Camera Review of the Week

3

Never pass up the chance to go camera hunting in a flea market because you might just stumble upon a gem like our Camera Review of the Week!

Just because you bought a camera for cheap, doesn’t mean it won’t perform exceptionally well! This is true of our Camera Review of the Week, where nerdcist chanced upon a minty Canonet QL17 rangefinder. With its quick loading feature, it’s razor sharp 40mm 1.7 lens and its whisper quiet shutter, this camera is perfect for incognito street photography which nerdcist gamely demonstrates. Tell us more about your flea market finds and submit your stories! Who knows, you might be the next Review of the Week!

Do you have what it takes to be next week’s featured shooter? Then submit you camera and/or accessory review but if the camera you want to feature isn’t on the list please let us know.

written by cruzron on 2010-03-27 in #reviews #canon #canonet #rangefinder #135 #review-of-the-week

3 Comments

  1. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    yes yes well deserved great review

  2. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    selamat nerdcist!! :D :D

  3. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Well deserved, the Canonet is a fantastic camera!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Party the Analogue Way for Film Photography Day 2015!

    written by jacobs on 2015-04-03 in #world #news #lifestyle #events
    Party the Analogue Way for Film Photography Day 2015!

    Film Photography Day 2015 is nearly here and we’ve got loads of raucous parties planned around the world at our Lomography Gallery and Embassy Stores! Everything you can imagine and in the most analogue way possible — live unplugged music, vinyl DJs, in-store raffles, analogue flea markets, scavenger hunts, workshops, panels of photographers, instant photo-booths, competitions and loads more!

    1
  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Newcomer of the Week: nickt

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-07-05 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: nickt

    Niccolò Turetta started taking photographs on film at a young age. Looking for tips on making better images, he stumbled upon the website and eventually joined the community as a motivation to further improve his craft. Let's all welcome our newcomer of the week from Torreglia, Italy, nickt!

    4
  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • Huge Vintage Camera Lot for Sale on eBay

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-03 in #world #news
    Huge Vintage Camera Lot for Sale on eBay

    Fancy building a camera museum or, well, simply have hundreds of cameras at your disposal? You might want to take a look at this newest camera lot to show up on eBay, which includes 600 cameras by various makers and carries a "Buy It Now" price tag of $34,900.00.

    1
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • 10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-09-21 in #world #news
    10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    Are gender transition and coming of age themes that interest you? Have you ever heard of the Anthotype process? Here's a glimpse of last week --time to catch up on your reading.

  • Press Call Out: Scandinavia, Australia and New Zealand

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-25 in #world #lifestyle #locations
    Press Call Out: Scandinavia, Australia and New Zealand

    Ladies and gentlemen, it's no secret that without you, our website would never be possible. With that in mind, we're calling on all Lomographers (that's you) for a helping hand by giving us your expert opinions. In return, we're passing out Piggy Points to spend in our Online Shop. Kiwis, Aussies and Scandinavians, whether you're residents, dreamers or just big fans of these great places — everybody can contribute and everybody can win!

  • The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-21 in #gear #competitions #videos
    The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    If you’ve been living on Neptune for the past week (wait, how the hell did you get there?), you might have missed the memo – The brand new Lomo’Instant Wide has landed! Pre-orders are flying in for the world’s most creative wide format instant camera and lens system and we’ve decided to launch a competition to spice up the fun even further.

    8
  • Shop News

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    A true Lomographic gem, the Lomo LC-A+ RL is blessed with good looks and bursting with experimental potential. Get ready to shoot amazing Lomographic photos by experimenting with MX shots, long exposures and a whole range of accessories!

  • Around the World with the Lomo'Instant Competition

    written by Lomography on 2015-08-25 in #world #competitions
    Around the World with the Lomo'Instant Competition

    In celebration of the newly-launched Lomo’Instant Montenegro, we're calling out all ardent globe-trotters to give us an instant visual tour around the picturesque places that inspired the designs of our Lomo'Instant editions. Be quick to your feet because our competition winners will get a chance to take home our "secret camera sensation"!

    2
  • Scenes from the City with the New Petzval Lens

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-30 in #gear #news #lifestyle
    Scenes from the City with the New Petzval Lens

    The new Petzval Lens has proven itself a master of close-up shots and soulful portraits time and time again. Now some of our talented community members have stepped it up a notch and aimed the Petzval at city-scapes. From snow-capped pedestrians, couples chatting in parks, bustling markets, or people waiting to get on the metro - the beautiful banalities of city life are covered in these eloquent shots. Scroll through this gallery we've put together just for you to get a taste of the Petzval's urban potential!

  • In Memory of Blues Legend B.B. King

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-18 in #world #lifestyle
    In Memory of Blues Legend B.B. King

    With the influential music icon's passing last week, here's a look at his early years up to the peak of his career by means of photographs.