Kodak T-max (35mm, 400 iso) User-Review

4

How things will look with an expired film? It was a question in my head, so I decided to share with you all my feelings about it!

Hi everybody, it’s my first review in Lomography community ! Holga 120 CFN is also my first Lomography camera.
I’m so in love with it and my Lomo LC-A+RL ! But it isn’t the subject of this review. When I bought my Holga, I asked to myself, “What effects an expired film can produce?” There were no shops around my place that has expired film and… someone from my family came at home with a big pack of old black and white films, color slides films expired since – eight years expired!

What a luck ! These rolls were immediately kept in the freezer !

After finishing my first roll in my Holga, I decided to use one precious black and white film for my next shoot. Until that day came and I have to take the train so I took with me a sponge, scissors, magnetic tape. During the travel I made the installation of my D.I.Y 35 mm modification! I took some shoots and I was really anxious ’cause it was my first time on 35mm with Holga.

Roll one complete ! I went to a lab to develop my negatives ! Yes, I only have to wait for a week to have it done!

One week later the photolab said :
We don’t have your negatives maybe because the holidays, you can come back next week !

Two weeks later :
We still don’t have your negatives, we lose it, give us another week.

Arrrrrrgh !

One month later…
We have your negatives !

At first, some parts of my negatives were totally blank or dark. I don’t know why, maybe the film was to old. I lost 12 shots on my negatives. But there was some pictures! Some pictures have a good quality and others weren’t. Expired T-max provide very stylized shots, dramatic shots, even dirty shots. Multiple exposures are a little / a lot confused with this expired roll. I love sprockets and this dramatic / dirty style! I love expired films since then! Because we really don’t know what kind of pictures it will produce.

My shots aren’t that fantastic, It’s my fun experience that I wanted to share with you! :)

Thanks for reading !

written by yun on 2010-03-17 in #reviews #35mm #train #trees #boat #holga-120-cfn #church #factory #black-and-white #girl #kodak-tmax-400 #sky #multiple-exposures #railway-station #clock

4 Comments

  1. lazyorbit
    lazyorbit ·

    that first shot is so ghostly!!! MELIKES!

  2. paramir
    paramir ·

    nice gallery! I love the feel of this (expired) film.

  3. quisp
    quisp ·

    First photo is great !

  4. yun
    yun ·

    Thanks !

More Interesting Articles

  • Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-08 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    A weekend without a lomowalk seems bad, at least for me. One Saturday morning, I decided to join my friends in their lomowalk. It was all cloudy at first but it didn't stop me from going out and walking. I brought my new Nikon FM2 and some expired rolls, just to test my camera. Was it just me being sleepy, or was my Nikon FM2 acting up? My photos turned out grainy, pale, and, in my opinion, looking so 1990s?

    1
  • Film Manipulation: Kodak Slides and Bleach

    written by neonlights on 2014-07-30 in #gear #tipster
    Film Manipulation: Kodak Slides and Bleach

    I want to share with you my experience with some slides when I was in Russia. I'm very sorry for them because I messed them up. They're just ruined and they'll never be the same! But hey, I have thousands of them, so I guess it's not a big deal after all.

    4
  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-05 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    Read on dear friend and I will weave a story for you. There may be more questions than answers raised by this peculiar tale. But if it’s clarity you seek, have no fear, things will become clear in time (they always do, don’t they?). So rub the Sandman’s dust from your sleepy eyes and take a journey with me. If you think you have an answer when we reach the end, please do share it in the comments!

    8
  • Shop News

    LC-A Instant Back+ at Lesser Price!

    LC-A Instant Back+ at Lesser Price!

    Grab this lovely accessory at discounted price! LC-A instant Back is iideal for your summer getaways to capture memories instantly with your LC-A cameras in hand!

  • A Conversation with the CEO of Ondu Pinhole Cameras, Elvis Halilović

    written by jacobs on 2015-01-19 in #lifestyle
    A Conversation with the CEO of Ondu Pinhole Cameras, Elvis Halilović

    It was our great pleasure to chat with the CEO of Ondu Pinhole Cameras, Elvis Halilović, about his interest in pinhole photography as well as the formation of his company that produces handcrafted pinhole cameras. We found his answers fascinating and we think you will too. Thanks Elvis for being so generous in sharing your story and cameras with us!

    4
  • So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    written by recurving on 2015-02-03 in #world #news
    So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    For the last year we've been working on the next version of Lomography. We based our work on the feedback you’ve given us over the years and we wanted to share it as early as possible with you and can’t wait to hear what you think. Just one warning first: it is still in development and things can break. All the photos, comments, likes, homes and everything else were transferred as of October 16th, 2014. So anything you do on next.lomography.com won't be reflected on www.lomography.com and vice versa. Once we are done with testing, everything you did here will be deleted again. So this is a big playground for you to explore.

    216
  • Vikkki is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-26 in #world #news
    Vikkki is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to vikkki for winning Home of the Day!

    6
  • Shop News

    Summer Inspired Camera at 20% off

    Summer Inspired Camera at 20% off

    The brazilian summer inspired camera is now at 20% off! You can now celebrate life in full color and treasure every culture in a snap! This summer is no exception; make sure you’re prepared to capture all the sporty action with the Fisheye No.2 Brazilian Summer Camera!

  • J Ö R Ð + V A T N: Day Six

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-26 in #world #lifestyle
    J Ö R Ð + V A T N: Day Six

    In the third installment of his travel series, lomographer Andrea Russo recalls their experiences during the sixth day of their stay in Iceland - seeing massive blue and white icebergs at the Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon, petting Icelandic ponies, having a chance, up-close encounter with wild reindeer, and witnessing a breathtaking show of the aurora borealis.

    7
  • 'Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter' Opening Night at the MoMa Captured with the Fisheye

    written by givesmehell on 2015-03-26 in #world #lifestyle #events
    'Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter' Opening Night at the MoMa Captured with the Fisheye

    "Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter" was officially launched last Wednesday, March 18. The opening night screening was held at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMa) and was documented using a Fisheye camera. Here's how the night went.

    1
  • Photo of the Day by yago56

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-26 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by yago56

    Take a peek at our fellow lomographer's evening walk to a wineyard.

    3
  • Shop News

    Color Your World with Colorsplash Camera

    Color Your World with Colorsplash Camera

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Shootin’ Across Town with the Lomo’Splitzer: Vienna

    written by fl0werp0wer on 2015-03-26 in #world #tipster
    Shootin’ Across Town with the Lomo’Splitzer: Vienna

    Who knew that by making a hop, skip and jump across town you could create such crazy lomo'instagraphs?! When equipt with the Lomo'Instant and the trusty Splitzer accessory - anything is possible. Take a peep at this selection taken from different locations across Vienna and see for yourself the phenomenal results. Read on to discover how you too can splice-up (and spice-up) historic buildings on your next sight-seeing trip.

  • Countdown to Film Photography Day 2015: Week 3 Challenge

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-26 in #world #competitions
    Countdown to Film Photography Day 2015: Week 3 Challenge

    We're moving another week closer to #filmphotographyday2015. Here is the third set of themes for our daily challenge!

  • The Best of the LomoKino: March Call-Out!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-26 in #people #competitions
    The Best of the LomoKino: March Call-Out!

    Here's an exciting competition for aspiring moviemakers in the community. Share your 35mm movies shot with the LomoKino Camera, and get 10 Piggy Points as a treat!