Review: A Curious Case of my Lomo LC-A

5

The Lomo LC-A is one of the most capable cameras I ever had and it's no wonder it's one of the favorites of the Lomography community.

I always try to use every camera I can get my hands on but still I keep on coming back to my Lomo LC-A. I like other cameras, I even love some of them, like my Smena 8M but I noticed a lot of times my cameras get lost in difficult conditions. That’s never the case with my Lomo LC-A. No matter the weather, the light conditions or even my mood, the Lomo LC-A seems to always deliver the goods. I tried a lot of different films and I can’t say for any of them that my Lomo LC-A didn’t like it. It is one precious camera for sure.

BUT. Yes, there is always a but. It’s nothing to worry about, it’s just one thing that is special for my Lomo LC-A. It’s like its signature move, a thing it does that is unique and at the same time a mystery to me. What is that, you ask? Well, every single film I use, negative, slide or black and white, there comes a frame right in the middle of the film, where my Lomo LC-A makes a red line. It kind of looks like a light leak. But it’s always in the middle of the film. At first I thought I maybe did this, that I accidentally exposed the film, but I noticed the same line on every next film. So, it wasn’t me, it was totally its fault. I love it for this. Like I said, it’s like a little signature. But I still don’t understand what happens every time. Help me solve this riddle, please.

Credits: lomofrue

written by lomofrue on 2013-08-08 in #reviews

5 Comments

  1. sandravo
    sandravo ·

    Looks like you're not the only one with curious light leaks on their LC-A! www.lomography.com/magazine/reviews/2013/03/27/my-lc-a-plus…

  2. benjamik
    benjamik ·

    It happens for a reason that every LC-A is unique, there's no such thing as 2 LC-A's with the same "defect" I own original Russian LC-A and that signature is like originality of every piece of LOMO :) Man, don't worry about it, it's beautiful.

  3. lomofrue
    lomofrue ·

    @sandravo oh that's so cute, lots of unique lomos out there

  4. lomofrue
    lomofrue ·

    @benjamik haha i love it anyway, nothing's gonna chenge that, i was just a little bit curious about that line

  5. marlbrouk
    marlbrouk ·

    I have similar when using redscale. On mine it seems to b where the film becomes skack against the back plate and the light hits the uneven film and perhaps reflects somehow... mayb it happens at the same point in your camera due ti tension between the film cassette and take up. But its cool!

More Interesting Articles

  • Top Tips For Krab Underwater Case and Fisheye Submarine Users

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle

    If it's your first time to use the Fisheye Submarine Case (with your Fisheye One/Fisheye No.2 cameras) or the Krab Underwater Housing (with your LC-A+ or LC-Wide cameras), you might still feel a liiiiittle bit anxious about taking your favorite cameras underwater. To help ease your worries I gathered some of the most helpful tips, straight from summer-lovin' Lomographers who braved the waves with their cameras!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Three Cheers for the LC-A+!

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-07 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Three Cheers for the LC-A+!

    The LC-A+ is a fan favorite among Lomographers and with good reason! See how the LC-A+ fares along with its other family members in this quick roundup of reviews by our own community members.

  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Sprocket Rocket: First Love Never Dies

    written by jokelangens on 2014-07-20 in #reviews
    Sprocket Rocket: First Love Never Dies

    The Lomography Sprocket Rocket - my first analogue camera ever - and I have had some troubled times behind us. We have been involved in a stormy love-hate relationship for several years. But in the end, we luckily managed to get over ourselves and overcome our problems. Now he's my old time favorite. Old love never rusts, that is.

  • Taking Back Tipsters: Go Lomo Loco with the LC-Wide

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-14 in #gear #tipster
    Taking Back Tipsters: Go Lomo Loco with the LC-Wide

    With its ultra-wide and ultra-dependable Minigon lens, the Lomo LC-Wide is an easy contender for Lomography favorite among our community members. Learn a trick or two on using the LC-Wide and why it makes an easy favorite through this compilation of quick tipsters

  • LC-A+ Goes To: Sevilla, Spain

    written by saidseni on 2014-06-23 in #world #locations
    LC-A+ Goes To: Sevilla, Spain

    Ever since I got my LC-A+, I've always taken it with me whenever I travel. This little wonder works awesome with any film, in every weather and cultural context. In Sevilla, Spain, it was no different.

    2
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Go for Street Photography with the Voigtlander Vito Balda

    written by artlens on 2014-05-23 in #reviews
    Go for Street Photography with the Voigtlander Vito Balda

    This camera is the most compact camera I have ever used. It's a 35mm camera built by Balda for Voigtlander in 1983. See my photos and review after the jump.

  • Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    written by sanamiii on 2014-06-06 in #reviews
    Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    It is my first time to use the New Petzval Lens outside of work and I got some surprising photos!

  • Lomopedia: Nikon SP

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-03-14 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Nikon SP

    Touted as Nikon's first professional camera, the Nikon SP was one of the most impressive rangefinder cameras one could ever have back in the days. Still, it remains a wonderfully functional and luxurious rangefinder that works smoother and quieter than today's SLR and DSLR cameras.

  • Shop News

    Belair Camera

    Belair Camera

    Love medium format? This Belair baby will never fail you to satisfy your cravings for taking photographs in 120 format! Choose among the different variants of Belair cameras that will suit your tastes!

  • Sprocket Rocket: An Economical Panoramic Camera

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-02 in #reviews
    Sprocket Rocket: An Economical Panoramic Camera

    The Sprocket Rocket is one of the most popular cameras among Lomographers. The camera is available in 9 beautiful colors and is capable of producing beautiful panoramic photos thanks to the ultra wide lens. Read on to find out more about this panoramic wonder!

  • Bitten by the DIY Redscale Bug

    written by chooolss on 2014-03-05 in #lifestyle
    Bitten by the DIY Redscale Bug

    After taking my baby steps into the wonderful world of Lomography, it was only a matter of time that I begin trying out not only the cameras in the catalogue but also photography techniques and other tips and hacks that fellow lomographers here in the community have generously shared with everyone.

  • La Sardina: My Story With My Old Best Friend

    written by abecd on 2014-07-10 in #reviews
    La Sardina: My Story With My Old Best Friend

    This is a story of me and Sardine, my first ever analogue camera. We've been traveling for thousands of miles and met a lot of friends. Even though I have better cameras, Sardine is the one camera that will always be in my heart! So once again, this is my story with Sardine

    2