Kodak T-max (35mm, 400 iso) User-Review

4

How things will look with an expired film? It was a question in my head, so I decided to share with you all my feelings about it!

Hi everybody, it’s my first review in Lomography community ! Holga 120 CFN is also my first Lomography camera.
I’m so in love with it and my Lomo LC-A+RL ! But it isn’t the subject of this review. When I bought my Holga, I asked to myself, “What effects an expired film can produce?” There were no shops around my place that has expired film and… someone from my family came at home with a big pack of old black and white films, color slides films expired since – eight years expired!

What a luck ! These rolls were immediately kept in the freezer !

After finishing my first roll in my Holga, I decided to use one precious black and white film for my next shoot. Until that day came and I have to take the train so I took with me a sponge, scissors, magnetic tape. During the travel I made the installation of my D.I.Y 35 mm modification! I took some shoots and I was really anxious ’cause it was my first time on 35mm with Holga.

Roll one complete ! I went to a lab to develop my negatives ! Yes, I only have to wait for a week to have it done!

One week later the photolab said :
We don’t have your negatives maybe because the holidays, you can come back next week !

Two weeks later :
We still don’t have your negatives, we lose it, give us another week.

Arrrrrrgh !

One month later…
We have your negatives !

At first, some parts of my negatives were totally blank or dark. I don’t know why, maybe the film was to old. I lost 12 shots on my negatives. But there was some pictures! Some pictures have a good quality and others weren’t. Expired T-max provide very stylized shots, dramatic shots, even dirty shots. Multiple exposures are a little / a lot confused with this expired roll. I love sprockets and this dramatic / dirty style! I love expired films since then! Because we really don’t know what kind of pictures it will produce.

My shots aren’t that fantastic, It’s my fun experience that I wanted to share with you! :)

Thanks for reading !

written by yun on 2010-03-17 in #reviews #sky #clock #railway-station #multiple-exposures #church #trees #factory #train #girl #boat #black-and-white #kodak-tmax-400 #holga-120-cfn #35mm

4 Comments

  1. lazyorbit
    lazyorbit ·

    that first shot is so ghostly!!! MELIKES!

  2. paramir
    paramir ·

    nice gallery! I love the feel of this (expired) film.

  3. quisp
    quisp ·

    First photo is great !

  4. yun
    yun ·

    Thanks !

More Interesting Articles

  • Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-08 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    A weekend without a lomowalk seems bad, at least for me. One Saturday morning, I decided to join my friends in their lomowalk. It was all cloudy at first but it didn't stop me from going out and walking. I brought my new Nikon FM2 and some expired rolls, just to test my camera. Was it just me being sleepy, or was my Nikon FM2 acting up? My photos turned out grainy, pale, and, in my opinion, looking so 1990s?

    1
  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-05 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    Read on dear friend and I will weave a story for you. There may be more questions than answers raised by this peculiar tale. But if it’s clarity you seek, have no fear, things will become clear in time (they always do, don’t they?). So rub the Sandman’s dust from your sleepy eyes and take a journey with me. If you think you have an answer when we reach the end, please do share it in the comments!

    8
  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • A Conversation with the CEO of Ondu Pinhole Cameras, Elvis Halilović

    written by jacobs on 2015-01-19 in #lifestyle
    A Conversation with the CEO of Ondu Pinhole Cameras, Elvis Halilović

    It was our great pleasure to chat with the CEO of Ondu Pinhole Cameras, Elvis Halilović, about his interest in pinhole photography as well as the formation of his company that produces handcrafted pinhole cameras. We found his answers fascinating and we think you will too. Thanks Elvis for being so generous in sharing your story and cameras with us!

    4
  • So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    written by recurving on 2015-02-03 in #world #news
    So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    For the last year we've been working on the next version of Lomography. We based our work on the feedback you’ve given us over the years and we wanted to share it as early as possible with you and can’t wait to hear what you think. Just one warning first: it is still in development and things can break. All the photos, comments, likes, homes and everything else were transferred as of October 16th, 2014. So anything you do on next.lomography.com won't be reflected on www.lomography.com and vice versa. Once we are done with testing, everything you did here will be deleted again. So this is a big playground for you to explore.

    217
  • Camera Collections: chrisg35mm and his Admirable Analog Arsenal

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-01 in #gear #lifestyle
    Camera Collections: chrisg35mm and his Admirable Analog Arsenal

    Chris Goodacre has been shooting on film since the late 1970s. At the same time, he also took interest in building an artillery of analog weapons. In this interview, he shares an extensive list of his collection and the fantastic story that come with each of his cameras.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Awesome Albums: SUNFLOWERS | July 2015 by tinn

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-01 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: SUNFLOWERS | July 2015 by tinn

    A trip to a beautiful sunflower field turns into a spontaneous, fun photo shoot in today's featured album.

  • Mitarothanken is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-01 in #world #news
    Mitarothanken is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to mitarothanken for winning Home of the Day!

  • Derek Woods' 365 Days of Lomography Recap - March 22-29

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-01 in #world #lifestyle
    Derek Woods' 365 Days of Lomography Recap - March 22-29

    Here's the latest on Derek Woods' year-long project!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • A Movie about the Grandfather of Moving Pictures

    written by kenaz on 2015-07-31 in #world #lifestyle
    A Movie about the Grandfather of Moving Pictures

    Eadweard Muybridge, the man believed to be the pioneer of motion photography, is the center of a 2015 biopic.

  • Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-31 in #people #lifestyle
    Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    Branded as "The Reanimated Film," KONO! Film is hand-rolled and made of special materials which are rarely (or never) produced for "normal“ photography. Rather, the materials were intended for the motion picture industry and the results can vary depending on how the film is used. Learn more in this interview with the founder of KONO! Film, Uwe Mimoun.

    1
  • In Pursuit of Kyoto with the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-08-01 in #gear #lifestyle
    In Pursuit of Kyoto with the Lomo'Instant

    Ladies and gentlemen, it is with great pride that we bring you the newest member of Lomo'Instant family: the stunningly beautiful Lomo'Instant Kyoto Edition! To give it a warm welcome to our brand new jewel, sneaked out from our HQ in Vienna and went in search of a truly enlightening adventure.