Fisheye Submarine: But First, Let Me Take a Selfie

1

I love summer but I just can't imagine a summer vacation without my best buddy: the Fisheye Submarine.

The *Fisheye* was one of the first cameras I ever got. It’s also the camera that brought me to the world of Lomography, but I’m sad to say that I don’t use it that much anymore. It is a fun camera but through the years I got so many cameras that I grew fonder of than my Fisheye. It just sits forgotten on my shelf. But once a year, every summer vacation by the seaside, the Fisheye becomes my go-to camera. The Fisheye and its *Submarine* are just the perfect combination!

Credits: lomofrue

The Fisheye, when inside the Submarine, becomes a very capable underwater camera. It looks big and sometimes people would ask me what this UFO is this that I’m carrying around the beach. It draws attention, I can assure you, but that is one of the reasons why this camera is so special. It doesn’t look like any other underwater camera that I have ever seen. And you can’t possibly lose it: this camera looks like a little boat floating on the water!

I use this camera in every condition and have already put it through a lot, but it never let me down. There are lots of ways to use it.

1. Diving

The first time I got the Fisheye Submarine, I took it to Thailand straight away and went diving. I thought, “Well, let’s see how capable this camera really is and how much it can take.” We went all the way down to 12 meters underwater and there wasn’t any problem at all. Yes, I had a little problem swimming with this bulky camera around my hand but other than that it was perfect. I knew then that there’s nothing this camera can’t take.

Credits: lomofrue

2. Snorkeling

If deep waters scare you, you can at least go snorkeling with this precious camera. But if you want to catch some fish, you have to go really close. This camera loves closeness.

Credits: lomofrue

3. Any kind of water fun

Yes, it’s a submarine but going underwater isn’t the only way to use this camera.

Credits: lomofrue

4. But whatever you do, a little selfie never hurt anybody!

I always try a couple of those but my positions and faces underwater are just hilarious. I just don’t have it in me, I guess!

Credits: lomofrue

So, have you ever done any underwater selfies?

written by lomofrue on 2014-08-07 in #reviews #seaside #swimming #portrait #fisheye #swim #diving #submarine #underwater #selfie #sea #requested-post #snorkeling #fish #water

More Interesting Articles

  • Top Tips For Krab Underwater Case and Fisheye Submarine Users

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle

    If it's your first time to use the Fisheye Submarine Case (with your Fisheye One/Fisheye No.2 cameras) or the Krab Underwater Housing (with your LC-A+ or LC-Wide cameras), you might still feel a liiiiittle bit anxious about taking your favorite cameras underwater. To help ease your worries I gathered some of the most helpful tips, straight from summer-lovin' Lomographers who braved the waves with their cameras!

  • Solo Biking Routes: Exploring Jezersko and the Greenest Lake You'll Ever See

    written by lomofrue on 2014-07-23 in #world #locations
    Solo Biking Routes: Exploring Jezersko and the Greenest Lake You'll Ever See

    My bike is my best friend. It's not the best one you'll ever see but I love it anyway. It takes me to work and back, and it also takes me exploring new places. What more could I possibly want?

  • Monday Moodboard: 1990s Summertime

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-19 in #news
    Monday Moodboard: 1990s Summertime

    It's been a boiling, scorching, baking hot summer here in the Philippines since March, and believe it or not, I haven't been to the beach yet. I'm going to do something about that, but not without making another playlist for the trip! This time, I decided to make a mix inspired by the summer vacations of my younger days.

  • Shop News

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes in a Bundle with 120 format film at 15% off!

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 3

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-04 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 3

    “Let me tell you about my life turning blue”. Those were the first words the guy on the bench said as he sat down beside me whilst I was eating my lunch. Usually, I prefer to eat alone but there was something about this opening sentence which really intrigued me; so I told him “Sure buddy, go ahead. Tell me about your life in blue”.

    23
  • Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-08 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    A weekend without a lomowalk seems bad, at least for me. One Saturday morning, I decided to join my friends in their lomowalk. It was all cloudy at first but it didn't stop me from going out and walking. I brought my new Nikon FM2 and some expired rolls, just to test my camera. Was it just me being sleepy, or was my Nikon FM2 acting up? My photos turned out grainy, pale, and, in my opinion, looking so 1990s?

    1
  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Diana F+: A Dozen of Possibilities – Part 3: The Wide-Angle Lenses

    written by dopa on 2014-07-25 in #reviews
    Diana F+: A Dozen of Possibilities – Part 3: The Wide-Angle Lenses

    I just love the Diana F+ camera. As I continue my series of tribute articles, let me introduce you to Part 3: The Wide Angle Lenses.

  • Most Popular Photos of April 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-10 in #news
    Most Popular Photos of April 2014

    Around 75,000 lomographs were uploaded last month. I know it's quite a big number but let us take this moment to appreciate the best ones that captured the community's analogue loving hearts!

    5
  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

  • Chasing Summer Smiles with the Horizon Perfekt

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-20 in #reviews
    Chasing Summer Smiles with the Horizon Perfekt

    Chronicling my summer’s last hurrah with the Horizon Perfekt was more than what I could have imagined. Not only did I get cool remarks about its look and sweeping lens mechanism, I also took home panoramic shots that just swept my summer escapades with analogue goodness.

  • My Day in Analogue: A Photo Shoot with Mia Rahma

    written by fadjaradiputra on 2015-01-05 in #lifestyle
    My Day in Analogue: A Photo Shoot with Mia Rahma

    A few weeks ago, Adi invited me to join a photo shoot. I was hesitant initially but then I thought, "Let's just do it!"

    9