Review: Fuji Reala ISO 100 120

1

Fuji Reala was one of the best Color Negative films created by Fuji. Here's a small review based on my experiences with this amazing film

Aimed at professionals and enthusiasts, Fuji Superia Reala 120 ISO 100 was one of Fuji’s Color Negative films produced until it was discontinued last year. I managed to get a box of 5 120 rolls some months ago and I decided to give them a try on my Lubitel 166U I bought.

First of all, this is a color negative film so it can be developed in any photo lab that develops film with C-41 chemicals. Its ISO number is 100, so it’s perfect for sunny and overcast days, although you can use it indoors if your camera lens is fast and wide open, if you have a flash/tripod or if you have nerves of steel :)

Credits: elkilla

One thing I noticed is, just like any film with a low ISO number, is the amount of grain. It’s really low so it’s perfect if you intend to print your photos, they won’t look grainy at all! Color reproduction is amazing and vibrance is really pleasant to the eye (just look at those blues!).

Credits: elkilla

Real challenge about shooting a ISO 100 film on a camera with a max aperture of f/4.5 on its lens: indoor photography. Either you need a flash, use a tripod or open it wide with a slow shutter speed. Both photos above were shot at 1/30s and f/4.5. The first one was at an airport, second one on a subway. Both places were poorly lit, so I was very glad I captured some details.

Credits: elkilla

For portraiture photography, Fuji Reala can give you some nice details due to its low grain and accurate color reproduction. If your lens is sharp enough and the exposure settings are set as you expect, this film can capture great portraits!

Overall, this is a nice multi-purpose film. Sadly, it’s not produced anymore by Fuji, however you can find some retailers at eBay that still sell it. If you can get at least one, give it a try! It’s one of the best Color Negative films produced by Fuji.

Credits: elkilla

I hope to get a box of 5 before they completely disappear from stores (my friends should be happy about this, they know I always give away some film). Hope you can get some and have fun!

written by elkilla on 2013-08-13 in #reviews #fuji-superia-reala-120-review-medium-format-lubitel-166u-color-negative-c-41

One Comment

  1. le_ors
    le_ors ·

    el último set de fotos es hermoso
    <3
    :D

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Fresh from the Lab: LC-A+ RL and the Fuji Velvia 100

    written by ekeupratama on 2014-06-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: LC-A+ RL and the Fuji Velvia 100

    This is my latest album of photos taken with the LC-A+ RL loaded with Fuji Velvia 100.

    2
  • Our Surprise LC-A 120 Photo Discovery – Dopic’s Fantastic Japan Snapshots

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-16 in #news
    Our Surprise LC-A 120 Photo Discovery – Dopic’s Fantastic Japan Snapshots

    Recently, we’ve been digging through all our LC-A 120 negatives from when we first started testing the new camera. During this search, we had our very own finding Vivian Maier moment when we unearthed a bunch of photos shot by the super-talented dopic whilst he was on vacation in Japan last year. We totally love these shots and couldn’t resist sharing them with you!

    2
  • Shop News

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • The World, According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World, According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    6
  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Danika's Analogue Petzval Adventures: Volume 2 - Finding the Roots

    written by danika on 2014-11-17 in #news
    Danika's Analogue Petzval Adventures: Volume 2 - Finding the Roots

    In the second part of my analogue Petzval Adventures, we set on a quest to find the roots of this amazing lens in a small Slovakian village.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    written by raypg on 2014-09-05 in #lifestyle
    My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    I love the different styles of cameras that Lomography has, but I also like to create my own cardboard cameras that use pinholes to be able to take pictures using traditional film. This time I created the Pinhole F, a camera inspired by the Diana F+ and shoots 12 pinhole photos using 120 film.

    2
  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10