Review: Fuji Reala ISO 100 120

1

Fuji Reala was one of the best Color Negative films created by Fuji. Here's a small review based on my experiences with this amazing film

Aimed at professionals and enthusiasts, Fuji Superia Reala 120 ISO 100 was one of Fuji’s Color Negative films produced until it was discontinued last year. I managed to get a box of 5 120 rolls some months ago and I decided to give them a try on my Lubitel 166U I bought.

First of all, this is a color negative film so it can be developed in any photo lab that develops film with C-41 chemicals. Its ISO number is 100, so it’s perfect for sunny and overcast days, although you can use it indoors if your camera lens is fast and wide open, if you have a flash/tripod or if you have nerves of steel :)

Credits: elkilla

One thing I noticed is, just like any film with a low ISO number, is the amount of grain. It’s really low so it’s perfect if you intend to print your photos, they won’t look grainy at all! Color reproduction is amazing and vibrance is really pleasant to the eye (just look at those blues!).

Credits: elkilla

Real challenge about shooting a ISO 100 film on a camera with a max aperture of f/4.5 on its lens: indoor photography. Either you need a flash, use a tripod or open it wide with a slow shutter speed. Both photos above were shot at 1/30s and f/4.5. The first one was at an airport, second one on a subway. Both places were poorly lit, so I was very glad I captured some details.

Credits: elkilla

For portraiture photography, Fuji Reala can give you some nice details due to its low grain and accurate color reproduction. If your lens is sharp enough and the exposure settings are set as you expect, this film can capture great portraits!

Overall, this is a nice multi-purpose film. Sadly, it’s not produced anymore by Fuji, however you can find some retailers at eBay that still sell it. If you can get at least one, give it a try! It’s one of the best Color Negative films produced by Fuji.

Credits: elkilla

I hope to get a box of 5 before they completely disappear from stores (my friends should be happy about this, they know I always give away some film). Hope you can get some and have fun!

written by elkilla on 2013-08-13 in #reviews #fuji-superia-reala-120-review-medium-format-lubitel-166u-color-negative-c-41

One Comment

  1. le_ors
    le_ors ·

    el último set de fotos es hermoso
    <3
    :D

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • LC-A 120 LomoAmigo: Michael Sullivan

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-05-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    LC-A 120 LomoAmigo: Michael Sullivan

    Gloucestershire-based photographer Michael Sullivan loves to shoot film. Recently Michael shot with the Lomo LC-A 120 loaded with color negative and Lomography Xpro Slide Film, and the results were quite fabulous. Meet the man behind the camera here.

    5
  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Our Surprise LC-A 120 Photo Discovery – Dopic’s Fantastic Japan Snapshots

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-16 in #news
    Our Surprise LC-A 120 Photo Discovery – Dopic’s Fantastic Japan Snapshots

    Recently, we’ve been digging through all our LC-A 120 negatives from when we first started testing the new camera. During this search, we had our very own finding Vivian Maier moment when we unearthed a bunch of photos shot by the super-talented dopic whilst he was on vacation in Japan last year. We totally love these shots and couldn’t resist sharing them with you!

    3
  • My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-23 in #gear #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    Sonja started her analog adventures during her teenage years. She took her first film photographs when she was 13 and has been in love with the magic of the process since. Her idea of a perfect day involves developing film rolls while listening to jazz and having a cup of tea in between. In this interview, she recalls about her experience with her first Lomography camera, a Holga 120 CFN.

    2
  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Danika's Analogue Petzval Adventures: Volume 2 - Finding the Roots

    written by danika on 2014-11-17 in #news
    Danika's Analogue Petzval Adventures: Volume 2 - Finding the Roots

    In the second part of my analogue Petzval Adventures, we set on a quest to find the roots of this amazing lens in a small Slovakian village.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Photo Stories: 'This is Art' by waggrad00

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-29 in #world #lifestyle
    Photo Stories: 'This is Art' by waggrad00

    By going on a photo walk waggrad00 was not only able to de-stress, she also had the chance to meet several interesting people along the way. One of them was this homeless fellow who made her as well as many others' day better with a small but thoughtful gesture.

    2