Review: Lomography Color Tiger 200 110mm Film Really Roars!

1

Mary had the opportunity to take a ride in a hot air balloon and thought it was the perfect time to try out some Lomography Color Tiger 200 film!

My very first film camera was a 110 Pixie brand camera I received when I was 3 years old. It was a Christmas present and it came complete with flash bars and the first photos were all of headless relatives and blurred scenes. You can imagine my excitement to discover that Lomography was bringing back 110 film so that I could put my first camera back to work! *Lomography Color Tiger 200* was the first roll of film in my camera in decades and I wasn’t even sure if the camera still worked; but that’s just half the fun.

I was invited to go on a Hot Air Balloon ride, and had never been on one before. For practice, I took a few photos around the neighborhood and of everyday life with my Pixie camera and Color Tiger 200 before taking the camera up in the sky with me. The film was as easy to load as it always had been, just pop it in and you’re ready to go!

Credits: gothcupcake

The film seemed to do well in the shade as well as in bright sun. It has nice grain and punchy colors. The camera I loaded it in was a very simple point-and-shoot, no focus or bells and whistles so I was happy with the range I was able to get from the film.

The hot air balloon ride was over a remote part of Phoenix, Arizona and was held during earlier parts of the evening.

Credits: gothcupcake

We went up right before sunset so we were able to take advantage of the golden hour and see the sunset from up in the balloon too. Color Tiger handled shade, full sun, golden hour and sunset incredibly well.

Credits: gothcupcake

All in all I was very happy with my results and will most definitely be stocking up on more Color Tiger 200 film for more Lomographic adventures! You can pick yourself up a few rolls here.

My roll was sent in and developed by Lomography. The photos shown are from scans straight from the lab.

To read more about my photographic adventures follow me on my blog.

written by gothcupcake on 2014-07-07 in #reviews #200-iso #film #110 #110-camera #review #color

One Comment

  1. jimmybuzaid
    jimmybuzaid ·

    Cool! I think you mean 1.10mm, the format's name is not 110mm! That would be double the size of 120!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Sweetyyydreams and her Weapon of Choice: Lomography XPro Slide 200

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle
    Sweetyyydreams and her Weapon of Choice: Lomography XPro Slide 200

    From warm golden yellow to dramatic green hues, Karine swears by this film's capability in producing a wide spectrum of bold and saturated colors. Because of this, she always carries a roll or two in her suitcase whenever she travels. Find out more about Karine Mougenot, aka sweetyyydreams, and her Weapon of Choice, the Lomography XPro Slide 200!

    2
  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-06 in #gear #tipster
    Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    I recently had the opportunity to take the world’s most creative instant camera — the Lomo'Instant — for a stroll on an unusually warm and sunny November day. My goal was to acquaint myself with the endlessly cool features and infinite possibilities the camera possesses while creating some beautiful photographs in the meantime. Read on to see the results!

  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • My First Lomo Affair: Wesco and his La Sardina

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-17 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Wesco and his La Sardina

    It may take a while for some lomographers to figure out the perfect combination of camera, film, and accessory that suit their needs. But, Wessel de Haas, aka wesco, has been extremely lucky to find his early on his journey to Lomography. Find out what film and accessory he likes pairing his La Sardina 8Ball with in this edition of My First Lomo Affair!

    2
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • December 10th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-10 in #news
    December 10th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    With the holidays just around the corner, now is the time to stockpile all your favorite films! That's we're giving you yet another opportunity to do so with our super Advent deal on all our films today. Whether you're looking to get wild colors and huge contrast with our X-Pro film, or want to create slick cinematic classics with Lomography Cine400 Tungsten, we've got just the film for you!

  • Turn Your Lomographs Into Beautiful Analogue Prints — Handmade By Lomography

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-24 in #gear #news
    Turn Your Lomographs Into Beautiful Analogue Prints — Handmade By Lomography

    You've shot tons of really fantastic film photos — why not turn them into analogue prints that you can proudly showcase in your home, studio or office? If you're not sure where to have them printed, try Analogue Prints — the perfect print service for analogue photographers. Lomographers in Austria, UK, France, Germany, Italy, Belgium, the Netherlands and Spain can take advantage of this awesome service right now!

    3
  • Petzval Amigo Joel Byron: Videos of The London Eye

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-05-25 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval Amigo Joel Byron: Videos of The London Eye

    Joel Byron is a long-time fan of Lomography and uses analog methods in his work at his video and film production agency BigPlus. Back in 2010 he painstakingly put together the Lomography Caterpillar Matrix video which had over 60,000 hits! We lent Joel a Petzval lens and asked him to capture some video footage of London. The results were pretty stunning.