Fuji Superia Venus (35mm, 800 iso) User-Review

4

Night photography made simple for me and you, you and I.

So you want to take some photos at Night, and you have done it before with a film of a lower iso level. You’ve taken shots at night but using the Bulb function was not your thing, guesstimation was not meant for you.

Don’t stress much longer, Fuji Superia Venus is the film for you! This film works great at night, it solved my problems of underexposed shots. I no longer have to guestimate, that’s if your camera has no built-in light meter. I’ve heard that films with faster speeds produce a lot of grain, I was worried about that when using this film. When I saw the outcome, the grain was visible, but not disturbing as I thought it might be. For a film which is expired of 5 years, trust me, it works perfectly fine. The film is able to deliver its purpose, making my shots exposed at the right level. Best part is, I did not use flash for any of shots, it was scary not to use flash, but when I saw the results, SWEET! People wouldn’t be surprised by a flash coming from nowhere! I’m surely going to enjoy shooting at night with this film, Venus is my film of the night =)

written by cinzinc on 2010-04-03 in #reviews #iso800 #expired #olympusxa2 #night #fuji-superia-venus

4 Comments

  1. ritamiguel
    ritamiguel ·

    really nice for shots with no flash!

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    Yeah ! Cool night shots !

  3. jaminsemirang
    jaminsemirang ·

    @cinzinc I have one of this film and can't wait to go hunting with it after reading this article. How about using some flash? hehehe

  4. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    @jaminsemirang If you're camera has a setting of 800iso, there could be a chance of over exposing the shot with flash. But, in the spirit of lomography, give it a shot! =) experiment!

More Interesting Articles

  • Brilliant Low Light and Nighttime Shots Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 800 (35mm)

    written by lomography on 2015-10-11 in #gear #news
    Brilliant Low Light and Nighttime Shots Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 800 (35mm)

    Have a look at our handpicked selection of lovely photographs shot in low light and at night with the Lomography Color Negative 800 ISO for 35mm cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Diana Multi Pinhole Operator

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-26 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Diana Multi Pinhole Operator

    Pinhole photography is too simple, you say? Shake things up a little and push the limits of your creativity with the Diana Multi Pinhole Operator!

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-14 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

    2
  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: February - Nighttime Traffic

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2015-03-11 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: February - Nighttime Traffic

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. In February, I wanted to take one of those long exposure night shots of traffic. You know the type: nighttime cityscape, with bright red and white stripes where traffic passes. I love those shots, but I had never gotten around taking one.

    4
  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • Capturing the Summer with the Diana F+ Close-Up Lens

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-05-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    Capturing the Summer with the Diana F+ Close-Up Lens

    Every summer I get a burst of analogue excitement when I see the flowers starting to bloom. My favorite summer pastime is to take glorious shots of plants and flowers, and for perfect dreamy shots, I like to use the Diana Close-Up lens. Join me as I take you through a garden of analogue delights.

  • Travel Stories: June '15 in Peru by sallycanela

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-08-11 in #world #locations
    Travel Stories: June '15 in Peru by sallycanela

    You know that place you always picture in your head when you think of your dream holiday destination? That was Machu Picchu for me. Last May I decided to go for it and embarked on a two-and-a-half-week trip around Peru with my boyfriend.

    8
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • Light Magician "Lumenman" Bernhard Rauscher Paints Magic with the Pixelstick

    written by petit_loir on 2015-09-12 in #people #news #lifestyle
     Light Magician "Lumenman" Bernhard Rauscher Paints Magic with the Pixelstick

    Bernhard Rauscher's passion for light painting photography is as vibrant as his creations. His light paintings are either craftily executed renditions of things you see in everyday life, or fanciful abstract figures. He uses do-it-yourself devices made from water bottles and tinsel as light painting tools. Part of his collection of magical devices is the Pixelstick, which he talks about in this exclusive interview.

  • KONO! Donau 35mm Film: Another Exceptional Film Exclusively Available From Lomography

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 in #gear #news
    KONO! Donau 35mm Film: Another Exceptional Film Exclusively Available From Lomography

    Lomography is always on the lookout for experimental and creative film, because we want to keep the love for analogue alive! We’re devoted to continually adding new and exciting films to our ever-expanding collection of photography products, both from our own production line and partnering together with likeminded companies. So in our ongoing quest to do so, we have teamed up with our friends at KONO! The Reanimated Film to share a totally new and exciting film with you — KONO! Donau 35mm Film!

  • A Salute to the Masters: Judo (A Tribute to Sabine Weiss)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-04-18 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Judo (A Tribute to Sabine Weiss)

    This article is a tribute to the street and humanist photographer Sabine Weiss. Considered a living legend in street photography, she likes to photograph daily lives of people, trying to capture the emotions she recognizes around her. Weiss like to photograph people of all ages but she especially loves to take photos of children, masterfully immortalizing their spontaneous gestures and emotions. For this article, I was inspired by one of her rare sports photos of some children practicing judo. Do you want to know more about this great artist? Well, read on!