Review on the Violet Ranger: the Fuji T64 Pro

Fuji T64 Pro is like an artist with a limited palette. Please approach him only if you need PURPLE or VIOLET!

Credits: an_lai_drew

You know sometimes you just have to admit how surprised you are while admiring the amazing cross processed scans you get from the lab, especially from a slide film that you never personally tried before. One of the most fantastic slide films that I have exposed in my life, in fact, had stayed in the fridge for a year before I loaded into my beloved LC-A+. It is the violet-filled Fuji T64 Pro.

Credits: an_lai_drew

The end of a long period of project submissions means the start of taking more photographs. So I loaded the dead-frozen film in my LC-A+ to try out the long-renowned purple quality of the film.

Credits: an_lai_drew

After reading some information online, I learned that the purple or some say blue will only prevail under cloudy or overcast weather. Well too bad, I am living in a tropical country, but violet is not too bad, right?

I love how the cross processing emphasized the strong contrast on the shadows, as if it has increased the depth of the photos.

Credits: an_lai_drew

The film also produces beautiful portraits. With limited light source, a gentle splash of flash is enough to do the artistic push it needs.

Credits: an_lai_drew

ISO 64 means you have more than enough steps to have multiple exposures with the minimum setting of ISO 100 by the Lomo LC-A+. If you want to play safe, dial to ISO 200.

Credits: an_lai_drew

This film just B-L-E-W me away, I will say. With little bit of luck, the chemical spice has transformed all my lomographs into paintings drenched in violet, like an artist that run out of other colors like blue or green (or even yellow).

Shooting Fuji T64 Pro 35mm during the daylight will yield a moody and awesome blue tone throughout your whole image, while using a yellow flash will create a natural-white subject in a bizarre bluesy world. See the whole range of colour slides in our Shop.

written by an_lai_drew on 2013-09-28 in #reviews #fuji-t64 #review #ranger #purple #violet #iso-64

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Diana Multi Pinhole Operator

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-26 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Diana Multi Pinhole Operator

    Pinhole photography is too simple, you say? Shake things up a little and push the limits of your creativity with the Diana Multi Pinhole Operator!

  • An even easier way to like photos (for now only within albums)

    written by recurving on 2015-02-25 in #world #news
    An even easier way to like photos (for now only within albums)

    Here's an idea we've came up with to make liking on Lomography even easier: allowing you to like photos on the overview page. Right now we've only unlocked it for albums – so please give it a try before we roll it out throughout the site!

    35
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Meet our LomoGuru Roger Lean

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-06-13 in #news
    Meet our LomoGuru Roger Lean

    Roger Lean is the master of the LC-A. If you have a faulty LC-A, he is the man who can fix it for you. We gave him a bunch of cameras a few months ago; he worked his magic and fixed them all! As part of the LC-A's 30th Anniversary celebrations, were are offering these refurbished cameras with an incredible discount. Read on for more information.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Share the Love for Analogue: Great Deals for Great Days!

    written by jacobs on 2015-04-04 in #gear #news
    Share the Love for Analogue: Great Deals for Great Days!

    Film Photography Day is fast approaching – are you and your pals ready for the celebration? If you’re looking for new analogue goodies to play with, you’re just in time for a sweet treat!

  • Shop News

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes in a Bundle with 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Meet Christopher Logan, Lomography's Special Correspondent for NY Fashion Week

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-09-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Meet Christopher Logan, Lomography's Special Correspondent for NY Fashion Week

    Being a part of Fashion Week is not easy. You need to know high-profile personalities and e-mail tons of guys to be on the Fashion Week A-list. So when Christopher came to Lomography with the idea of being our official Fashion Week correspondent (and after showing us his stunning fashion portfolio), we were very excited to work with him.

  • Sean Marc Lee Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by shanti929 on 2014-11-19 in #people #lomoamigos
    Sean Marc Lee Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    He expresses his photographic thoughts with brief words and manifests his photographic mind with simple images. For Sean Marc Lee, photography is a part life,and it happens naturally, like sleeping or breathing. This brings us to the question: how would he practice photography with the new Petzval Lens? Let's accompany him on his Petzval journey.

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-05 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    Read on dear friend and I will weave a story for you. There may be more questions than answers raised by this peculiar tale. But if it’s clarity you seek, have no fear, things will become clear in time (they always do, don’t they?). So rub the Sandman’s dust from your sleepy eyes and take a journey with me. If you think you have an answer when we reach the end, please do share it in the comments!

    8
  • Shop News

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    Start capturing images even in low-light conditions with this bundle you can create your own combination of LC-A camera and Iblazr flash. And save 20% off!

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #people #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-09 in #news
    Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    Did you enjoy shooting with Cine200 Tungsten Film when it launched? Or were you one of the unlucky many who missed out on this ultra-limited edition emulsion? Well, we’re thrilled to say we have an exciting follow-up to Cine200 which will launch in just a few days! And as the other film sold out so fast, we wanted to give you the opportunity to sign-up to our list to get the news as soon as it happens.

    1