Kodak TX400

8

The most popular and best selling black and white film in the world, ready to serve you in any kind of lights and will give you high contrast, nice grainy pictures. Some photographers swear to use this film until it is no longer produced. I think I will do the same.

Every time I read photography related forums on the internet, there were always people who claim that Tri-X is their favorite film ever and suggest everyone to use it. To fulfill my curiosity, I bought a roll a year ago but slide film was always chosen to be loaded in my cameras. Then I learned more about street photography and I found that it is more suitable to use black and white film. Finally I loaded my LC-A+ with the Tri-X and rated it at higher speed than the box speed and so I went shooting.

The results I got from Tri-X were high contrast and far from a fine-grain looks but this characteristics make me like this film a lot. The grain looks nice and the film still can captured the details on the highlight and shadow even when I only used available light during the night. The other characteristic that I like about this film is that you can push the film beyond what other films cannot handle really well. When pushing/shooting the film at higher speed such as at 800, 1600 or more, smaller opening setting of the aperture is possible, thus create greater depth of field. In other words, even if you forget to set the focus properly, the pictures will still be sharp and well focused. That is what I rarely got from shooting ISO 100 or ISO 200 slide films.

Fortunately for me, local camera store here sells Tri-X in bulk (100feet roll). Combine this with developing the film myself, I can save a lot and shoot more. Some photographers swear to use this film until it is no longer produced. I think I will do the same.

written by nerdcist on 2010-03-07 in #reviews #black-and-white #grain #kodak-tri-x #pushed #400tx #high-contrast

8 Comments

  1. torium
    torium ·

    Hmm... Now I came curious about this. I'll try it!

  2. niguevara
    niguevara ·

    nice review and gallery!

  3. nerdcist
    nerdcist ·

    @all: thanks
    @saintfallen: to begin with, better shoot your first roll of this film at its recommended speed which is ISO 400. it is easier if you use a camera equiped with lightmeter. but if you don't, you can use this guide available here expomat.tripod.com/ to accompany any camera you have. according to that, you should use 1/500 shutter speed (if available) and f/16 on your camera setting on a sunny day (it is equivalent with 1/300 or 1/250 at f/22). on overcast day / subject in shade, you can use 1/100 and f/8. and so on.
    you can try the other ISO setting later, for example if you shoot mostly at night you can rate the film as ISO 800 or 1600 and push process it. for sunny or snowy day you can rate it as ISO 200 and later pull process it.

  4. pangmark
    pangmark ·

    good info and wow perfect shots

  5. jarodfwh
    jarodfwh ·

    hi can i know where did you get the bulk roll from in singapore? thanks

More Interesting Articles

  • The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-10-20 in #news
    The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    Did you ever think about the myth that we actually dream in Black & White? No colors, maybe no truth behind it anyways. But we know for a fact that you can create the most dreamy photographs with an analogue camera. And for that you need the right film. Scroll down and find out which B&W film is the film of your dreams!

    4
  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-09 in #news
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    We've got another great opportunity for you to load up on all your favorite films! Today's Advent deal is 10% off of all our films! Keep your holidays classy with one of our awesome black and white films or get creative with one of our Redscale films. Whatever you choose will be a great way to document all the upcoming fesitivities!

  • A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-11 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    This is a tribute to a great Austrian sports photographer, Lothar Rübelt. In an era with no high speed films available, he was able to immortalize wonderful moments in sports - from diving to gymnastics and football. In creating this tribute, I took a series of photos of an amateur football match using expired black and white film developed using an uncommon chemical. Take a look after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Want to be more creative and level up your bokeh shots? A wide selection of special apertures for Petzval are here to blend with your artistic side and give your Petzval images some analog twists!

  • My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    written by murdoc_niccals on 2014-12-15 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    Hi, everyone! I'd like to share with you my 2014 summary on analogue photography. Some things I did were completely new, while some were my good old habits. This year I learned how to develop black and white film, which I consider my greatest milestone. But the most important thing is that in 2014, I remain in love with Lomography! And the rest? Well, let's see...

    3
  • Fresh from My Darkroom: Yoga for Africa!

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-16 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from My Darkroom: Yoga for Africa!

    Last Sunday, a great yoga event was held in Cernobbio, a small tourist town near the city of Como. Local association Breathe Como made a performance of power yoga exercises to raise funds for Africa. I developed the film a few days ago, and today I'll show the photos to you! I call this "Fresh From My Darkroom" because I developed the black and white films by myself! Take a look!

  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35
  • Shop News

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Here is another way to enjoy analogue experience and capture great memories in an instant! This package includes the best creative lenses for your LomoInstant camera!

  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Kevin Law

    written by candilsw on 2015-03-30 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Kevin Law

    Kevin Law, a young photographer from Hong Kong specializing in shooting portraits, wedding events, and street snaps, likes to utilize natural lighting and colors to tell the story. Most importantly, he fell in love with the Petzval Art Lens immediately after his first try!

  • Join Us For a Day of Fun This Film Photography Day 2015 at NYC!

    written by givesmehell on 2015-03-30 in #people #events
    Join Us For a Day of Fun This Film Photography Day 2015 at NYC!

    Lomography NYC is celebrating Film Photography Day for the third consecutive year. We are inviting all lomographers and analog enthusiasts to mark your calendars and come join us on Saturday, April 11. To commemorate this day, we have organized an exciting line-up of events including live music and drinks!

  • Martin Parr on Traveling with a Camera

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-03-29 in #world #lifestyle
    Martin Parr on Traveling with a Camera

    "My source of inspiration for all the work that I take is the world in which we live, which is always fascinating, always complicated," Martin Parr says in this video by Camper.

    1
  • Shop News

    Summer Inspired Camera at 20% off

    Summer Inspired Camera at 20% off

    The brazilian summer inspired camera is now at 20% off! You can now celebrate life in full color and treasure every culture in a snap! This summer is no exception; make sure you’re prepared to capture all the sporty action with the Fisheye No.2 Brazilian Summer Camera!

  • Earlybird is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-29 in #world #news
    Earlybird is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyon here in Lomography, congratulations to earlybird for winning Home of the Day!

    4
  • The Neon Streets of Tokyo and Osaka

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-03-29 in #world #lifestyle
    The Neon Streets of Tokyo and Osaka

    Sato Shintaro's book "Night Lights" shows two Japanese cities in their striking disarray.

  • Cities Aglow in Jörg Dickmann's Photography

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-03-29 in #world #lifestyle
    Cities Aglow in Jörg Dickmann's Photography

    In the book "Urban Landscapes", architecture shows its picturesque angles as all the night lights come on.

    1