DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask - A User Review

Ever wondered how to get that cool sprocket look in your photos without resorting to digital trickery? The DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask makes scanning sprockets and panoramas a cinch!

Credits: geekteacher

I’ve always thought the sprocket look was cool. In fact, it’s one of the reasons that led me to dump digital photography in favor of my analogue roots. The allure of all those great effects that can be accomplished in camera was too great to ignore. I somehow felt dishonest whenever I simulated those effects in my photos using digital filters. So I made the switch! But to get that sprocket look, you need a few things. First, you need a camera capable of shooting sprockets. I used the Superheadz Blackbird, Fly. It’s a 35mm TLR that exposes the sprockets vertically in photos.

Credits: geekteacher

You’re also going to need a scanner capable of scanning negatives and software that doesn’t choke when it sees a third-party scanning mask. For this, I used the Epson Perfection V600 scanner with Vuescan software. Vuescan is far better than the native Epson scanning software and does an excellent job with sprockets.

And, of course, you’re going to need the *DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask*!

Credits: geekteacher

The scanning mask that came with my Epson scanner does a great job, but it covers up the edges on 35mm film making it useless to scan sprockets. Using the DigitaLIZA is the simplest solution.

To accomplish its magic, the DigitaLIZA employs a very clever method to firmly hold your negative in place: the scientific power of magnetism! That being said, the DigitaLIZA is not capable of exposing the entire negative (it has to hold on to something after all) and so some of the text and numbering along the edges of the film will be lost. This really isn’t a problem since you can capture so much more of the exposed negative. The only drawback with DigitaLIZA is that it can be a little tricky at first to get your negative to lie flat in the mask before putting it together. A little persistence is needed.

Credits: geekteacher

Next, I placed DigitaLIZA on my scanner and scanned away! The sprockets will throw off the software’s colour-balance since the scanner reads them as black, so you’ll need to make some adjustments. I find out that the Vuescan does a great job of handling the correction.

Using my Blackbird, Fly, I spent a day at the cemetery photographing old deteriorating tombstones. By removing the interior mask on my Blackbird, Fly, I was able to capture the sprockets and I’m sure you’ll agree that without the DigitaLIZA, I wouldn’t be able to share these amazing photos!

Credits: geekteacher

While I don’t yet own a camera capable of shooting true multi-frame panoramas, I’m satisfied that the DigitaLIZA is more than able to handle the task for the day when I can afford a Belair X 6-12 camera with 35mm Back. The DigitaLIZA is long enough that it can capture the equivalent of six frames on a 35mm negative. That’s perfect for those panorama shots!

written by geekteacher on 2014-04-27 in #reviews #panorama #blackbird-fly #sprockets #digitaliza #review #twin-lens-reflex #kodak-gold-400 #scanning #vuescan #epson #tlr #35mm

More Interesting Articles

  • Lively Urban Scenes Shot with the Sprocket Rocket

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-09 in #world #lifestyle
    Lively Urban Scenes Shot with the Sprocket Rocket

    Make the Sprocket Rocket your go-to street photography camera and capture some cool-looking panoramas!

    1
  • Down By The Water With The Krab - 10 Quick Tips To Try

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle
    Down By The Water With The Krab - 10 Quick Tips To Try

    There's a lot that you can do with a Lomo LC-A+/Lomo LC-Wide and a Krab, besides the obvious (which is take it in the water with you). Get creative by trying various angles and perspectives; you'll be surprised how a slight tilt can make a dramatic difference to your photos. Take a look at the gallery below for some inspiration!

  • In Focus: Sprocket Rocket

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-24 in #lifestyle
    In Focus: Sprocket Rocket

    Take your analogue adventures to new heights with the Lomography Sprocket Rocket and enjoy stunning panoramas complete with sprocket holes in 35mm film.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Fascinating Old Photographs of New York City

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-23 in #world #lifestyle
    Fascinating Old Photographs of New York City

    Have you ever wondered how "The City That Never Sleeps" looked like more than a hundred years ago? Here's a handful of photographs to satisfy your curiosity!

  • Then and Now: Famous Movies' Filming Locations

    written by chooolss on 2014-07-17 in #lifestyle
    Then and Now: Famous Movies' Filming Locations

    Have you ever wondered how some of the locations featured on your favorite old movies look now? You might want to take a look at this Then and Now series, then!

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Sprocket Rocket: a Great Camera for Your Beach Life!

    written by sirio174 on 2014-07-09 in #reviews
    Sprocket Rocket: a Great Camera for Your Beach Life!

    If you are looking for a panoramic camera to document your adventures on the beach, you should try the Sprocket Rocket. It's easy to use, cheap, and can get you amazing results! In this article, you can see how I used this camera to document a short vacation in Liguria, from Varazze to Alassio. Take a look after the jump!

    1
  • Wide-Angle Photo Tips: Size matters!

    written by dopa on 2014-07-15 in #gear #tipster
    Wide-Angle Photo Tips: Size matters!

    In your daily photo practice, a slight difference in focal length can have a huge impact on your images. Does it adjust everything in the photo? Do I get that entire steeple on the image without having to go so far back and then shooting in the sun? How exactly does a fisheye lens work? Read on and find out the answer.

  • A Salute to the Masters: The Girl with the Scarred Face (A Tribute to Juergen Teller)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-05-16 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: The Girl with the Scarred Face (A Tribute to Juergen Teller)

    This is a tribute to Juergen Teller, a great fashion photographer who continues to work with analogue cameras. In the 1990s he radically changed the way to make fashion photography. His models appear "soap and water", without heavy make-up, and his images seem taken like an amateur photographer. Between his nice works, there is a photos that I like so much, taken in Cuba and called "The Girl with the Broken Nose." Take a look after the jump!

  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    Aside from the Magazine, going through the User Blogs is another way to keep tabs on the latest happening in the community. Throughout the year, it was filled with articles on new discoveries, thought-provoking opinions, and exciting exhibits that surely entertained, challenged, and inspired everyone. Let's take a look back at the fruitful year through the most popular user blogs of 2014.

    3
  • Ajay Malghan's 'Bleached'

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-16 in #lifestyle
    Ajay Malghan's 'Bleached'

    Ajay Malghan makes use of 35mm film and various acidic household products to create cool, trippy art. Have a look after the jump!

    1
  • Back In Stock: Fujifilm Instax Share Smartphone Printer SP-1

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-27 in #gear #news
    Back In Stock: Fujifilm Instax Share Smartphone Printer SP-1

    It’s time to add an analogue touch to all those photos taken with your smartphone! We’ve restocked the Shop with Fujifilm Instax Share SP-1, a portable and easy-to-use printer that allows you to magically transform your mobile photos, as well as scanned analogue photos, into super-cool instant snapshots. It works great with Android and iOS tablets and phones - simply transfer the images to the device by using the free Instax Share app and start printing!

    1