DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask - A User Review

Ever wondered how to get that cool sprocket look in your photos without resorting to digital trickery? The DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask makes scanning sprockets and panoramas a cinch!

Von: geekteacher

I’ve always thought the sprocket look was cool. In fact, it’s one of the reasons that led me to dump digital photography in favor of my analogue roots. The allure of all those great effects that can be accomplished in camera was too great to ignore. I somehow felt dishonest whenever I simulated those effects in my photos using digital filters. So I made the switch! But to get that sprocket look, you need a few things. First, you need a camera capable of shooting sprockets. I used the Superheadz Blackbird, Fly. It’s a 35mm TLR that exposes the sprockets vertically in photos.

Von: geekteacher

You’re also going to need a scanner capable of scanning negatives and software that doesn’t choke when it sees a third-party scanning mask. For this, I used the Epson Perfection V600 scanner with Vuescan software. Vuescan is far better than the native Epson scanning software and does an excellent job with sprockets.

And, of course, you’re going to need the *DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask*!

Von: geekteacher

The scanning mask that came with my Epson scanner does a great job, but it covers up the edges on 35mm film making it useless to scan sprockets. Using the DigitaLIZA is the simplest solution.

To accomplish its magic, the DigitaLIZA employs a very clever method to firmly hold your negative in place: the scientific power of magnetism! That being said, the DigitaLIZA is not capable of exposing the entire negative (it has to hold on to something after all) and so some of the text and numbering along the edges of the film will be lost. This really isn’t a problem since you can capture so much more of the exposed negative. The only drawback with DigitaLIZA is that it can be a little tricky at first to get your negative to lie flat in the mask before putting it together. A little persistence is needed.

Von: geekteacher

Next, I placed DigitaLIZA on my scanner and scanned away! The sprockets will throw off the software’s colour-balance since the scanner reads them as black, so you’ll need to make some adjustments. I find out that the Vuescan does a great job of handling the correction.

Using my Blackbird, Fly, I spent a day at the cemetery photographing old deteriorating tombstones. By removing the interior mask on my Blackbird, Fly, I was able to capture the sprockets and I’m sure you’ll agree that without the DigitaLIZA, I wouldn’t be able to share these amazing photos!

Von: geekteacher

While I don’t yet own a camera capable of shooting true multi-frame panoramas, I’m satisfied that the DigitaLIZA is more than able to handle the task for the day when I can afford a Belair X 6-12 camera with 35mm Back. The DigitaLIZA is long enough that it can capture the equivalent of six frames on a 35mm negative. That’s perfect for those panorama shots!

written by geekteacher on 2014-04-27 in #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • The Lomography Guide To Multiple Exposures Is Now Online!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-04-24 in #news
    The Lomography Guide To Multiple Exposures Is Now Online!

    Ever wondered about those cool photos with overlapping images? Those are Multiple Exposures, and if you're curious about how to do this technique, look no further. We have prepared a guide that gives you all the information that you need!

  • Down By The Water With The Krab - 10 Quick Tips To Try

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle
    Down By The Water With The Krab - 10 Quick Tips To Try

    There's a lot that you can do with a Lomo LC-A+/Lomo LC-Wide and a Krab, besides the obvious (which is take it in the water with you). Get creative by trying various angles and perspectives; you'll be surprised how a slight tilt can make a dramatic difference to your photos. Take a look at the gallery below for some inspiration!

  • In Focus: Sprocket Rocket

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-24 in #lifestyle
    In Focus: Sprocket Rocket

    Take your analogue adventures to new heights with the Lomography Sprocket Rocket and enjoy stunning panoramas complete with sprocket holes in 35mm film.

  • Shop News

    The Perfect Portrait Lens

    The Perfect Portrait Lens

    The New Petzval Lens comes in 2 lens mount variations. You can purchase a New Petzval Lens with Canon EF mount, or one with a Nikon F mount. The lens works with both analogue and digital cameras with this type of lens mount. There also is a range of adapters available in our Online Shop to use your Petzval Lens on various other (d)SLRs or even compact system cameras!

