My Short Review of the Pentacon Pentona II and Its Meyer-Optik Lens

6

The Pentacon Pentona is an unusual camera in the Pentacon camera family but it offers some great features, most notably its lens. Read more after the break!

The VEB Pentacon firm in Dresden, which was then East Germany, was the biggest camera and lens factory in the GDR between 1959 and 1990. Best known for its ‘Praktica’ series of SLR cameras, it did however produce a few other more curious gems throughout its relatively long existence, including the Pentacon Six 120-film SLR leviathan, as well as two versions of the camera that I’m going to review here, the 35mm Pentacon Pentona.

Credits: alex34

Originally produced in 1956 by KW, a camera manufacturer that later got absorbed into VEB Pentacon, the Pentona is a fairly basic little point-and-shoot camera which might well have been aimed primarily at children (the frame counter dial has a lovely little smiley face on it.) It nonetheless has some highly attractive features in both of its two versions (I’m reviewing here the second version which differed only in minor details from the first.)

It has a lovely bright viewfinder positioned right above the lens which if combined with clear correction pointers, reduces parallax error to a minimum. It’s robustly built — mostly of aluminum rather than plastic. The whole of the back slides off to load the film, creating more of a light-tight seal to last. It’s small in the hand, and has an incredibly quiet shutter. The film wind lever is on the left (rather than on the right as is more common) and needs to be wound quite firmly along a short span three times to both prime the shutter, advance the film, and move the frame counter.

Finally, the shutter won’t work without film in the camera — the sprocket holes on the film turn a cocking wheel mounted at the center of the camera. Shutter speeds are limited at B-130-60-125. And aperture settings likewise, it’s between 3.5 and 22. It is an all-manual camera with shutter and aperture setting levers mounted on the front lens itself. There is no rangefinder or another way to get exact focus — you have to rotate the lens barrel to the range that you want. This will probably all sound relatively familiar to anyone with a Smena but I think the Pentona has better general build quality and a knockout lens. For me the lens redeems everything else, as you will hopefully be able to see below.

Credits: alex34

The cracking little Meyer-Optik trioplan 45mm lens on this camera gives truly astonishing color rendition, and has got me interested in Meyer-Optik lenses more generally. This lens family seems unjustly-overshadowed often by the more famous Carl Zeiss Jena lenses in the GDR, but were also dominant later on as they were re-labelled ‘Pentacon’. The lens alone leads me to forgive some of the other quirks in this camera, such as the fact that the film rewind knob is absolutely terrible or that I occasionally lose a frame due to the shutter not winding fully and firing correctly.

The range of shutter speed is also very limited, even more limited than on my Exa. But again, you learn to work with that. Finally, guessing the focus is not my favorite thing. But then again, you learn to work with that. The sharpness and color rendition of the lens lead me to forgive pretty much all these faults and makes the little Pentona a very lovable camera in my (or anybody’s) collection. I hope you enjoyed this short review. Looking forward to do more reviews in the future.

written by alex34 on 2013-11-13 in #reviews #east-german-camera #meyer-optik-trioplan #pentacon #pentona

6 Comments

  1. neanderthalis
    neanderthalis ·

    Nicely presented, thank you for sharing your gem.

  2. troch
    troch ·

    Very informative, thanks for sharing!

  3. mapix
    mapix ·

    thanks for the nice review! there is a wonderful little museum in Görlitz, the city of former Meyer Optik production (@alex34 already knows) have a look if you visit the east of Eastern Germany! www.lomography.de/homes/mapix/albums/1980188-talbot-daguerr…

  4. alex34
    alex34 ·

    @@Kocii69 There are only three settings-focus, shutter speed, and aperture. If you look down at the lens barrel y with the camera in your hand you will see all three there-focus settings are closest to the lens, aperture settings are nearest to you and shutter speeds are in between (125-B). Focus is guess focussing, keep it at infinity or set it at 6 if you want an object at medium range in focus, but the far distance out of focus for example. Shutter and aperture speeds interact with the ISO of your chosen film-look up the sunny 16 rule online. On a bright sunny day with ISO 100 or 200 film a shutter speed of 125 with aperture of 16 will be a good guess. Less sunny-change aperture to 11, cloudy-aperture to 8 and so on. Even better, invest in a light meter. It's exactly like any manual film camera, the only limitation is the very low top shutter speed (125).

  5. jean_louis_pujol
    jean_louis_pujol ·

    Nice article! thank you...

