LC-A+ Clones (Russia Day): It Wasn’t Love At First Sight

1

It was not love at first sight with the LC-A+. In fact, it took quite a long while before the idea of even owning the camera entered my mind. It was the LC-A+ Russia Day that made me think twice.

Credits: uncle_jay

For the purpose of this review, I am not going to repeat what many others have said about this wonderful little black box. Instead, I want to share with you how it feels to use the camera. So here’s my take on this camera.

When I was first introduced to the LC-A+ as the ‘mother of all lomo cameras’, my first impression was not positive. I grew up shooting film, so I am used to conventional looking compact cameras. The LC-A+’s appearance was not appealing to me even though black is my preferred choice for cameras. The cost was another. For the price of the LC-A+, I could buy a compact digital camera and shoot to my heart’s content.

Credits: uncle_jay

However, as I started to look at the photos that this little Russian camera can do, I started to view it in a different light.

Credits: uncle_jay

Yet, the decision to purchase this camera was shelved when I had the chance to hold the camera. I didn’t like the feel. It was way too plasticky for my liking, although I did enjoy viewing the photos taken by Lomographers using this camera.

Then one day, I had the chance to hold the LC-A+ Russia Day. As I already have the LC-W, I have developed my own way of holding and winding the LC-W with two hands. It was the same way I held the LC-A+ Russia Day.

For some reason, I liked how the Italian red goat leather felt in my hands. I liked the way the leather helped me hold the camera securely. Not to mention this strange feeling of confidence when holding the camera. But I was still not convinced that I should get one. It was only after much thought that I decided to get one of the 2,000 units that were produced.

Bear in mind that this camera is flashy. Red attracts attention, so it’s not exactly a stealthy camera. If you are a self-conscious photographer, you may want to use it in a touristy area, or in a place where people are so used to seeing cameras of all shapes and colours.

As for me, I tend to keep the camera within easy reach in my bag so I’ll whip it out and snap a photo when I see a good opportunity. I am a causal snap shooter. I see, I like, I shoot, and that’s my philosophy.

Credits: uncle_jay

But I have a problem with the Russia Day emblem at the back of the camera. If I am not careful, it will scratch my glasses.

I like the look of film more than digital. And this LC-A+ camera clone seems to give me the look in my photos that I like. I brought it along on recent holiday to New York and had a great time using it.

Once you’re familiar with the switches, it becomes second nature to flip the switch to the right distance and snap away. More importantly, this LC-A+ clone simply feels good in my hands.

The Lomo LC-A+ Russia Day will show you what Russian Passion is all about. Clad in red leather and decorated with fertility symbols, this special edition camera is limited to 2,000 pieces only. It is equipped with the legendary Russian Minitar 1 32/2.8 lens and comes in an exquisite black wooden lined with precious silk. Get your own Lomo LC-A Russia Day now!

written by uncle_jay on 2013-09-24 in #reviews #requested-post-of-the-month #lc-a #september #russia-day #reviews #red #lc-a-clone

One Comment

  1. djramsay
    djramsay ·

    I love my Russia day, great work on this :)

More Interesting Articles

  • My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-23 in #gear #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    Sonja started her analog adventures during her teenage years. She took her first film photographs when she was 13 and has been in love with the magic of the process since. Her idea of a perfect day involves developing film rolls while listening to jazz and having a cup of tea in between. In this interview, she recalls about her experience with her first Lomography camera, a Holga 120 CFN.

    2
  • Lorenzo Antico's 'Final Shot' Presents Last Shots From 33 Films

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-12 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Lorenzo Antico's 'Final Shot' Presents Last Shots From 33 Films

    A movie's parting shot is a crucial element in the sense that it could either make or break the lasting impression that it would have on its audience. It could either wrap things up quite nicely and leave viewers satisfied, or it could do otherwise. For many, it's often the first thing that comes to mind long after the final credits have rolled out.

  • Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-03 in #world #lifestyle
    Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    As Steve Jobs puts it, "creativity is just connecting things." It's all about tracing one's experiences and pushing the boundaries of what's already known to establish new things. The Lomography community is no stranger to these instances. In fact, the community is filled with brilliant minds who are always ready to refine existing techniques and look for innovative ways to express their visions and ideas. Here are just a few of the creative lomographers we've come to love over the years.

    9
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Scott Brasher Chases Fashion in the Streets of New York with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-03-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    Scott Brasher Chases Fashion in the Streets of New York with the Petzval Lens

    Scott Brasher is a fashion street photographer based in New York City. His work has been featured on many media outlets while working with brands like Cover Girl, MTV, Reebok, and Target, among many others. But before this, Scott started shooting in the streets of Williamsburg, Brooklyn, capturing its daily urban fashion. Last month, he took the Petzval Lens to the streets of New York to photograph scenes at the famous New York Fashion Week.

  • Shooting with the LC-A 120 in the UK

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Shooting with the LC-A 120 in the UK

    Lomography UK was lucky enough to test an LC-A 120 prototype in store and it was glorious! We used colour and black and white film to capture the camera at its finest. It was everything you would expect from the LC-A but in full frame 38mm f/4.5 120 film. It's LOVE.

    1
  • Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part Two)

    written by dermanu on 2014-09-22 in #world #locations
    Summer Hot Spots: Blaavand, Denmark (Part Two)

    When I was a child, I regularly went to Blaavand, located at the Danish west coast, with my brothers and parents. I stopped going there as I grew up. In 2012 however, we hit the road again. It was my first return visit in about 20 years. I took the chance and packed as many cameras as possible into my luggage. In part two of my journey log, I'm going to show you the pictures I took with my Lomography cameras.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • An Interview with Mary Robinson

    written by anamartaml on 2015-08-29 in #people
    An Interview with Mary Robinson

    Mary Robinson has shown a natural talent for photography even at such an early age. Even when she was first featured on the Magazine in 2011, her images already made an impression on the Lomography Community. Her work has evolved in the span of four years, but its quaint beauty remains.

  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!

  • 5 City vs. Nature Scenes

    written by kenaz on 2015-09-02 in #world #lifestyle
    5 City vs. Nature Scenes

    Jungle, home, haven. The same words may apply to both city and nature. Though different they are linked. The city takes after the colors of flowers and animals; people mold their neighborhoods after the shapes of nature. Other similarities are accidental: the fun bit.

    2
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Photo of the Day by oykuoge

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-09-02 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by oykuoge

    This sea filled with jellyfishes bears an uncanny resemblance to a starry sky.

    1
  • Eerie Pinholes from the Lomography Community

    written by kenaz on 2015-09-02 in #world #lifestyle
    Eerie Pinholes from the Lomography Community

    Whether handmade, Holga or Ondu, a pinhole camera produces time lapse on print. The results often come close to illusions.

  • Vicuna's Travel Stories | Ouagadougou: The Pulse of an African City

    written by vicuna on 2015-09-02 in #world #locations
    Vicuna's Travel Stories | Ouagadougou: The Pulse of an African City

    Ouagadougou is the capital of Burkina Faso. 1.6 million people live there when 20 years ago there were only 700,000; that is to say, the incredibly quick growth and the stunning density in this city shows today.

    13