My review of the Diana F+ Tori Amos Edition

1

My Diana F + Tori Amos Limited is the first Lomographic camera I had in my hands. This is the camera that introduced me to Lomography and its artistic possibilities.

I have this Diana F+ obviously because I’m a fan Tori Amos. In fact I remember at the time when I received the offer from the mailing list, I could not resist buying this package. It included a CD dedicated to her first live performance in Russia.

When I received it at the time, I was surprised with the content. I don’t know what a toy camera is, or even a 120 roll. Though skeptical, I trusted the offer of the Tori Amos edition. Then I started my exploration.

As you can see, my first test shoots were fairly standard but fun! Nothing special except the use of Colorsplash, Ringflash, and Fisheye lens. I was having fun. I’m a big fan of the 70s so this quirky and psychedelic side immediately got me hooked.

Credits: jaybees80

For the Fisheye lens, I quickly realized the advantage of voluntary distortion of vision. In a sense, it acts as a Judas gate, it distorts reality and can stand back from it. In other words, you steer your way as you control the camera and create your own distorted reality.

Credits: jaybees80

The portrait with Diana and Ringflash has an increase in vignetting and you can clearly see a star shape as it reflected on my model’s sunglasses.

The plastic lenses cause a particular effect on the photos making them kind of unreal with a hint of dreaminess. Obviously this dreamy reality is a perfect example of the distinct quality of analogue photography.

I believe this is what attracted me the most with the Diana F+ and the music of Tori Amos. In a way, the music of Tori Amos has always allowed me to escape from reality. I often think of this picture of her debut album where she is pictured in a box. Sometimes I wish I had a similar same box to get away from it all. In a sense, this Diana F+ Tori Amos edition is that box at my fingertips.

Every time I use my Diana F +, I hear her music playing in the room. For me, when I press the shutter it is as if I pressed a deep note from Amos Bösendorfer.

Even as I was seduced by digital, I still kept on holding to my analogue photography as inspired by Tori Amos and Neil Gaiman. Back then, I was kind of into abstract photography. See for yourself!

To control my work on the dream, I had to go through something more concrete. That is what this camera has allowed me to do. Skip a digital abstract work towards a more concrete and more physically tangible work.

And this is for me the whole point of Diana F+ Tori Amos edition. I get to see things in a dream-like way.

Credits: jaybees80

Amos is often seen by her fans as a queen from a fairy tale with her artistic lyrics. in this light, she acts as a kind of muse for Lomographers who have this same camera and are also fans of her music.

Credits: jaybees80

Escapism increasingly became a guideline when this camera is in my hands. The addition of the Splitzer allows an new area for exploration. An aperture to a new world which consists unconsciously and is just a click away. It serves as an additional eye to look at the world with.

Credits: jaybees80

Explore your dream with the color from the Diana F+ Tori Amos Edition. It can be a way for you to explore your creative side and express yourself in a whole new different light.

Credits: jaybees80

The Diana F+ Tori Amos Edition inspires us to create memories and dreams. For me, the music of Tori Amos flows through my camera and the photographs I shoot.

The Diana F+ is a new twist on the ‘60s classic cult camera. Famous for its dreamy and soft-focused images, the Diana F+ is now packed with extra features such as panorama and pinhole capabilities. Available in our Online Shop.

written by jaybees80 on 2013-10-01 in #reviews #medium-format #music #piano #revue #diana #lomography #diana-f #moyen-format #inspiration #photo
translated by jaybees80

One Comment

  1. herbert-4
    herbert-4 ·

    Excellent article!!

More Interesting Articles

  • Love at First Lomo: My Affair with the Diana F+

    written by Charissa Pajarillo on 2015-02-19 in #gear #lifestyle
    Love at First Lomo: My Affair with the Diana F+

    When I say that this will be my first and last love, I mean it. I know that it's too early to say this now but that is how I feel about my Diana F+.

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews #videos
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    2
  • Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    written by nickpage on 2015-09-19 in #world #lifestyle
    Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    It had been five years since my last visit to the Côte d'Azur in France. During this period, I took to film photography again. And so for my return, I was looking forward to capturing, with my handy film cameras, some of that special light and blue sea that had drawn so many artists to the Riviera.

  • Shop News

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Want to push your limits in the field of photography? Go large format! This camera uses a 4x5” film and can capture all the subjects you want with this pinhole camera in large format!

  • Mallorynox and her Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-29 in #gear #lifestyle
    Mallorynox and her Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    Barbora Smoláková's first brush with lomography started with a Diana F+ Deluxe Kit. With its variety of accessories, the Diana F+ allowed her to explore the endless possibilities of creative photography. In this interview, she opens up about her experience shooting with this versatile camera and how it helped her appreciate the beauty of ordinary things.

    3
  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-14 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

    2
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • Shop News

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Prepare your overwhelming panoramic views and capture them with this ultra-wide panoramic 35mm gear. Start sharing your great memories with family and friends the analog way!

  • R.E.M. X Lomography Photo Contest

    written by givesmehell on 2015-05-29 in #world #competitions
    R.E.M. X Lomography Photo Contest

    Lomography is proud to announce that we are teaming up with acclaimed rock band R.E.M. to host an exclusive one-of-a-kind photo competition! The prizes include a Lomography Diana F+ Special Edition Camera, the acclaimed new ‘R.E.M. By MTV’ DVD, R.E.M. vinyl and more! Read on to see how you can participate in this rumble.

    14
  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-02 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    In case you missed it, Lomography has just unveiled the latest member of its Art Lens family: the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens, which boasts of the same optics that the legendary LC-A camera has and brings the classic Lomographic style not only to analog but also to the digital platform. Over the next few days we'll be sharing with you the first impressions of and photographs taken by members of the Lomography team, who had gone out and put the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 to the test. First up is graphic designer Andrea Cislaghi, who coupled this lens with the Bessa R2 and Sony Alpha 7.

    5
  • Happenings on Film: The Lake Como Expo Night 2015

    written by sirio174 on 2015-06-22 in #world #events
    Happenings on Film: The Lake Como Expo Night 2015

    This article is the first one that I want to dedicate to the Expo 2015. A month ago, my city Como hosted a night spectacular preceding the opening of the Universal Exposition in Milan. With my Praktica and color film, I documented this joyful, artistic event.

    1