My review of the Diana F+ Tori Amos Edition

1

My Diana F + Tori Amos Limited is the first Lomographic camera I had in my hands. This is the camera that introduced me to Lomography and its artistic possibilities.

I have this Diana F+ obviously because I’m a fan Tori Amos. In fact I remember at the time when I received the offer from the mailing list, I could not resist buying this package. It included a CD dedicated to her first live performance in Russia.

When I received it at the time, I was surprised with the content. I don’t know what a toy camera is, or even a 120 roll. Though skeptical, I trusted the offer of the Tori Amos edition. Then I started my exploration.

As you can see, my first test shoots were fairly standard but fun! Nothing special except the use of Colorsplash, Ringflash, and Fisheye lens. I was having fun. I’m a big fan of the 70s so this quirky and psychedelic side immediately got me hooked.

Credits: jaybees80

For the Fisheye lens, I quickly realized the advantage of voluntary distortion of vision. In a sense, it acts as a Judas gate, it distorts reality and can stand back from it. In other words, you steer your way as you control the camera and create your own distorted reality.

Credits: jaybees80

The portrait with Diana and Ringflash has an increase in vignetting and you can clearly see a star shape as it reflected on my model’s sunglasses.

The plastic lenses cause a particular effect on the photos making them kind of unreal with a hint of dreaminess. Obviously this dreamy reality is a perfect example of the distinct quality of analogue photography.

I believe this is what attracted me the most with the Diana F+ and the music of Tori Amos. In a way, the music of Tori Amos has always allowed me to escape from reality. I often think of this picture of her debut album where she is pictured in a box. Sometimes I wish I had a similar same box to get away from it all. In a sense, this Diana F+ Tori Amos edition is that box at my fingertips.

Every time I use my Diana F +, I hear her music playing in the room. For me, when I press the shutter it is as if I pressed a deep note from Amos Bösendorfer.

Even as I was seduced by digital, I still kept on holding to my analogue photography as inspired by Tori Amos and Neil Gaiman. Back then, I was kind of into abstract photography. See for yourself!

To control my work on the dream, I had to go through something more concrete. That is what this camera has allowed me to do. Skip a digital abstract work towards a more concrete and more physically tangible work.

And this is for me the whole point of Diana F+ Tori Amos edition. I get to see things in a dream-like way.

Credits: jaybees80

Amos is often seen by her fans as a queen from a fairy tale with her artistic lyrics. in this light, she acts as a kind of muse for Lomographers who have this same camera and are also fans of her music.

Credits: jaybees80

Escapism increasingly became a guideline when this camera is in my hands. The addition of the Splitzer allows an new area for exploration. An aperture to a new world which consists unconsciously and is just a click away. It serves as an additional eye to look at the world with.

Credits: jaybees80

Explore your dream with the color from the Diana F+ Tori Amos Edition. It can be a way for you to explore your creative side and express yourself in a whole new different light.

Credits: jaybees80

The Diana F+ Tori Amos Edition inspires us to create memories and dreams. For me, the music of Tori Amos flows through my camera and the photographs I shoot.

The Diana F+ is a new twist on the ‘60s classic cult camera. Famous for its dreamy and soft-focused images, the Diana F+ is now packed with extra features such as panorama and pinhole capabilities. Available in our Online Shop.

written by jaybees80 on 2013-10-01 in #reviews #piano #lomography #photo #inspiration #music #revue #diana-f #medium-format #moyen-format #diana
translated by jaybees80

One Comment

  1. herbert-4
    herbert-4 ·

    Excellent article!!

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-09 in #reviews
    Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    The story between the Spinner 360 and I goes way back to the year 2010, when Lomography decided to send me a beta model of the Spinner 360 to test. It was a complete surprise! I thought, "What the hell is that?" as I first took this camera out of the package. Then, when my little brother grabbed it from me and pulled the cord, it buzzed and turned 360°! We all had the same expression: "Whoa..."

    4
  • Love at First Lomo: My Affair with the Diana F+

    written by Charissa Pajarillo on 2015-02-19 in #gear #lifestyle
    Love at First Lomo: My Affair with the Diana F+

    When I say that this will be my first and last love, I mean it. I know that it's too early to say this now but that is how I feel about my Diana F+.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews #videos
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    2
  • Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-11-20 in #reviews
    Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    In April of this year I had the chance to test the Petzval Lens and to write a review on it for the German photography forum Kwerfeldein. The lens excited me from the very beginning, at the time it was introduced on Kickstarter. I was afraid that once I had tested the lens, I would want to have one of my own! Well, that’s what happened; a year later, I finally bought my very own Petzval lens.

    1
  • Mallorynox and her Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-29 in #gear #lifestyle
    Mallorynox and her Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    Barbora Smoláková's first brush with lomography started with a Diana F+ Deluxe Kit. With its variety of accessories, the Diana F+ allowed her to explore the endless possibilities of creative photography. In this interview, she opens up about her experience shooting with this versatile camera and how it helped her appreciate the beauty of ordinary things.

    3
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • The Magical Diana F+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-10-07 in #reviews
    The Magical Diana F+

    "Magical" here means that every time I use the Diana F+, the results are always beyond both my expectations and imagination. That's why I always use it when I feel like doing something different. It has never failed me since day one; I even always bring this camera during my trips!

    6
  • My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    written by raypg on 2014-09-05 in #lifestyle
    My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    I love the different styles of cameras that Lomography has, but I also like to create my own cardboard cameras that use pinholes to be able to take pictures using traditional film. This time I created the Pinhole F, a camera inspired by the Diana F+ and shoots 12 pinhole photos using 120 film.

    3
  • Lubitel 166+: A Review By A Four-Month Newbie

    written by hervinsyah on 2014-09-10 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: A Review By A Four-Month Newbie

    Many thanks to Lomography for choosing me as one of the Win Your Wishlist Rumble 2013 winners. Now, I can finally try using this precious camera.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-14 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

    2
  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1