Fuji Superia Venus (35mm, 800 iso) User-Review

4

Night photography made simple for me and you, you and I.

So you want to take some photos at Night, and you have done it before with a film of a lower iso level. You’ve taken shots at night but using the Bulb function was not your thing, guesstimation was not meant for you.

Don’t stress much longer, Fuji Superia Venus is the film for you! This film works great at night, it solved my problems of underexposed shots. I no longer have to guestimate, that’s if your camera has no built-in light meter. I’ve heard that films with faster speeds produce a lot of grain, I was worried about that when using this film. When I saw the outcome, the grain was visible, but not disturbing as I thought it might be. For a film which is expired of 5 years, trust me, it works perfectly fine. The film is able to deliver its purpose, making my shots exposed at the right level. Best part is, I did not use flash for any of shots, it was scary not to use flash, but when I saw the results, SWEET! People wouldn’t be surprised by a flash coming from nowhere! I’m surely going to enjoy shooting at night with this film, Venus is my film of the night =)

written by cinzinc on 2010-04-03 in #reviews

4 Comments

  1. ritamiguel
    ritamiguel ·

    really nice for shots with no flash!

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    Yeah ! Cool night shots !

  3. jaminsemirang
    jaminsemirang ·

    @cinzinc I have one of this film and can't wait to go hunting with it after reading this article. How about using some flash? hehehe

  4. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    @jaminsemirang If you're camera has a setting of 800iso, there could be a chance of over exposing the shot with flash. But, in the spirit of lomography, give it a shot! =) experiment!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Simple Color Gels or Filters Holder for the Diana Mini's Flash

    written by grungyjodie on 2014-04-25 in #gear #tipster
    Simple Color Gels or Filters Holder for the Diana Mini's Flash

    I've always been looking for a really simple solution to hold my color gels of my Diana Mini's flash WITH the camera and make them easy to grab when I want to use them. I also wanted something to keep them from getting damaged. Let me show you how I found a simple way to make it.

  • Shop News

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Build vivid hanging LomoCurtains, robust free-standing LomoCastles, and dazzling mounted LomoMosaics! Just click them together with the Lomography Photoclips!

  • First of Summer 2014

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-27 in #lifestyle
    First of Summer 2014

    What do you do when the blues get to you? For me, it’s simple – surround yourself with great company and just head out to the beach!

  • Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    written by dermanu on 2014-03-19 in #lifestyle
    Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    Just recently I asked myself why I would want to write about a film like the Fuji Instax Mini, because usually this film is the only one available for Fuji Instax cameras. But then it hit me! It can be an alternative to many other instant films, since I can load almost any film into my Diana F+, other medium and 135 format cameras, and of course the Fuji Instax Mini.

  • Wide Angle Photography Tips: Photographing Architecture with the Lomo LC-Wide

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-06 in #gear #tipster
    Wide Angle Photography Tips: Photographing Architecture with the Lomo LC-Wide

    In celebration of the 30th anniversary of the fantastic Lomo LC-A, and while waiting for the new Russar+ lens, I'll dedicate this article to an awesome super wide-angle camera: my Lomo LC-Wide that I like to use in architecture photography. Here you can read some simple tips I used to take a series of photos in the modern city of Latina in the center of Italy.

    2
  • Shop News

    DIY Camera for Less!

    DIY Camera for Less!

    You can now have the Pinhole Art DIY 135 at 40% less! Start setting up your own camera, shoot in 35mm format and get those soft-focused wide-angled images.

  • La Sardina: As Versatile as Life Itself

    written by dopa on 2014-08-08 in #reviews
    La Sardina: As Versatile as Life Itself

    We first met a year ago - me and the La Sardina. So I guess it is time for me to show you what is so great about it!

  • Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 1)

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-02 in #world #locations
    Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 1)

    Aside from the fact that Ubud is a must-visit tourist spot in Bali, it is also the perfect place to relax and get inspired. There, you’ll see and feel something different. Staying there for a month in 2012 made me discover good places to visit. If ever you'll be in Bali for a holiday, don't forget to visit Ubud. Now, I shall take you on a quick visit to this town!

    4
  • When to Capture the Streets in Color

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-03-26 in #gear #tipster
    When to Capture the Streets in Color

    While I know that many prefer their street photos in black and white, I also think it's worth snapping the streets in color once in a while. Let me share with you some of the ways I see and capture the cities I go to in glorious technicolor in this simple tipster!

    2
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Paragon and World Pinhole Photography Day

    written by akula on 2014-04-30 in #lifestyle
    Paragon and World Pinhole Photography Day

    The afternoon of April 27, 2014 was spent on a Langley farm in Canada taking pictures with a homemade paint can pinhole camera, celebrating World Pinhole Photography Day. I am akula, a high school photography teacher, and this is why pinhole photography works for me.

    2
  • Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    written by sirio174 on 2014-05-13 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    Yesterday I picked up from my trusty photography shop in Como a developed and scanned color film roll containing images of the Sicilian festival held on May 1 at the city's historical center. A few hours ago, I made some scans of these images, which I'm pleased to show you in this article! Read more after the jump!

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10