The Black Petzval Lens Preview and Fresh New Photos

Check out the sample finish of the sleek black Petzval, and the swirly bokeh as seen in the photos below.

We recently received a first sample of the finish of the black Petzval Lens to Lomography HQ in Vienna. It’s not final and not a complete lens, but we still wanted to show you guys and girls how the finish of the lens currently looks. If you like the sleek black look as much as we do, remember it’s not too late to change your pledge and reward selection!

New Sample Photos

We couldn’t do an update without teasing you with a few more photos! Here is a small selection of shots taken over the wonderful weekend. All shots were taken with the Canon 5D.

By the way, due to popular demand, we are also working on sharing some Nikon crop sensor camera sample photos with you very soon.

Only a few days left. Support the project via Kickstarter.

The new Lomography Petzval (D)SLR Art Lens is a reinvention of the legendary portrait glass lens that first appeared in the 19th century. Our version is a high-quality glass optic that makes it possible for Canon and Nikon analogue and digital SLR mount cameras to yield the famous Petzval look – sharp focus areas with unique bokeh effects, strong color saturation, and artful vignettes. It’s a distinct look that goes far beyond using photo editing software and filters.

Fund this project on Kickstarter and help us bring back this extraordinary lens for 21st century photographers and filmmakers!

written by jillytanrad on 2013-08-20 in #news #petzval #update #kickstarter

More Interesting Articles

  • The New Petzval Lens: For Portraits with Swirly Bokeh

    written by wesco on 2014-11-27 in #reviews
    The New Petzval Lens: For Portraits with Swirly Bokeh

    My brother purchased the new Petzal lens by Lomography and Zenit through the Kickstarter campaign. Last spring, I was able to borrow it for a few weeks. Read on to find out my first impressions of this portrait lens!

  • 30 Gorgeous Black and White Shots With the New Petzval Lens

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-11 in #gear #lifestyle
    30 Gorgeous Black and White Shots With the New Petzval Lens

    The New Petzval Lens is a stunning reinvention of one of the first and greatest lenses of all time. It produces images with extreme sharpness, artful vignetting and absolutely beautiful swirly bokeh backgrounds. Click through to see 30 breathtaking black and white photos after the jump!

    10
  • Lomography Petzval Lens Photography Tips

    written by gothcupcake on 2014-08-14 in #gear #tipster
    Lomography Petzval Lens Photography Tips

    My boyfriend Scott (@xtharnx) and I are based in Phoenix, Arizona and enjoy experimenting with the Lomography Petzval Lens for its fabulous bokeh effects and dreamy, swirly portraits. Here are a few tips for getting the most out of your Petzval Lens.

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Petzval Artist:Wedding Photographer Johnny Cheng

    written by e_ercolini on 2014-06-30 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval Artist:Wedding Photographer Johnny Cheng

    Summer is in full swing and wedding season is moving in. And in keeping up with the season, Wedding Photographer Johnny Cheng invited his girlfriend to a spur-of-the-moment shoot using the his new Petzval Lens. With the Petzval, he managed a confluence of grassy meadows and the lens' swirly bokeh effect, resulting in soft-focused images to fall in love with. Read on to hear what this Georgia-based wedding photographer has to say about his Petzval experience.

  • Petzval Artist: Wedding Photographer Roland Faistenberger

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-06-29 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval Artist: Wedding Photographer Roland Faistenberger

    Vienna-based wedding photographer Roland Faistenberger shot a ceremony with the New Petzval 85 Art Lens and the result is a series of images made even more romantic with soft swirly bokeh.

  • Beautiful Film and Digital Snaps Courtesy of the New Petzval Art Lens

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-24 in #lifestyle
    Beautiful Film and Digital Snaps Courtesy of the New Petzval Art Lens

    Equip your go-to film or digital SLRs with the Petzval lens for those dreamy, swirly, and bokeh-filled photographs. Have a look at some samples from the community after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • An Interview with Geoffrey Berliner on the New Petzval 58

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-23 in #gear #news
    An Interview with Geoffrey Berliner on the New Petzval 58

    Curious as to how the Bokeh Control Ring spells all the difference between the Lomography New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens and its predecessor, the New Petzval Lens 85? Watch Geoffrey Berliner, the Executive Director of the Penumbra Foundation and an avid collector of Petzval lenses, succinctly explain in this exclusive short video!

  • Watch: Joseph Petzval's Life In Vienna

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-03 in #news
    Watch: Joseph Petzval's Life In Vienna

    If you loved the Petzval Lens, we have Joseph Petzval to thank for. The mathematician/inventor/physicist was born in Hungary, but spent most of his life in Vienna. As a tribute, we visited some of the most significant places in his life, armed with our cameras and the New Lomography Petzval Art Lens. Watch the video below!

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • Tycho's Concert in Paris as Seen Through the Petzval Lens

    written by shibuya on 2014-11-25 in #lifestyle
    Tycho's Concert in Paris as Seen Through the Petzval Lens

    I decided to bring thePetzval Lens with me to document the concert of Tycho, my favorite band. Take a look at this incredible series of pictures, captured between mind-blowing music and swirly bokeh!

    2
  • David Uzochukwu Tests the New Lomography Petzval Art Lens

    written by zonderbar on 2014-09-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    David Uzochukwu Tests the New Lomography Petzval Art Lens

    Only 15 and already so talented. David Uzochukwu is a student and photographer from Brussels, Belgium whose speciality is to capture breathtaking portraits. For a photography meet in Bavaria, Germany he asked us if we could lend him the New Petzval Lens, and of course we said yes! Check out the beautiful photos he and other photographers took during this special event.

    3
  • Petzval Amigo: Chloé Vollmer-Lo

    written by annoushka on 2015-05-27 in #people #lifestyle #lomoamigos
    Petzval Amigo: Chloé Vollmer-Lo

    Chloé Vollmer-Lo's photos speak for themselves. Every image, whether it's a portrait or a seemingly simple snapshot of a street alley, tells a story. The Paris-based photographer tested the New Petzval Lens 85 recently, and the results, as expected, speak volumes. She talks about her experience as a freelance photographer - and with the New Petzval Lens 85 - in this exclusive interview.