James Butler Reviews the Konstruktor!

James Butler, a London Soho store regular, was handed a Konstruktor to test drive. In short: a former skeptic and now a convert! Read on to find out what he said about the Konstruktor...

Lomography kindly lent me a Konstruktor camera to play with for a couple of days, to review (it came ready-built so I’m reviewing it as a finished camera, ignoring for now the DIY part, although I’m looking forward to building my own soon!)

First impressions were really good – it’s much more sturdy than you might think, the plastic is nice and chunky. Really easy to load and the viewfinder works great – was really happy with the focus on all my shots, and it’s nice to be able to play with focus on a cheap toy camera – normally they have fixed focus.

The top-down viewfinder is well suited to portraits – although it doesn’t give you a very shallow depth of field (being f/10) if your background is distant and your subject close you do get some nice separation. Street shooting is a little trickier as the viewfinder is flipped left-to-right, but you can always shoot blind without the viewfinder (maybe Lomography will bring out accessories – like a little clip-on viewfinder for when you don’t need to look through the lens).

As a big multiple exposure fan I shot a few doubles and triples – really easy to do as you just re-set the shutter and shoot again as many times as you like. I’ve seen some people make some DIY splitzers, again it might be nice if Lomography brought out one you could buy. As usual my multiple exposures were pretty hit and miss, but happy with a few.

Overall I was really impressed with the Konstruktor, based solely on it’s usability as a plastic camera, ignoring the build-it-yourself aspect. As a toy camera I think it’s pretty neat and I look forward to building my own soon. And hoping some more lenses / accessories are in the pipeline!

written by golfpunkgirl on 2013-08-05 in #reviews #photowalk #lomouk #analogue-photography #photographer #lomography #35mm-films #londonsoho #analogue-cameras #user-review #londoneast #konstruktor #uk #sohostore

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomopedia: Fujica Drive

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-02 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Fujica Drive

    What makes a half-frame camera a true winner? Read more about the Fujica Drive to find out!

    1
  • Andrea And His Lomo'Instants

    written by hembot on 2014-10-31 in #news
    Andrea And His Lomo'Instants

    Andrea tells us about a surprise adventure. Read on to find out what he was up to with the Lomo'Instant.

  • Petzval Artist: James Nader

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-07-16 in #people #lomoamigos

    James Nader is a UK-based Fashion and Editorial photographer. He started his career in photography shooting with film, processing and developing his work by hand. He now works on high end fashion shoots and has photographed the likes of Dita Von Teese and Richard Branson. James still has a passion for film photography and uses it regularly. We lent him a Petzval lens to shoot with and he has kindly given us a full, in depth review of this beautiful portrait lens. Say hello to James Nader.

  • Shop News

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Get both appealing LomoDices for your home! These cardboard cubes can be used for different things – they make great, stylish seats but you can also stash small items inside and fold them for storing!

  • Petzval Lens Launch Party Soho

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-12 in #events
    Petzval Lens Launch Party Soho

    The time has come to launch our amazing new Lomography Art Lens - the Petzval lens. What better way to celebrate than by throwing a party on August 21 at the Lomography Gallery Store Soho? There will be live music from London-based folk singer Denai Moore, lots of bubbly and the chance to meet the lens face-to-face! Read on for full details.

  • Going Post Tropical with our LomoAmigo James Vincent McMorrow and the La Sardina

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-09-23 in #people #lomoamigos
    Going Post Tropical with our LomoAmigo James Vincent McMorrow and the La Sardina

    It's a huge pleasure to introduce our latest LomoAmigo, the fantastically gifted musician James Vincent McMorrow. This year, James launched his new album 'Post Tropical' and we couldn't wait to put a La Sardina camera in hands to play with for the Summer. He took the camera with him on his tour and snapped some truly cool shots. Check them out and read our interview with James below!

  • GOOD BUY EAST LONDON

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-07-18 in #news
    GOOD BUY EAST LONDON

    Your East London Lomography home is closing soon but fret not, our flagship store in Soho will still be around to satisfy all your analogue camera, film and LomoLab needs! Find out about all the details and a few treats we have lined up before the closure.

    2
  • Shop News

    LC-A Instant Back+ at Lesser Price!

    LC-A Instant Back+ at Lesser Price!

    Grab this lovely accessory at discounted price! LC-A instant Back is iideal for your summer getaways to capture memories instantly with your LC-A cameras in hand!

  • Win a Signed Large-Format Print from Photographer Debbie Carlos

    written by ferren on 2014-04-03 in #competitions
    Win a Signed Large-Format Print from Photographer Debbie Carlos

    Last month the East London Gallery Store hosted an exhibition of photographer, Debbie Carlos' work, and now we present you with the exciting opportunity to win a signed print for yourself. Read on to find out how to join the contest.

    2
  • My First Lomo Affair: Clownshoes and his Lomo Smena Symbol

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-05 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Clownshoes and his Lomo Smena Symbol

    For a short time, Blaine Vernicek, otherwise known as clownshoes in our Community, needed to be away from his beloved muse, Miss Katie, and stay in another state because of his new job. But thanks to his Lomo Smena Symbol, he was able to bring with him photographs of his sweetheart that somehow helped him forget the unnerving distance between them. Read on to find out more about this heartwarming story in this installment of My First Lomo Affair!

    7
  • Petzval Artist: Thai Wedding Shoot by Arat aka Huge

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-07-11 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval Artist: Thai Wedding Shoot by Arat aka Huge

    Arat Komsawadichai aka Huge is a photographer from Thailand who is passionate about film photography. He used to be a regular at the Lomography Soho store and would often hang out in the shop and help customers out just because he's so crazy about film! Arat recently had the opportunity to shoot his brother's wedding using the Petzval Lens and LomoChrome Purple film, yielding fascinating results.

  • Shop News

    DIY Camera for Less!

    DIY Camera for Less!

    You can now have the Pinhole Art DIY 135 at 40% less! Start setting up your own camera, shoot in 35mm format and get those soft-focused wide-angled images.

  • LomoAmigo: Stephen Dowling Tests the LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-14 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo: Stephen Dowling Tests the LC-A 120

    Previously a music journalist, Stephen Dowling now writes for the BBC. If that isn't interesting enough, London-based writer is also passionate about film photography. He has blog called zorkiphoto where he writes about all his favourite cameras and film types. The folks over at Lomography UK lent him an LC-A 120 and, as you'll see in a bit, he managed to get some wonderful shots.

    2
  • A Chat with the Founder of STENOFLEX, Eric Marais

    written by jacobs on 2015-03-04 in #people #lifestyle
    A Chat with the Founder of STENOFLEX, Eric Marais

    Eric Marais is the founder of the portable dark-room experience, STENOFLEX. We recently had the chance to ask him some questions and he was kind enough to answer us! Read on to find out more about his company, his interest in photography and what's next for STENOFLEX!

    1
  • A Salute to the Masters: The Democratic Eye (A Tribute to William Eggleston)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-04-19 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: The Democratic Eye (A Tribute to William Eggleston)

    William Eggleston is one of the most important contemporary master and pioneer of color photography. In this article I write a tribute to his particular democratic way of looking around. For him "Nothing was more important or less important", and everything is worthy of being photographed. Again, he is fond of the dear old film; he said that "I don't think much about the digital world, because I am in the analog world!". Read more after the jump!