Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

It is my first time to use the New Petzval Lens outside of work and I got some surprising photos!

I use the new Lomography x Zenit Petzval Lens often for my work. Being a member of the Lomography community and since the release of the Petzval Lens, I got used to using the Petzval Lens on my photo shoots. Yet, other than for work, I never had the chance to use it during my downtime since I always prefer light gadgets and cameras such as the *LC-W*, *LC-A+* and the like which are easier for me to carry.

Also, I haven’t used digital cameras for over five years except for use with the Experimental Lens Kit which I lend to a friend when I have to do some photo shoots. Honestly for a lazy girl like me, the Petzval Lens is kind of heavy and burdensome to carry around everywhere I go.

Initially, I got the Petzval Lens and Sony A7 with me simply because I wanted to record the concert of Sodagreen. My colleagues even helped me to insert the Tele Converter. However, sad to say, I carelessly deleted all the photos taken during that day and therefore, I just randomly used it to take snaps at home. When my family saw the brass look of the Petzval Lens, they instantly became so interested in it and kept asking about its features.

The Petzval Lens is perfect for portraiture, so I decided to take some pictures of my mom. All of a sudden she turned out to be a supermodel with different natural poses. Afterwards, she told me to bring the Petzval Lens the next day to the cemetery, where would pay respect to my ancestors.

The next day, the weather was really great. In my opinion, the Sony A7 is not as heavy when compared to other DSLR cameras. I honestly don’t know much about digital cameras. While on our way to the cemetery, we walked past the Lok Fu Park. With the flowers as our backdrop, I could finally let my family see the famous swirly effect of the Petzval Lens. “That’s the most special and exciting part of Petzval Lens!” Even my brother who never used Lomography products and has little knowledge of photography tried using the Petzval Lens and took some shots which are quite impressive.

Frankly speaking, whether I am at the workplace or just hanging out with friends, I always bring a camera and take pictures of them. Like my colleagues, I seldom use a camera when I am with my family. Yet, I still remember that day when I took photos of my family and all of us were simply flattered. Hence, I am even more impressed with the Petzval Lens.

Customers and partners at work always have difficulties with focusing when they use the Petzval Lens mainly because of the large aperture and shallow depth-of-field. In my case though, I do not have as much difficulty in focusing and still manage to get the swirly effect in the photos by using the f2.8 aperture plate. You can try that if you have the same problem in focusing!

The Lomography x Zenit Petzval Lens is a stunning reinvention of one of the first and greatest lenses of all time. Manufactured in Russia by Zenit, each lens is crafted from brass and features high-quality glass optics. For the first time ever, you can easily get the Petzval photographic look with Canon EF and Nikon F mount analogue and digital cameras in order to cater for the needs of photographers nowadays. Make you pre-order on the Petzval Lens now or click About (The second batch of pre-order lenses has an estimated delivery date of June 2014.)

written by sanamiii on 2014-06-06 in #reviews #petzval #swirly #lens #new-petzval-lens #petzval-interview #brass #analogue
translated by fishyu

More Interesting Articles

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #people #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    Dale McCready is a cinematographer working in the film/ TV industry and has worked on programmes such as Doctor Who and Merlin. He was one of our supporters for the Petzval Kickstarter campaign and recently used the lens to film for a new BBC drama, which is due out in March. Dale kindly shared some of his Petzval photographs with us and talked about his love for this lens. Read on for the full interview.

  • The New Petzval Lens: For Portraits with Swirly Bokeh

    written by wesco on 2014-11-27 in #reviews
    The New Petzval Lens: For Portraits with Swirly Bokeh

    My brother purchased the new Petzal lens by Lomography and Zenit through the Kickstarter campaign. Last spring, I was able to borrow it for a few weeks. Read on to find out my first impressions of this portrait lens!

    1
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Petzval Lens Test: The Independent Record Market

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-07-29 in #news
    Petzval Lens Test: The Independent Record Market

    Each year The independent Label Market takes place at the Old Spitalfields Market and brings together some of the most interesting independent record labels. It’s the perfect place to meet label owners, talk about music and buy some exclusive and new releases. I took along the Petzval lens and was surprised at the reaction it received!

  • Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-11-20 in #reviews
    Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    In April of this year I had the chance to test the Petzval Lens and to write a review on it for the German photography forum Kwerfeldein. The lens excited me from the very beginning, at the time it was introduced on Kickstarter. I was afraid that once I had tested the lens, I would want to have one of my own! Well, that’s what happened; a year later, I finally bought my very own Petzval lens.

    1
  • 30 Gorgeous Black and White Shots With the New Petzval Lens

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-11 in #gear #lifestyle
    30 Gorgeous Black and White Shots With the New Petzval Lens

    The New Petzval Lens is a stunning reinvention of one of the first and greatest lenses of all time. It produces images with extreme sharpness, artful vignetting and absolutely beautiful swirly bokeh backgrounds. Click through to see 30 breathtaking black and white photos after the jump!

    10
  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Mini Neo & 10x Fuji Instax Mini Film

    Fuji Instax Mini Neo & 10x Fuji Instax Mini Film

    Save 20% on Fuji Instax Mini Film with this bundle and get 100 sheets for pure Instant fun! Plus, get to choose which Fuji Instax Mini Camera fits your personality!

  • Fresh from the Lab: My First Roll of Film with the New Petzval Lens

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-11-14 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: My First Roll of Film with the New Petzval Lens

    Many of you may be aware that I was able to test the New Petzval Lens beforehand, but I finally got my own personal Petzval lens very recently. Of course I had to take it out for a spin immediately!

    2
  • Shooting the Petzval Lens with Ian Taylor

    written by givesmehell on 2015-04-29 in #people #lomoamigos
    Shooting the Petzval Lens with Ian Taylor

    Canadian-born Ian Taylor is a full-time photographer specializing in kids and development work. It all started when his five siblings started having children at the same time he was into photography. This passion then spiraled into something amazing, and now Ian works primarily with kids, shooting them when they are in their purest form. Based in Asia, Ian has agreed to share this amazing series of photos he shot with his Petzval Art Lens in Cambodia and Thailand. He also shared with us some of his insights and views on photography.

  • Liron Peretz Takes the New Petzval Lens to Berlin Fashion Week

    written by zonderbar on 2015-03-02 in #people #lomoamigos
    Liron Peretz Takes the New Petzval Lens to Berlin Fashion Week

    Liron Peretz is a talented Berlin-based fashion photographer who has been covering Fashion Week events for the last three years. For Lomography, she took the New Petzval Lens to the Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week in Berlin. Find out how she got along with it in this exclusive interview and see some of her beautiful backstage photos!

  • Shop News

    LC-A+ Starter Pack

    LC-A+ Starter Pack

    With the LC-A+ Starter Pack, Pair the LC-A+ with a 35mm; whatever combo you end up selecting, they're sure to be mindblowing!

  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Spring is in Bloom with the New Petzval Lens

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-17 in #gear #lifestyle
    Spring is in Bloom with the New Petzval Lens

    With the frosty months of winter behind us here in the northern hemisphere, we're very happy to see spring is finally here to bring new life and longer days. And this roundup of gorgeous springtime photos shot with the New Petzval Lens is just the ticket to match the season!