Review on the Violet Ranger: the Fuji T64 Pro

Fuji T64 Pro is like an artist with a limited palette. Please approach him only if you need PURPLE or VIOLET!

Credits: an_lai_drew

You know sometimes you just have to admit how surprised you are while admiring the amazing cross processed scans you get from the lab, especially from a slide film that you never personally tried before. One of the most fantastic slide films that I have exposed in my life, in fact, had stayed in the fridge for a year before I loaded into my beloved LC-A+. It is the violet-filled Fuji T64 Pro.

Credits: an_lai_drew

The end of a long period of project submissions means the start of taking more photographs. So I loaded the dead-frozen film in my LC-A+ to try out the long-renowned purple quality of the film.

Credits: an_lai_drew

After reading some information online, I learned that the purple or some say blue will only prevail under cloudy or overcast weather. Well too bad, I am living in a tropical country, but violet is not too bad, right?

I love how the cross processing emphasized the strong contrast on the shadows, as if it has increased the depth of the photos.

Credits: an_lai_drew

The film also produces beautiful portraits. With limited light source, a gentle splash of flash is enough to do the artistic push it needs.

Credits: an_lai_drew

ISO 64 means you have more than enough steps to have multiple exposures with the minimum setting of ISO 100 by the Lomo LC-A+. If you want to play safe, dial to ISO 200.

Credits: an_lai_drew

This film just B-L-E-W me away, I will say. With little bit of luck, the chemical spice has transformed all my lomographs into paintings drenched in violet, like an artist that run out of other colors like blue or green (or even yellow).

Shooting Fuji T64 Pro 35mm during the daylight will yield a moody and awesome blue tone throughout your whole image, while using a yellow flash will create a natural-white subject in a bizarre bluesy world. See the whole range of colour slides in our Shop.

written by an_lai_drew on 2013-09-28 in #reviews #fuji-t64 #violet #ranger #review #purple #iso-64

More Interesting Articles

  • An even easier way to like photos (for now only within albums)

    written by recurving on 2015-02-25 in #world #news
    An even easier way to like photos (for now only within albums)

    Here's an idea we've came up with to make liking on Lomography even easier: allowing you to like photos on the overview page. Right now we've only unlocked it for albums – so please give it a try before we roll it out throughout the site!

    35
  • Awesome Albums: Montserrat in Lomochrome Purple, LC-A+ by kleinerkaries

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-20 in #news
    Awesome Albums: Montserrat in Lomochrome Purple, LC-A+ by kleinerkaries

    Today's featured awesome album is yet another impressive set of travel snaps taken using the Lomochrome Purple. If, like us, you can't seem to get enough of those beautiful landscapes in surreal hues, we're sure this is an album you'd love!

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Fly over to our 30% Discount Section to discover previously unavailable Editions & Clones! Be quick and make one yours before they are all gone again!

  • Meet our LomoGuru Roger Lean

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-06-13 in #news
    Meet our LomoGuru Roger Lean

    Roger Lean is the master of the LC-A. If you have a faulty LC-A, he is the man who can fix it for you. We gave him a bunch of cameras a few months ago; he worked his magic and fixed them all! As part of the LC-A's 30th Anniversary celebrations, were are offering these refurbished cameras with an incredible discount. Read on for more information.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Share the Love for Analogue: Great Deals for Great Days!

    written by jacobs on 2015-04-04 in #gear #news
    Share the Love for Analogue: Great Deals for Great Days!

    Film Photography Day is fast approaching – are you and your pals ready for the celebration? If you’re looking for new analogue goodies to play with, you’re just in time for a sweet treat!

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • Meet Christopher Logan, Lomography's Special Correspondent for NY Fashion Week

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-09-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Meet Christopher Logan, Lomography's Special Correspondent for NY Fashion Week

    Being a part of Fashion Week is not easy. You need to know high-profile personalities and e-mail tons of guys to be on the Fashion Week A-list. So when Christopher came to Lomography with the idea of being our official Fashion Week correspondent (and after showing us his stunning fashion portfolio), we were very excited to work with him.

  • Sean Marc Lee Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by shanti929 on 2014-11-19 in #people #lomoamigos
    Sean Marc Lee Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    He expresses his photographic thoughts with brief words and manifests his photographic mind with simple images. For Sean Marc Lee, photography is a part life,and it happens naturally, like sleeping or breathing. This brings us to the question: how would he practice photography with the new Petzval Lens? Let's accompany him on his Petzval journey.

  • Useful Guidelines on Shooting with Ultra Wide Lenses

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-04-19 in #gear #tipster
    Useful Guidelines on Shooting with Ultra Wide Lenses

    Wide-angle lens are further divided into sub-classifications: Wide, ultra-wide and ultra-ultra-wide. Based on current standards, wide lenses for 35mm cameras are those with focal lengths ranging from 24 to 35mm. Lenses are considered ultra-wide if they have focal lengths from 17 to 21 mm, and ultra-ultra-wide if from 12 to 16mm. The New Russar+ is a 20mm lens; hence it falls under the ultra-wide classification. If you have an ultra-wide lens or if you intend to get the Russar+, you might as well make the most out of your precious investment. Read on for a few guidelines on shooting with ultra-wide lenses.

    2
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-05 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    Read on dear friend and I will weave a story for you. There may be more questions than answers raised by this peculiar tale. But if it’s clarity you seek, have no fear, things will become clear in time (they always do, don’t they?). So rub the Sandman’s dust from your sleepy eyes and take a journey with me. If you think you have an answer when we reach the end, please do share it in the comments!

    8
  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • Playing Detective: An Interview with Derek Woods, the Man Behind the Controversial True Detective Photo (NSFW)

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2014-05-03 in #people #lifestyle
    Playing Detective: An Interview with Derek Woods, the Man Behind the Controversial True Detective Photo (NSFW)

    Derek Woods is an Los Angeles-based photographer who previously got involved in a controversy surrounding a photo that was used in the opening credits of the HBO TV series "True Detective." Coincidentally, Woods happens to be a member of the Lomo community, and it became vital to interview him regarding the issue. The interview was successful and was published in May last year. His current project, 365 of Lomography, will chronicle his day-to-day exploits with Lomography cameras. To jog your memory, and to re-acquaint you with Woods, we are republishing our interview with the controversial photographer. Please take note that some of the photos are NSFW.

    4