  • Then and Now: Famous Movies' Filming Locations

    written by chooolss on 2014-07-17 in #lifestyle
    Then and Now: Famous Movies' Filming Locations

    Have you ever wondered how some of the locations featured on your favorite old movies look now? You might want to take a look at this Then and Now series, then!

  • Sprocket Rocket: a Great Camera for Your Beach Life!

    written by sirio174 on 2014-07-09 in #reviews
    Sprocket Rocket: a Great Camera for Your Beach Life!

    If you are looking for a panoramic camera to document your adventures on the beach, you should try the Sprocket Rocket. It's easy to use, cheap, and can get you amazing results! In this article, you can see how I used this camera to document a short vacation in Liguria, from Varazze to Alassio. Take a look after the jump!

  • Wide-Angle Photo Tips: Size matters!

    written by dopa on 2014-07-15 in #gear #tipster
    Wide-Angle Photo Tips: Size matters!

    In your daily photo practice, a slight difference in focal length can have a huge impact on your images. Does it adjust everything in the photo? Do I get that entire steeple on the image without having to go so far back and then shooting in the sun? How exactly does a fisheye lens work? Read on and find out the answer.

  • Shop News

    Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

    Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

    The Phoblographer Editor's Choice Award Winner "The best street photography camera: film or digital. Pretty much nothing will beat this." Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

  • A Salute to the Masters: The Girl with the Scarred Face (A Tribute to Juergen Teller)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-05-16 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: The Girl with the Scarred Face (A Tribute to Juergen Teller)

    This is a tribute to Juergen Teller, a great fashion photographer who continues to work with analogue cameras. In the 1990s he radically changed the way to make fashion photography. His models appear "soap and water", without heavy make-up, and his images seem taken like an amateur photographer. Between his nice works, there is a photos that I like so much, taken in Cuba and called "The Girl with the Broken Nose." Take a look after the jump!

  • On Using Color Filters to Tweak Hues in Black and White Photography

    written by chooolss on 2014-04-09 in #lifestyle
    On Using Color Filters to Tweak Hues in Black and White Photography

    While it might sound unusual for some right off the bat, black and white film photographers do use color filters to experiment with their shots without ever needing to do some post-processing. How to do that and which filters to use to capture specific scenes? Take a look at this short instructional YouTube video clip by LZ Film Productions!

  • Ajay Malghan's 'Bleached'

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-16 in #lifestyle
    Ajay Malghan's 'Bleached'

    Ajay Malghan makes use of 35mm film and various acidic household products to create cool, trippy art. Have a look after the jump!

    1
  • Shop News

    Get all the Filters you need to tickle out the most of your shots!

    Get all the Filters you need to tickle out the most of your shots!

    We have prepared a special set of filters to boost up your creative possibilities with the Petzval or any other lens with a 58mm filter mount. Get all in one set or pick your favourite and step up your game!

  • Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    Aside from the Magazine, going through the User Blogs is another way to keep tabs on the latest happening in the community. Throughout the year, it was filled with articles on new discoveries, thought-provoking opinions, and exciting exhibits that surely entertained, challenged, and inspired everyone. Let's take a look back at the fruitful year through the most popular user blogs of 2014.

    3
  • The Petzval Apprentice Competition

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-21 in #competitions
    The Petzval Apprentice Competition

    Calling all Petzval Fans! We're inviting you to participate in a special photo competition that aims to highlight your Petzval prowess. The Petzval Apprentice Competition is the first photo contest that is dedicated to the esteemed New Petzval Lens; it's your chance to make a mark in analogue history! Start polishing those optics and get ready to begin shooting your winning masterpiece. The 5 winning photos will even be displayed in our Lomography Gallery Stores worldwide and you can get your winning photo as a print to keep!

    16
  • Then and Now: Alternative Movie Posters Made with Clay

    written by chooolss on 2014-08-21 in #lifestyle
    Then and Now: Alternative Movie Posters Made with Clay

    Ever wondered how some of your favorite movie posters would look like after getting remade using polymer clay? You might want to check out the works of Lizzie Campbell after the jump!