Fisheye Submarine, I took it to Thailand straight away and went diving. I thought, “Well, let’s see how capable this camera really is and how much it can take.” We went all the way down to 12 meters underwater and there wasn’t any problem at all. Yes, I had a little problem swimming with this bulky camera around my hand but other than that it was perfect. I knew then that there’s nothing this camera can’t take.

Credits: lomofrue

2. Snorkeling

If deep waters scare you, you can at least go snorkeling with this precious camera. But if you want to catch some fish, you have to go really close. This camera loves closeness.

Credits: lomofrue

3. Any kind of water fun

Yes, it’s a submarine but going underwater isn’t the only way to use this camera.

Credits: lomofrue

4. But whatever you do, a little selfie never hurt anybody!

I always try a couple of those but my positions and faces underwater are just hilarious. I just don’t have it in me, I guess!

Credits: lomofrue

So, have you ever done any underwater selfies?

written by lomofrue on 2014-08-07 in #reviews #fish #selfie #swimming #underwater #water #requested-post #seaside #portrait #fisheye #snorkeling #sea #diving #submarine #swim

More Interesting Articles

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 3

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-04 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 3

    “Let me tell you about my life turning blue”. Those were the first words the guy on the bench said as he sat down beside me whilst I was eating my lunch. Usually, I prefer to eat alone but there was something about this opening sentence which really intrigued me; so I told him “Sure buddy, go ahead. Tell me about your life in blue”.

    23
  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Capturing the Summer with the Diana F+ Close-Up Lens

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-05-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    Capturing the Summer with the Diana F+ Close-Up Lens

    Every summer I get a burst of analogue excitement when I see the flowers starting to bloom. My favorite summer pastime is to take glorious shots of plants and flowers, and for perfect dreamy shots, I like to use the Diana Close-Up lens. Join me as I take you through a garden of analogue delights.

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • My Day in Analogue: A Photo Shoot with Mia Rahma

    written by fadjaradiputra on 2015-01-05 in #lifestyle
    My Day in Analogue: A Photo Shoot with Mia Rahma

    A few weeks ago, Adi invited me to join a photo shoot. I was hesitant initially but then I thought, "Let's just do it!"

    9
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • My Best LC-A Photos Ever by alienmeatsack

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-06-25 in #gear #reviews
    My Best LC-A Photos Ever by alienmeatsack

    I love my Lomo LC-A series cameras. They are so easy to use and take such amazing photos. I don’t ever go shooting without at least one of them in my bag. Here are some of my favorite shots.

    13
  • The Gevabox of Wonders

    written by stratski on 2014-11-18 in #reviews
    The Gevabox of Wonders

    Sometimes you see a camera and you just have to have it. I felt that way about this lovely little box camera. Looks don't mean a thing, I know, but in this case, the looks didn't deceive me.

    1
  • Photo Stories: Police on My Back by bloomchen

    written by bloomchen on 2015-02-26 in #world #lifestyle
    Photo Stories: Police on My Back by bloomchen

    Sometimes when taking pictures I get addressed by strangers either because of my cameras or because they don't want me to shoot something they claim they have responsibility for. But having the police on my back was a new experience.

    4
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 3)

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-04 in #world #locations
    Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 3)

    Here's the third and final part of my Lomography Day Trip features about Ubud. To be honest, there are a lot of places there that are worth visiting, but I just picked some of them to help you make the best of your trip. So prepare your notes or travel books and take note of the must-see places that I'll mention below. Maybe one day you'll visit Ubud.

  • My Year in Analogue: A Visual Diary

    written by jadeberryphotography on 2014-12-23 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: A Visual Diary

    Every year I get the winter blues. I start imagining the feel of the sunrays, ice cold beer after a long summer day, and the endless hours spent on the beach. I have captured moments, memories, and dreams this year, which is my favorite thing to do. This is a short version and visual diary of my year 2014.

  • Happenings on Film: The Festival of the Hands in Como

    written by sirio174 on 2014-09-22 in #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: The Festival of the Hands in Como

    Last Saturday my city, Como, hosted a festival dedicated to the hands called the Mani-Fest. With my lovely Minox GT-S camera and an expired 3200 ISO film roll, I documented this event which took place just below the windows of my room. Take a look after the jump!