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-06 in #gear #tipster
    Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    I recently had the opportunity to take the world’s most creative instant camera — the Lomo'Instant — for a stroll on an unusually warm and sunny November day. My goal was to acquaint myself with the endlessly cool features and infinite possibilities the camera possesses while creating some beautiful photographs in the meantime. Read on to see the results!

  • Petzval Video: Original Tai O in Hong Kong by YCY

    written by sanamiii on 2014-12-12 in #people #lomoamigos #videos
    Petzval Video: Original Tai O in Hong Kong by YCY

    Tai O is one of the most popular locations for a day trip in Hong Kong. Talented young photographer YCY shows us peaceful Tai O without tourists with an unusual Petzval Video. He also shares tips for shooting with the Petzval Lens. Check out the exclusive interview after the jump.

  • Lomo UK Blog Awards 2014

    written by dribri on 2014-12-04 in #competitions
    Lomo UK Blog Awards 2014

    Remember when we featured a great selection at last year's UK Blog Awards? Well, we're bringing it back to honor some of the most interesting blogs online! Read on for the details on how to get involved!

    7
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomo UK Blog Awards 2014: Winners

    written by dribri on 2014-12-11 in #news
    Lomo UK Blog Awards 2014: Winners

    Remember when we featured a great selection at last year's UK Blog Awards? Well, we brought it back to showcase some of the most interesting blogs online! Read on to find out who made the list!

  • 18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear #news
    18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    Having a Belair X 6-12 feels like owning more than just one camera. It's a medium-format camera, but paired with its special accessories you can shoot 35mm or instant photos with it, too! The versatility of its 3 photo formats also offers more options to suit your shooting needs. Here, we present to you some of the most gorgeous Belair X 6-12 photos in classic 6x6 format. Enjoy!

    11
  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Happenings on Film: Mr. & Mrs., Tales of a Wedding

    written by jokelangens on 2014-11-06 in #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: Mr. & Mrs., Tales of a Wedding

    In summer last year, my sister and her lover exchanged "I do's" after five colorful years of happiness and making future plans. It was the perfect occasion to grab some of my cameras and eternalize one of the most beautiful days not only of her life, but also mine.

  • Photos from The Edward Reeves Studio on Exhibit at the Brighton Photo Biennial

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-13 in #news
    Photos from The Edward Reeves Studio on Exhibit at the Brighton Photo Biennial

    The Brighton Photo Biennial is back on its sixth edition this year, and one of the exhibits that photography enthusiasts should check out is that featuring photographs from The Edward Reeves Studio in Sussex, England. Read more about it after the jump!

  • Abstract Visions and Phantasmic Monochromes by Ian Llewelyn

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-08-28 in #people #lomoamigos
    Abstract Visions and Phantasmic Monochromes by Ian Llewelyn

    As a wildlife cameraman and photographer, Ian Llewellyn has worked on a number of television projects. The UK-based lensman breaks free from the strict confines of his profession by engaging in monochrome photography. His personal work is a plethora of abstract and experimental imagery, created in a style distinctly his own. Llewellyn is an ardent user of a Leica Monochrom camera, on which he mounted the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Lens, producing the most imaginative, phantasmic results.

    1
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-02 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    In case you missed it, Lomography has just unveiled the latest member of its Art Lens family: the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens, which boasts of the same optics that the legendary LC-A camera has and brings the classic Lomographic style not only to analog but also to the digital platform. Over the next few days we'll be sharing with you the first impressions of and photographs taken by members of the Lomography team, who had gone out and put the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 to the test. First up is graphic designer Andrea Cislaghi, who coupled this lens with the Bessa R2 and Sony Alpha 7.

    5
  • 10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-08 in #gear #tipster
    10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    With features that allow one to be as creative as possible and a size compact enough to bring it anytime, anywhere, the LC-A+ is indeed an embodiment of our 10 Golden Rules. In this week's feature, we list down some of the ways you could up your photography game with this wonderful camera.

  • Glastonbury As Seen Through the New Petzval 85 Lens by Taio Konishi

    written by ciscoswank on 2015-07-10 in #people #lifestyle #lomoamigos
    Glastonbury As Seen Through the New Petzval 85 Lens by Taio Konishi

    The Glastonbury Festival is arguably one of the most anticipated and renowned music festivals in the world. It is a joy to be able to watch it, and a privilege to capture scenes on and off stage. Apart from creating beautiful portraits, the Petzval Lens is great for adding an albeit subtle drama to the already spectacular scenes of music festivals. Japanese photographer Taio Konishi photographed this year's Glastonbury with a Petzval 85mm Lens, and here are some of the photos. He also talks about his Petzval-meets-Glastonbury experience in this exclusive.

    3