Review: A Curious Case of my Lomo LC-A

7

The Lomo LC-A is one of the most capable cameras I ever had and it's no wonder it's one of the favorites of the Lomography community.

I always try to use every camera I can get my hands on but still I keep on coming back to my Lomo LC-A. I like other cameras, I even love some of them, like my Smena 8M but I noticed a lot of times my cameras get lost in difficult conditions. That’s never the case with my Lomo LC-A. No matter the weather, the light conditions or even my mood, the Lomo LC-A seems to always deliver the goods. I tried a lot of different films and I can’t say for any of them that my Lomo LC-A didn’t like it. It is one precious camera for sure.

BUT. Yes, there is always a but. It’s nothing to worry about, it’s just one thing that is special for my Lomo LC-A. It’s like its signature move, a thing it does that is unique and at the same time a mystery to me. What is that, you ask? Well, every single film I use, negative, slide or black and white, there comes a frame right in the middle of the film, where my Lomo LC-A makes a red line. It kind of looks like a light leak. But it’s always in the middle of the film. At first I thought I maybe did this, that I accidentally exposed the film, but I noticed the same line on every next film. So, it wasn’t me, it was totally its fault. I love it for this. Like I said, it’s like a little signature. But I still don’t understand what happens every time. Help me solve this riddle, please.

Credits: lomofrue

written by lomofrue on 2013-08-08 in #reviews #camera #leak #question #light #precious #line #lomo #mystery #capable #red #redline #case #review #riddle

7 Comments

  1. sandravo
    sandravo ·

    Looks like you're not the only one with curious light leaks on their LC-A! www.lomography.com/magazine/reviews/2013/03/27/my-lc-a-plus…

  2. benjamik
    benjamik ·

    It happens for a reason that every LC-A is unique, there's no such thing as 2 LC-A's with the same "defect" I own original Russian LC-A and that signature is like originality of every piece of LOMO :) Man, don't worry about it, it's beautiful.

  3. lomofrue
    lomofrue ·

    @sandravo oh that's so cute, lots of unique lomos out there

  4. lomofrue
    lomofrue ·

    @benjamik haha i love it anyway, nothing's gonna chenge that, i was just a little bit curious about that line

  5. marlbrouk
    marlbrouk ·

    I have similar when using redscale. On mine it seems to b where the film becomes skack against the back plate and the light hits the uneven film and perhaps reflects somehow... mayb it happens at the same point in your camera due ti tension between the film cassette and take up. But its cool!

  6. murdoc_niccals
    murdoc_niccals ·

    hi! have you ever resolved this? i have the same problem here with my LC-A. it appears on all films no matter if it is color or B&W so i'm pretty sure it's not mine fault during developing (i'm doing B&W at home and clolour in lab). my leaks look exactly like yours - stripe on right side and bigger leak on left side. i've been doing a check on my LC-A and i think the weak spot is where the strap is attached to body - theres slightly bigger hole in the camera back door - and the foamy gasket which was supposed to fill in the silt between the body and door is missing (sign of old age). so i'll try to cover it somehow and do one roll...

  7. lomofrue
    lomofrue ·

    @murdoc_niccals hey, nope, i never resolved it, i just kind of embraced it :) but now as i think about it, what you are suggesting might really be it!

More Interesting Articles

  • My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 in #gear #news #lifestyle #reviews
    My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    The LC-Wide is definitely one of Lomography's must-have cameras. Its Minigon 1 Ultra-Wide-Angle lens adds a different flavor to your shots, on top of the stunning vignettes, intense colors and breathtaking saturation and contrast LC-A cameras are known for. The Lomography Team is no stranger to the LC-Wide's creative potential, and has proven it capable of the most captivating images. First on the list is danika, from the Lomography Headquarters in Vienna.

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-14 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

    2
  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • My Best LC-A Photos Ever by alienmeatsack

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-06-25 in #gear #reviews
    My Best LC-A Photos Ever by alienmeatsack

    I love my Lomo LC-A series cameras. They are so easy to use and take such amazing photos. I don’t ever go shooting without at least one of them in my bag. Here are some of my favorite shots.

    13
  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews #videos
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    Experience Sleek Medium Format Shots of Belair City Slicker!

    Experience Sleek Medium Format Shots of Belair City Slicker!

    Take high-quality medium format shots, professional grade panoramas and get tons of customizable features yet compact in size! Grab this camera at a discounted price!

  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    written by azinteimoori on 2016-01-13 in #world #news
    Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    There are no smoke and mirrors here! The Lomo LC-Wide is capable of producing enchanting photographs on its own! So we decided to have a look through the Lomography Online Community to find some spectacular snaps. Here are some photographs taken with the LC-Wide that captured a little something magical.

  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-02 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    In case you missed it, Lomography has just unveiled the latest member of its Art Lens family: the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens, which boasts of the same optics that the legendary LC-A camera has and brings the classic Lomographic style not only to analog but also to the digital platform. Over the next few days we'll be sharing with you the first impressions of and photographs taken by members of the Lomography team, who had gone out and put the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 to the test. First up is graphic designer Andrea Cislaghi, who coupled this lens with the Bessa R2 and Sony Alpha 7.

    5
  • My Favorite Lomo LC-A Photos of All Time

    written by roxyvonschlotterstein on 2015-06-13 in #gear #reviews
    My Favorite Lomo LC-A Photos of All Time

    To celebrate Lomo LC-A’s birthday, I will show you my 10 favorite photos taken with it and its brothers. Let’s raise a glass to the LC-A!

    6
  • How the Very First Commercial Instant Camera Came to Be

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-19 in #world #lifestyle
    How the Very First Commercial Instant Camera Came to Be

    Children, ever curious and with an innate sense of wonder, ask a lot of questions. Often they're easy enough to answer, but sometimes there are those that leave the adults stumped and mulling over them. The history of the instant camera as we know it began with one such question.