Kodak T-max (35mm, 400 iso) User-Review

4

How things will look with an expired film? It was a question in my head, so I decided to share with you all my feelings about it!

Hi everybody, it’s my first review in Lomography community ! Holga 120 CFN is also my first Lomography camera.
I’m so in love with it and my Lomo LC-A+RL ! But it isn’t the subject of this review. When I bought my Holga, I asked to myself, “What effects an expired film can produce?” There were no shops around my place that has expired film and… someone from my family came at home with a big pack of old black and white films, color slides films expired since – eight years expired!

What a luck ! These rolls were immediately kept in the freezer !

After finishing my first roll in my Holga, I decided to use one precious black and white film for my next shoot. Until that day came and I have to take the train so I took with me a sponge, scissors, magnetic tape. During the travel I made the installation of my D.I.Y 35 mm modification! I took some shoots and I was really anxious ’cause it was my first time on 35mm with Holga.

Roll one complete ! I went to a lab to develop my negatives ! Yes, I only have to wait for a week to have it done!

One week later the photolab said :
We don’t have your negatives maybe because the holidays, you can come back next week !

Two weeks later :
We still don’t have your negatives, we lose it, give us another week.

Arrrrrrgh !

One month later…
We have your negatives !

At first, some parts of my negatives were totally blank or dark. I don’t know why, maybe the film was to old. I lost 12 shots on my negatives. But there was some pictures! Some pictures have a good quality and others weren’t. Expired T-max provide very stylized shots, dramatic shots, even dirty shots. Multiple exposures are a little / a lot confused with this expired roll. I love sprockets and this dramatic / dirty style! I love expired films since then! Because we really don’t know what kind of pictures it will produce.

My shots aren’t that fantastic, It’s my fun experience that I wanted to share with you! :)

Thanks for reading !

written by yun on 2010-03-17 in #reviews #church #sky #railway-station #multiple-exposures #factory #girl #boat #trees #kodak-tmax-400 #black-and-white #clock #holga-120-cfn #train #35mm

4 Comments

  1. lazyorbit
    lazyorbit ·

    that first shot is so ghostly!!! MELIKES!

  2. paramir
    paramir ·

    nice gallery! I love the feel of this (expired) film.

  3. quisp
    quisp ·

    First photo is great !

  4. yun
    yun ·

    Thanks !

More Interesting Articles

  • Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-08 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    A weekend without a lomowalk seems bad, at least for me. One Saturday morning, I decided to join my friends in their lomowalk. It was all cloudy at first but it didn't stop me from going out and walking. I brought my new Nikon FM2 and some expired rolls, just to test my camera. Was it just me being sleepy, or was my Nikon FM2 acting up? My photos turned out grainy, pale, and, in my opinion, looking so 1990s?

    1
  • Film Manipulation: Kodak Slides and Bleach

    written by neonlights on 2014-07-30 in #gear #tipster
    Film Manipulation: Kodak Slides and Bleach

    I want to share with you my experience with some slides when I was in Russia. I'm very sorry for them because I messed them up. They're just ruined and they'll never be the same! But hey, I have thousands of them, so I guess it's not a big deal after all.

    4
  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-05 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    Read on dear friend and I will weave a story for you. There may be more questions than answers raised by this peculiar tale. But if it’s clarity you seek, have no fear, things will become clear in time (they always do, don’t they?). So rub the Sandman’s dust from your sleepy eyes and take a journey with me. If you think you have an answer when we reach the end, please do share it in the comments!

    8
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • The World, According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World, According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    6
  • A Conversation with the CEO of Ondu Pinhole Cameras, Elvis Halilović

    written by jacobs on 2015-01-19 in #lifestyle
    A Conversation with the CEO of Ondu Pinhole Cameras, Elvis Halilović

    It was our great pleasure to chat with the CEO of Ondu Pinhole Cameras, Elvis Halilović, about his interest in pinhole photography as well as the formation of his company that produces handcrafted pinhole cameras. We found his answers fascinating and we think you will too. Thanks Elvis for being so generous in sharing your story and cameras with us!

    4
  • So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    written by recurving on 2015-02-03 in #world #news
    So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    For the last year we've been working on the next version of Lomography. We based our work on the feedback you’ve given us over the years and we wanted to share it as early as possible with you and can’t wait to hear what you think. Just one warning first: it is still in development and things can break. All the photos, comments, likes, homes and everything else were transferred as of October 16th, 2014. So anything you do on next.lomography.com won't be reflected on www.lomography.com and vice versa. Once we are done with testing, everything you did here will be deleted again. So this is a big playground for you to explore.

    216
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Marc Riboud's "Paris to Peking" On Display at Atlas Gallery

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-03 in #world #news #lifestyle
    Marc Riboud's "Paris to Peking" On Display at Atlas Gallery

    Atlas Gallery presents rare photos from the archives of Marc Riboud, including a life-size print of The Eiffel Tower Painter and images taken in China.

  • Lori Nix's Photographs of a World Without People

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-03 in #world
    Lori Nix's Photographs of a World Without People

    In the fictive photography of Lori Nix, nature takes over the modern world.

  • Awesome Albums: #SeoulFashionWeek by arguspaul

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-03 in #people #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: #SeoulFashionWeek by arguspaul

    Last March, one lomographer trooped to Dongdaemun Design Plaza and took creative portraits of Seoul's young fashion followers and models.

    4
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • LomoWochenende 2015

    written by trash-gordon-from-outer-space on 2015-05-03 in #world #news
    LomoWochenende 2015

    Dear Friends of the LomoWochenende, it’s happening: we’re finally announcing the date and location of the LomoWochenende 2015!

    2
  • Jan C. Schlegel Presents Traces of Indigenous Culture

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-03 in #world #news #lifestyle
    Jan C. Schlegel Presents Traces of Indigenous Culture

    In his travels to Asia and Africa, Jan C. Schlegel looked for living traditions beyond today's "Coca-Cola and T-shirt culture." His photographs are now on display at Bernheimer Fine Art.

  • Facing the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-03 in #gear #news #lifestyle
    Facing the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens

    The all new LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens captures people caught in the glories of daily life. From staged portraits or quick snaps on the street - the Minitar holds on to the faces of friends and foes alike.