Belair & Belairgon 90mm: First Impressions Review

1

Here are my (mainly positive) impressions of my first colour film test with the Belair and its premium Belairgon 90mm lens. Used with care, this camera can make unforgettable pictures.

I have often used medium format cameras over the years. Medium format images have that fantastic tonality of subtle skin tones and potentially very good detail resolution. I mainly used 6×6 Rolleiflex and 6×4.5 Fuji cameras, yet the enormous 6×12 format was always out of reach.

When I found out about the Belair, I was immediately interested, because normally the nicely wide 6×12 format is way too expensive for amateurs. I bought the kit with the 35mm back which I have not yet tried. I also found out about the two Belairgon lenses which should increase the quality level of the images a few notches, especially when using the full 6×12 format. Hence I ordered the Belairgon 90mm to use it as my main lens. I have not tried the kit lenses, and will likely not do so.

First impressions upon unboxing:
This is a very cool looking camera. I had almost forgotten how simple an analogue camera could be! A good lens, a shutter, a light-tight box and a simple winding mechanism, that is all – it is far removed in operation from digital cameras. The Belair is light and remarkably portable, it is not a robust as my other medium format gear but good enough for careful use. The viewfinders mount easily (and cleverly), the indices are simple but they do the job. A small frustration was that the light meter batteries are not included. And once you have them, pay careful attention on the direction when inserting them.

My Belair with Belairgon 90mm

In general, the 90mm Belairgon lens feels very well made. It is also very practical that it can accept 52mm filters, like filters for black and white and a neutral density filter, handy for dealing with the max 1/125 second shutter speed in some situations. Mounting the lens takes some precision, watch out not to touch the shutter blades! The Belairgon changes the balance of the camera, you will want to support the lens during shooting. Also, my lens mounting plate, normally locked to the body when not in use, tends to unlock at the top because of the lens weight.

Now, on the road!
My first test film was the Lomography 400 colour negative film, with the camera set to 6×12. Now, 6×12 is expensive in use (only 6 pictures per 120 film!), so it is best to pay attention during the whole experience: take care when loading the film, so that it is nicely tight and flat, you want images in focus where you expect it.
I did the light metering with an iphone app. Next to the Belair, I had a Fuji 6×9 rangefinder camera with me to compare the results.

The camera is in general easy to use, there is not much to it, yet you have to pay attention throughout. Immediately forward the film after a shot if you don’t want accidental multiple exposures. Don’t forget to take off the lens cap. And especially, support the lens well when pressing the shutter. In my first test film, 2 pictures were blurry because of my camera shake.

Hold the lens board very stable when you press the shutter or you your image will be blurry!

It must be said that this is ergonomically the minus point of the Belair: the shutter release being a lever on the front board makes it susceptible for vibrations, even when the camera is mounted on a tripod. My humble advice to Lomography for a potential v2 of the camera: add a cable release, ideally via a shutter button on the body!
You’ll also need to guesstimate the distance on the lens. There is now an accessory that can help for closer distances. I estimated and checked with my other camera. The available apertures are f8 and f16, so there is enough depth of field to compensate for your guesses once you shoot farther away. The Belairgon also comes with a handy depth of field diagram, I keep a picture of it in my smartphone for reference.
Regarding light metering, it’s all automatic but you can play a bit with it. I have read (not tested) that the camera locks the light metering when you press the shutter ALMOST completely, you’ll hear a soft click then. Afterwards you could recompose. Or you can also play with the ISO of the film to influence the meter.

So, how are the results?
Very promising. Again, this was just a test film to get a feel for the camera but it is already obvious that the camera and its Belairgon lens allow for great results. I will definitely be using this camera often indeed.

This sample picture was converted to b&w as the picture lends itself well to it.
This is a colour picture inside a bar, it is obvious how nicely the 6×12 format works in interior spaces.
Not a prize winning picture, but it shows how the 6×12 format gives room for nicely wide compositions, also for vertical orientation.

