Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

It is my first time to use the New Petzval Lens outside of work and I got some surprising photos!

I use the new Lomography x Zenit Petzval Lens often for my work. Being a member of the Lomography community and since the release of the Petzval Lens, I got used to using the Petzval Lens on my photo shoots. Yet, other than for work, I never had the chance to use it during my downtime since I always prefer light gadgets and cameras such as the *LC-W*, *LC-A+* and the like which are easier for me to carry.

Also, I haven’t used digital cameras for over five years except for use with the Experimental Lens Kit which I lend to a friend when I have to do some photo shoots. Honestly for a lazy girl like me, the Petzval Lens is kind of heavy and burdensome to carry around everywhere I go.

Initially, I got the Petzval Lens and Sony A7 with me simply because I wanted to record the concert of Sodagreen. My colleagues even helped me to insert the Tele Converter. However, sad to say, I carelessly deleted all the photos taken during that day and therefore, I just randomly used it to take snaps at home. When my family saw the brass look of the Petzval Lens, they instantly became so interested in it and kept asking about its features.

The Petzval Lens is perfect for portraiture, so I decided to take some pictures of my mom. All of a sudden she turned out to be a supermodel with different natural poses. Afterwards, she told me to bring the Petzval Lens the next day to the cemetery, where would pay respect to my ancestors.

The next day, the weather was really great. In my opinion, the Sony A7 is not as heavy when compared to other DSLR cameras. I honestly don’t know much about digital cameras. While on our way to the cemetery, we walked past the Lok Fu Park. With the flowers as our backdrop, I could finally let my family see the famous swirly effect of the Petzval Lens. “That’s the most special and exciting part of Petzval Lens!” Even my brother who never used Lomography products and has little knowledge of photography tried using the Petzval Lens and took some shots which are quite impressive.

Frankly speaking, whether I am at the workplace or just hanging out with friends, I always bring a camera and take pictures of them. Like my colleagues, I seldom use a camera when I am with my family. Yet, I still remember that day when I took photos of my family and all of us were simply flattered. Hence, I am even more impressed with the Petzval Lens.

Customers and partners at work always have difficulties with focusing when they use the Petzval Lens mainly because of the large aperture and shallow depth-of-field. In my case though, I do not have as much difficulty in focusing and still manage to get the swirly effect in the photos by using the f2.8 aperture plate. You can try that if you have the same problem in focusing!

The Lomography x Zenit Petzval Lens is a stunning reinvention of one of the first and greatest lenses of all time. Manufactured in Russia by Zenit, each lens is crafted from brass and features high-quality glass optics. For the first time ever, you can easily get the Petzval photographic look with Canon EF and Nikon F mount analogue and digital cameras in order to cater for the needs of photographers nowadays. Make you pre-order on the Petzval Lens now or click About (The second batch of pre-order lenses has an estimated delivery date of June 2014.)

written by sanamiii on 2014-06-06 in #reviews #petzval #swirly #brass #petzval-interview #new-petzval-lens #lens #analogue
translated by fishyu

More Interesting Articles

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    Dale McCready is a cinematographer working in the film/ TV industry and has worked on programmes such as Doctor Who and Merlin. He was one of our supporters for the Petzval Kickstarter campaign and recently used the lens to film for a new BBC drama, which is due out in March. Dale kindly shared some of his Petzval photographs with us and talked about his love for this lens. Read on for the full interview.

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Petzval History Series: The Early Life of Joseph Petzval

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-06-09 in #people #lifestyle
    Petzval History Series: The Early Life of Joseph Petzval

    The Petzval Lens was the first truly practicable portrait lens ever created and thus was the ultimate gift to early photography. We at Lomography feel that this lens and its inventor deserve some attention so here is the first of a series of articles on Joseph Petzval and the first Petzval Lens.

    1
  • 30 Gorgeous Black and White Shots With the New Petzval Lens

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-11 in #gear #lifestyle
    30 Gorgeous Black and White Shots With the New Petzval Lens

    The New Petzval Lens is a stunning reinvention of one of the first and greatest lenses of all time. It produces images with extreme sharpness, artful vignetting and absolutely beautiful swirly bokeh backgrounds. Click through to see 30 breathtaking black and white photos after the jump!

    11
  • Shooting the Petzval Lens with Ian Taylor

    written by givesmehell on 2015-04-29 in #people #lomoamigos
    Shooting the Petzval Lens with Ian Taylor

    Canadian-born Ian Taylor is a full-time photographer specializing in kids and development work. It all started when his five siblings started having children at the same time he was into photography. This passion then spiraled into something amazing, and now Ian works primarily with kids, shooting them when they are in their purest form. Based in Asia, Ian has agreed to share this amazing series of photos he shot with his Petzval Art Lens in Cambodia and Thailand. He also shared with us some of his insights and views on photography.

  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • Liron Peretz Takes the New Petzval Lens to Berlin Fashion Week

    written by zonderbar on 2015-03-02 in #people #lomoamigos
    Liron Peretz Takes the New Petzval Lens to Berlin Fashion Week

    Liron Peretz is a talented Berlin-based fashion photographer who has been covering Fashion Week events for the last three years. For Lomography, she took the New Petzval Lens to the Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week in Berlin. Find out how she got along with it in this exclusive interview and see some of her beautiful backstage photos!

  • Petzval Amigo Joel Byron: Videos of The London Eye

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-05-25 in #people #lomoamigos #videos
    Petzval Amigo Joel Byron: Videos of The London Eye

    Joel Byron is a long-time fan of Lomography and uses analog methods in his work at his video and film production agency BigPlus. Back in 2010 he painstakingly put together the Lomography Caterpillar Matrix video which had over 60,000 hits! We lent Joel a Petzval lens and asked him to capture some video footage of London. The results were pretty stunning.

  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-28 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2015

    The shoutbox is an open space for lomographers to interact with fellows from across the globe, air their honest opinions and suggestions, share interesting news, and promote their work (especially with the photo-sharing feature introduced last year!). And keeping it filled with entertaining conversations are these chatty lomographers. Meet the top shoutbox users of 2015.

    1
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Portside Fashion Photos with New Petzval 58 by the Talented Issa Ng

    written by minawoo on 2015-06-24 in #people #lifestyle
    Portside Fashion Photos with New Petzval 58 by the Talented Issa Ng

    It is our pleasure to have yet another opportunity to share more stellar photographs shot by Hong Kong-based photographer Issa Ng, using the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens. Not surprisingly, his photographs are again a revelation of his great sense of aesthetics and fashion, juxtaposed with the masculine appeal of a portside location.

    1
  • Spring is in Bloom with the New Petzval Lens

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-17 in #gear #lifestyle
    Spring is in Bloom with the New Petzval Lens

    With the frosty months of winter behind us here in the northern hemisphere, we're very happy to see spring is finally here to bring new life and longer days. And this roundup of gorgeous springtime photos shot with the New Petzval Lens is just the ticket to match the season!

  • Petzval Lens and Adaptor with Olympus OM-D E-M5 Micro 4/3 Camera

    written by blackfairy on 2015-05-15 in #gear #reviews
    Petzval Lens and Adaptor with Olympus OM-D E-M5 Micro 4/3 Camera

    Using my Canon EOS 20D, I already discovered the amazing bokeh effect of the Petzval Lens. So I was really excited to try it with my favorite digital hybrid camera, Olympus OM-D E-M5. Just attach an adaptor and off you go!

    2