Fuji Superia Venus (35mm, 800 iso) User-Review

4

Night photography made simple for me and you, you and I.

So you want to take some photos at Night, and you have done it before with a film of a lower iso level. You’ve taken shots at night but using the Bulb function was not your thing, guesstimation was not meant for you.

Don’t stress much longer, Fuji Superia Venus is the film for you! This film works great at night, it solved my problems of underexposed shots. I no longer have to guestimate, that’s if your camera has no built-in light meter. I’ve heard that films with faster speeds produce a lot of grain, I was worried about that when using this film. When I saw the outcome, the grain was visible, but not disturbing as I thought it might be. For a film which is expired of 5 years, trust me, it works perfectly fine. The film is able to deliver its purpose, making my shots exposed at the right level. Best part is, I did not use flash for any of shots, it was scary not to use flash, but when I saw the results, SWEET! People wouldn’t be surprised by a flash coming from nowhere! I’m surely going to enjoy shooting at night with this film, Venus is my film of the night =)

written by cinzinc on 2010-04-03 in #reviews #night #expired #fuji-superia-venus #iso800 #olympusxa2

4 Comments

  1. ritamiguel
    ritamiguel ·

    really nice for shots with no flash!

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    Yeah ! Cool night shots !

  3. jaminsemirang
    jaminsemirang ·

    @cinzinc I have one of this film and can't wait to go hunting with it after reading this article. How about using some flash? hehehe

  4. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    @jaminsemirang If you're camera has a setting of 800iso, there could be a chance of over exposing the shot with flash. But, in the spirit of lomography, give it a shot! =) experiment!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-14 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • First of Summer 2014

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-27 in #lifestyle
    First of Summer 2014

    What do you do when the blues get to you? For me, it’s simple – surround yourself with great company and just head out to the beach!

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

    1
  • Wide Angle Photography Tips: Photographing Architecture with the Lomo LC-Wide

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-06 in #gear #tipster
    Wide Angle Photography Tips: Photographing Architecture with the Lomo LC-Wide

    In celebration of the 30th anniversary of the fantastic Lomo LC-A, and while waiting for the new Russar+ lens, I'll dedicate this article to an awesome super wide-angle camera: my Lomo LC-Wide that I like to use in architecture photography. Here you can read some simple tips I used to take a series of photos in the modern city of Latina in the center of Italy.

    2
  • Shop News

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

  • La Sardina: As Versatile as Life Itself

    written by dopa on 2014-08-08 in #reviews
    La Sardina: As Versatile as Life Itself

    We first met a year ago - me and the La Sardina. So I guess it is time for me to show you what is so great about it!

  • Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 1)

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-02 in #world #locations
    Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 1)

    Aside from the fact that Ubud is a must-visit tourist spot in Bali, it is also the perfect place to relax and get inspired. There, you’ll see and feel something different. Staying there for a month in 2012 made me discover good places to visit. If ever you'll be in Bali for a holiday, don't forget to visit Ubud. Now, I shall take you on a quick visit to this town!

    4
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Paragon and World Pinhole Photography Day

    written by akula on 2014-04-30 in #lifestyle
    Paragon and World Pinhole Photography Day

    The afternoon of April 27, 2014 was spent on a Langley farm in Canada taking pictures with a homemade paint can pinhole camera, celebrating World Pinhole Photography Day. I am akula, a high school photography teacher, and this is why pinhole photography works for me.

    2
  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: February - Nighttime Traffic

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-03-11 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: February - Nighttime Traffic

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. In February, I wanted to take one of those long exposure night shots of traffic. You know the type: nighttime cityscape, with bright red and white stripes where traffic passes. I love those shots, but I had never gotten around taking one.

    2
  • Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    written by sirio174 on 2014-05-13 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    Yesterday I picked up from my trusty photography shop in Como a developed and scanned color film roll containing images of the Sicilian festival held on May 1 at the city's historical center. A few hours ago, I made some scans of these images, which I'm pleased to show you in this article! Read more after the jump!