Conclusion
I do recommend the camera, perhaps it is not ideal for the typical “shoot from the hip” Lomographer – I think you’ll have too many bad results then, and as mentioned the 6×12 format is quite expensive in use – which also pushes more towards a thoughtful kind of photography.
It is interesting to compare the Belair + Belairgon set with 2nd hand medium format gear on the market. For the price of the combination or a little more, you can find decent condition 6×4.5, 6×6, 6×7 and 6×9 cameras from respectable brands. Some of these will be more convivial than the Belairgon. However none deliver that 6×12 image, this really makes it special. In addition, the Belairgon lens is remarkably good when focused accurately, the lens is capable of pictures that can be enlarged to poster size. It would be interesting to see Lomography release a Belairgon 58mm as well.

written by talaerts on 2013-09-16 in #reviews #120-film #90mm #jetsetter #review #belair #belairgon

One Comment

  1. ihave2pillows
    ihave2pillows ·

    Thanks for the article! How accurate is the Belair viewfinder? How worry should we be about parallax and the ends of a 6x12 frame being clipped off?

More Interesting Articles

  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • Lomo’Instant Quick Shots: Adriana Brioso

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-12-09 in #gear #tipster
    Lomo’Instant Quick Shots: Adriana Brioso

    There are so many exciting things you can do with the Lomo'instant camera, it's hard to know where to start. We've been giving this lovable Lomo camera the full test drive so that you can experience the full potential of this camera in an instant! Here are some top tips on shooting graffiti and doubles with our UK intern Adriana Brioso.

  • Yael, Lomography NYC's Lab Manager and her Instant Experience

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-11-27 in #lifestyle
    Yael, Lomography NYC's Lab Manager and her Instant Experience

    Here at the Lomography NYC Gallery Store, we are always testing and playing with our cameras and accessories. We asked our staff to test the new Lomo'Instant camera. This time Yael, our lab manager, shared a few pictures shot around her personal life.

  • Shop News

    110 Experiment Kit

    110 Experiment Kit

    With this bundle, you can choose a camera, film and accessories to spice up your 110 shooting experience!

  • Lomo’Instant Quick Shots: Hannah Brown

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-10-28 in #gear #tipster
    Lomo’Instant Quick Shots: Hannah Brown

    There are so many exciting things you can do with the Lomo'instant camera it's hard to know where to start! We've been giving this lovable Lomo camera the full test drive so that you can experience the full potential of this camera in an instant! Here are some top tips on shooting graffiti and doubles with Hannah Brown.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ and Diana+ 75mm Premium Glass Lens are now ready to give you the best shots with vignetting effects, crisp quality shots together with the signature dreamy appeal of the Diana! Save 15% on the Glass Lens in this Bundle!

  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-02 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    In case you missed it, Lomography has just unveiled the latest member of its Art Lens family: the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens, which boasts of the same optics that the legendary LC-A camera has and brings the classic Lomographic style not only to analog but also to the digital platform. Over the next few days we'll be sharing with you the first impressions of and photographs taken by members of the Lomography team, who had gone out and put the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 to the test. First up is graphic designer Andrea Cislaghi, who coupled this lens with the Bessa R2 and Sony Alpha 7.

    3
  • Lomo’Instant Quick Shots: Adam Powell

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-11-04 in #gear #tipster
    Lomo’Instant Quick Shots: Adam Powell

    There are so many exciting things you can do with the Lomo'Instant camera, it's hard to know where to start! We've been giving this lovable Lomo camera the full test drive so that you can experience its full potential in an instant! Here are some top tips on shooting very long exposures in dark places.

    3
  • Fresh from My Darkroom: The First Game of the New Rugby Season

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-15 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from My Darkroom: The First Game of the New Rugby Season

    Last Sunday, the local rugby team Rugby Como played the first match of the 2014-1025 season. Rugby is my favorite sport to photograph, and for some years I've been documenting almost every home match of this young team. This time I used a 1959 Zorki 5 camera with a vintage 1958 Industar-50 lens loaded with a timeless film, the Ilford HP5+ developed in a century-old developer, the mythical Rodinal. Take a look after the jump!

    1
  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Far and Wide with the Russar+ Lens

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-10-09 in #lifestyle
    Far and Wide with the Russar+ Lens

    Paired with your camera of choice, the New Russar+ Lens can produce exceptional images wide-angle dreams are made of. Whether you're in the market for stunning landscapes or striking street photos, the Russar+ makes an ideal companion during those photographic expeditions. Dan from Lomography Hong Kong recently shot with the wide-angle wonder, and here are some of the photos from his shoot.

  • Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-06 in #gear #reviews
    Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    In this article, I'll show you how the Lomo LC-A loaded with the versatile Ilford HP5+ can make the most out of a hazy morning. To capture the whirlwind of a bicycle race, I pushed the film to ISO 800. The legendary Minitar 1 lens and this classic Ilford film are a perfect combination if you love black and white photos.

    1